DETAILED ACTION
This is a Request for continued Examination (RCE) filed April 15, 2026.
Claims 1, 5- 11 have been amended.
Claims 2-4 and 12-15 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Step 1, claims 1, 5 - 11 are directed to a method. Thus, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claim 1 and 11 is (claim 1 being representative):
A blockchain-based logistics data processing method performed by a communication device having a processor and a memory, comprising:
receiving registration data for a target unit including at least one child unit;
generating first transaction information for the target unit, based on the registration data;
transmitting the first transaction information to a blockchain network;
receiving transfer-event data associated with the target unit;
generating second transaction information for the target unit based on the transfer-event data; and
transmitting the second transaction information to the blockchain network,
wherein the first transaction information includes a commitment value and first ciphertext for the target unit,
wherein the commitment value for the target unit includes identification information on the target unit, a forward key for the target unit, ownership information on the target unit, and unpacking information of the target unit,
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit includes the identification information on the target unit, the commitment value, an opening key for the commitment value, the ownership information, and logistics stage information,
wherein the second transaction information includes second ciphertext for the forward key for the target unit and includes the commitment value and the first ciphertext for the target unit in which the ownership information on the target unit and the logistics stage information are updated, and
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit is decryptable using a backward key for the target unit, the backward key for the target unit is derivable from the forward key for the target unit, and the second ciphertext for the target unit is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the target unit and decryptable with a private key of the owner, the second ciphertext for the target unit being for providing the forward key for the target unit, and the backward key for the target unit being usable to decrypt the first ciphertext included in the first transaction information and the second transaction information.
The abstract idea steps italicized above are those which could be performed mentally, including with pen and paper. The steps describe, at a high level, generating and transmitting a transaction to a blockchain network. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, including generating, determining, acquiring, and/or opinions, then it falls within the Mental Processes – Concepts Performed in the Human Mind grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally, and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above relate to generating and transmitting a transaction to a blockchain network, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial activity. This is further supported by Second paragraph, page 13 of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interactions, including contracts, legal obligations, marketing, sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP 2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 1 and 11 recites the following additional elements: A blockchain-based, a communication device having a processor and a memory, a blockchain network, transfer-event data, blockchain network, ciphertext, commitment value, a forward key for the target unit, commitment value, an opening key, wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit is decryptable using a backward key for the target unit, the backward key for the target unit is derivable from the forward key for the target unit, and the second ciphertext for the target unit is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the target unit and decryptable with a private key of the owner, the second ciphertext for the target unit being for providing the forward key for the target unit, and the backward key for the target unit being usable to decrypt the first ciphertext included in the first transaction information and the second transaction information.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in fourth paragraph, page 6, of applicant’s specification as filed, for example.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a generic computing system, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, when viewed in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, per Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP 2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two pertaining to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
The analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well: claims 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Dependent claim 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 further describes the abstract idea.
Claims 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 is based on the claims describing an abstract idea of commercial with generic activities of using a blockchain network, forward and private key to secure ownership information. The specification specifically states that “The transaction information includes a decryption key that allows the consumer to decrypt encrypted ownership information. Therefore, the consumer terminal 140 uses the decryption key to decrypt the encrypted ownership information from the transaction information provided from the blockchain network 130. The consumer may confirm the ownership of the product at each logistics stage to determine that the product is genuine and manufactured by the manufacturer”. See specification page 5. The Key is not a technical improvement and merely implementing the abstract idea using
generic technology.
Claims 6 is based on the claims describing an abstract idea of commercial with generic activities of using a Ciphertext to identify forgery or alteration. The specification specifically states that “The commitment value is a kind of hash value for the identification information on the target unit, the forward key for the target unit, the ownership information on the target unit, and the unpacking information for the target unit, and may be generated by various commitment value generation algorithms such as Pedersen commitment. The commitment value is used to identify forgery or alteration of the plaintext of the first ciphertext”. See page 8 under specification.
The Ciphertext is not a technical improvement and merely implementing the abstract idea using generic technology.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. Therefore, claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Zhang et al [US 2021/029, 5342 A1] hereafter Zhang, in view of Soliman et al [US 2011/010,7086 A1], hereafter Soliman, in view of Madisetti et al; [US 2020/000,5290 A1], hereafter Madisetti; in view of Uhr et al; [US 2019/000,5470 A1] hereafter Uhr; in view of Werner et al, [US 2021/0089514 A1], hereafter Werner, in further view of Komori et al [JP 2024/060,246 A], hereafter Komori.
