DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22nd, 2025 has been considered and entered.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on December 22nd, 2025 has been considered and entered. Accordingly claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The previous rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 101 have been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
“a controller configured to display” in at least claim 1
The published specification describes corresponding structure for the claim limitation in paragraph 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amento (US 20180343488 A1) (“Amento”).
With respect to claim 1, Amento teaches a video management apparatus capable of communicating with a terminal apparatus, the video management apparatus comprising:
a controller configured to: display, an icon visualizing a shooting position and a shooting direction of a video captured by each vehicle on a map, within a predetermined area including a designated point on the map displayed on a screen of the terminal apparatus (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 2 “ In various embodiments, the functionality of a mobile computing node can be provided by a vehicle, a drone, an airplane, other types of vehicles, and/or computing systems thereof” | Paragraph 56 “As explained above with reference to FIG. 1 with reference to the video request 118, the request received in operation 202 can include data that specifies one or more user, vehicle, or other entity; one or more filters; one or more requirements; one or more geographic locations; and/or other parameters or the like associated with the video or images that are being requested by way of the request received in operation 202. Thus, for example, the request received in operation 202 can specific a particular user, a particular location, a particular vehicle, or the like” | Paragraphs 73-77 “The method 400 begins at operation 402. At operation 402, the computing device 120 can send a request for video. In some embodiments, the request sent in operation 402 can be sent to the server computer 102, though this is not necessarily the case. The request sent in operation 402 can be similar or even identical to the video request 118 illustrated and described above with reference to FIG. 1 … From operation 402, the method 400 can proceed to operation 404. At operation 404, the computing device 120 can receive a list of mobile computing nodes 108 such as, for example, the list 122 illustrated and described herein with reference to FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the list received in operation 404 can be received from the server computer 102, though this is not necessarily the case … As explained above, the list 122 received in operation 404 can include data that specifies one or more mobile computing nodes 108. In some other embodiments, the list 122 received in operation 404 can include a map display that shows the available mobile computing nodes 108 (that satisfy the requirements associated with the request). Thus, in some embodiments, operation 406 can correspond to the computing device 120 presenting a user interface via which a user or other entity can select one of multiple available mobile computing nodes 108. Some example UIs for presenting the list 122 are illustrated and described below with reference to FIGS. 5A-5D. It should be understood that this example is illustrative, and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way. From operation 406, the method 400 can proceed to operation 408. At operation 408, the computing device 120 can obtain and send a selection such as the selection 124. The selection 124 obtained and/or provided in operation 406 can indicate a mobile computing node 108, from the list 122 of mobile computing nodes 108, that the requestor wants to obtain content (e.g., streaming video) from. Also, it should be understood that a user or other entity may specify more than one mobile computing node 108, e.g., a backup mobile computing node 108 can be selected in case a first or primary mobile computing node 108 becomes unavailable, moves out of a specified location, loses connectivity, or the like. It should be understood that multiple selections 124 may be provided, in some embodiments.” | Paragraph 93 “More particularly, the illustrated map display 522 shows three mobile computing nodes 108, as shown by the associated mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524. As shown, the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524 have associated thumbnails 526. The thumbnails 526 show a recent or current image associated with a capture device of the mobile computing nodes 108 associated with the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524. Thus, with reference to the map display 522, a user or other entity can ascertain the geographic location of a particular mobile computing node 108, a bearing of the mobile computing node 108, and a view or image associated with a capture device of the mobile computing node 108. This information can assist a user or other entity in selecting which mobile computing node 108 is to stream video to the computing device 120 or other device used to obtain the streaming video. It should be understood that this example is illustrative, and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way.”),
provide a user interface configured to allow a user to select any icon based on the displayed position and orientation (See at least Amento FIGS> 4-5D and Paragraph 92 “The map display 522 can be configured to enable a user or other entity to select a mobile computing node 108 from a list 122 of mobile computing nodes 108, which in the illustrated embodiment is provided within the map display 522.”).,
acquire, upon any icon being selected from among one or more icons displayed on the map via the user interface, a video captured by the vehicle corresponding to the selected icon, and autonomously play back the acquired video associated with a selected icon in response to the selection of the icon (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 95 “As noted above, the screen display 500C also can include other options such as a UI control 528. Selection of the UI control 528 can cause the computing device 120 to obtain streaming video from a selected mobile computing node 108 (e.g., via selection of one of the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524). An example view of the streaming video is shown in FIG. 5D. Because additional or alternative controls can be included in the screen display 500C, it should be understood that the example embodiment shown in FIG. 5C is illustrative and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way”).
