DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/518,571 filed on 11/23/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 11/23/2023, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 are rejected.
-Claims 6, 16 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
5. Acknowledgment is made of a continuation of CON of PCT/CN2022/093333 filed 05/17/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025, 03/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 1, 8, 11, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding claims 1, 8, 11, 18, these claims recite the terms "a first precoding codebook subset to be used" which is not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). [Note: the limitation recites after “to be” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term such as a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity is suggested.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language.
C. Regarding Claim 3, Claim 10 and similarly Claim 10 – Using claim 3 as an example, Claim 3 recites “a quantity of antenna ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset” and subsequently “a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device”. To avoid any questions raised about antecedent basis, two separate recitations of “quantity of antenna ports” are interpreted as being different instances of “quantity of antenna ports” associated with “corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset” and “of the virtual terminal device”.
Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 6, Claim 16 – Utilizing Claim 6 (i.e. which depends from claim 1) as an example representing Claim 16, Claim 6 initially recites terms “an antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device”, and subsequently recites “the antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device” , and furthermore subsequently recites “the antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device”. The office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device” recited with an article “the” prior to “antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device” for a first time without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device” in Claim 6, finds antecedent basis.
Furthermore while “the antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device” appear to find antecedent basis in prior recited “an antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device”, should recitations “antenna coherence capability” be considered individually, potential questions could be raised as to whether somehow, initial an recitation of “an antenna coherence capability” serves as the antecedent basis for subsequent instances of reciting “the antenna coherence capability’’.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
11. Claims 1-3, 8 -13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20210050889 A1), i.e. “PARK” in view of LI et al. (US 20150264700 A1), i.e. “LI”.
Regarding Claim 1. PARK teaches: An uplink data sending method applied in a first terminal device (PARK – FIG. 22 & ¶0626 […] an operation that is implemented in a UE for performing a method in which a UE transmits an uplink signal, based on a codebook; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0626 i.e. an operation and i.e. in a UE for performing a method reads on: An uplink data sending method that is implemented in a UE reads on: applied in a first terminal device ),
comprising: sending first indication information to a network device (PARK FIG. 22 & ¶0627 […] in order for a UE to perform the method of transmitting an uplink signal, based on a codebook, in a wireless communication system, the UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied to antenna ports of the UE for transmitting an uplink signal to a base station (S2210); FIG. 24 & ¶0687 […] (UE) may transmit UE capability information to a base station (BS) (S105) […] UE capability information may include # of supported antenna port/coherency capability (e.g., nonCoherent, partialNonCoherent, fullCoherent)/full power transmission capability ; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0627 i.e. the UE transmits capability information and similarly ¶0687 S105 transmit UE capability information (S105) reads on: comprising: sending first indication information per ¶0627 i.e. about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied to antenna ports of the UE for transmitting an uplink signal to a base station (S2210) and similarly ¶0687 S105 transmit UE capability information (S105) to a base station (BS) reads on: to a network device ),
wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a terminal device (PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See above; ¶0628 […]the codebook includes a first codebook for a rank 1 using four antenna ports for transmitting the uplink signal, a codebook subset is configured, based on precoding matrixes included in the first codebook, and the precoding matrixes included in the first codebook may be indexed by a TPMI; ¶0635 […] the codebook subset may further include (i) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 1 of the precoding matrixes included in the third codebook and (ii) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 0 of the precoding matrixes ; ¶0636 […] the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission from the base station, based on the capability information (S2220); NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission from the base station, i.e. based on the capability information (S2220) reads on: wherein the first indication information is used , where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset where per ¶0635 […] the codebook subset may further include (i) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 1 and (ii) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 0 reads on: to determine a first precoding codebook subset , where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission reads on: to be used by a terminal device ) ,
and antennas of the terminal device comprise a first antenna of the first terminal device (PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See above; ¶0628 See above; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE for transmitting an uplink signal reads on: and antennas of the terminal device comprise a first antenna of the first terminal device );