As per claim 1 and 11 (Similar scope and language)
Zhang discloses the memory and transactions done on a blockchain network; See [0008] [0065]
A blockchain-based logistics data processing method performed by a communication device having a processor and a memory, comprising:
[0008] a memory, configured to store computer instructions; and a processor, configured to execute the computer instructions to implement the method described in any of the implementations of the present specification.
[0065] a submission unit 26, configured to submit transaction data to the blockchain, the transaction data including the transaction amount commitment, the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the second commitment random number ciphertext, for the transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.
Zhang discloses submission of the transaction to the blockchain;
transmitting the first transaction information to a blockchain network;
[0033] Step S16: Submit transaction data to the blockchain.
[0034] The remitter device can submit the transaction data to the blockchain, for the transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.
Zhang discloses the first transaction information, commitment value and first ciphertext; see [0030] [0042];
wherein the first transaction information includes a commitment value and first ciphertext for the target unit,
[0030] the first commitment random number ciphertext can be calculated based on equation OU_A(r)=u1rv1t, where OU_A(r) is the first commitment random number ciphertext; r is the commitment random number; each of u1 and v1 is a portion of the homomorphic cryptographic public key of the remitter account, respectively; t is the transaction amount. In the implementations, the commitment random number can be used as an encrypted plaintext, and the transaction amount can be used as a random number for homomorphic encryption, thereby enabling encryption of the commitment random number
[0042] transaction amount commitment, the commitment random number for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the commitment random number for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another, and verify that the transaction amount for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the transaction amount for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the transaction amount for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another.
Zhang discloses obtaining a second commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number and the transaction amount using a homomorphic encryption algorithm; see [0034], and updates [0035]; [0045-0048] [0058-0064]
wherein the second transaction information includes second ciphertext for the forward key for the target unit and includes the commitment value and the first ciphertext for the target unit in which the ownership information on the target unit and the logistics stage information are updated, and
{[0034] In the implementations, the transaction data can include the transaction amount commitment, the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the second commitment random number ciphertext. The remitter device can submit the transaction data to the blockchain, for the transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.}
Zhang discloses;
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit is decryptable using a backward key for the target unit, the backward key for the target unit is derivable from the forward key for the target unit, and
{[0021] The encryption public-private key pair can include a homomorphic encryption public key and a homomorphic encryption private key that are associated to one another. The homomorphic encryption public key can be disclosed to other blockchain nodes in the blockchain network, so the other blockchain nodes can encrypt data, e.g., a remitter balance, a remitter random number, and a commitment random number, by using a homomorphic encryption algorithm.
[0029] Step S12: Obtain a first commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number based on a homomorphic encryption public key of a remitter account and the transaction amount using a homomorphic encryption algorithm.}
Zhang discloses an asymmetric encryption that uses a public key for encryption and a private key for decryption, ensuring that only the intended recipient can access the encrypted data. It also supports digital signatures, enabling participants to verify the sender’s identity and confirm the authenticity and integrity of a transaction. See [0021] [0030]
providing the forward key for the target unit, and the backward key for the target unit being usable to decrypt the first ciphertext included in the first transaction information and the second transaction information.
{[0021] The encryption public-private key pair can include a homomorphic encryption public key and a homomorphic encryption private key that are associated to one another. The homomorphic encryption public key can be disclosed to other blockchain nodes in the blockchain network, so the other blockchain nodes can encrypt data, e.g., a remitter balance, a remitter random number, and a commitment random number, by using a homomorphic encryption algorithm.