With respect to claim 8, Amento teaches a video management method to be executed by a video management apparatus capable of communicating with a terminal apparatus, the video management method comprising:
display, an icon visualizing a shooting position and a shooting direction of a video captured by each vehicle on a map, within a predetermined area including a designated point on the map displayed on a screen of the terminal apparatus (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 2 “ In various embodiments, the functionality of a mobile computing node can be provided by a vehicle, a drone, an airplane, other types of vehicles, and/or computing systems thereof” | Paragraph 56 “As explained above with reference to FIG. 1 with reference to the video request 118, the request received in operation 202 can include data that specifies one or more user, vehicle, or other entity; one or more filters; one or more requirements; one or more geographic locations; and/or other parameters or the like associated with the video or images that are being requested by way of the request received in operation 202. Thus, for example, the request received in operation 202 can specific a particular user, a particular location, a particular vehicle, or the like” | Paragraphs 73-77 “The method 400 begins at operation 402. At operation 402, the computing device 120 can send a request for video. In some embodiments, the request sent in operation 402 can be sent to the server computer 102, though this is not necessarily the case. The request sent in operation 402 can be similar or even identical to the video request 118 illustrated and described above with reference to FIG. 1 … From operation 402, the method 400 can proceed to operation 404. At operation 404, the computing device 120 can receive a list of mobile computing nodes 108 such as, for example, the list 122 illustrated and described herein with reference to FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the list received in operation 404 can be received from the server computer 102, though this is not necessarily the case … As explained above, the list 122 received in operation 404 can include data that specifies one or more mobile computing nodes 108. In some other embodiments, the list 122 received in operation 404 can include a map display that shows the available mobile computing nodes 108 (that satisfy the requirements associated with the request). Thus, in some embodiments, operation 406 can correspond to the computing device 120 presenting a user interface via which a user or other entity can select one of multiple available mobile computing nodes 108. Some example UIs for presenting the list 122 are illustrated and described below with reference to FIGS. 5A-5D. It should be understood that this example is illustrative, and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way. From operation 406, the method 400 can proceed to operation 408. At operation 408, the computing device 120 can obtain and send a selection such as the selection 124. The selection 124 obtained and/or provided in operation 406 can indicate a mobile computing node 108, from the list 122 of mobile computing nodes 108, that the requestor wants to obtain content (e.g., streaming video) from. Also, it should be understood that a user or other entity may specify more than one mobile computing node 108, e.g., a backup mobile computing node 108 can be selected in case a first or primary mobile computing node 108 becomes unavailable, moves out of a specified location, loses connectivity, or the like. It should be understood that multiple selections 124 may be provided, in some embodiments.” | Paragraph 93 “More particularly, the illustrated map display 522 shows three mobile computing nodes 108, as shown by the associated mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524. As shown, the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524 have associated thumbnails 526. The thumbnails 526 show a recent or current image associated with a capture device of the mobile computing nodes 108 associated with the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524. Thus, with reference to the map display 522, a user or other entity can ascertain the geographic location of a particular mobile computing node 108, a bearing of the mobile computing node 108, and a view or image associated with a capture device of the mobile computing node 108. This information can assist a user or other entity in selecting which mobile computing node 108 is to stream video to the computing device 120 or other device used to obtain the streaming video. It should be understood that this example is illustrative, and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way.”),
provide a user interface configured to allow a user to select any icon based on the displayed position and orientation (See at least Amento FIGS> 4-5D and Paragraph 92 “The map display 522 can be configured to enable a user or other entity to select a mobile computing node 108 from a list 122 of mobile computing nodes 108, which in the illustrated embodiment is provided within the map display 522.”).,
acquire, upon any icon being selected from among one or more icons displayed on the map via the user interface, a video captured by the vehicle corresponding to the selected icon, and autonomously play back the acquired video associated with a selected icon in response to the selection of the icon (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 95 “As noted above, the screen display 500C also can include other options such as a UI control 528. Selection of the UI control 528 can cause the computing device 120 to obtain streaming video from a selected mobile computing node 108 (e.g., via selection of one of the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524). An example view of the streaming video is shown in FIG. 5D. Because additional or alternative controls can be included in the screen display 500C, it should be understood that the example embodiment shown in FIG. 5C is illustrative and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way”).
