DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s species election of severe respiratory disease due to viral infection and antisense oligonucleotide in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10, 11, 21-24 are withdrawn as being drawn to nonelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-16, 20, 30, 33, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims are broadly drawn to treatments or amelioration of the symptoms of age disease, such disease can be long term coronavirus disease, hyperinflammatory immune disease, severe respiratory disease due to viral infection, age-related fibrotic disease or age-related cancer.
Instant claims encompass treatment of vaguely defined genus of age diseases.
Instant specification broadly defines age disease as disease or condition “which follow later in time after an earlier disease or condition, or during or after a disease having long lasting symptoms or effects, or diseases or conditions which follow after long lasting symptoms of an earlier condition have ceased. Later in time can be relatively short, such as days, or relatively long, such as years or decades” (see paragraph [0010]). Such definition can be applied to essentially any disease which happen to be diagnosed at later age. Further, specification does not define exactly what age is the late age. Thus the genus of age diseases encompass any possible disease that can happen to any person at any age.
Specification provides specific examples of age diseases such as be long term coronavirus disease, hyperinflammatory immune disease, severe respiratory disease due to viral infection, age-related fibrotic disease or age-related cancer (see paragraph [0022]). Again, there is no definition of what age the disease has to be related to be “age-related”. For example, if someone is diagnosed with colon cancer at age 25, is the disease age related? Again, the genus of age-related diseases encompasses essentially any disease at any age.
The genus of age diseases encompasses a large number of all possible diseases and one of skilled in the art cannot reliably predict which disease can be treated by instantly claimed methods, and which can not.
There is no description of the necessary and sufficient elements of the species encompassed by the breadth of the claims. The only species described in specification are long term coronavirus disease, hyperinflammatory immune disease, severe respiratory disease due to viral infection, age-related fibrotic disease or age-related cancer. Applicant fails to describe representative members of Applicant's broadly claimed genus.
One of the skill in the art would not recognize that Applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the genus in view of the disclosed species. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, long term coronavirus disease, hyperinflammatory immune disease, severe respiratory disease due to viral infection, age-related fibrotic disease or age-related cancer are not sufficient to describe the claimed genus. Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, it is not clear that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Claims 13, 20 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 comprises abbreviations such as Sompraz D, Zifi CV/Zac D, CCM and others, which full names and definitions are not present in the claims or disclosure. Thus, metes and bounds of claim 13 are undefined.
Claims 20 and 33 recite antisense oligonucleotides of SEQ ID NOs: 1-9, which are TGF-β2-specific. Sequence search shows that at least SEQ ID NOs: 1-7 are SARS-CoV-2 specific, thus they are not TGF-β2-specific. Inclusion of those sequences in the claims makes their metes and bounds unclear.
To overcome the rejection it is suggested to exclude any sequences which are not specific for TGF-β2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 13-16, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (Int J Biol Sci, April 2020, vol.16, pages 1954-1955).
Concerning claims 1 and 5-6 Chen disclose treatment of consequences of COVID-19, which is well known coronavirus, such as acute respiratory distress syndrome and cytokine storm (see first column on page 1954), by administering TGF-β antibodies or other TGF-β inhibitors (see “Proposed Therapy” section on page 1955) to prevent fibrosis of lungs in human patients (see “Therapeutic goal” section on page 1955). The term “age disease” of claim 1 is interpreted as a disease happening at any age as a consequence of COVID-19 (see written description rejection above). Such acute respiratory distress syndrome is a severe respiratory disease, which leads to fibrosis in lungs (see first column on page 1954).
Concerning claim 13 Chen disclose administration of anti-inflammatory compounds for treatment as well (see Section “Design of the clinical trials” on page 1955).
Concerning claims 14-16 the effects recited in the claims are expected to happen upon practicing method of claim 1 in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Concerning claim 36 Chen disclose treatment as above to improve symptoms of cytokine storm (see first column on page 1954).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 13-16, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, above, as applied to claims 1, 5-6, 13-16, 36, and in further view of Newberry et al (US 2020/0253562, August 2020).
Teachings of Chen are discussed above.
Chen do not teach treatment of subjects with COVID-19 hospitalized with or without oxygen therapy.
Newberry teach that subjects with COVID-19 can be hospitalized with or without oxygen therapy (see paragraph [0291]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat subjects with COVID-19 hospitalized with or without oxygen therapy as taught by Newberry by methods taught by Chen, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Chen teach methods of treatment of consequences of COVID-19 and Newberry describes a subpopulation of patients with COVID-19, who can be treated by method taught by Chen with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-9, 13-16, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, above, as applied to claims 1, 5-6, 13-16, 36, and in further view of Shibata et al (Hypertension research, July 2020, 43: 1028-1046) and Nagourney et al (US 2020/0386766, December 2020).
Teachings of Chen are discussed above.
Chen do not teach treatment of subjects older than 60 years with COVID-19 hospitalized and with hypertension or exhibiting low PaO2 less than 77 mmHg.
Shibata teach that subjects older than 60 years with COVID-19 can be hospitalized with hypertension comorbidity (see second column on page 1029).
Nagourney teach that patients with COVID-10 with PaO2 less than 75 mmHg are high risk (see paragraph [0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat hospitalized subjects older than 60 years old and with hypertension with COVID-19 or with PaO2 less than 75 mmHg as taught by Shibata and Nagourney by methods taught by Chen, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Chen teach methods of treatment of consequences of COVID-19 and Shibata and Nagourney describe subpopulations of patients with COVID-19, who can be treated by method taught by Chen with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 13-16, 20, 30, 33, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, above, as applied to claims 1, 5-6, 13-16, 36, and in further view of Trieu (US 2017/0226518, August 2017).
Teachings of Chen are discussed above.
Chen do not teach treatment of subjects with COVID-19 by administering antisense oligonucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9 targeting TGF-β2 with specific dosage and prepared from lyophilized powder.
Trieu teach TGF-β inhibitors such as antibodies and antisense oligonucleotides for disease treatment (see paragraphs [0008-0010]). One of such antisense oligonucleotides is trabedersen of SEQ ID NO: 1, identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (see paragraph [0048]). Trieu teach that antisense oligonucleotide can be prepared from lyophilized powder (see paragraphs [0081-0082]). Trieu teach optimization of antisense oligonucleotide dosage (see paragraphs [0052, 0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat subjects with COVID-19 by administering antisense oligonucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9 taught by Trieu instead of antibody taught in the methods of Chen, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Chen teach methods of treatment of consequences of COVID-19 by administering antibody targeting TGF-β and Trieu teach other inhibitors of TGF-β such as antisense oligonucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9, making it obvious to use such oligonucleotide instead of antibody, because they both serve the same function, inhibition of TGF-β. Further, it would be a matter of ordinary optimization to identify specific dosing of antisense oligonucleotide based on teachings of Trieu.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 20, 30, 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 9,758,786. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘786 are drawn to treatment of pancreatic cancer, which satisfies broadest reasonable interpretation of an age disease of instant claims, by administering of trabedersen, which is antisense oligonucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9.
Claims 1, 5-6, 20, 30, 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 9,963,703. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘703 are drawn to treatment of pancreatic cancer, which satisfies broadest reasonable interpretation of an age disease of instant claims, by administering of trabedersen, which is antisense oligonucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9.
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-16, 20, 30, 33, 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 80, 83, 87 of copending Application No. 17/946,578 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘578 recite treatment of cytokine storm in a viral disease due to SARS-CoV-2 by administering antisense oligonucleotide identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 9. Such cytokine storm satisfies broadest reasonable interpretation of an age disease of instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637