[0030] Step S14: Obtain a second commitment random number ciphertext by encrypting the commitment random number based on a homomorphic encryption public key of a remittee account and the transaction amount using the homomorphic encryption algorithm..}
Zhang discloses the transaction amount, First ciphertext and encryption/ decryption keys; See [0021] [0028] [0030] [0034]
wherein the first ciphertext for the target unit includes the identification information on the target unit, the commitment value, an opening key for the commitment value, [the ownership information], and [logistics stage information],
{[0028] The transaction amount can be negotiated between the remitter and the remittee. The transaction amount commitment can be implemented based on any type of commitment scheme with homomorphism, such as a Pedersen commitment mechanism}
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Soliman discloses receiving registration information from a user, See [0053] [0055]
receiving registration data for a target unit including at least one child unit;
[0055] The user starts the registration process by sending a request 10, effectively requesting the generation of an initial value of its DAK, to the CA including authenticated documentation of its identity and purpose of registration, i.e. revealing it is a trusted user. Upon approval of the user's credentials by the CA, the CA starts a daemon related to the requesting user, and randomly selects an initial DAK, sending a copy to the user via a secure channel 12, for example, using the well-known RSA technique where the CA uses the user's public key to encrypt the newly generated DAK.
Soliman discloses receiving a data or request;
receiving transfer-event data associated with the target unit;
[0053] Upon any user's connection request, a communication child process is forked at the CA, as well as at the user node. Each child process runs on the behalf of its parent during the whole communication session in order to avoid disturbance of the DAK generation process in the event of synchronization or authentication failure, for example, due to a false connection request, hardware failure, etc.
Soliman discloses generating new information based on prior information; See [0055];
generating second transaction information for the target unit based on the transfer-event data; and
[0055] From that point forward, the user and CA randomly regenerate the next DAK every δt period, 14, 15, based on the previous generated DAK and the auxiliary static key K.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by Zhang with the inclusion of receiving registration information from a user and a data or request as taught by Soliman, generating new information.
The combination of Zhang and Soliman does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Madisetti discloses the transaction generation based on the received data; See [0075] [0076];
generating first transaction information for the target unit, based on the registration data;
[0075] All transactions 120 on a blockchain network are initiated by EOAs. These accounts can send transactions to other EOAs or contract accounts.
[0076] The registration application then creates a new smart contract from this hashed data 260, which is referred to as the ‘Seal Contract’ 262. The transaction to create this new Seal Contract 262 on the blockchain network is signed by the user's private key.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang and Soliman with the inclusion of transaction generation based on the received data as taught by Madisetti.
The combination of Zhang, Soliman and Madisetti does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Uhr discloses the transmission of the second transaction information containing the user -verifying hash information; See [0056-0060] [0095-0098]
transmitting the second transaction information to the blockchain network,
[0060] Also, the transaction-processing engine 420 may (i) transmit the transaction information for storing the public key to blockchain nodes 500, (ii) store the transaction ID for storing the public key in the keyword DB 411, (iii) create (iii-1) transaction information for user verification including the user-verifying hash information for authentication and (iii-2) a transaction ID for user verification to be used as a key value for searching the transaction information for user verification, (iv) transmit the transaction information for user verification to the blockchain nodes 500, and (v) store and manage the transaction ID for user verification in the keyword DB 411.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman and Madisetti with the inclusion of the transmission of the second transaction information containing the user -verifying hash information as taught by Uhr to enable authentication of the user.
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti and Uhr does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Werner, discloses a method of verifying the signature of the object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification which includes public and client keys. The validated signatures, the blockchain add an updated secret to the blockchain. See [0083] of Werner.
wherein the commitment value for the target unit includes identification information on the target unit, a forward key for the target unit, ownership information on the target unit, and [unpacking information of the target unit],
{[0083] In response to successfully authenticating the signature, in 435, the client device 408 may transmit a blockchain transaction request to the blockchain 406 which includes [[UID, pubkeyHSM n+1, n+1-signatureHSM key]signatureClient key]. In 436, the blockchain 406 may validate the request signature of the transaction, and validate the signature of the HSM on the secret. In response to validating the signatures, the blockchain 406 may add the updated secret to the blockchain. In some embodiments, the blockchain 406 may also trigger contract fulfillment (e.g., payment, etc.)}
Werner et al, discloses a method of tracking physical objects from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. Increase and modify a random number or predetermined number to protect the asset. See [0038] of Werner.
[0038] the physical asset (also referred to herein as a physical object) may be tracked via a decentralized database (such as a blockchain) that is a distributed storage system which includes multiple nodes that communicate with each other.
Werner discloses a digital signature/ verification and authentication of physical assets; see [0047] [0081]
the second ciphertext for the target unit is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the target unit and decryptable with a private key of the owner, the second ciphertext for the target unit being for
{[0047] the manufacturer device 120 includes a key pair (public and private key) for signing and subsequent verification and the physical asset 110 includes a respective key pair for signing and verification. The public keys may be shared enabling other entities to verify the data which has been signed with the private key, while the private keys remain with the manufacturer device 120 and the physical asset 110, respectively, thus enabling signature by only the manufacturer device 120 and the physical asset 110, respectively.