receiving configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information indicates the first precoding codebook subset (PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See above; ¶0628 See above; ¶0636 See above; FIG. 24 & ¶0695 […] UE may receive, from the BS, UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S125) […] when the UE is a Non-coherent UE, a codebook subset to be applied to/used for UL transmission of the corresponding UE may be configured/determined/indicated […] when the UE is a Partial-coherent UE, the codebook subset to be applied to/used for UL transmission of the corresponding UE may be configured/determined/indicated; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission from the base station i.e. (S2220), and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0695 i.e. UE may receive, from the BS, UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S125) reads on: receiving configuration information from the network device , where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset where per ¶0635 […] the codebook subset may further include (i) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 1 and (ii) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 0 reads on: wherein the configuration information indicates the first precoding codebook subset and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0695 S125 includes i.e. UE is a Non-coherent UE, a codebook subset to be applied and when the UE is a Partial-coherent UE, the codebook subset to be applied);
and sending data to the network device based on the first precoding codebook subset (PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See above; ¶0628 See above; ¶0636 See above ; ¶0638 […] the UE determines a precoding matrix to be applied for uplink signal transmission, based on the DCI, from the codebook subset determined based on the configuration information (S2240); ¶0641 […] the UE transmits the uplink signal to the base station, based on the determined precoding matrix (S2250); FIG. 24 & ¶0697 […] The UE may transmit, to the BS, a UL channel/signal transmitted based on the UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S130). As an example, the UE may transmit, to the BS, data to which the precoding is applied; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0641 i.e. the UE transmits the uplink signal to the base station and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0697 i.e. The UE may transmit, to the BS, a UL channel/signal transmitted based on the UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S130)i.e. the UE may transmit, to the BS, data to which the precoding is applied reads on: and sending data to the network device , per ¶0641 i.e. based on the determined precoding matrix (S2250) where per ¶0638 i.e. the UE determines a precoding matrix to be applied for uplink signal transmission, based on the DCI, from the codebook subset determined based on the configuration information (S2240) reads on: based on the first precoding codebook subset ).
While PARK as noted above teaches wherein the configuration information indicates the first precoding codebook subset, where the configuration information is based on first indication information comprising UE capability i.e. applied to antenna ports of the UE, i.e., PARK teaches applying the first precoding codebook subset to antenna ports of the UE or multiple antennas of the UE, PARK however does not appear to explicitly teach applying the first precoding codebook subset to multiple antennas derived from multiple user equipments forming a virtual user equipment.
As will be noted in combination below, LI teaches a virtual terminal (i.e. which is not explicitly taught by PARK) where different precoding vectors in a precoding matrix are applied to different antennas of different UEs of the virtual terminal, and furthermore, where in combination the first precoding codebook subset applied to multiple antennas as taught by PARK could obviously, also be applied to the different antennas of different UEs of the virtual terminal as taught by LI, at least for a motivation to combine noted further below.
Therefore, as applicable to the claim limitations as recited, this office action respectfully contends that,
PARK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: - See italicized portions of claim limitations): a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a virtual terminal device, and antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of the first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices;
LI which also teaches: An uplink data sending method applied in a first terminal device (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 FIG. 3 & ¶0090 […] the base station 1 monitors sounding reference signals sent by the multiple user equipments 2. The base station 1 combines the multiple user equipments 2 to serve as a virtual user equipment, and antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment; ¶0114 […] process of an uplink MU-MIMO method […] executed by the user equipment 2 in FIG. 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0090 i.e. monitors sounding reference signals sent by the multiple user equipments and per FIG. 3 & ¶0114 process of an uplink MU-MIMO executed by the user equipment 2 in FIG. 1 method reads on: An uplink data sending method applied in a first terminal device ),
comprising: sending first indication information to a network device (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & ¶0090 See above; ¶0115 […] S301, a user equipment sends a sounding reference signal to a base station, so that the base station constructs a precoding matrix according to the sounding reference signal; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0090 i.e. the base station 1 monitors sounding reference signals sent by the multiple user equipments 2 and per ¶0115 i.e. reads on: comprising: sending first indication information. Furthermore per ¶0090 i.e. the base station 1 monitors sounding reference signals sent and per ¶0115 i.e. to a base station reads on: to a network device ),
