DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the arguments and amendments filed November 25, 2025.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 6, 7 and 9 are originals.
Claims 2-4 and 12-15 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Step 1, claims 1, 5 - 11 are directed to a method. Thus, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claim 1 and 11 is (claim 1 being representative):
A logistics management method using a blockchain being performed by a communication device having a processor and a memory, comprising:
generating first transaction information for registration of a target unit including at least one child unit;
transmitting the first transaction information to a blockchain network;
generating second transaction information according to transfer of ownership of the target unit; and
transmitting the second transaction information to the blockchain network-
wherein the first transaction information includes a commitment value and first ciphertext for the target unit,
wherein the commitment value for the target unit includes identification information on the target unit, a forward key for the target unit, ownership information on the target unit, and unpacking information of the target unit,
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit includes the identification information on the target unit, the commitment value, an opening key for the commitment value, the ownership information, and logistics stage information,
wherein the second transaction information includes second ciphertext for the forward key for the target unit and includes the commitment value and the first ciphertext for the target unit in which the ownership information on the target unit and the logistics stage information are updated, and
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit is decrypted with a backward key for the target unit, the backward key for the target unit is generated from the forward key for the target unit, and the second ciphertext for the target unit is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the target unit and decrypted with a private key of the owner.
The abstract idea steps italicized above are those which could be performed mentally, including with pen and paper. The steps describe, at a high level, generating and transmitting a transaction to a blockchain network. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, including generating, determining, acquiring, and/or opinions, then it falls within the Mental Processes – Concepts Performed in the Human Mind grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally, and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above relate to generating and transmitting a transaction to a blockchain network, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial activity. This is further supported by Second paragraph, page 13 of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interactions, including contracts, legal obligations, marketing, sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP 2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 1 and 11 recites the following additional elements: A blockchain, a processor, a memory, a Ciphertext, a communication device.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in fourth paragraph, page 6, of applicant’s specification as filed, for example.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a generic computing system, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, when viewed in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, per Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP 2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two pertaining to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
The analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well: claims 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Dependent claim 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 further describes the abstract idea.
Claims 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 is based on the claims describing an abstract idea of commercial with generic activities of using a forward and private key to secure ownership information. The specification specifically states that “The transaction information includes a decryption key that allows the consumer to decrypt encrypted ownership information. Therefore, the consumer terminal 140 uses the decryption key to decrypt the encrypted ownership information from the transaction information provided from the blockchain network 130. The consumer may confirm the ownership of the product at each logistics stage to determine that the product is genuine and manufactured by the manufacturer”. See specification page 5. The Key is not a technical improvement and merely implementing the abstract idea using
generic technology.
Claims 6 is based on the claims describing an abstract idea of commercial with generic activities of using a Ciphertext to identify forgery or alteration. The specification specifically states that “The commitment value is a kind of hash value for the identification information on the target unit, the forward key for the target unit, the ownership information on the target unit, and the unpacking information for the target unit, and may be generated by various commitment value generation algorithms such as Pedersen commitment. The commitment value is used to identify forgery or alteration of the plaintext of the first ciphertext”. See page 8 under specification.
The Ciphertext is not a technical improvement and merely implementing the abstract idea using generic technology.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. Therefore, claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al [2021,029,5342] hereafter Zhang, in view of Ramachandran et al [2018,028,5810], hereafter Ramachandran, in further view of Werner et al, [2021,0089514], hereafter Werner.
As per claim 1 and 11 (Similar scope and language)
A logistics management method using a blockchain being performed by a communication device having a processor and a memory, comprising:
generating first transaction information for registration of a target unit including at least one child unit; transmitting the first transaction information to a blockchain network;
Zhang teaches the above;
{[0034] In the implementations, the transaction data can include the transaction amount commitment, the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the second commitment random number ciphertext. The remitter device can submit the transaction data to the blockchain, for the transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.}
generating second transaction information according to transfer of ownership of the target unit; and transmitting the second transaction information to the blockchain network-
{[0031] Step S14: Obtain a second commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number based on a homomorphic encryption public key of a remittee account and the transaction amount using the homomorphic encryption algorithm.
