DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claims filed 05/12/2026.
Claims 1 and 3-14 are pending and are currently under consideration.
No claims are newly added.
No claims are currently amended.
Claim 2 remains cancelled.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 5, 9, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stock et al (CN 101562978 – English Machine Translation)
Stock teaches a liquid herbicidal composition comprising the azole quinoline grass ester, pinoxaden (see entire document, for instance, Abstract and page 2, fourth paragraph). The composition is taught as being sprayed (see entire document, for instance, page 5, fourth paragraph from the bottom). The composition is taught as comprising the azole quinoline grass ester (pinoxaden) in an amount of 2-10%, an emulsifier (namely the block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide) in an amount of 2-30%, a solvent (namely gamma-butyrolactone) in an amount of 10-60%, and a safener (namely mefenpyrdiethyl) (see entire document, for instance, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8). The composition is taught as having embodiments where the composition comprises a co-herbicide (namely sulfonylureas) (see entire document, for instance, page 7, second paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 05/12/2026 that the prior art requires selection from multiple lists, and therefore, is not novelty destroying. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. If Applicant will consider the claims in the prior art document, specifically claims 3 and 4, one will note that when gamma-butyrolactone is the solvent, it is present in an amount of 10-60% (claim 3) and the pinoxaden is present in an amount of 2-10% (claim 3). Applicant points to claim 7 in support of their argument, wherein it is noted that the translation of claim 7 recites “the composition of claim 1, it comprises safener.” It is unclear how Applicant identifies Stock as teaching 0-90% solvents from said recitation. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stock et al (CN 101562978 – English Machine Translation).
Stock teaches a liquid herbicidal composition comprising the azole quinoline grass ester, pinoxaden (see entire document, for instance, Abstract and page 2, fourth paragraph). The composition is taught as being sprayed (see entire document, for instance, page 5, fourth paragraph from the bottom). The composition is taught as comprising the azole quinoline grass ester (pinoxaden) in an amount of 2-10%, an emulsifier (namely the block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide) in an amount of 2-30%, a solvent (namely gamma-butyrolactone) in an amount of 10-60%, and a safener (namely mefenpyrdiethyl) (see entire document, for instance, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8). The composition is taught as having embodiments where the composition comprises a co-herbicide (namely sulfonylureas) (see entire document, for instance, page 7, second paragraph).
Stock, while teaching the instantly components and ranges that overlap the instantly claimed ranges, does not provide a singular embodiment that utilizes all of the claimed elements in combination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the components taught by Stock in the composition of Stock for the purposes articulated in Stock in the amounts taught in Stock. One would have been motivated to do so since Stock teaches all of said elements are options for the invention of Stock. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since it would require no more than following the guidance set forth in Stock in order to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Further, the ranges taught in Stock directly overlap the instantly claimed ranges. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicant begins their discussion regarding obviousness by providing a quotation of “second paragraph of page 7”, however, it is noted that nowhere in the English translation of Stock are the quotations present. It is unclear what document Applicant is quoting from. It is noted that the Office Action points to the claims of the prior art, particularly the amounts in claim 3, however, Applicant’s arguments do not appear to acknowledge this teaching at all.
Applicant further argues in the remarks filed 05/12/2026 that the prior art does not teach several of the other alternatives in the claims, such as the valerolactone. This argument is not found persuasive for at least the reason that the prior art teaches at least the gamma-butyrolactone.
Applicant further argues that Applicant believes the claimed invention achieves unexpected results. It is noted that the claims are not commensurate in scope with Applicant’s assertion of unexpected results. Applicant does not point to any evidence that gamma-butyrolactone achieves unexpected results, or that any of the specific combinations result in unexpected results. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611