ventorNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ankle collar” (Claims 2, 5, 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. (It’s not clear what this is).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “toggleable heel release assembly” in claims 4-11. (Synonymous with “heel release means with a means for toggling”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, 7, 11 limitation “toggleable heel release assembly” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure appears in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
(This is not a non-standard term that does not rely to any specific structure and the scope is particularly unclear. It doesn’t appear to be a term that refers to a defined class of structure in either water skis nor snow skis. Based on the drawings, Applicant has possession of at least one structure that accomplishes the claimed function. A description of this structure that is sufficient to accomplish the function can be added to either the spec or the claims or both.)
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 7, 11, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “absent a sole” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “absent a majority of the sole,” while the accepted meaning is “no portion of the sole is identifiable.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. (From the point of view of a skier, the important parts of contact are the toes, the metatarsals, and the calcaneus. In light of the spec paragraph 3, a PHOSITA would expect these portions of the sole to be absent. There appears to be a sole covering that toes and calcaneus, leaving only the metatarsals uncovered. Fig 3B is not what Examiner expected to see after reading the spec and claims. This needs a better geometric definition in the claims to represent what Applicant is claiming in light of the specification.)
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 7, 11, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “bottom edge of the rigid sidewalls each angle inwardly towards one another” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “form a portion of the sole configured to wrap under the foot” (See Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b) while the accepted meaning is “the portion of the wall on the side of the foot is angled inwardly.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Regarding Claim 1, 7, 11, the scope of the “body sole” is unclear in light of Claim 11 which claims a baseplate acting a sole as part of the binding between the foot and the ski. It would not be clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art what parts of the sole would be attributed to the “body” and which parts are attributable to the ski. (Compare with Stephan US 20150093949 A1. The boot 1 has a sole, skeleton 5 has no sole, baseplate 3 has no sole. At least “a body” has no sole.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gracey (GB 2197625 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Gracey disclose a water ski semi-rigid binding comprising: a toe defining an interior toe pocket with top and bottom exterior surfaces (See Fig. 1, formed of Element 11); a heel opposite the toe (formed of Element 12); and, rigid sidewalls opposite one another and connecting the toe to the heel (combination of Element 12, 15, and 16. It possesses the characteristic of “rigid” although it varies.), a portion of the rigid sidewalls proximate to the heel upwardly sloping to form an upper cuff (top of element 15); wherein a top edge of the rigid sidewalls, the toe and the heel define a top opening of the binding (top of element 15); wherein a bottom edge of the rigid sidewalls, the toe and the heel define a bottom opening of the binding (inside of element 13, implicit but not separately shown.), wherein the top opening and the bottom opening and an interior surface of the rigid sidewalls form a hollow channel (where the foot goes) through the semi-rigid binding absent a body sole between the bottom surfaces of the toe pocket and the heel pocket (“waterski binding consists principally of a number of pieces of neoprene or other similar flexible and resilient material, fixedly attached to a base plate 10. This may be attached to the ski, or be constituted by the ski itself.” Page 4); and wherein the bottom edge of the rigid sidewalls each angle inwardly towards one another. (This is anticipated at least a portion of the bottom around the midfood, best seen Fig. 2.)
Regarding Claim 2, Gracey disclose a water ski semi-rigid binding of claim 1, further comprising an ankle collar fixed to the upper cuff and upwardly extending beyond the top edge of the heel and rigid sidewalls. (the tops of 11 and 12 form a curff)
Regarding Claim 3, Gracey disclose a water ski semi-rigid binding of claim 1, further comprising a protruding lip at an exterior rear surface of the heel. (Lip of Element 14)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wolnias (US 20160296825 A1) discloses a binding without a majority of a sole that facilitates feeling the board, David (US 20170252635 A1) discloses a binding with a protrusion and heel release. Stephan (US 20150093949 A1) discloses a binding with a shell that lacks a body sole.
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 21 January 2026