DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. There are eight factors considered by the Federal Circuit in the determination of undue experimentation, In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (1988). These factors are: the nature of the invention, the breadth of the claims, the state of the prior art, the predictability or unpredictability of the art, the amount of direction or guidance presented, the presence or absence of working examples, the relative skill of those in the art, and the quantity of experimentation needed. Regarding claim 1, the claim recited limitations directed to “an electrical resistance value of the heat generator in a direction in which the pair of metal plates face each other is 100 times to 1400 times an electrical resistance value of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape. ” Paragraphs [0058]-[0060] of the instant specification refer to this relationship and recites example resistance values. Paragraphs [0049] and [0054] specify that in some embodiments the heat generator may comprise Barium Titanate and that the metal plates may comprise nickel-containing iron alloy, respectively. However, the specification do es not further define the structure that produces this result , including the dimensions, specific material s and temperatures that would produce the claimed resistance . Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation is that the heat generator and metal plates may be of any composition or dimension that would produce an electrical resistance value of the heat generator in a direction in which the pair of metal plates face each other that is 100 times to 1400 times an electrical resistance value of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape. The breadth of the claims such that any combination of material composition (such as metals, alloys, ceramics, etc.) , material measurements (e.g., length, width, surface area) or configurations (e.g., shape) may potentially meet the claim indicate that the invention would require undue experimentation in order for one having ordinary skill in the art to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention. Within the field of invention, specifically of aerosol generation systems, at the time of filing, one having ordinary skill in the art would be expected to be familiar with elongate heat generation elements comprising multiple layers of material. Prior art Liu et al. (CN 209807157 U; hereinafter referring to the English translation provided), directed to an aerosol generation system (heating body 2; page 4, ¶ 2) , teaches that it was known in the art at the time of filing to have a heat generator (ceramic substrate 201; page 4, ¶ 2) and a pair of metal plates (electrode sheets 202; page 4, ¶ 2) provided to respectively cover the heat generator. Liu further teaches that one having ordinary skill in the art would consider resistance (conductivity) of these materials when designing the system (page 4, ¶ 8). Courbat et al. (US 20200163386 A1), directed to an aerosol generation system comprising a heat generator (110.3; [0117]) and a pair of metal plates (110.1, 110.2; Fig. 8; [0117]) provided to respectively cover the heat generator, similarly teaches that one having ordinary skill in the art would consider resistance values when designing the heating element ([0063-0064], [0118]). However, the prior art contains extreme variance as to how the desired result may be achieved, as prior art references vary in dimensions (e.g., length and area), compositions (e.g., alloys and ceramics), and use cases (such as operating temperature), which would all affect the measured resistance values. While one having ordinary skill in the art may have further knowledge regarding optimal resistance values for desired heating profiles, d ue to the high variance in the prior art, the amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is greater. However, as discussed above, the instant specification does not provide this detail, and the specification fails to provide working examples or specifications that would result in the claimed resistance values. Thus , the instant specification does not provide an example of practicing the invention without one having ordinary skill in the art to undergo undue experimentation. Due to the quantity of experimentation required of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine a structure that has “ an electrical resistance value of the heat generator in a direction in which the pair of metal plates face each other is 100 times to 1400 times an electrical resistance value of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape ”, one may be unable to practice the full scope of the invention. Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 1- 5, 9, 11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 209807157 U ; hereinafter referring to the English translation provided ) . Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches aerosol generation system (heating body 2; page 4, ¶ 2) comprising: a heat generator (ceramic substrate 201; page 4, ¶ 2) having a long shape (Fig. 1), the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof (page 4, ¶ 3); and a pair of metal plates (electrode sheets 202; page 4, ¶ 2) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape (Fig. 2). Liu does not explicitly specify that an electrical resistance value of the heat generator in a direction in which the pair of metal plates face each other is 100 times to 1400 times an electrical resistance value of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape. However, Liu page 4, ¶ 3-7 teach es the same materials for the heat generator (Barium Titanate) and the pair of metal plates (nickel containing iron alloy) as specified by the present application. