DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted November 23, 2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the locations of the “discharge liquid” and “exhaust gas” labels are inconsistent in Figure 2. On the left side of Figure 2, the discharge passage 57 is labelled “discharge liquid” and the exhaust passage 58 is labelled “exhaust gas”, however on the right side, the labels are reversed. Paragraph 25 of the applicant’s specification states the discharge passage 57 is located radially outside of the exhaust passage 58, and liquid flows into the discharge passage 57 while gas flows into the exhaust passage 58. Accordingly, the left side of Figure 2 matches the specification, while the right side is inconsistent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a substrate holding mechanism” in claim 1.
The generic, non-structural term “mechanism” is defined by the function of “holding the substrate” and is not defined by the structure which performs the function. Accordingly, the “substrate holding mechanism” meets the requirements of 35 USC 112(f). Upon inspection of the applicant’s specification, paragraphs 18-19 state the “substrate holding mechanism 31” includes multiple chucks 35, a circular stage 36 and a hollow support shaft 37, which are seen in Figure 2. Accordingly, the “substrate holding mechanism” will be treated as multiple chucks, a stage, and a shaft, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is directed to an apparatus (a substrate polishing device), however the claim recites method steps in lines 2-4: “the substrate device performs a polishing process on the substrate” and “a substrate drying device that performs a drying process”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite (see MPEP §2173.05(p) II for further clarification).
If the claim was amended to refer to the method steps as functions, such as by stating “wherein the substrate device is configured to polishing the substrate” and “a substrate drying device configured to dry the substrate”, then the claim would be definite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0101181 to Morisawa.
In Reference to Claim 1#
Morisawa teaches:
A substrate rotation processing device, comprising:
a substrate holding mechanism (multiple chucks 10, stage 11A, and hollow shaft 1A), holding a substrate horizontally (see paragraph 53);
a rotating cover (3, 75, 80, see Figure 21), configured to surround the substrate and having a side wall part (3, 75) surrounding the substrate and a bottom surface part (11B) in an inner side of the side wall part (see paragraph 53);
a rotation mechanism (motor 2), rotating the substrate held by the substrate holding mechanism and the rotating cover (see paragraph 55); and
a gas supply nozzle (18), supplying gas with respect to a back surface (bottom of substrate W) of the substrate held by the substrate holding mechanism through the bottom surface part of the rotating cover (see paragraph 57),
wherein a plurality of discharge holes (25, 26, and space between support arms 80 leading to gas outlet 51a and liquid outlet 51b, see Figures 21 and 23A and paragraphs 114 and 117) for discharging gas supplied from the gas supply nozzle are formed on the bottom surface part of the rotating cover, and the discharge holes have inclined surfaces (see Figure 21) formed inclined with respect to a rotating surface of the rotating cover (see paragraphs 108-109 and Figures 21, 22A, and 23A-B).
In Reference to Claim 4#
Morisawa teaches:
The substrate rotation processing device according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface part of the rotating cover is provided with a plurality of impellers (80) formed inclined with respect to the rotating surface of the rotating cover, and the discharge holes are formed between two adjacent impellers (see paragraph 114 and Figures 21, 22, 23A, 23B).
In Reference to Claim 5#
Morisawa teaches:
The substrate rotation processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a cleaning liquid supply nozzle (17) that supplies cleaning liquid to the substrate (see paragraph 57).
In Reference to Claim 6#
Morisawa teaches:
A substrate polishing device (not numbered, see Figure 25), comprising the substrate rotation processing device according to claim 1, wherein the substrate polishing device performs a polishing process on the substrate, and the substrate rotation processing device is a substrate drying device that performs a drying process on the substrate after the polishing process (see paragraph 119).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0101181 to Morisawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,715,943 to Nagamine.
In Reference to Claim 2
Morisawa teaches:
The substrate rotation processing device according to claim 1, comprising the discharge holes.
Morisawa fails to teach:
The discharge holes are circular when the rotating cover is viewed from above.
Nagamine teaches:
A substrate processing device (18) comprising a cover (75) and a discharge hole (80), wherein the discharge hole is circular when the cover is viewed from above (see column 13, lines 60-67 and Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate rotation processing device of Morisawa by shaping the discharge hole as circular when viewed from above as taught by Nagamine which is a known technique for a known device which yields predictable results. In this case, the predictable result is a circular shaped discharge hole which smoothly guides the working fluid out of the device.
In Reference to Claim 3
Morisawa teaches:
The substrate rotation processing device according to claim 1, comprising the discharge holes.
Morisawa fails to teach:
The discharge holes are rectangular when the rotating cover is viewed from above.
Nagamine teaches:
A substrate rotation processing device (18) comprising a cover (75) and a discharge hole (80), wherein the discharge hole is rectangular when the cover is viewed from above (see column 13, lines 60-67 and Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate rotation processing device of Morisawa by shaping the discharge hole to be rectangular when viewed from above as taught by Nagamine for the purpose of more easily forming the discharge hole (column 13, lines 63-67 of Nagamine).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9,773,687 to Wakiyama teaches a substrate processing device comprising a discharge hole (exhaust port) which has a rectangular shape (column 3, lines 29-31). US 6,596,082 to Chuang teaches a substrate processing device comprising discharge holes (306A, 306B) which are circular or polygonal (column 6, lines 32-35). US 2015/0187613 to Wakiyama et al teaches a substrate processing device comprising circular discharge holes and a rotating cover (50c) having a plurality of impellers (571) (see Figures 12 and 13).
/JASON G DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745