DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated November 24, 2023, claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a locating block” in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Although a mounting table 23 is referred to in FIG. 7, it is partially indicated in FIG. 7, it is unclear what feature is being pointed to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-7 and 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, line 4 recites “an avoidance slot”. It is uncertain how the slot is “avoidance” in the ordinary meaning of the word. The specification does not further define this feature.
Claim 7, line 2 recites “a locating block”. It is uncertain what this feature is referring to as the specification and the drawings lack any description that allow for examination.
Claim 14, line 6 recites “an elastic sheet”. It is uncertain how the sheet is elastic and whether this is supposed to mean that the elastic sheet merely allows movement or refers to the material of composition.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected at least for reasons that they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He CN218569918U (using He US20240113537A1 as a translation).
Regarding claim 1. He discloses a wireless charging device (FIG. 1 and 3), comprising:
a charging base (110) for charging a first product (¶47 – coil assembly 140 within the charging module wireless charges an electronic device);
a charging bracket (120) for charging a second product (¶47 – coil assembly 140 within the charging module wireless charges an electronic device );
the charging bracket (120) being rotatably connected to the charging base 110) to cause the charging bracket (120) and the charging base (110) to be folded or unfolded with respect to each other (FIGS. 1-11);
when the charging bracket (120) is unfolded with respect to the charging base, the charging bracket being configured to couple with the charging base to position the second product (FIGS. 1-11);
a charging cantilever (FIG. 11 - 140) for charging a third product (¶47 – coil assembly 140 within the charging module wireless charges an electronic device);
the charging cantilever (140) being rotatably connected to the charging bracket (120) to cause the charging cantilever and the charging bracket to be folded or unfolded with respect to each other (FIG. 11);
a rotation axis of the charging bracket being parallel to a rotation axis of the charging cantilever (FIG. 11 – the rotation axis of the wireless charging assembly 140 is parallel to the other axis of rotation).
Regarding claim 2. He discloses a positioning slot (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 3 below) is provided at a side of the charging base (110) close to the charging bracket (120), and the positioning slot (121) is configured to place the first product (¶47);
when the wireless charging device is in a first form, at least part of the charging bracket (120) and the charging cantilever (140) being located in the positioning slot (FIG. 1 illustrates the device in a closed form where the different segments are arranged on the slot).
Regarding claim 8. He discloses that the charging bracket (120) comprises:
a second housing rotatably connected to the charging base (110) (FIG. 3 – casing for charging module 120), the second housing having a second accommodating space (surface of 120);
a second charging assembly (140) disposed in the second accommodating space, the second charging assembly being configured to charge the second product (¶47 – coil assembly 140 within the charging module wireless charges an electronic device ).
Regarding claim 9. He discloses a side (near 210) of the charging base (110) close to the charging bracket (120) is provided with a positioning slot (see partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 3 below);
the second housing (casing of 120) being provided with a mounting table protruding (surface of 120 facing the wireless charging module when in a closed state) towards the charging base (110), and the mounting table being provided with a mounting slot (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 5 below);
when the wireless charging device is in a first form, the mounting table (surface of 120 facing the wireless charging module when in a closed state) being located in the positioning slot (see FIG. 3 above) and the charging cantilever (140) being located in the mounting slot (see FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 10. He discloses that the mounting table (210) is further provided with a handle slot (217) communicated with the mounting slot (211).
Regarding claim 11. He discloses that the wireless charging device further comprises a rotating-shaft structure (210, 211, 224, 217) connected to the charging base (110) and the charging bracket (120) to cause the charging base and the charging bracket to rotate with respect to each other (FIGS. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12. He discloses that the rotating-shaft structure (210, 211, 224, 217) comprises:
a rotating-shaft seat (210) disposed at the charging base (110), the rotating-shaft seat (210) being provided with a through-hole (211);
a damping spindle (222) threaded through the through-hole and connected to the charging bracket (120) (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 13. He discloses that the damping spindle (222) comprises:
a first portion (224) located at one end of the rotating-shaft seat (210) and threaded through the through-hole (FIG. 4), the first portion being connected to the charging bracket (120) (FIG. 3);
a second portion (223) spaced apart from the first portion along the rotation axis of the charging bracket (120), the second portion (223) being located at an opposite end of the rotating-shaft seat and threaded through the through-hole (211) (FIG. 4), the second portion (223) being connected to the charging bracket (120) (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 19. The wireless charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging cantilever (140) is slidably connected to the charging bracket (120), and when the charging bracket is folded with the charging base, the charging cantilever can slide with respect to the charging bracket and extends out of the charging bracket (FIG. 11 – the wireless charging assembly may be slid into and out of the charging bracket 120 by rotating in and out).