[0035] Specifically, after the transaction data is submitted to the blockchain, a consensus blockchain node in the blockchain network can update the remitter balance commitment based on the transaction amount commitment; update the remitter random number ciphertext based on the first commitment random number ciphertext; update the remittee balance commitment based on the transaction amount commitment; and update the remittee random number ciphertext based on the second commitment random number ciphertext. The consensus blockchain node can be a blockchain node determined based on a consensus mechanism of the blockchain network. As such, the transaction data can be recorded into a blockchain ledger maintained by each blockchain node in the blockchain network, so as to avoid tampering.}
wherein the first transaction information includes a commitment value and first ciphertext for the target unit,
{[0007] An implementation of the present specification provides a blockchain-based transaction apparatus, including: a calculation unit, configured to calculate a transaction amount commitment based on a commitment random number and a transaction amount; a first encryption unit, configured to obtain a first commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number based on a homomorphic encryption public key of a remitter account and the transaction amount using a homomorphic encryption algorithm; a second encryption unit, configured to obtain a second commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number based on a homomorphic encryption public key of a remittee account and the transaction amount using the homomorphic encryption algorithm; and a submission unit, configured to submit transaction data to the blockchain, the transaction data including the transaction amount commitment, the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the second commitment random number ciphertext, for the transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.
[0046] The remitter device can obtain the first commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the first commitment random number based on the homomorphic encryption public key of the remitter account and the first transaction amount using the homomorphic encryption algorithm; obtain the second commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the second commitment random number based on the homomorphic encryption public key of the remittee account and the second transaction amount using the homomorphic encryption algorithm; and submit the transaction data to the blockchain. The transaction data can include the first transaction amount commitment, the second transaction amount commitment, the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the second commitment random number ciphertext, for the first transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the second transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.}
wherein the second transaction information includes second ciphertext for the forward key for the target unit and includes the commitment value and the first ciphertext for the target unit in which the ownership information on the target unit and the logistics stage information are updated, and
{[0031] Step S14: Obtain a second commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number based on a homomorphic encryption public key of a remittee account and the transaction amount using the homomorphic encryption algorithm.
[0037] An updated remitter random number ciphertext can be a quotient of the remitter random number ciphertext and the first commitment random number ciphertext. Because the remitter random number ciphertext and the first commitment random number ciphertext are calculated by using the homomorphic encryption algorithm, the transaction amount can be deducted from the remitter balance, and the commitment random number can be deducted from the remitter random number.}
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit is decrypted with a backward key for the target unit, the backward key for the target unit is generated from the forward key for the target unit, and
{[0093] Asymmetric encryption uses keys pairs that each include a private key, and a public key, the private key being known only to a respective node, and the public key being known to any or all other nodes in the blockchain network. A node can use the public key of another node to encrypt data, and the encrypted data can be decrypted using other node's private key. For example, and referring again to FIG. 7, Participant A can use Participant B's public key to encrypt data, and send the encrypted data to Participant B. Participant B can use its private key to decrypt the encrypted data (ciphertext) and extract the original data (plaintext). Messages encrypted with a node's public key can only be decrypted using the node's private key.}
the second ciphertext for the target unit is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the target unit and decrypted with a private key of the owner.
{[0261] In addition, optionally, the processor is specifically configured to: obtain an encrypted partial key on a blockchain, where the encrypted partial key is generated after encryption is performed by using a public key of the second proxy node; and decrypt the encrypted partial key by using a private key of the second proxy node, to generate the partial key.}
Zhang does not disclose the registration of the target unit; however, Ramachandran discloses;
Ramachandran discloses;
for registration of a target unit including at least one child unit;
{[0053] A FOOD BUNDLE transaction may have various data attached to it, such as: a version number, input counter, inputs, outputs counter, outputs, evidence counter, evidences, assertion counter, assertions, certification counter, certifications, BundleData, and signatures. A FOOD BUNDLE can be Created without or with one or many parents. Likewise, a FOOD BUNDLE can be a parent to one or many other FOOD BUNDLES. FOOD BUNDLES are created when a new unit of food is introduced into the system. FOOD BUNDLES are transferred into one or many child bundles when the physical food item changes status, container, or current holder. FOOD BUNDLES can be signed by the party that posts them to the blockchain. Transfer of ownership to a new system actor may require signing of the new child bundle by the new owner's private key. Evidences, assertions, and certifications can be attached to a FOOD BUNDLE at the time the transaction is broadcasted to the blockchain.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of registration of a unit as taught Ramachandran.