furthermore LI (i.e. specific to limitations not explicitly taught or strongly suggested above by PARK) teaches: wherein the first indication information is used to determine a first precoding to be used by a virtual terminal device (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & ¶0090 See above […] The base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment according to the sounding reference signals sent by the virtual user equipment. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment; 0091 […] the multiple user equipments 2 forming the virtual user equipment […] After the multiple user equipments 2 send the sounding reference signals to the base station 1, at least one user equipment in the multiple user equipments 2 generates at least one MAC PDU according to the received first scheduling message sent by the base station 1 […] the multiple user equipments 2 exchange the MAC PDUs […] The multiple user equipments 2 perform precoding on the layer according to a vector, corresponding to each user equipment 2, indicated by the first scheduling message in the precoding matrix, so as to obtain the uplink signal. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix. The uplink signal is sent by using the antennas of the multiple user equipments 2, and uplink MU-MIMO with joint precoding by the multiple user equipments is implemented; ¶0115 See above; ¶0116 S302 […] user equipment receives the first scheduling message sent by the base station, where the first scheduling message includes a layer mapping rule and the precoding matrix; ¶0118 […] S303, the user equipment generates at least one MAC packet data unit MAC PDU according to the first scheduling message; ¶0133 […] S305, the user equipment sends, by using an antenna, the uplink signal to the base station ; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0090 i.e. base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment according to the sounding reference signals sent by the virtual user equipment. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment and per ¶0115 i.e. so that the base station constructs a precoding matrix according to i.e. the sounding reference signal reads on: wherein the first indication information , where furthermore per ¶0090 i.e. according to the sounding reference signals, i.e. base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment and per ¶0115 i.e. according to the sounding reference signal i.e. the base station constructs a precoding matrix where per ¶0091 i.e. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix reads on: is used to determine a first precoding comprising precoding matrix including different precoding vectors . Furthermore where per ¶0116 i.e. user equipment receives the first scheduling message sent by the base station, where the first scheduling message includes a layer mapping rule and the precoding matrix and per ¶0118 S303 generates at least one MAC packet data unit MAC PDU according to the first scheduling message and S305 sends uplink signal according to processed MAC PDU, per ¶0090 i.e. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment reads on: to be used by a virtual terminal device ),
and antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of the first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & 0091 see above; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0091 i.e. multiple user equipments 2 forming the virtual user equipment where per ¶0091 i.e. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix. The uplink signal is sent by using the antennas of the multiple user equipments 2 i.e. the different antennas pertaining to different UEs forming the virtual user equipment reads on: and antennas of the virtual terminal device , where furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix. The uplink signal is sent by using the antennas of the multiple user equipments 2 reads on: comprise a first antenna of the first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK with teachings of LI as presented above, since both PARK and LI are from the same field of endeavor, and LI enables procedures that a provide an uplink MU-MIMO method so as to implement uplink MU-MIMO, and improve uplink spectral efficiency (LI - ¶0008 ).
Regarding Claim 2. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein the first indication information indicates an antenna coherence capability (PARK FIG. 24 & ¶0687 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0687 i.e. (UE) may transmit UE capability information to a base station (BS) (S105) reads on: wherein the first indication information , and per ¶0687 i.e. UE capability information may include # of supported antenna port/coherency capability (e.g., nonCoherent, partialNonCoherent, fullCoherent)/full power transmission capability reads on: indicates an antenna coherence capability ) of
the virtual terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a candidate set of the first precoding codebook subset ( PARK - FIG. 22, FIG. 24 & ¶0591 Codebook subset configuring method for full power transmission of partial-coherent UE; ¶0598 […]the codebook subset for the case of ‘Rel-16 Mode 1, Partial-coherent UE’ may further include a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 12 to 15 among the precoding matrices included in one codebook of the codebook of Table 19 or 20 for rank 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0591 Codebook subset configuring method per ¶0598 i.e. the codebook subset for the case of ‘Rel-16 Mode 1, Partial-coherent UE’ may further include a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 12 to 15 among the precoding matrices reads on: of a candidate set of the first precoding codebook subset included in one codebook of the codebook of Table 19 or 20 for rank 1), wherein the antenna coherence capability comprises fully coherent (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), partial coherent ( PARK - FIG. 22, FIG. 24 & ¶0591 See above; ¶0598 see above; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: ¶0598 i.e. the codebook subset for the case of ‘Rel-16 Mode 1, Partial-coherent UE’ reads on: wherein the antenna coherence capability comprises partial coherent i.e. may further include a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 12 to 15 among the precoding matrices), or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
non-coherent (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 3. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein a quantity of antenna ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the terminal device (PARK - FIG. 22 & FIG. 24 ¶0627 See claim 1, ¶0636 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE reads on: wherein a quantity of antenna ports where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission reads on: corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset for transmitting an uplink signal, furthermore per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE reads on: is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the terminal device ),
wherein the antennas ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset includes one or more first antenna ports of the first terminal device (PARK - FIG. 22 & FIG. 24 ¶0627 See claim 1, ¶0636 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE reads on: wherein the antennas ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset includes one or more first antenna ports of the first terminal device).