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a n equivalent aerosol generation system would have the same electrical resistance properties such that the electrical resistance value of the heat generator in a direction in which the pair of metal plates face each other is 100 times to 1400 times an electrical resistance value of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape , absent evidence to the contrary . Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches that at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate, each of the pair of metal plates is connected to an electric wire and is supplied with electricity (lead connectors 4; Fig. 1; page 4, ¶ 4). Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches that the heat generator is supplied with the electricity between the pair of metal plates (page 4, ¶ 3) . Regarding claim 4, Liu does not explicitly teach that the system comprises the aerosol generating substrate into which the heat generator covered by the pair of metal plates is inserted. However, given that the device of Liu is intended to be used with/inserted into an aerosol generating substrate (page s 1 -2 ), one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the aerosol generating system to further comprise the aerosol generating substrate upon operation. Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches that at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator (Fig. 3; page 4, ¶ 5) . Regarding claim 9, Liu depicts that the heat generator at a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate has an angularly protruding shape at the leading end (see Figs. 1, 7). Regarding claim 1 1 , Liu depicts that a leading end of the heat generator to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate is further provided with a protrusion having an angularly protruding shape at the leading end (see Figs. 1, 7). Regarding claim 14, Liu depicts that the heat generator has a tabular shape, and wherein a thickness of the tabular shape is smaller than 1/4 of a width of the tabular shape (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 15, Liu depicts that the pair of metal plates are provided at opposite principal surfaces of the tabular shape of the heat generator (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches that the pair of metal plates are composed of a nickel-containing iron alloy (Page 4, ¶ 7). Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches that the heat generator is a PTC heater (page 4, ¶ 2). Regarding claim 1 9 , Liu teaches that the PTC heater includes barium titanate (page 4, ¶ 3). Regarding claim 20 , Liu does not explicitly teach that a temperature of the heat generated by the heat generator is below 350°C. However, Liu teaches that similar heating devices in the art are known to heat to 220-2 50°C (page 1) . Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to construct Liu to generate a temperature below 350 ° C because Liu teaches that this is a standard temperature range in the art, and this involves applying a known teaching to a known device to yield predictable results. Claim s 6 - 8 , 10 , 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim s 5 and 9 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 20220039471 A1) . Regarding claim s 6-8 , Liu does not teach that a length of each of the pair of metal plates in the longitudinal direction of the long shape is greater than a length of the heat generator (as required by claim 6), that at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate, the pair of metal plates are provided to extend further in the longitudinal direction relative to the heat generator (as required by claim 7), or that the rib is provided to extend entirely in the longitudinal direction of the heat generator (as required by claim 8) . Jiang, directed to a n aerosol generation system (heating body 10; Fig. 2; [0026]) comprising a heat generator (heating element 130; [0026]) having a long shape (Fig. 1), the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof ([0026-0027]) , and a pair of metal plates (heat-conducting substrates 120, 110; [0028]) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape (Fig. 2) wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator (Figs. 4-7; [0026]; [0034]; [0042]; [0047 ]), teaches a configuration of metal plates in which a length of each of the pair of metal plates in the longitudinal direction of the long shape is greater than a length of the heat generator (see Figs. 1-2) . Jiang further teaches that at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate, the pair of metal plates are provided to extend further in the longitudinal direction relative to the heat generator (see Figs. 1-2) and that the rib is provided to extend entirely in the longitudinal direction of the heat generator (Fig. 2). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by configuring the pair of metal plates as taught by Jiang because both Liu and Jiang are directed to aerosol generating systems comprising heat generators with a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator, Jiang teaches an alternate structural configuration for the metal plates, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the structural configuration of Jiang may help protect the heat generator or provide more even heat distribution to the aerosol generating substrate and this involves s ubstituting one alternative configuration for another to yield predictable results . Regarding claim 10, Liu does not teach that at least one of the pair of metal plates further includes a leading-end rib formed by bending an edge along the shape at the leading end of the heat generator . Jiang, directed to a n aerosol generation system (heating body 10; Fig. 2; [0026]) comprising a heat generator (heating element 130; [0026]) having a long shape (Fig. 1), the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof ([0026-0027]) , and