DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 07/24/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 and are amended. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 07/24/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection has been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siurumaa et al. (US 2013/0132906) in view of WON et al. (“WON”, US 2014/0317527) in view of Sato (US 2015/0058762) and further in view of Masuike et al. (US 2019/0129609).
As per claim 1, Siurumaa teaches a display control method, the method comprising:
receiving a first input performed by a user on a target program identifier among N program identifiers, wherein the target program identifier comprises one program identifier or multiple program identifiers (Siurumaa, Fig.4a-4d, program identifiers 421a-e; para.45-49, 81-82, 84-85, 90, user interaction);
updating a display parameter of the target program identifier in response to the first input (Siurumaa, para.95, Fig.4a, provisionally selected icon 421b changed to black); and
displaying target information in a case that the input of the target program identifier meets the first preset condition (Siurumaa, para.15, 32, 89, 93, 96-101, user-specific operating mode defines target info displayed, user interaction denotes mode in which app is opened);
wherein the target information comprises:
a target program interface or a target program file of a target program indicated by the target program identifier (Siurumaa, para.15, 32, 89, 93, 96-101, user-specific operating mode defines target info displayed that is predefined for specific users); and
N is a positive integer (Siurumaa, Fig.4a-4d, N=five program identifiers 421a-e).
Although Siuramaa teaches different file usage permissions (Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication), Siurumaa does not teach displaying target information in a case that the display parameter of the target program identifier meets the first preset condition, wherein in a case that the display parameter comprises a display ratio, different display ratios correspond to a display of program interfaces of different program accounts or a display of program files with different file usage permissions; in a case that the display parameter comprises the display ratio and an arrangement shape, different arrangement shapes correspond to the display of program interfaces of different program accounts or the display of program files with different file usage permissions; and in a case that the display parameter comprises the display ratio, the arrangement shape and a display area, different arrangement shapes and display areas correspond to the display of program interfaces of different program accounts or the display of program files with different file usage permissions.
WON teaches a method of displaying target information in a case that the display parameter of the target program identifier meets a preset condition (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, shortcut icon 280 entry point determines target info to display); wherein in a case that the display parameter comprises a display point, different display points correspond to a display of program interfaces of different program accounts or a display of program files with different file usage permissions (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, default entry point changed to Create New entry point; different entry points for different interfaces). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include WON‘s teaching with Siurumaa’s method in order to navigate to specific information immediately (WON, para.230).
Furthermore, the method of Siurumaa and WON does not teach wherein the display parameter comprises: the display ratio. Sato teaches a method of displaying icons in different display ratios (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on rotation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Sato‘s teaching with the method of Siurumaa and WON in order to display icons according to how the corresponding interfaces are displayed.
Although the method of Siurumaa, WON and Sato teaches the display of program interfaces of different program accounts or a display of program files with different file usage permissions (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, default entry point changed to Create New entry point; different entry points for different interfaces; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication) and the display parameter comprises a display ratio (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on rotation), the method of Siurumaa, WON and Sato does not teach wherein in a case that the display parameter comprises an arrangement shape and a display area. Masuike teaches a method of displaying icons wherein the display parameter comprises an arrangement shape and a display area based on different users (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94, icons displayed in arc shape arrangement near detection area). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Masuike‘s teaching with the method of Siurumaa, WON and Sato in order to display icons according to specific user accounts.
As per claim 2, the method of Siurumaa, WON, Sato and Masuike teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the display parameter comprises: the display ratio (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on rotation), and the target information comprises: the target program interface of the target program indicated by the target program identifier (Siurumaa, para.15, 32, 89, 93, 96-101; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229); and
the displaying target information in a case that the display parameter of the target program identifier meets the first preset condition (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229) comprises:
in a case that a display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to a first display ratio, displaying the target program interface of the target program (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, default entry point changed to Create New entry point; Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133); wherein
the first display ratio is associated with the target program interface of the target program, and different display ratios are associated with program interfaces of different program accounts of the target program (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, different entry points for different interfaces; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication; Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133).
As per claim 3, the method of Siurumaa, WON, Sato and Masuike teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the display parameter comprises: the display ratio (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on rotation), and the target information comprises: the target program file of the target program indicated by the target program identifier (Siurumaa, para.15, 32, 89, 93, 96-101; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229); and
the displaying target information in a case that the display parameter of the target program identifier meets the first preset condition (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229) comprises:
in a case that a display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to a second display ratio, displaying the target program file of the target program (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, default entry point changed to Create New entry point; Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133); wherein
the second display ratio is associated with the target program file of the target program, and different display ratios are associated with program files with different file usage permissions of the target program (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, different entry points for different interfaces; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication; Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133).