Zhang does not disclose the transfer of ownership; however, Ramachandran discloses;
transfer of ownership of the target
{[0053] FOOD BUNDLES are transferred into one or many child bundles when the physical food item changes status, container, or current holder. FOOD BUNDLES can be signed by the party that posts them to the blockchain. Transfer of ownership to a new system actor may require signing of the new child bundle by the new owner's private key. Evidences, assertions, and certifications can be attached to a FOOD BUNDLE at the time the transaction is broadcasted to the blockchain. Bundle data may be captured in JSON format.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of a transfer of target as taught Ramachandran.
Zhang does not disclose the identification information; however, Werner discloses;
Werner discloses;
wherein the commitment value for the target unit includes identification information on the target unit, a forward key for the target unit, ownership information on the target unit, and unpacking information of the target unit,
Werner, discloses a method of verifying the signature of the object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. The validated signatures, the blockchain add an updated secret to the blockchain. See [0083]}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of a commitment value and an identification information as taught by Werner, for authentication and protection of the asset.
Zhang does not disclose the method of modifying a security; however, Werner discloses;
Werner discloses;
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit includes the identification information on the target unit, the commitment value, an opening key for the commitment value, the ownership information, and logistics stage information,
Werner et al, discloses a method of modifying a security and nonce value of the tracked physical object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. Increase and modify a random number or predetermined number to protect the asset. See {[0083 - 0084]} of Werner.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of a commitment value and an identification information as taught by Werner, for authentication and protection of the asset.
As per claim 5;
The combination of Zhang and Werner does not disclose the generation of the third transaction; however, Ramachandran discloses;
The logistics management method of claim 1, further comprising: generating third transaction information according to unpacking of the target unit; and transmitting the third transaction information to the blockchain network.
{[0052] The system uses unique identifiers, each representing a unit of food at a particular time and place along the supply chain. For the purposes of this disclosure, the unique identifiers will be referred to as “FOOD BUNDLES™”, which is a trademark of Ripe Technology, INC. FOOD BUNDLES can take many forms; bag of seeds, area of a field, specific plant, crates of fruits, pallets, etc. A bundle of food can be merged into another to form a 3rd bundle; alternately a bundle can also be separated into two or more bundles, each inheriting a selected set of characteristics from the parent bundle.
[0053] FOOD BUNDLES are transferred into one or many child bundles when the physical food item changes status, container, or current holder. FOOD BUNDLES can be signed by the party that posts them to the blockchain. Transfer of ownership to a new system actor may require signing of the new child bundle by the new owner's private key. Evidences, assertions, and certifications can be attached to a FOOD BUNDLE at the time the transaction is broadcasted to the blockchain. Bundle data may be captured in JSON format. This data may be structured using food categorization, measurements, and qualification, for example.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of generating a third transaction as taught Ramachandran, to transmit the information.
As per claim 6;
Zhang discloses:
The logistics management method of claim 5, wherein the third transaction information includes the second ciphertext for the forward key of the target unit and includes the commitment value and the first ciphertext in which the unpacking information on the target unit and the logistics stage information are updated.
{[0042] In an implementation, the remitter device can further generate a third zero-knowledge proof based on the zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the third zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the commitment random number for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the commitment random number for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the commitment random number for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another, and verify that the transaction amount for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the transaction amount for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the transaction amount for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another.}
As per claim 7;
The combination of Zhang and Werner does not disclose the generation of the third transaction; however, Ramachandran discloses;
Ramachandran discloses;
The logistics management method of claim 6, further comprising: generating fourth transaction information according to the transfer of ownership of the child unit; and transmitting the fourth transaction information to the blockchain network.
{[0089] The farmer also creates and assigns claims to the bundle, which is provided to the blockchain. The blockchain provides review evidence to a certifier, so that the certifier can provide certified claims to the blockchain. The system provider provides a scorecard to the blockchain for a given bundle. The distributor provides a public key to the farmer. The farmer transfers a bundle to the distributor and provides related information to the blockchain. The distributor creates and assigns claims to the bundle and provides related information to the blockchain. The food processor provides a public key to the distributor. The distributor transfers the bundle to the food processor and provides related information to the blockchain. The food processor consumes the bundle and provides related information to the blockchain.