PARK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): antenna ports of the virtual terminal device, wherein the antennas ports corresponding to the first precoding includes one or more first antenna ports of the first terminal device and one or more second antenna ports of the second terminal device;
LI which teaches: the first precoding is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device, wherein the antennas ports corresponding to the first precoding includes one or more first antenna ports of the first terminal device and one or more second antenna ports of the second terminal device (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & 0091 see Claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0091 The base station 1 combines the multiple user equipments 2 to serve as a virtual user equipment, and antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment. The base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment according to the sounding reference signals sent by the virtual user equipment. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix reads on: the first precoding for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment. Furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment reads on: is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device upon which The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix. Furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. base station 1 combines the multiple user equipments 2 to serve as a virtual user equipment, and antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment. i.e. antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment reads on: wherein the antennas ports corresponding to the first precoding includes one or more first antenna ports of the first terminal device and one or more second antenna ports of the second terminal device upon which i.e. the base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK in view of LI, further with the teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures that a provide an uplink MU-MIMO method, so as to implement uplink MU-MIMO, and improve uplink spectral efficiency (LI - ¶0008 ).
Regarding Claim 8. PARK teaches: An uplink data receiving method(PARK – FIG. 22 & ¶0626 See claim 1; ¶00627 […] transmitting an uplink signal to a base station (S2210) ; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0626 i.e. an operation and i.e. in a UE for performing a method per ¶00627 i.e. transmitting an uplink signal to a base station (S2210) reads on: An uplink data receiving method),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “sending” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: determining a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a terminal device(PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See claim 1; ¶0628 See claim 1I; ¶0635 See claim 1 ; ¶0636 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset from the base station i.e. based on the capability information (S2220) where per ¶0635 […] the codebook subset may further include (i) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 1 and (ii) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 0 reads on: comprising: determining a first precoding codebook subset as determined by the base station based on the capability information (S2220) and determine for use by the terminal device, where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission reads on: to be used by a terminal device ),
wherein antennas of the terminal device comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device (PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See claim 1; ¶0628 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE for transmitting an uplink signal reads on: wherein antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device );
sending first indication information to the first terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the first precoding codebook subset(PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See claim 1; ¶0628 See claim 1; ¶0636 See claim 1; FIG. 24 & ¶0695 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission from the base station i.e. (S2220), and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0695 i.e. UE may receive, from the BS, UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S125) reads on: sending first indication information to the first terminal device, where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset where per ¶0635 […] the codebook subset may further include (i) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 1 and (ii) a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 0 reads on: wherein the first indication information indicates the first precoding codebook subset and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0695 S125 includes i.e. UE is a Non-coherent UE, a codebook subset to be applied and when the UE is a Partial-coherent UE, the codebook subset to be applied);
and receiving uplink data from the first terminal device, wherein the uplink data is sent based on the first precoding codebook subset (PARK - FIG. 22 & ¶0627 See claim 1; ¶0628 See claim 1; ¶0636 See claim 1; ¶0638 See claim 1; ¶0641 See claim 1; FIG. 24 & ¶0697 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0641 i.e. the UE transmits the uplink signal to the base station and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0697 i.e. The UE may transmit, to the BS, a UL channel/signal transmitted based on the UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S130)i.e. the UE may transmit, to the BS, data to which the precoding is applied reads on: and receiving uplink data from the first terminal device , per ¶0641 i.e. based on the determined precoding matrix (S2250) where per ¶0638 i.e. the UE determines a precoding matrix to be applied for uplink signal transmission reads on: wherein the uplink data is sent, based on the DCI, from the codebook subset determined based on the configuration information (S2240) reads on: based on the first precoding codebook subset).