As per claim 4, the method of Siurumaa, WON, Sato and Masuike teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the display parameter comprises: the display ratio (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on rotation) and the arrangement shape (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.119, 125, 137, 225, different shapes for different interfaces); N is greater than 1, and the target program identifier comprises M program identifiers, M is an integer greater than 1, and M≤N (Siurumaa, Fig.4a-4d, program identifiers 421a-e); and
the displaying target information in a case that the display parameter of the target program identifier meets the first preset condition (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229) comprises:
displaying the target information in a case that a display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to a third display ratio and an arrangement shape of the M program identifiers is a preset first shape (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133; Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, default entry point changed to Create New entry point with new shape); wherein
the preset first shape is associated with the target information (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, different shapes for different interfaces);
in a case that the target information comprises the target program interface, different arrangement shapes are associated with program interfaces of different program accounts of the target program (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.225, different shapes for different interfaces; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication); and
in a case that the target information comprises the target program file, the different arrangement shapes are associated with program files with different file usage permissions of the target program (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, different shapes for different interfaces; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication).
As per claim 5, the method of Siurumaa, WON, Sato and Masuike teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the display parameter comprises: the display ratio (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on rotation), the arrangement shape and the display area (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.119, 125, 137, 225, different shapes for different interfaces, para.74, Fig.5A, homescreen 190; Siurumaa, Fig.3a, icon region 211); N is greater than 1, and the target program identifier comprises P program identifiers, P is an integer greater than 1, and P≤N (Siurumaa, Fig.4a-4d, program identifiers 421a-e); and
the displaying target information in a case that the display parameter of the target program identifier meets the first preset condition (WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229) comprises:
in a case that a display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to a fourth display ratio, an arrangement shape of the P program identifiers is a preset second shape, and the P program identifiers are located in a preset area, displaying the target information (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133; Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, default entry point changed to Create New entry point with new shape; WON, para.74, Fig.5A, homescreen 190; Siurumaa, Fig.3a, icon region 211); wherein
the target information is associated with both the preset second shape and the preset area (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, different shapes for different interfaces; WON, para.74, Fig.5A, homescreen 190; Siurumaa, Fig.3a, icon region 211);
in a case that the target information comprises the target program interface, different arrangement shapes and display areas are associated with program interfaces of different program accounts of the target program (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.225, different shapes for different interfaces; WON, para.74, Fig.5A, homescreen 190; Siurumaa, Fig.3a, icon region 211; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication); and
in a case that the target information comprises the target program file, the different arrangement shapes and display areas are associated with program files with different file usage permissions of the target program (Masuike, Fig.10-11; para.87-94; WON, Fig.20A-D, para.213-229, different shapes for different interfaces; WON, para.74, Fig.5A, homescreen 190; Siurumaa, Fig.3a, icon region 211; Siurumaa, para.15, 32-35, 89, 93, 96-101, 104, authentication).
As per claim 6, the method of Siurumaa, WON, Sato and Masuike teaches the method according to claim 1, before the displaying target information, further comprising:
obtaining identity verification information entered by the user (Siurumaa, para.38-39, 104, authentication data before opening app); and
the displaying target information comprises:
in a case that the identity verification information matches preset verification information, displaying the target information (Siurumaa, para.33-35, 104, authentication); wherein
different display parameters are associated with different preset verification information (Siurumaa, para.32-35, 93, 96-101, 104, user-specific operating mode defines target info displayed that is predefined for specific users).
As per claim 7, the method of Siurumaa, WON, Sato and Masuike teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset condition comprises at least one of the following: a display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to a preset display ratio; the display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to the preset display ratio, and an arrangement shape of the target program identifier is a preset shape, wherein the target program identifier comprises at least two program identifiers; or the display ratio of the target program identifier is updated to the preset display ratio, the arrangement shape of the target program identifier is the preset shape, and the target program identifier is located in a preset area, wherein the target program identifier comprises at least two program identifiers (Sato, Figs.10-11, 17-18; para.106-107, 132-133, icons rotated with interfaces displayed based on selected preset rotation).
Claims 8 and 15 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 16 are similar in scope to claim 2, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 10 and 17 are similar in scope to claim 3, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 11 and 18 are similar in scope to claim 4, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 12 and 19 are similar in scope to claim 5, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 13 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 6, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Glover et al. (US 2017/0153800) teaches a method of displaying icons to immediately launch a specific point in an application.
Kerr et al. (US 2011/0012926) teaches a method of displaying icons in alternate display ratios.
Inquiries
/S.M./Sajeda Muhebbullah
Examiner, Art Unit 2174 /WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174