With respect to claim 15, Amento teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program configured to cause a video management apparatus capable of communicating with a terminal apparatus to execute operations, the operations comprising:
display, an icon visualizing a shooting position and a shooting direction of a video captured by each vehicle on a map, within a predetermined area including a designated point on the map displayed on a screen of the terminal apparatus (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 2 “ In various embodiments, the functionality of a mobile computing node can be provided by a vehicle, a drone, an airplane, other types of vehicles, and/or computing systems thereof” | Paragraph 56 “As explained above with reference to FIG. 1 with reference to the video request 118, the request received in operation 202 can include data that specifies one or more user, vehicle, or other entity; one or more filters; one or more requirements; one or more geographic locations; and/or other parameters or the like associated with the video or images that are being requested by way of the request received in operation 202. Thus, for example, the request received in operation 202 can specific a particular user, a particular location, a particular vehicle, or the like” | Paragraphs 73-77 “The method 400 begins at operation 402. At operation 402, the computing device 120 can send a request for video. In some embodiments, the request sent in operation 402 can be sent to the server computer 102, though this is not necessarily the case. The request sent in operation 402 can be similar or even identical to the video request 118 illustrated and described above with reference to FIG. 1 … From operation 402, the method 400 can proceed to operation 404. At operation 404, the computing device 120 can receive a list of mobile computing nodes 108 such as, for example, the list 122 illustrated and described herein with reference to FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the list received in operation 404 can be received from the server computer 102, though this is not necessarily the case … As explained above, the list 122 received in operation 404 can include data that specifies one or more mobile computing nodes 108. In some other embodiments, the list 122 received in operation 404 can include a map display that shows the available mobile computing nodes 108 (that satisfy the requirements associated with the request). Thus, in some embodiments, operation 406 can correspond to the computing device 120 presenting a user interface via which a user or other entity can select one of multiple available mobile computing nodes 108. Some example UIs for presenting the list 122 are illustrated and described below with reference to FIGS. 5A-5D. It should be understood that this example is illustrative, and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way. From operation 406, the method 400 can proceed to operation 408. At operation 408, the computing device 120 can obtain and send a selection such as the selection 124. The selection 124 obtained and/or provided in operation 406 can indicate a mobile computing node 108, from the list 122 of mobile computing nodes 108, that the requestor wants to obtain content (e.g., streaming video) from. Also, it should be understood that a user or other entity may specify more than one mobile computing node 108, e.g., a backup mobile computing node 108 can be selected in case a first or primary mobile computing node 108 becomes unavailable, moves out of a specified location, loses connectivity, or the like. It should be understood that multiple selections 124 may be provided, in some embodiments.” | Paragraph 93 “More particularly, the illustrated map display 522 shows three mobile computing nodes 108, as shown by the associated mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524. As shown, the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524 have associated thumbnails 526. The thumbnails 526 show a recent or current image associated with a capture device of the mobile computing nodes 108 associated with the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524. Thus, with reference to the map display 522, a user or other entity can ascertain the geographic location of a particular mobile computing node 108, a bearing of the mobile computing node 108, and a view or image associated with a capture device of the mobile computing node 108. This information can assist a user or other entity in selecting which mobile computing node 108 is to stream video to the computing device 120 or other device used to obtain the streaming video. It should be understood that this example is illustrative, and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way.”),
provide a user interface configured to allow a user to select any icon based on the displayed position and orientation (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 92 “The map display 522 can be configured to enable a user or other entity to select a mobile computing node 108 from a list 122 of mobile computing nodes 108, which in the illustrated embodiment is provided within the map display 522.”).,
acquire, upon any icon being selected from among one or more icons displayed on the map via the user interface, a video captured by the vehicle corresponding to the selected icon, and autonomously play back the acquired video associated with a selected icon in response to the selection of the icon (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 95 “As noted above, the screen display 500C also can include other options such as a UI control 528. Selection of the UI control 528 can cause the computing device 120 to obtain streaming video from a selected mobile computing node 108 (e.g., via selection of one of the mobile computing node location and bearing indicators 524). An example view of the streaming video is shown in FIG. 5D. Because additional or alternative controls can be included in the screen display 500C, it should be understood that the example embodiment shown in FIG. 5C is illustrative and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amento (US 20180343488 A1) (“Amento”) in view of Mutsumi (JP 2019215638 A) (“Mutsumi”) (Translation Attached).