[0053] FOOD BUNDLES are transferred into one or many child bundles when the physical food item changes status, container, or current holder. FOOD BUNDLES can be signed by the party that posts them to the blockchain. Transfer of ownership to a new system actor may require signing of the new child bundle by the new owner's private key. Evidences, assertions, and certifications can be attached to a FOOD BUNDLE at the time the transaction is broadcasted to the blockchain. Bundle data may be captured in JSON format. This data may be structured using food categorization, measurements, and qualification, for example.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang and Werner with the inclusion of generating a fourth transaction as taught Ramachandran, to transmit the information.
As per claim 8;
Zhang discloses;
The logistics management method of claim 7, wherein the fourth transaction information includes third ciphertext for a-the backward key of the target unit, second ciphertext for a forward key of the child unit, and a commitment value and first ciphertext for the child unit,
Zhang teaches the generation of the second and third ciphertext.
{[0042] In an implementation, the remitter device can further generate a third zero-knowledge proof based on the zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the third zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the commitment random number for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the commitment random number for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the commitment random number for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another, and verify that the transaction amount for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the transaction amount for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the transaction amount for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another.
Zhang does not disclose the fourth transaction, but Ramachandran does disclose;
Ramachandran discloses;
[0053] FOOD BUNDLES are transferred into one or many child bundles when the physical food item changes status, container, or current holder. FOOD BUNDLES can be signed by the party that posts them to the blockchain. Transfer of ownership to a new system actor may require signing of the new child bundle by the new owner's private key. Evidences, assertions, and certifications can be attached to a FOOD BUNDLE at the time the transaction is broadcasted to the blockchain. Bundle data may be captured in JSON format. This data may be structured using food categorization, measurements, and qualification, for example.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of a fourth transaction as taught by Ramachandran, for authentication and protection of the asset.
The combination of Zhang and Ramachandran does not disclose the commitment value and the identification information, but Werner does disclose;
Werner discloses;
the commitment value for the child unit includes identification information on the child unit, the forward key for the child unit, and ownership information on the child unit, and
Werner, discloses a method of modifying a security and nonce value of the tracked physical object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. Increase and modify a random number or predetermined number to protect the asset. See {[0083 - 0084]} of Werner.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of a commitment value and an identification information as taught by Werner, for authentication and protection of the asset.
Werner discloses;
the first ciphertext for the child unit includes the identification information on the child unit, the commitment value, an opening key for the commitment value, and the ownership information and logistics stage information.
Werner, discloses a method of modifying a security and nonce value of the tracked physical object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. Increase and modify a random number or predetermined number to protect the asset. See [0083 - 0084]} of Werner.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of a commitment value and an identification information as taught by Werner, for authentication and protection of the asset.
As per claim 9;
Zhang discloses;
The logistics management method of claim 8, wherein the first ciphertext for the child unit is decrypted with a backward key for the child unit, the backward key for the child unit is generated from the forward key for the child unit, the second ciphertext for the child unit is ciphertext that is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the child unit and decrypted with a private key of the owner, and the third ciphertext for the backward key of the target unit is decrypted with the backward key for the child unit.
Zhang discloses the encryption and decryption using a node, a public and private key to encrypt a data; See [[0093]} and a generation of encrypted keys; See {[0261]} of Zhang.
{[0093] Asymmetric encryption uses keys pairs that each include a private key, and a public key, the private key being known only to a respective node, and the public key being known to any or all other nodes in the blockchain network. A node can use the public key of another node to encrypt data, and the encrypted data can be decrypted using other node's private key. For example, and referring again to FIG. 7, Participant A can use Participant B's public key to encrypt data, and send the encrypted data to Participant B. Participant B can use its private key to decrypt the encrypted data (ciphertext) and extract the original data (plaintext). Messages encrypted with a node's public key can only be decrypted using the node's private key.
[0261] In addition, optionally, the processor is specifically configured to: obtain an encrypted partial key on a blockchain, where the encrypted partial key is generated after encryption is performed by using a public key of the second proxy node; and decrypt the encrypted partial key by using a private key of the second proxy node, to generate the partial key.
