DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17, pages 7-11 of the remarks filed 5/26/2026, have been considered but are not persuasive. Note, claim 6 was cancelled.
In response to arguments, page 7; Applicant contends, essentially, that:
Examiner agrees, the rejection has been revised to explicitly limit Sasaki’s use to one embodiment, Figs 9 – 12. Note, Sasaki still discloses or adequately suggests each element of the claim(s), in its current form.
In response to arguments, page 9; Applicant contends, essentially, that:
Examiner disagrees, please note that the rejection to independent claim 1 has been revised (using the same prior art – Sasaki) to clarify or expand on citations in the previous Office action, particular clarification about what constitutes the hinge assembly, the one or more covers, the one or more fasteners, the keyboard assembly, for example.
A visual illustration of at least the hinge assembly has been included below to improve clarity. Examiner believes each and every element as claimed are in fact taught by Sasaki, including the one or more covers being positionable for access to one or more fasteners disposed in the keyboard housing assembly that couple at least a portion of the hinge assembly to the keyboard housing assembly. As it stands, the current recitation of the features applicant argues as not being taught, has not gone far enough to overcome Sasaki.
Examiner suggests including a more positive recitation that further limit the structure of at least, the fasteners and the phrase “positionable for access”, in relation to other features of the claim. For example, the phrase: the fasteners disposed in the keyboard housing assembly is not recited positively; whereas, fasteners typically couple, pass through, or thread into a component rather than merely resting on it. Therefore, Sasaki reads here because, as shown below, the fastener is in fact disposed on/in the keyboard assembly that couple a portion of hinge assembly. Furthermore, the term ‘positionable for access’ is also not positively asserted and leaves room for various interpretations, including where the cover component merely has the capability to be positioned rather than a clear structural configuration. Examiner encourages Applicant to include more positive assertions of the claimed features that are firmly distinct from Sasaki—if so intended.
In response to remarks on page 11, paragraph (5), regarding dependent claims 4-5. Examiner disagrees, note dependent claims 4-5 depend from claim 1 and remain rejected for at least the same reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Sasaki 6,125,029.
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses a computing device (Abstract) comprising: a display housing assembly (housing exterior of portion 1, Fig 9) that comprises components (as internals show in Fig 10, for example) and component cables (as in 55, Figs 10, 11, for example); a keyboard housing assembly (portion 4, Fig 9) that comprises a processor (13, Fig 10), memory accessible to the processor (see col 9 line 4), a keyboard (11, Fig 10), a keyboard side (6, Fig 10), a base side (5, Fig 10) opposite the keyboard side (see Fig 10), cable connector interfaces (23 and/or including 58, Fig 11), and one or more covers (95, Fig 12) disposed on the keyboard side and positionable for access to one or more of the cable connector interfaces (see Figs 9-12 for example); and a hinge assembly (see annotated Fig below) that rotatably couples the display housing assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (see Figs 9-10, for example), wherein at least one of the one or more covers is positionable for access to one or more fasteners (97, Fig 9) disposed in the keyboard housing assembly that couple at least a portion of the hinge assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (detachably attached/coupled at portion 90 or 45a of hinge assembly, for example, Fig 9; annotated Fig below).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the components comprise a display panel (41, Fig 11), wherein the component cables comprise a display panel cable (55b, Fig 11), and wherein one of the one or more cable connector interfaces accessible via at least one of the one or more covers (Fig 12) comprise a display panel cable connector interface (at 58, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the components comprise an antenna, wherein the component cables comprise an antenna cable (see col 2 lines 9-16), and wherein one of the one or more cable connector interfaces accessible via at least one of the one or more covers comprises an antenna cable connector interface (see Figs 9-12, for example).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the one or more covers comprise a single cover (as shown by single structure 95, Fig 12 for example).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 7, wherein the single cover is positionable for access to one or more fasteners disposed in the keyboard housing assembly that couple at least a portion of the
hinge assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (see Fig 12).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 8, wherein the at least a portion of the hinge assembly comprises at least one hinge leaf (such as 52 or 53, for example, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 8, wherein the hinge assembly comprises a pair of hinges wherein each of the pair of hinges comprises a display housing assembly side hinge leaf (at 53, Fig 11) and a keyboard housing assembly side hinge leaf (at 52, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more covers is positionable for access to one or
more fasteners (97 and/or including 98, Fig 11) disposed in the display housing assembly (indirectly/directly via 45a. 47a, Fig 11) that couple at least a portion of the hinge assembly to the display housing assembly (detachably attached/coupled at portion 90, 99 of the hinge assembly, for example, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 11,
wherein the at least a portion of the hinge assembly comprises at least one hinge
leaf (53, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the hinge assembly comprises a pair of hinges wherein each of the pair of
hinges comprise a display housing assembly side hinge leaf (at 53, Fig 11) and a keyboard housing assembly side hinge leaf (at 52, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the one or more covers are positionable only in an open orientation of the display housing assembly with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (positionable in open config. as depicted in Fig 12, for example).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the one or more covers are positionable only in an open orientation of the display housing assembly with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (positionable in open config. as depicted in Fig 12, for example), and wherein the open orientation forms an open angle that is equal to or greater than a predefined open angle (in open config. Figs 10-12).
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 15, wherein the predefined open angle is approximately 180 degrees (opened angle of device as shown in Figs 10-12 considered approx. 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 17, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the keyboard side is formed in part by a keyboard side shell (6a, Fig 10), wherein the base side is formed in part by a base side shell (5a, Fig 10), and wherein the display housing assembly is detachable from the keyboard housing assembly without decoupling the keyboard side shell from the base side shell (see col 1 lines 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki 6,125,029 in view of Gu 2023/0100675.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the components comprise a device (such as speaker, col 20 lines 37-39), wherein the component cables comprise a device cable (55a or 55b, Fig 11), and wherein one of the one or more cable connector (56 or 57, Fig 11) interfaces accessible via at least one of the one or more covers comprises a device cable connector interface (at 23 or 58, Fig 11).
Sasaki discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching that the device is a camera.
Gu however teaches wherein the device taught in a similar structure (Title)
comprise a camera (Fig 5B, par 0120).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sasaki to include a camera, as taught by Gu, in order to capture images within the computing device's field of imagery thereby improving functionality.
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein the components comprise a device (such as speaker, col 20 lines 37-39), wherein the component cables comprise a device cable (55a or 55b, Fig 11), and wherein one of the one or more cable connector (56 or 57, Fig 11) interfaces accessible via at least one of the one or more covers comprises a device cable connector interface (at 23 or 58, Fig 11).
Sasaki discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching that
the device is a microphone.
Gu however teaches wherein the device taught in a similar structure (Title)
comprise a microphone (Fig 5B, par 0120).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sasaki to include a device, as taught by Gu, in order to capture sound with its range of audio bound, thereby improving functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841