With respect to claim 2, and similarly claims 9 and 16, Amento teaches that the controller is configured to display, on the map, the icon of each vehicle that stores a video in the predetermined area (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 92-95).
Amento, however, fails to explicitly disclose that upon a target period being designated, the controller is configured to display, on the map, the icon of each vehicle that stores a video captured during the target period in the predetermined area.
Mutsumi, however teaches a target period being designated (See at least Mutsumi FIG. 5 and Paragraphs 58-62 “FIG. 5 schematically illustrates an example of a flow of a process performed by the control device 200. FIG. 5 shows an example of processing from receiving the designation of the imaging target point to displaying the captured image. Each process illustrated in FIG. 5 may be executed mainly by a control unit included in control device 200. In step (step may be abbreviated as S) 102, when operation unit 110 receives designation of an imaging target point, target point acquisition unit 202 acquires the specified imaging target point. In S104, the request information transmitting unit 204 broadcasts request information including the identification information of the own vehicle to the other vehicles 100. When the response receiving unit 206 receives the first response information within a predetermined time after the transmission of the request information in response to the request information broadcasted in S104 (YES in S106), the process proceeds to S120, and when the first response information is not received (S106). NO), and proceed to S108. In S108, if the response receiving unit 206 receives the second response information within a predetermined time from the transmission of the request information (YES in S108), the process proceeds to S114. If not (NO in S108), the process proceeds to S110. In S110, the request information transmitting unit 208 transmits the request information to the vehicle management server 300, and the captured image receiving unit 210 receives the captured image of the imaging target point from the vehicle management server 300. In S112, the display control unit 212 causes the display unit 120 to display the captured image. In S114, the request information transmitting unit 208 transmits the request information to the vehicle 100 that has transmitted the second response information, and the captured image receiving unit 210 receives the captured image of the imaging target point from the vehicle 100. In S118, the display control unit 212 causes the display unit 120 to display the captured image.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Amento to include a target period being designated, as taught by Mutsumi as disclosed above, such that the controller is configured to display, on the map, the icon of each vehicle that stores a video captured in a selected target period in the predetermined area, in order to ensure an accurate display of an area (Mutsumi Abstract “To desirably achieve a technology that, when providing a picked-up image of an imaging target spot, can preferentially provide a newer picked-up image.”).
With respect to claim 3, and similarly claims 10 and 17, Amento in view of Mutsumi teach that the controller is configured to display, on the screen of the terminal apparatus, information indicating a time at which the video captured in the predetermined area was captured for each vehicle that stores the video (See at least Mutsumi Paragraph 5 “The captured image receiving unit may be configured to determine whether there is no vehicle capable of capturing the image capturing target point, and if the vehicle cannot store the captured image capturing the captured image point, the captured image may not be received. The captured image of the imaging target point may be received from the image management server that manages the captured image captured by the vehicle. The display control unit may display imaging time information indicating a time at which the captured image was captured, corresponding to the captured image”).
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amento (US 20180343488 A1) (“Amento”) in view of Mutsumi (JP 2019215638 A) (“Mutsumi”) (Translation Attached) further in view of Tagami (JP 5922397 B2) (“Tagami”) (Translation Attached).
With respect to claim 4, and similarly claims 11 and 18, Amento in view of Mutsumi teach that the controller is configured to display, on the map, one or more vehicles (See at least Amento FIGS. 4-5D and Paragraph 92-95).
Amento in view of Mutsumi fail to explicitly disclose displaying, on the map, the icon indicating the position and the orientation of one or more vehicles that captured the video in the predetermined area during the target period by changing a color of the icon for different times.