[0081] the client device 408 may read a unique identifier and a public key from the HSM of the object 402.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti and Uhr with the inclusion of a method of verifying the signature, a unique identification , validating signatures, add and updating the secret to the blockchain as taught by Werner to enable the safe guarding of the user information.
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner does not disclose [unpacking information of the target unit], Komori discloses, an unpacked event that records the removal of one or more child tokens from a parent token, including identifiers, ownership details, transaction information, and the changes to the parent token’s child token list.
{[Page 7, paragraph 8] Here, an Unpack event is an event that indicates that the association with one or more child tokens has been released. An Unpack event includes, for example, the token ID of a parent token that has been released from the association with one or more child tokens, the occupant (BC address) of the parent token, the transaction issuer (BC address) of the Unpack method, the token type of the parent token, the operation type of the transaction of the Unpack method, the parent token ID of the parent token, the child token ID list of the parent token, and the child token ID list difference. The child token ID list difference is the difference in the child token ID list property that the parent token has before and after the execution of the Unpack method.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner with the inclusion of an unpacking information as taught by Komori to enable a secure traceable and detailed information.
As per claim 5;
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner a does not disclose the generation of the third transaction; however, Komori discloses an unpacked event that records the removal of one or more child tokens from a parent token, including identifiers, ownership details, transaction information, and the changes to the parent token’s child token list.
The blockchain-based logistics data processing method of claim 1, further comprising: generating third transaction information according to unpacking of the target unit; and transmitting the third transaction information to the blockchain network.
{[Page 7, paragraph 8] Here, an Unpack event is an event that indicates that the association with one or more child tokens has been released. An Unpack event includes, for example, the token ID of a parent token that has been released from the association with one or more child tokens, the occupant (BC address) of the parent token, the transaction issuer (BC address) of the Unpack method, the token type of the parent token, the operation type of the transaction of the Unpack method, the parent token ID of the parent token, the child token ID list of the parent token, and the child token ID list difference. The child token ID list difference is the difference in the child token ID list property that the parent token has before and after the execution of the Unpack method.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner with the inclusion of an unpacking information as taught by Komori to enable a secure traceable and detailed information.
As per claim 6,
Zhang discloses the transaction amount commitment, first and commitment, see [0034], and updates [0035]; [0045-0048] [0058-0064]
The blockchain-based logistics data processing method of claim 5, wherein the third transaction information includes the second ciphertext for the forward key of the target unit and includes the commitment value and the first ciphertext in which the [unpacking information on the target unit and the logistics stage information] are updated.
{[0034] In the implementations, the transaction data can include the transaction amount commitment, the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the second commitment random number ciphertext. The remitter device can submit the transaction data to the blockchain, for the transaction amount commitment and the first commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remitter account, and the transaction amount commitment and the second commitment random number ciphertext to be recorded into the remittee account.}
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner does not disclose [unpacking information of the target unit], Komori discloses, an unpacked event that records the removal of one or more child tokens from a parent token, including identifiers, ownership details, transaction information, and the changes to the parent token’s child token list.
{[Page 7, paragraph 8] Here, an Unpack event is an event that indicates that the association with one or more child tokens has been released. An Unpack event includes, for example, the token ID of a parent token that has been released from the association with one or more child tokens, the occupant (BC address) of the parent token, the transaction issuer (BC address) of the Unpack method, the token type of the parent token, the operation type of the transaction of the Unpack method, the parent token ID of the parent token, the child token ID list of the parent token, and the child token ID list difference. The child token ID list difference is the difference in the child token ID list property that the parent token has before and after the execution of the Unpack method.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner with the inclusion of an unpacking information as taught by Komori to enable a secure traceable and detailed information.
As per claim 7;
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner does not disclose the generation of the third transaction; however, Komori disclose the logistic management system which uses a parent-child relationships between goods and transport containers to enable efficient blockchain-based ownership transfers, reducing the number of transactions and the associated computational and network overhead; See [Page 10, paragraph 2].