PARK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): virtual terminal device, wherein antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices;
LI (i.e. specific to limitations which PARK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest) teaches: determining a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a virtual terminal device (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & ¶0090 See claim 1; 0091 See claim 1; ¶0115 See claim 1; ¶0116 See claim 1; ¶0118 See claim 1; ¶0133 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0090 i.e. base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment according to the sounding reference signals sent by the virtual user equipment. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment and per ¶0115 i.e. so that the base station constructs a precoding matrix according to i.e. the sounding reference signals, i.e. base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment and per ¶0115 i.e. according to the sounding reference signals i.e. the base station constructs a precoding matrix where per ¶0091 i.e. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix reads on: determining a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a virtual terminal device comprising precoding matrix including different precoding vectors . Furthermore where per ¶0116 i.e. user equipment receives the first scheduling message sent by the base station, where the first scheduling message includes a layer mapping rule and the precoding matrix and per ¶0118 S303 generates at least one MAC packet data unit MAC PDU according to the first scheduling message and S305 sends uplink signal according to processed MAC PDU, per ¶0090 i.e. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment reads on: to be used by a virtual terminal device ),
wherein antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & 0091 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0091 i.e. multiple user equipments 2 forming the virtual user equipment where per ¶0091 i.e. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix. The uplink signal is sent by using the antennas of the multiple user equipments 2 i.e. the different antennas pertaining to different UEs forming the virtual user equipment reads on: wherein antennas of the virtual terminal device , where furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. Different antennas of different UEs may use different precoding vectors in the precoding matrix. The uplink signal is sent by using the antennas of the multiple user equipments 2 reads on: comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK with teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures that a provide an uplink MU-MIMO method, so as to implement uplink MU-MIMO, and improve uplink spectral efficiency (LI - ¶0008 ).
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “sending” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
Regarding Claim 9. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 8,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2 in conjunction with a terminal device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein the first indication information indicates an antenna coherence capability (PARK FIG. 24 & ¶0687 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0687 i.e. (UE) may transmit UE capability information to a base station (BS) (S105) and per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission from the base station i.e. (S2220), and similarly per FIG. 24 & ¶0695 i.e. UE may receive, from the BS, UL scheduling information/precoding related information (S125) reads on: wherein the first indication information which is based on information S2220 capability information from UE, and which per ¶0687 i.e. UE capability information may include # of supported antenna port/coherency capability (e.g., nonCoherent, partialNonCoherent, fullCoherent)/full power transmission capability reads on: indicates an antenna coherence capability ) of
the virtual terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a candidate set of the first precoding codebook subset( PARK - FIG. 22, FIG. 24 & ¶0591 Codebook subset configuring method for full power transmission of partial-coherent UE; ¶0598 […]the codebook subset for the case of ‘Rel-16 Mode 1, Partial-coherent UE’ may further include a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 12 to 15 among the precoding matrices included in one codebook of the codebook of Table 19 or 20 for rank 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0591 Codebook subset configuring method per ¶0598 i.e. the codebook subset for the case of ‘Rel-16 Mode 1, Partial-coherent UE’ may further include a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 12 to 15 among the precoding matrices reads on: of a candidate set of the first precoding codebook subset included in one codebook of the codebook of Table 19 or 20 for rank 1),
wherein the antenna coherence capability comprises fully coherent(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), partial coherent ( PARK - FIG. 22, FIG. 24 & ¶0591 See above; ¶0598 see above; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: ¶0598 i.e. the codebook subset for the case of ‘Rel-16 Mode 1, Partial-coherent UE’ reads on: wherein the antenna coherence capability comprises partial coherent i.e. may further include a precoding matrix in which the TPMI index is 12 to 15 among the precoding matrices), or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) non-coherent (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2 in conjunction with a terminal device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 10. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 8,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 in conjunction with a terminal device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
furthermore PARK teaches: wherein a quantity of antenna ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the terminal device (PARK - FIG. 22 & FIG. 24 ¶0627 See claim 1, ¶0636 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE reads on: wherein a quantity of antenna ports where per ¶0636 i.e. the UE receives configuration information for determining a codebook subset related to uplink signal transmission reads on: corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset for transmitting an uplink signal, furthermore per ¶0627 i.e. UE transmits capability information about UE capability that maintains differences between phase values applied i.e. to antenna ports of the UE reads on: is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the terminal device );
PARK does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): antenna ports of the virtual terminal device;
LI which teaches: the first precoding is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device(LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & 0091 See claim 1; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0091 The base station 1 combines the multiple user equipments 2 to serve as a virtual user equipment, and antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment. The base station 1 obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment according to the sounding reference signals sent by the virtual user equipment. The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix reads on: the first precoding for uplink transmission of the virtual user equipment. Furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment reads on: is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device upon which The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK in view of LI, further with the teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures that a provide an uplink MU-MIMO method, so as to implement uplink MU-MIMO, and improve uplink spectral efficiency (LI - ¶0008 ).