Tagami teaches displaying, on the map, the icon indicating the position and the orientation of one or more vehicles that captured the video in the predetermined area during the target period by changing a color of the icon for different times (See at least Tagami Paragraph 8 “ A program for displaying, the computer forming a video reproduction display area for displaying the reproduction video based on the video data and controlling a display state of the reproduction video according to a video reproduction operation. Means, reflecting the position of the spot on the traveling path shown in the reproduced video and the distance between the plurality of spots, according to a reference designating operation of directly or indirectly instructing the display position and the display interval on the reproduced video at least Position reference setting means for setting a position reference for setting the display position and the display interval on the reproduced video, and the front position based on the position reference A traveling image display program for operating the position indicator display means for displaying the position index on the display position on the reproduction image distance reflecting between the positions and the plurality of points of the point as. Here, the travel path refers to a road or a track on which a traveling vehicle travels. Moreover, the said point means the part (part) of the traveling path reflected in the imaging | video of the exterior of a traveling vehicle at least among the said reproduction | regeneration imaging | video” | Paragraph 17 “In this case, from the origin point on the travel path corresponding to the origin position on the reproduced video included in the position reference, the position index is a specific point on the travel path corresponding to the specific display position of the position index. It is preferable to accompany the distance display which shows the distance on the said reproduction | regeneration imaging | video up to. According to this, since the position index is accompanied by the distance display, the distance from the origin point at the specific point can be immediately grasped on the reproduced video. Here, the distance display is not limited to the case where the numerical value indicating the distance itself is displayed, as long as the magnitude of the distance can be recognized by the user as a result in some manner. The color or shape of the position index may be changed accordingly. Even in the case where the position index does not accompany the distance display, a sufficient effect can be obtained by, for example, a method in which a plurality of position indexes are arranged at equal intervals to form a scale-like display mode as a whole” | Paragraph 82 “In this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 39, position reference setting means P1i which sets a position reference according to a reference designation operation, and position index display means P1j which displays a position index superimposed on a reproduced video according to the position reference. And have. The position reference includes the origin position, the reference distance, a scale condition determined by the control position, and a shooting position related to the position and orientation of the camera, a shooting direction, and a shooting condition determined by the shooting angle of view.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Amento in view of Mutsumi to include displaying, on the map, the icon indicating the position and the orientation of one or more vehicles that captured the video in the predetermined area during the target period by changing a color of the icon for different times, as taught by Tagami as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate and easy to follow video playback (Tagami Paragraph 10 “As the above-mentioned position indicator, various indicators useful for grasping the display position and the display interval on the reproduced video as a result are widely included.”).
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amento (US 20180343488 A1) (“Amento”) in view of Nishio (US 20040145663 A1) (“Nishio”).
With respect to claim 5, and similarly claims 12 and 19, Amento fails to explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to store, as a history, a video that has been played back a predetermined number of times.
Nishio teaches that the controller is configured to store, as a history, a video that has been played back a predetermined number of times (See at least Nishio FIG. 5 and Paragraph 70 “The “degree standard settings” is a standard for changing the information indicating the image data on the image selection screen, and can be selected from among “time”, “frequency” and “time+frequency”. When “time” is selected, a length of shooting time and a length of reproduction (playback) time of the image data are determined as a degree standard and when “frequency” is selected, an amount of image data shot from the same position as a camera position or shot in the same object position, namely, shooting frequency and reproduction (playback) frequency of the image data are determined as a degree standard”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Amento to include that the controller is configured to store, as a history, a video that has been played back a predetermined number of times, as taught by Nishio as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate records of video playback (Nishio Paragraph 8 “The first object of the present invention, conceived in view of above problems, is to provide an image reproducing device for facilitating a selection of an image.”).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amento (US 20180343488 A1) (“Amento”) in view of Hubbell (US 12071075 B1) (“Hubbell”).