The blockchain-based logistics data processing method of claim 6, further comprising: generating fourth transaction information according to the transfer of ownership of the child unit; and transmitting the fourth transaction information to the blockchain network.
{[Page 10, paragraph 2] In other words, the parent-child relationships can be mutually referenced, and the linking/unlinking can be realized in one transaction, and it is possible to transfer ownership of children in a lower hierarchy in a single transaction on a parent-by-parent basis. In addition, if the destination of ownership transfer is the same, it is possible to transfer ownership of multiple tokens in a single transaction on a parent-by-parent basis. This makes it possible to easily reference information about other items in a parent-child relationship with a certain item, reduce the number of transactions issued, and reduce the load when recording the ownership transfer of the tracking target in the BC (for example, the workload of workers due to transaction issuance, the load on network resources and server resources required for verification and synchronization of each node on the blockchain, etc.)}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner with the inclusion of an unpacking information as taught by Komori to enable a secure traceable and detailed information.
As per claim 8;
Zhang discloses;
The blockchain-based logistics data processing method of claim 7, wherein the fourth transaction information includes third ciphertext for the backward key of the target unit, second ciphertext for a forward key of the child unit,
Zhang teaches the generation of the second and third ciphertext.
{[0042] In an implementation, the remitter device can further generate a third zero-knowledge proof based on the zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the third zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the commitment random number for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the commitment random number for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the commitment random number for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another, and verify that the transaction amount for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the transaction amount for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the transaction amount for calculating the second commitment random number ciphertext are consistent with one another.}
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner does not disclose the fourth transaction, but Komori does disclose the logistic management system which uses a parent-child relationships between goods and transport containers to enable efficient blockchain-based ownership transfers, reducing the number of transactions and the associated computational and network overhead; See
{[Page 10, paragraph 2] In other words, the parent-child relationships can be mutually referenced, and the linking/unlinking can be realized in one transaction, and it is possible to transfer ownership of children in a lower hierarchy in a single transaction on a parent-by-parent basis. In addition, if the destination of ownership transfer is the same, it is possible to transfer ownership of multiple tokens in a single transaction on a parent-by-parent basis. This makes it possible to easily reference information about other items in a parent-child relationship with a certain item, reduce the number of transactions issued, and reduce the load when recording the ownership transfer of the tracking target in the BC (for example, the workload of workers due to transaction issuance, the load on network resources and server resources required for verification and synchronization of each node on the blockchain, etc.)}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner with the inclusion of an unpacking information as taught by Komori to enable a secure traceable and detailed information.
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Komori does not disclose the commitment value and the identification information, but Werner does disclose;
and a commitment value and first ciphertext for the child unit, the commitment value for the child unit includes identification information on the child unit, the forward key for the child unit, and ownership information on the child unit, and
Werner, discloses a method of modifying a security and nonce value of the tracked physical object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. Increase and modify a random number or predetermined number to protect the asset. See [0083 - 0084]} of Werner.
Werner discloses;
the first ciphertext for the child unit includes the identification information on the child unit, the commitment value, an opening key for the commitment value, and the ownership information and logistics stage information.
Werner, discloses a method of modifying a security and nonce value of the tracked physical object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification. Increase and modify a random number or predetermined number to protect the asset. See [0083 - 0084]} of Werner.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti and Uhr with the inclusion of a commitment value and an identification information as taught by Werner to enable or authentication and protection of the asset.
As per claim 9;
Zhang discloses the encryption and decryption using a node, a public and private key to encrypt a data; See [[0093]} and a generation of encrypted keys; See {[0261]} of Zhang.
The blockchain-based logistics data processing method of claim 8, wherein the first ciphertext for the child unit is decrypted with a backward key for the child unit, the backward key for the child unit is generated from the forward key for the child unit, the second ciphertext for the child unit is ciphertext that is encrypted with a public key of an owner of the child unit and decrypted with a private key of the owner, and the third ciphertext for the backward key of the target unit is decrypted with the backward key for the child unit.
{[0093] Asymmetric encryption uses keys pairs that each include a private key, and a public key, the private key being known only to a respective node, and the public key being known to any or all other nodes in the blockchain network. A node can use the public key of another node to encrypt data, and the encrypted data can be decrypted using other node's private key. For example, and referring again to FIG. 7, Participant A can use Participant B's public key to encrypt data, and send the encrypted data to Participant B. Participant B can use its private key to decrypt the encrypted data (ciphertext) and extract the original data (plaintext). Messages encrypted with a node's public key can only be decrypted using the node's private key.