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 in conjunction with a terminal device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 11. PARK teaches: A communication apparatus (PARK – FIG. 22 & ¶0626 […] an operation that is implemented in a UE for performing a method in which a UE transmits an uplink signal, based on a codebook; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0626 i.e. an operation and i.e. in a UE for performing a method reads on: An uplink data sending method that is implemented in a UE reads on: A communication apparatus),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 11 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: a non-transitory memory configured to store program instructions, and one or more processors configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus (PARK - FIG. 22 , FIG. 25 FIG. 28 & ¶0705 […] the wireless device may include […] a hand-held device 100d […] a specific wireless device 200a may operate an eNB/network node; ¶0726 […] the control unit 120 may an electrical/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on a program/code/instruction/information stored in the memory unit 130. NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: as applied to Device 100 such as a handheld or UE, per ¶0726 i.e. the memory unit 130 reads on: comprising: a non-transitory memory , per ¶0276 i.e. a program/code/instruction/information stored in the memory unit 130. reads on: configured to store program instructions, per ¶0276 i.e. control unit 120 may an electrical/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on a program/code/instruction/information reads on: and one or more processors configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus ) to: determine first indication information used to determine a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a virtual terminal device, wherein antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices; send the first indication information to a network device; receive configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information indicates the first precoding codebook subset; and send data to the network device based on the first precoding codebook subset (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 11 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 12. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 12 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first indication information indicates an antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device or a candidate set of the first precoding codebook subset, wherein the antenna coherence capability comprises fully coherent, partial coherent, or non-coherent (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 12 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 13. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 3 and Claim 10, Claim 13 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 and Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 and Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein a quantity of antenna ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device (See the rejection of Claim 3 and Claim 10, Claim 13 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 and Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 and Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 18. PARK teaches A communication apparatus (PARK – FIG. 22 & ¶0626 See claim 1; ¶00627 […] transmitting an uplink signal to a base station (S2210) ; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0626 i.e. an operation and i.e. in a UE for performing a method per ¶00627 i.e. transmitting an uplink signal to i.e. a base station (S2210) reads on: A communication apparatus),
comprising: a non-transitory memory configured to store program instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus to (PARK - FIG. 22 , FIG. 25 FIG. 28 & ¶0705 […] the wireless device may include […] a hand-held device 100d […] a specific wireless device 200a may operate an eNB/network node; ¶0726 […] the control unit 120 may an electrical/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on a program/code/instruction/information stored in the memory unit 130. NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: as applied to Device 200 such as eNB / network node , per ¶0726 i.e. the memory unit 130 reads on: comprising: a non-transitory memory , per ¶0276 i.e. a program/code/instruction/information stored in the memory unit 130. reads on: configured to store program instructions, per ¶0276 i.e. control unit 120 may an electrical/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on a program/code/instruction/information reads on: and one or more processors configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus to):
(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 18 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
determine a first precoding codebook subset to be used by a virtual terminal device, wherein antennas of the virtual terminal device comprise a first antenna of a first terminal device and one or more second antennas of one or more second terminal devices; send first indication information to the first terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the first precoding codebook subset; and receive uplink data from the first terminal device, wherein the uplink data is sent based on the first precoding codebook subset(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 18 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 18,
(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 19 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first indication information indicates an antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device or a candidate set of the first precoding codebook subset, wherein the antenna coherence capability comprises fully coherent, partial coherent, or non-coherent(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 19 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 18,
(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 20 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein a quantity of antenna ports corresponding to the first precoding codebook subset is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the virtual terminal device(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 20 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claims 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of LI, further in view of XUE et al. (US 20210211169 A1), i.e. “XUE”.
Regarding Claim 4. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore PARK teaches: the method further comprising: receiving second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device (LI FIG. 1, FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 & 0091 See claim 1;FIG. 6 & ¶0149 […] The base station sends a first scheduling message to the two user equipments ;¶0150 […] generates the first scheduling message according to the precoding matrix; sends the first scheduling message to the two user equipments; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: Per ¶0149 i.e. The base station sends a first scheduling message to the two user equipments reads on: the method further comprising: receiving second indication information from the network device and per ¶0091 The base station 1 combines the multiple user equipments 2 to serve as a virtual user equipment, and antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment. Furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. obtains uplink channel matrixes of the multiple antennas of the virtual user equipment upon which The base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix. Furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. base station 1 combines the multiple user equipments 2 to serve as a virtual user equipment, and antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment. Per ¶0149 the scheduling information sent to two separate UEs reads on: wherein the second indication information indicates, which comprises per ¶0091 i.e. antenna transmission of the multiple user equipments 2 are considered as transmission of multiple antennas of one virtual user equipment reads on: a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device upon which i.e. the base station 1 constructs, according to the uplink channel matrix, a precoding matrix), and the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device.