With respect to claim 6, and similarly claims 13 and 20, Amento teach that upon an icon being selected on the map, the controller is configured to acquire video corresponding to the icon and play back the acquired video on the screen (See at least Mutsumi FIG. 5 and Paragraphs 58-62 “FIG. 5 schematically illustrates an example of a flow of a process performed by the control device 200. FIG. 5 shows an example of processing from receiving the designation of the imaging target point to displaying the captured image. Each process illustrated in FIG. 5 may be executed mainly by a control unit included in control device 200. In step (step may be abbreviated as S) 102, when operation unit 110 receives designation of an imaging target point, target point acquisition unit 202 acquires the specified imaging target point. In S104, the request information transmitting unit 204 broadcasts request information including the identification information of the own vehicle to the other vehicles 100. When the response receiving unit 206 receives the first response information within a predetermined time after the transmission of the request information in response to the request information broadcasted in S104 (YES in S106), the process proceeds to S120, and when the first response information is not received (S106). NO), and proceed to S108. In S108, if the response receiving unit 206 receives the second response information within a predetermined time from the transmission of the request information (YES in S108), the process proceeds to S114. If not (NO in S108), the process proceeds to S110. In S110, the request information transmitting unit 208 transmits the request information to the vehicle management server 300, and the captured image receiving unit 210 receives the captured image of the imaging target point from the vehicle management server 300. In S112, the display control unit 212 causes the display unit 120 to display the captured image. In S114, the request information transmitting unit 208 transmits the request information to the vehicle 100 that has transmitted the second response information, and the captured image receiving unit 210 receives the captured image of the imaging target point from the vehicle 100. In S118, the display control unit 212 causes the display unit 120 to display the captured image.”).
Amento fail to explicitly disclose that upon two or more icons being selected upon the map, playing back each acquired video of each icon on the screen side by side.
Hubbell teaches that upon two or more icons being selected upon the map, playing back each acquired video of each icon on the screen side by side (See at least Hubbell FIGS. 14-15 and Col. 16 “A fourth example of the present disclosure employing an integrated control panel 80 with touchscreen interface is shown in FIG. 14 . The video display 81 and touchscreen control panel are likewise integrated with the dash of the vehicle. The control panel 80 has touchscreen control icons which allow the driver to adjust the reflective members of each SCM. In this embodiment, an additional SA option utilizes steering wheel sensors which input a realtime video feed from either Camera-A or Camera-B automatically when turning, thereby allowing the driver to maintain his focus on the particular driving maneuver.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Amento to include that upon two or more icons being selected upon the map, playing back each acquired video of each icon on the screen side by side, as taught by Hubbell as disclosed above, in order to ensure efficient video playback (Hubbell Abstract “A method for enhancing situational awareness in a transportation vehicle includes locating at least one camera on the vehicle”).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US Amento (US 20180343488 A1) (“Amento”) in view of Hubbell (US 12071075 B1) (“Hubbell”) further in view of Nishio (US 20040145663 A1) (“Nishio”).
With respect to claim 7, and similarly claim 14, Amento in view of Hubbell fail to explicitly disclose that in a case in which two or more icons with different capture times are displayed for one vehicle, the controller is configured, upon one icon among the two or more icons being selected, to gray out icons other than the one icon.
Nishio teaches that in a case in which two or more icons with different capture times are displayed for one vehicle, the controller is configured, upon one icon among the two or more icons being selected, to change the color of the icons other than the one icon (See at least Nishio FIG. 6and Paragraphs 71-72 “FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an example of a tree diagram for an option relating to icon change attribute settings when “with degrees” is selected in FIG. 4. Either “size”, “brightness” or the both can be selected in setting the “icon change attributes” and either “proportion,” “inverse proportion” or “constancy” can be selected for the degree standards. When “proportion” is selected, the size and the brightness of the icon are changed in proportion to the degree standard and when “inverse proportion” is selected, they are changed in inverse proportion to the degree standard. And when “constancy” is selected, the icons are displayed on the image selection screen with the size and the brightness set as constant, irrespective of the degree standard. Color or form may be inserted as an item under the icon change attributes.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Amento in view of Hubbell to include that in a case in which two or more icons with different capture times are displayed for one vehicle, the controller is configured, upon one icon among the two or more icons being selected, to change the color of the icons other than the one icon, as taught by Nishio as disclosed above, such that the icons are grayed out, in order to ensure accurate records of video selection (Nishio Paragraph 8 “The first object of the present invention, conceived in view of above problems, is to provide an image reproducing device for facilitating a selection of an image.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667