Regarding claim 20. He discloses that the first product is an earbuds charging compartment, the second product is a cell phone, and the third product is a watch (¶47 – electronic devices such as mobile phone, earphones, watches capable of being charged by the coil assembly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He CN218569918U (using He US20240113537A1 as a translation) in view of Miller et al. US20170110902A1.
Regarding claim 3. He discloses that the charging base comprises:
a first housing rotatably connected to the charging bracket (FIG. 3 – casing for charging module 110);
the first housing having a first accommodating space (the casing for charging module 110 is a 3-D space and thus considered an accommodating space);
He does not explicitly disclose a battery disposed in the first accommodating space; a control module disposed in the first accommodating space and located on one side of the battery; the control module being electrically connected to the battery; a first charging assembly disposed in the first accommodating space and connected to the control module.
Miller discloses a battery (80) disposed in the first accommodating space (arranged within space of charger and cradle assembly 10);
a control module (90) disposed in the first accommodating space and located on one side of the battery (80) (FIG. 9 – arranged to the side of the power source 80);
the control module being electrically connected to the battery (FIG. 9);
a first charging assembly (transmitter 80) disposed in the first accommodating space and connected to the control module (FIG. 9 – transmitter 88 is connected to the controller 90).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the control module of Miller to the system of He in order to provide a mechanism for controlling the charging.
Regarding claim 4. He discloses that the first housing comprises a first cover (topside of 110) and a first plate (bottomside of 110 along with the sides that meet the topside), and the first cover and the first plate enclose to form the first accommodating space (FIG. 3);
the first cover (topside of 110) being rotatably connected to the charging bracket (120) (FIG. 3);
the first cover having a positioning table (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 3 below) formed on an upper side thereof, and the positioning table is configured to couple with the charging bracket (120) to position the second product (FIG. 3 – the charging module 120 is connected to the charging module 110 via the articulation sleeve 210).
Regarding claim 18. He discloses that the charging cantilever (140) comprises:
a third housing (3D space of 140) rotatably connected to the charging bracket (120), the third housing having a third accommodating space (FIG. 11) (center of the charging module 140);
a third charging assembly (140) located in the third accommodating space (center of the charging module 140), the third charging assembly being electrically connected to charge the third product (¶47 – wireless charging assemblies are electrically connected through wires, the power interface is electrically connected to the circuit board to enable the entire stand to be electrically connected to the external power source).
He does not explicitly disclose a control module.
Miller discloses the control module to execute instructions to carry out charging
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the control module of Miller to the system of He in order to provide a mechanism for controlling the charging.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He CN218569918U (using He US20240113537A1 as a translation) and Miller et al. US20170110902A1 in further view of Konomi US20190089187A1.
Regarding claim 5. He discloses the positioning table (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 3 above) has a first side and a second side intersected with the first side (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 4 below);
the first side being configured to couple with the charging bracket to position the second product (FIG. 4 includes the means for attaching charging module 120), and the second side (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 4 above ) being provided with an avoidance slot (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 4 above – opening in the side that allows for a charging slot);
He does not explicitly disclose that the charging base further comprising: a display module disposed in the avoidance slot and connected to the control module.
Konomi discloses that the charging base (10) further comprising: a display module (46) disposed in the avoidance slot (cutouts within the casing) and connected to the control module (37) (¶89 – controller determines that the charging is completed and displays the state on the LEDs 46).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a display as taught by Konomi to the housing of He in order to show a user a state of charging or charge completion to provide efficient charging (Konomi; ¶31).
Regarding claim 6. He discloses that the first side is provided with a protective pad (as illustrated below in annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 3, the positioning table includes a raised first side), and the first side is configured to couple with the charging bracket to locate the second product via the protective pad (the charging module 120 is arranged to be attached via the indicated positioning .
Regarding claim 7. He does not explicitly disclose that the first plate is provided with a locating block, and the locating block is provided with a slot clamped with the display module.
Konomi discloses that the first plate (bottomside of housing 11 along with the sides that meet the topside) is provided with a locating block, and the locating block is provided with a slot clamped with the display module (as best understood – see 112 rejection above – because there is a DC jack arranged on the same plate as the display (46), the conditions are met).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a display as taught by Konomi to the housing of He in order to show a user a state of charging or charge completion to provide efficient charging (Konomi; ¶31).
Claims 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He CN218569918U (using He US20240113537A1 as a translation) in view of Le US20110289727A1.