PARK in view of LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): and the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device;
XUE teaches: a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device, and the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device (XUE FIG. 8 & ¶0098 […] the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have a capability to relay additional data streams for a primary UE ; ¶0101 […] reference number 815, the UE may transmit, to one or more TRPs in the CoMP network, a report that indicates network identities and capabilities of the cooperative transmission group […] in cases where relay-based precoding is to be used, the report can further indicate (e.g., in an enhanced scheduling request) information related to one or more data streams to be relayed by one or more other UEs in the cooperative transmission group; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0101 i.e. a report that indicates network identities and capabilities of the cooperative transmission group reads on: a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device , and furthermore per ¶0098 i.e. the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have a capability to relay additional data streams for a primary UE i.e. the UE such as the primary in the group of UEs identified in report of 815 where any of others may be the first UE reads on: and the one or more second terminal devices , furthermore in the context of per ¶0098 i.e. the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have a capability to relay additional data streams where i.e. the relay UE is relays for the primary reads on: belong to the at least one second terminal device i.e. the relay UE can be one of the second UEs in the report in the context of other first UEs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK in view of LI, with teachings of XUE, since XUE enables procedures the UE and the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have capabilities to utilize transmit diversity precoding for higher spatial diversity, reliability (XUE - ¶0097 ).
Regarding Claim 14. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 14 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 14. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the one or more processors is further configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus to: receive second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device, and the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 14 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 14. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of LI, further in view of XUE, further in view of FUJISHIRO et al. (US 20200204329 A1) i.e. “FUJISHIRO” .
Regarding Claim 5. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 1,
PARK in view of LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): wherein the sending the first indication information to the network device comprises: determining that a preset condition is met, and sending the first indication information to the network device, wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following conditions: a data rate of uplink data is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold;
XUE teaches: wherein the sending the first indication information to the network device comprises: determining that a preset condition is met, and sending the first indication information to the network device, wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” and the limitations subsequent to which are further separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)conditions:
the first terminal device receives second indication information indicating a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device,
wherein the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” and the limitations subsequent to which are further separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a data rate of uplink data is greater than or equal to a first threshold (XUE - FIG. 8 A & ¶0098 […] the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have a capability to relay additional data streams for a primary UE (e.g., in cases where the primary UE is suffering from a congested uplink, one or more obstacles are causing attenuation for signals transmitted by the primary UE, and/or the like). In this case, whereas the transmit diversity precoding may be used to transmit multiple copies of a data stream across multiple antennas (e.g., with some antenna(s) of the primary UE and some antenna(s) of the other cooperating UEs), the primary UE and the cooperating UEs may transmit different data stream; ¶0101 […] reference number 815, the UE may transmit, to one or more TRPs in the CoMP network, a report that indicates network identities and capabilities of the cooperative transmission group. NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0101 i.e. reference number 815, the UE may transmit, to one or more TRPs in the CoMP network, a report that indicates network identities and capabilities of the cooperative transmission group reads on: wherein the sending the first indication information to the network , where per ¶0098 i.e. the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have a capability to relay additional data streams for a primary UE (e.g., in cases where the primary UE is suffering from a congested uplink reads on: comprises: determining that a preset condition is met , where per ¶0098 i.e. in cases where the primary UE is suffering from a congested uplink i.e. the congestion indicates that the data rate requirement of the UL data cannot be supported by the primary UE or data rate requirement is greater than what is supported and hence the request 815 reads on: wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following conditions: a data rate of uplink data is greater than or equal to a first threshold ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a quantity of antennas of the first terminal device is less than or equal to a second preset threshold (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” and the limitations subsequent to which are further separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK in view of LI, with teachings of XUE, since XUE enables procedures the UE and the other UEs in the cooperative transmission group may have capabilities to utilize transmit diversity precoding for higher spatial diversity, reliability (XUE - ¶0097 ).
While PARK in view of LI and XUE teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the first indication information to the network device comprises: determining that a preset condition is met, and sending the first indication information to the network device, wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following conditions: the first terminal device receives second indication information indicating a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device, wherein the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device, a data rate of uplink data is greater than or equal to a first threshold, or a quantity of antennas of the first terminal device is less than or equal to a second preset threshold.