a pair of metal plates (heat-conducting substrates 120, 110; [0028]) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape (Fig. 2) wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator (Figs. 4-7; [0026]; [0034]; [0042]; [0047 ]), wherein the heat generator at a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate has an angularly protruding shape at the leading end (Fig. 2) , teaches that at least one of the pair of metal plates further includes a leading-end rib formed by bending an edge along the shape at the leading end of the heat generator (see Fig. 2, in which plate 110 comprises a side along the leading edge that forms a recess; [0026]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by configuring the pair of metal plates such that at least one of the pair of metal plates further includes a leading-end rib formed by bending an edge along the shape at the leading end of the heat generator as taught by Jiang because both Liu and Jiang are directed to aerosol generating systems comprising heat generators with a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator, Jiang teaches an alternate structural configuration for the metal plates, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the structural configuration of Jiang may help protect the leading edge of the heat generator and this involves s ubstituting one alternative configuration for another to yield predictable results . Regarding claim 12, Liu does not teach that the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates. Jiang, directed to a n aerosol generation system (heating body 10; Fig. 2; [0026]) comprising a heat generator (heating element 130; [0026]) having a long shape (Fig. 1), the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof ([0026-0027]) , and a pair of metal plates (heat-conducting substrates 120, 110; [0028]) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape (Fig. 2) wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator (Figs. 4-7; [0026]; [0034]; [0042]; [0047 ]), teaches that the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates (see Fig. 2, in which plate 110 comprises a rib along opposite sides that forms a recess; [0026]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by configuring the pair of metal plates such that the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates as taught by Jiang because both Liu and Jiang are directed to aerosol generating systems comprising heat generators with a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator, Jiang teaches an alternate structural configuration for the metal plates, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the structural configuration of Jiang may help protect the edge s of the heat generator and this involves s ubstituting one alternative configuration for another to yield predictable results . Regarding claim 1 3 , Liu does not teach that the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of both of the pair of metal plates. Jiang, directed to a n aerosol generation system (heating body 10; Fig. 2; [0026]) comprising a heat generator (heating element 130; [0026]) having a long shape (Fig. 1), the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof ([0026-0027]) , and a pair of metal plates (heat-conducting substrates 120, 110; [0028]) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape (Fig. 2) wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator (Figs. 4-7; [0026]; [0034]; [0042]; [0047 ]), teaches that the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of both of the pair of metal plates (see Fig. 6, in which plates 110 and 120 comprise ribs (grooves 114) along opposite sides that form a recess; [0026]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by configuring the pair of metal plates such that the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates as taught by Jiang because both Liu and Jiang are directed to aerosol generating systems comprising heat generators with a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator, Jiang teaches an alternate structural configuration for the metal plates, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the structural configuration of Jiang may help secure and protect the heat generator and this involves s ubstituting one alternative configuration for another to yield predictable results . Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh ( US 20210045447 A1 ). Regarding claim 16, Liu does not teach that the heat generator and the pair of metal plates are adhered together by using a conductive adhesive paste. Oh, directed to an aerosol generation system (heat generating heater 100 , 200 ; Fig. 1; [0031]) comprising a heat generator ( heater pattern 122; Fig. 8; [0048] ) having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof ([0031], [0047]); and a pair of plates (support 121 and cover layer 123; [0048]) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape , teaches that conductive adhesive paste is known in the art for fixing elements of an aerosol generation system ([0078-0079]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by using a conductive adhesive paste as taught by Oh to adhere the metal plates to the heat generator because both Liu and Oh are directed to aerosol generation systems , Oh teaches that it is known in the art to use conductive adhesive paste to fix elements, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would better secure the metal plates to the heat generator , and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Charlotte Davison whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-5484 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:00AM-5:00PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Philip Louie can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1241 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755