The combination of Zhang and Werner does not disclose the child unit, but Ramachandran does disclose;
Ramachandran discloses;
{[0056] Can capture the new status by creating a child certification transaction. Certification data may be captured in JSON format. This can be provided in clear text, encrypted, or as a reference to an external data source (e.g., a URL, torrent id. IPFS id, etc.). Encrypted certifications can still be valued by supply chain partners who have a valid key to decrypt the data.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang and Werner with the inclusion of child unit as taught Ramachandran, to transmit the information.
As per Claim 10;
Zhang discloses;
The logistics management method of claim 9, wherein the second to fourth transaction information includes a zero-knowledge proof value for verifying a validity of the second to fourth transaction information.
{[0049] Further, the remitter device can further generate a fourth zero-knowledge proof based on the zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the fourth zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the first transaction amount for calculating the first transaction amount commitment and the second transaction amount for calculating the second transaction amount commitment are consistent with one another, so as to prevent the transaction amount transferred out of the remitter account from being inconsistent with the transaction amount transferred to the remittee account.}
Response to Arguments
In response to the argument filled November 25, 2025, regarding the 101 rejections, the Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the amended independent claims, “have been further clarified to include both a processor and a memory, and recite a specific and technical method of blockchain verification and authentication using commitment values and chained ciphertexts. These operations are not mere "commercial or legal interactions and a method of organizing human activity groupings of abstract idea," as they require specialized cryptographic data structures, and constitute an improvement to blockchain technology”.
Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the aspects pertaining to a verification and authentication using commitment values, generating and transmitting a transaction in a blockchain network, recites an abstract idea consistent with Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping. The examiner reviewed these as steps of the identified abstract idea in the Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis and additional elements in Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis.
Applicant argues that regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the additional elements recited in the claims are not technical improvement and merely implementing the abstract idea using generic technology, and thus the additional elements are not significantly more or transformative into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the system is directed to a mental process. The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) Mental processes [] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 19 3, 197 (1978).
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the processor, blockchain technology are used for transmitting and receiving data, such as generating commitment values and ownership data, using backward and forward keys, and tracking verifiable ownership information. These elements are not with respect to the abstract idea but additional elements considered under Step 2(a)(II) and 2(b) prong analysis. These are merely generic technology with no technical improvement rather an improvement to the abstract idea using generic technology. See specification {[ Second paragraph, page 13 of the specification]}.
The Examiner maintains the claims recite an abstract idea.
Regarding the prior art rejections, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach the claims, specifically that the prior art does not disclose the generation of two ciphertexts and no disclosure or suggestion of a structure in which a second transaction is generated by using a forward key generated through the first transaction. Moreover, the irreversible security linkage among multiple transactions, as achieved by the present invention, cannot be inferred from the teachings of Zhang.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant argument the prior art used does teach these limitations. Zhang does teach the generation of two ciphertexts and the second transaction. See {[0042]} of Zhang.
In response to the amended claims, Examiner also includes Werner et al as a prior art used. Werner discloses a method of verifying the signature of the object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. See [0083]} of Werner.
Applicant further argues that the prior art of record fails to teach, where the first transaction including a forward key, derives a backward key from the forward key, and uses the backward key to decrypt a ciphertext of the first transaction to generate a second transaction. Moreover, that the prior art does not disclose implementing a secure linkage or protecting the transaction history from tampering. Thus, the configuration of generating the backward key from the forward key and a first ciphertext decrypted using the backward key cannot be derived from the teachings of Ramachandran.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner is citing Ramachandran for its registration of target unit, transfer of ownership; See {[0053]}, third transaction information on the blockchain {[0052]}. In terms of the arguments, Zhang and Werner does teach specific limitations as amended.
Based on the considered amendments cited, 35 USC 103 references have been utilized to
teach the claimed invention (Claim 1, 5, 8, 10 and 11). As such claim 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 are maintaining the 35 USC 103 rejection as considered above in light of the amended claim limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VICTOR CHIGOZIRIM ESONU whose telephone number is (571)272 - 4883. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Sarah Monfeldt can be reached on (571) 270-1833. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, vis it:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VICTOR CHIGOZIRIM ESONU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629