[0261] In addition, optionally, the processor is specifically configured to: obtain an encrypted partial key on a blockchain, where the encrypted partial key is generated after encryption is performed by using a public key of the second proxy node; and decrypt the encrypted partial key by using a private key of the second proxy node, to generate the partial key.}
The combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner does not disclose the child unit, but Komori does disclose the logistic management system which uses a parent-child relationships between goods and transport containers to enable efficient blockchain-based ownership transfers, reducing the number of transactions and the associated computational and network overhead; See
{[Page 10, paragraph 2] In other words, the parent-child relationships can be mutually referenced, and the linking/unlinking can be realized in one transaction, and it is possible to transfer ownership of children in a lower hierarchy in a single transaction on a parent-by-parent basis. In addition, if the destination of ownership transfer is the same, it is possible to transfer ownership of multiple tokens in a single transaction on a parent-by-parent basis. This makes it possible to easily reference information about other items in a parent-child relationship with a certain item, reduce the number of transactions issued, and reduce the load when recording the ownership transfer of the tracking target in the BC (for example, the workload of workers due to transaction issuance, the load on network resources and server resources required for verification and synchronization of each node on the blockchain, etc.)
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logistic management apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Zhang, Soliman, Madisetti, Uhr and Werner with the inclusion of an unpacking information as taught by Komori to enable a secure traceable and detailed information.
As per claim 10;
Zhang discloses the transaction data that includes zero-knowledge proofs used by the blockchain node verification. See [0040-0042]
The blockchain-based logistics data processing method of claim 9, wherein the second to fourth transaction information includes a zero-knowledge proof value for verifying a validity of the second to fourth transaction information.
[0040] In an implementation, the remitter device can further generate a first zero-knowledge proof based on a zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the first zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the transaction amount is not less than 0.
[0041] generate a second zero-knowledge proof based on the zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the second zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the transaction amount is not greater than the remitter balance.
[0042] generate a third zero-knowledge proof based on the zero-knowledge proof technique; and add the third zero-knowledge proof to the transaction data for the consensus blockchain node to verify that the commitment random number for calculating the transaction amount commitment, the commitment random number for calculating the first commitment random number ciphertext, and the commitment random number for calculating the second…}
Response to Arguments
In response to the argument filled April 15, 2026 regarding the 101 rejections, the Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the amended independent claims further clarify the following: (i) Receipt of registration data/transfer-event data, (ii) Generation and transmission of transaction information, (iii) Specific cryptographic relationship among commitment value, first ciphertext, second ciphertext, forward key, and backward key.
Applicant argues that the amended independent claims, are no longer directed to a commercial ownership- transfer workflow, but to blockchain-based logistics data processing performed by a communication device.
Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the aspects pertaining to the Receipt of registration data/transfer-event data, Generation and transmission of transaction information, commitment value, first ciphertext, second ciphertext, forward key, and backward key, recites an abstract idea consistent with Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping. The examiner reviewed these as steps of the identified abstract idea in the Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis and additional elements in Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis.
Applicant argues that regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the additional elements recited in the claims are not technical improvement and merely implementing the abstract idea using generic technology, and thus the additional elements are not significantly more or transformative into a practical application.
Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes that the blockchain-based logistics data processing performed by a communication device are merely generic technology with no technical improvement rather an improvement to the abstract idea using generic technology. See specification {[ Second paragraph, page 13 of the specification]}.
The Applicant argues that the amended claims are now directed to a specific cryptographic data architecture and selective decryption framework across transaction records, rather than to organizing human activity or a generic business process implemented on a computer. This derivation, in combination with the generation of nested commitment values and multiple ciphertexts (first and second ciphertexts), constitutes a specialized data processing architecture that is not a mental process and cannot be practically performed in the human mind.
Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes that the above stated architecture, process and framework are merely an improvement to the abstract idea using generic technology. See Applicants Specification [Page 5, paragraph 5].
The applicant argues that the claims “require the coordination of public/private key pairs with a forward/backward key chain to provide "forward-looking" and "backward-looking" access control across a distributed ledger. These operations are computer-specific, and the claimed invention improves the security, integrity, and selective-access capabilities of a distributed ledger through a particular cryptographic data structure and key-derivation mechanism.”
Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner states that the forward/backward key chain are merely computer improvements to the abstract idea using a generic technology. The Examiner further notes that the coordination of public/private key pairs are all directed to a mental process.
The applicant cited “USPTO Example 41 (Cryptographic Communications) of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance is analogous to the claimed invention because both inventions use specific cryptographic data structures and ordered cryptographic operations to improve computer-security functions. The applicant also argues that the amended claims recite non-conventional and non-routine cryptographic mechanisms that are not used in conventional logistics systems and are not standard features of generic blockchain protocols.
Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that although, the claims for the claimed invention recite a specific cryptographic architecture, including hierarchical one-way key derivation, forward and backward keys, nested commitment values, and multiple ciphertexts, which improves privacy, integrity, and tamper-resistance in a distributed ledger, however the claimed invention are merely generic technology with no technical improvement rather an improvement to the abstract idea using generic technology. See applicants’ specification [page 8, paragraph 2]
The Examiner maintains the claims recite an abstract idea.
Therefore, for the foregoing reasons the Examiner has maintained the 35 USC 101 rejection.
Regarding the prior art rejections, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In terms of the arguments, Zhang does not explicitly teach specific limitations as amended, however, the Examiner now references under 35 USC 103 rejection, Zhang et al in view of Soliman et al, in view of Madisetti et al, in view of Uhr, in further view of Komori.
Applicant argues that the claims as amended now clearly explains that the second transaction information includes second ciphertext for the forward key, that the backward key is generated from the forward key, and that a consumer may acquire the forward key from the second ciphertext and then use the backward key derived therefrom to decrypt the first ciphertext included in the first and second transaction information.
Applicant also argues that the prior art of record fails to teach the claimed transaction-spanning key relationship.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang teaches an asymmetric encryption that uses a public key for encryption and a private key for decryption, digital signatures, verification of the sender’s identity and confirm the authenticity and integrity of a transaction, encryption and decryption using a node, a public and private key to encrypt a data; and a generation of encrypted keys, zero-knowledge proofs used by the blockchain node verification. See Zhang [0031-0037] [0039] [0040-0042] [0045-0048] [0058-0064] [0093] [0261].
Soliman teaches the parent- child relationship; (receiving data or registration information from a user and generating new information based on prior information). See [0053] [0055]
Madisetti et al and Uhr et al teaches the claimed transaction spanning key relationship; and the transmission of the second transaction information containing the user -verifying hash information. See Madisetti See [0075-0076] and Uhr [0056-0060] [0095-0098].
Werner, discloses a method of verifying the signature of the object from a blockchain ledger based on the unique identification which includes public and client keys. The validated signatures, the blockchain add an updated secret to the blockchain. See [0083] of Werner.
Komori et al discloses, an unpacked event that records the removal of one or more child tokens from a parent token, including identifiers, ownership details, transaction information, and the changes to the parent token’s child token list. See Komori [Page 10, paragraph 2].
Examiner notes that the cited references do teach the amended claims, namely the parent/child registration.
Based on the considered amendments cited, 35 USC 103 references have been utilized to
teach the claimed invention (Claim 1 and 11). As claims 1, 5-11 are maintaining the 35 USC 103 rejection as considered above in light of the amended claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Srinivasan et al (US 2017/008,3860 A1)- directed towards various embodiments include a method of tracking a chain of custody of an item in a supply chain. A computer system implements a computer interface with a distributed consensus network comprised of computing devices configured to verify one or more waiting transaction records for addition into one or more blocks in a block chain representing a cryptographically verifiable ledger. The order of the block chain is cryptographically protected against tampering by the computing devices. The computer system can track provenance of the item by identifying an existing record in the block chain. The existing record can place a first quantity of a first stock keeping unit (SKU) at a first address. The computer system can then unitize the item by publishing a new record to the block chain. The new record indicates the existing record as a source record and associates a new SKU with a destination address.
Y. Yue and X. Fu, "Research on Medical Equipment Supply Chain Management Method Based on Blockchain Technology," 2020 International Conference on Service Science (ICSS), Xining, China, 2020, pp. 143-148.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Sarah Monfeldt can be reached on (571) 270-1833. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VICTOR ESONU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629