PARK in view of LI and XUE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): a first preset threshold;
FUJISHIRO teaches: wherein the sending the first indication information to the network device comprises: determining that a preset condition is met, and sending the first indication information to the network device, wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following conditions: a data rate is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold (FUJISHIRO - ¶0167 the feedback information may be channel state information (CSI). The CSI includes a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator). The CSI may be a PMI (Precoder Matrix Indicator) […] Alternatively, the notification information may be information indicating that the reception quality of the multicast data is less than the threshold value. In this case, whether or not to change the MCS depends on the determination by the eNB 200. Alternatively, the notification information may be information indicating that the UE 100 desires to change the MCS. […] the UE 100 may transmit to the eNB 200 notification information indicating that the MCS should be upgraded with the reception quality of the multicast data being equal to or greater than the threshold value as a trigger; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: i.e. per 0167 i.e. the feedback information may be channel state information (CSI). The CSI includes a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator). The CSI may be a PMI (Precoder Matrix Indicator) reads on: wherein the sending the first indication information to the network device . Furthermore per ¶0167 i.e. the notification information may be information indicating that the reception quality of the multicast data is less than the threshold value and i.e. the notification information may be information indicating that the UE 100 desires to change the MCS reads on: comprises: determining that a preset condition is met, and sending the first indication information to the network device . Furthermore per ¶0167 i.e. the UE 100 may transmit to the eNB 200 notification information indicating that the MCS should be upgraded with the reception quality of the multicast data being equal to or greater than the threshold value as a trigger reads on: wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following conditions: a data rate is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK in view of LI and XUE, with teachings of FUJISHIRO, since FUJISHIRO enables procedures to maximize the spectral efficiency without unnecessary reception failure (FUJISHIRO - ¶0224 ).
Regarding Claim 15. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 15 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the one or more processors is further configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus to: send the first indication information to the network device when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following conditions: receives second indication information indicating a correspondence between the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device, wherein the one or more second terminal devices belong to the at least one second terminal device, a data rate of uplink data of the communication apparatus is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, or a quantity of antennas of the communication apparatus is less than or equal to a second preset threshold(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 15 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
14. Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of LI, further in view of Huang et al. (US 20220239351 A1), i.e. “Huang”.
Regarding Claim 7. PARK in view of LI teaches: The method of claim 1,
PARK in view of LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): sending the first indication information to the one or more second terminal devices
Huang teaches: the method further comprising: sending the first indication information to the one or more second terminal devices (Huang FIG. 4 & ¶0111 At 425, the second device 415-b may transmit the SRS on the configured physical resources. […] The first device 415-a and the network equipment 405 may receive the SRS on the configured physical resources; ¶0124 […] 440, the first device 415-a may determine a subset of TPMIs based on an interference calculation. In some examples, the interference calculation may include calculating an interference matrix associated with the received SRS.; NOTE-TEACHING & DISCLOSURE: per ¶0111 i.e. At 425, the second device 415-b may transmit the SRS on the configured physical resources reads on: the method further comprising: sending the first indication information , and per ¶0111 i.e. The first device 415-a and the network equipment 405 may receive the SRS reads on: to the one or more second terminal devices , where per ¶0124 i.e. 440, the first device 415-a may determine a subset of TPMIs based on an interference calculation i.e. an interference matrix associated with the received SRS ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK in view of LI, with teachings of Huang, since Huang enables procedures determining subset of TPMIs from the candidate subset of TPMIs which may improve a selection accuracy of the determined subset of TPMIs (Huang - ¶0124 ).
Regarding Claim 17. PARK in view of LI teaches: The communication apparatus of claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 17 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the one or more processors is further configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus to: send the first indication information to the one or more second terminal devices(See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 17 recites features that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 6, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6. The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “the method further comprising: receiving third indication information from at least one second terminal device of the one or more second terminal devices, wherein the third indication information indicates an antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device; and determining the antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device based on an antenna coherence capability of the first terminal device and the antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device”.
Regarding Claim 16. The communication apparatus of claim 11, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the one or more processors is further configured to execute the program instructions to cause the communication apparatus to: receive third indication information from at least one second terminal device of the one or more second terminal devices, wherein the third indication information indicates an antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device; and determine the antenna coherence capability of the virtual terminal device based on an antenna coherence capability of the communication apparatus and the antenna coherence capability of the at least one second terminal device”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
02/03/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414