Regarding claim 14. He discloses that the first portion comprises:
a first shaft (224) threaded through the through-hole (211) and connected to the rotating-shaft seat (210);
a first connecting block (124 – limit slot) rotatably connected to the first shaft (224) (the first shaft being rotatable within the limit slot), the first connecting block being fixedly connected to the charging bracket (because the limit slot is integral to the charging module, it is fixedly connected);
an elastic sheet threaded through the first shaft and in direct contact with the first connecting block (¶10 – screw is threaded through each of the aperture of the mounting lug 224 and threadedly connected to the wireless charging module)
He does not explicitly disclose a fastening nut threadedly connected to the first shaft.
Le discloses a fastening nut (144) threadedly connected to the first shaft (164) (FIG. 5) (¶29).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide features of the hinge of Le to the hinge of He in order to provide a secure attachment (Le; ¶29).
Regarding claim 15. He discloses that the first connecting block (124) is provided with an angular-limiting block (two opposing limiting wall surfaces 225), the first shaft is provided with an angular-limiting ring (¶66 – mounting lug 224 is made to resist the sidewalls of the limit slot 124 such that the mounting lug 224 cooperates in a positionally limited manner with the sidewalls of the limit slot 124), and
the angular-limiting block is in contact with the angular-limiting ring to limit a rotation range of the charging bracket (¶66 – mounting lug 224 is made to resist the sidewalls of the limit slot 124 such that the mounting lug 224 cooperates in a positionally limited manner with the sidewalls of the limit slot 124).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He CN218569918U (using He US20240113537A1 as a translation) in view of Zhu CN114465368A.
Regarding claim 16. He discloses that the second portion (223) is provided with a fixing block (210),
the first portion (223) and the second portion (224) being both slidingly connected to the rotating-shaft seat (221) (¶65 – segment 223 is connected/inserted into cylinder 221) and a sliding direction thereof extending in a direction of the rotation axis of the charging bracket (120),
when the fixing block (210) extends into a fixing slot (121), a rotation of the charging bracket (120) being limited (¶68 – two adjacent charging modules rotated to a state in which the plate surfaces that fit together)
He does not explicitly disclose the rotating-shaft seat is provided with a plurality of fixing slots spaced apart around the rotation axis of the charging bracket; the fixing block to extend into or to disengage from one of the fixing slots; when the fixing block is disengaged from the fixing slot, the charging bracket can rotate with respect to the charging base.
Zhu teaches that the rotating-shaft seat (42) is provided with a plurality of fixing slots (teeth) spaced apart around the rotation axis (extends around the shaft); the fixing block (42) to extend into or to disengage from one of the fixing slots (the teeth 43 engage with the teeth of the shaft 42); when the fixing block (42) is disengaged from the fixing slot (teeth of 42), the charging bracket can rotate with respect to the charging base (page 6, ¶6 - “the annular tooth part 43 and the lateral tooth ring 42 are elastically clamped, when the upper bottom shell 21 and the folding connecting plate 3 relatively turnover, only needs to overcome the spring 44 to the annular tooth part 43 and the lateral tooth ring 42 applying the elastic clamping force, so that the shaft rod 40 relative to the snap ring 41 to rotate so as to realize the basic structure of the hinge shaft, when the turning is finished, using the elastic force applied by the spring 44, so that the annular tooth part 43 and the lateral tooth ring 42 again keep elastic clamping”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the fixing/hinge mechanism of Zhu to the hinge of He in order to provide engagement that will allow the hinge to hold position and prevent flipping (Zhu; page 6, ¶5).
Regarding claim 17. He does not explicitly teach that the rotating-shaft structure further comprises a spring sleeved to the first portion, the spring being configured to push the first portion such that the fixing block can extend into the fixing slot.
Zhu teaches that the rotating-shaft structure (FIG. 4) further comprises a spring (44) sleeved to the first portion (40), the spring being configured to push the first portion such that the fixing block can extend into the fixing slot (page 6, ¶6 - “the shaft rod 40) is sleeved with at least one spring (44), the spring (44) is located on one side of the snap ring (41) back to the lateral tooth ring (42), the elastic force exerted by the spring (44) drives the annular tooth part (43) and the lateral tooth ring (42) are clamped with each other”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the fixing/hinge mechanism of Zhu to the hinge of He in order to provide engagement that will allow the hinge to hold position and prevent flipping (Zhu; page 6, ¶5).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Campbell et al. US20220113762A1 discloses multiple charging locations on a mobile device charging station.
Karanikos et al. US20220094202A1 discloses a foldable docking station for charging multiple devices.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859