DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-18 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claims 15-18 are newly added.
Claim 1 is currently amended to incorporate new matter (see rejection below).
Claim 2 remains cancelled.
NOTE: Based on the clear new matter presented into claim 1 (and therefore, present in all the pending dependent claims), and for the sake of compact prosecution, the claims are being rejected under 112 for the New Matter, and then the art is being applied as if the New Matter were removed.
New Grounds of Rejection – Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-18 (all claims currently under consideration) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The response filed 09/21/2026 has introduced NEW MATTER into the claims.
As presently amended claim 1 recites that “the herbicide is free of a tris-ester of phosphoric acid with aliphatic alcohols, a tri-ester of phosphoric acid with aromatic alcohols, a bis-ester of alkyl phosphonic acids with aliphatic alcohols and a bis-ester of alkyl phosphonic acids with aromatic alcohols.” Thus, the claim broadly encompasses the specific exclusion of said particular elements, which was not previously encompassed by the claims or the specification as originally filed.
The response did not successfully point out where support for currently amended claim 1 could be found in the originally filed disclosure. Applicant indicated that said components are not present in the examples, however, the listed components are not mentioned at all in the Specification or Claims as originally filed, and therefore, Applicant has no support for their particular exclusion. Although the PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06 (“Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”).
As presently amended, the claims now recite limitations, which were not clearly disclosed in the specification as filed, and now change the scope of the instant disclosure as filed. Such limitations recited in the presently amended claims, which did not appear in the specification, as filed, introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C 112. Applicant is required to provide sufficient written support for the limitations recited in the present claims in the specification or claims, as filed, or remove these limitations from the claims in response to this Office Action.
Maintained Rejections (based on the New Matter being removed) – with New Grounds for Newly Added Claims 15-18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stock et al (CN 101562978 – English Machine Translation)
Stock teaches a liquid herbicidal composition comprising the azole quinoline grass ester, pinoxaden (see entire document, for instance, Abstract and page 2, fourth paragraph). The composition is taught as being sprayed (see entire document, for instance, page 5, fourth paragraph from the bottom). The composition is taught as comprising the azole quinoline grass ester (pinoxaden) in an amount of 2-10%, an emulsifier (namely the block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide) in an amount of 2-30%, a solvent (namely gamma-butyrolactone) in an amount of 10-60%, and a safener (namely mefenpyrdiethyl) (see entire document, for instance, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8). The composition is taught as having embodiments where the composition comprises a co-herbicide (namely sulfonylureas) (see entire document, for instance, page 7, second paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 09/21/2026 that based on the New Matter, the prior art does not anticipate the instant invention. Since the amendments are New Matter, and therefore, are outside the scope of what Applicant is able to effectively claim, for the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner has applied the 112 rejection (above) and then considered the claims to the extent that the New Matter is removed. This allows for Applicant to see what the prior art would look like against the claims that they have the possibility of actually claiming.
Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
that the prior art requires selection from multiple lists, and therefore, is not novelty destroying. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. If Applicant will consider the claims in the prior art document, specifically claims 3 and 4, one will note that when gamma-butyrolactone is the solvent, it is present in an amount of 10-60% (claim 3) and the pinoxaden is present in an amount of 2-10% (claim 3). Applicant points to claim 7 in support of their argument, wherein it is noted that the translation of claim 7 recites “the composition of claim 1, it comprises safener.” It is unclear how Applicant identifies Stock as teaching 0-90% solvents from said recitation. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stock et al (CN 101562978 – English Machine Translation).
Stock teaches a liquid herbicidal composition comprising the azole quinoline grass ester, pinoxaden (see entire document, for instance, Abstract and page 2, fourth paragraph). The composition is taught as being sprayed (see entire document, for instance, page 5, fourth paragraph from the bottom). The composition is taught as comprising the azole quinoline grass ester (pinoxaden) in an amount of 2-10%, an emulsifier (namely the block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, castor oil ethyoxylate (30EO), and calcium dodecyl benzene sulfonate) in an amount of 2-30%, a solvent (namely gamma-butyrolactone) in an amount of 10-60%, and a safener (namely mefenpyrdiethyl) (see entire document, for instance, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8, and page 3). It is noted that the solvent can be one or more of the aromatic hydrocarbons (see entire document, for instance, claim 4). The composition is taught as having embodiments where the composition comprises a co-herbicide (namely sulfonylureas) (see entire document, for instance, page 7, second paragraph).
Stock, while teaching the instantly components and ranges that overlap the instantly claimed ranges, does not provide a singular embodiment that utilizes all of the claimed elements in combination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the components taught by Stock in the composition of Stock for the purposes articulated in Stock in the amounts taught in Stock. One would have been motivated to do so since Stock teaches all of said elements are options for the invention of Stock. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since it would require no more than following the guidance set forth in Stock in order to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Further, the ranges taught in Stock directly overlap the instantly claimed ranges. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize all three of the block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, castor oil ethyoxylate (30EO), and calcium dodecyl benzene sulfonate together as the emulsifier (as required by instant claim 18). One would have been motivated to do so since the prior art teaches that all three components are known to be useful as emulsifiers for the composition of Stock, wherein in combining the three components, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect to arrive at a useful emulsifier for the composition of Stock. It is noted that MPEP 2144.06 states: ““It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 09/21/2026 that based on the New Matter, the prior art does not anticipate the instant invention. Since the amendments are New Matter, and therefore, are outside the scope of what Applicant is able to effectively claim, for the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner has applied the 112 rejection (above) and then considered the claims to the extent that the New Matter is removed. This allows for Applicant to see what the prior art would look like against the claims that they have the possibility of actually claiming.
Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim(s) 1, and 3-18 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stock et al (CN 101562978 – English Machine Translation) and Bell (US 2020/0205401).
The teachings of Stock are set forth above.
Stock, while teaching the instantly claimed gamma-butyrolactone as a solvent, does not expressly teach that the solvent can be gamma-valerolactone as required in newly added claim 15.
Bell teaches compositions that comprise pinoxaden wherein the solvent is taught as being selected from the group including gamma-butyrolactone, gamma-valerolactone, and delta-valerolactone (see entire document, for instance, Table 2 and [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the gamma-valerolactone or delta-valerolactone of Bell either in place of, or in combination with, the gamma-butyrolactone as taught by Stock in the invention of Stock. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success since Stock teaches the gamma-butyrolactone as a solvent in the composition of Stock, wherein Bell teaches that gamma-butyrolactone, gamma-valerolactone, and delta-valerolactone are all useful solvents for compositions comprising pinoxaden, such as in Stock.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611