Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Garnett US 2020/0015939
Regarding claim 1, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance for facilitating orthodontic treatments, wherein the removable orthodontic appliance comprises at least one dental brace, wherein the at least one dental brace is configured to be removably attached to teeth of at least one of an upper jaw and a lower jaw of at least one user, wherein the at least one dental brace corresponds to a dental arch of the teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein each of the at least one dental brace comprises:
at least two dental crowns (14 see figure 1) configured to be removably inserted on at least two molar teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw for holding each of the at least one dental brace to at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein the at least two molar teeth are oppositely located in at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw; and
a plurality of dental attachments (18) configured to be removably secured to a plurality of teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw based on the removably inserting of the at least two dental crowns, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are interconnected, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are connected to the at least two dental crowns.
It is noted that Applicant uses the term crown that is inserted on the molar teeth, as best understood in the drawings and the art- it appears Applicant means band as a traditional crown is not removable in this manner and is permanently placed on a partial tooth to remake the tooth in a normal shape. Applicant has no disclosure of such a process.
Regarding claim 2, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein each of the at least one dental brace comprises at least one connecting element, wherein the at least one connecting element is configured for:
interconnecting the plurality of dental attachments (12); and connecting the plurality of dental attachments to the at least two dental crowns (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dental attachments comprises at least one of a plurality of interior attachments and a plurality of exterior attachments, wherein the plurality of interior attachments are configured to be removably secured to an interior side of the plurality of teeth, wherein the plurality of exterior attachments are configured to be removably secured to an exterior side of the plurality of teeth.
Regarding claim 4, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of dental attachments comprises at least one dental plate (see figure 2 18), wherein the at least one dental plate is configured to be removably secured to at least one of the interior side and the exterior side of at least one tooth of the plurality of teeth. It is noted Applicant appears to show that a plate is a contact surface.
Regarding claim 5, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 4, wherein each of the at least one dental plate comprises an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the inner surface abuts at least one of an interior portion and an exterior portion of each of the at least one tooth, wherein the inner surface complements a surface of at least one of the interior portion and the exterior portion.
Regarding claim 7, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are fixedly interconnected, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are fixedly connected to the at least two dental crowns [0038].
Regarding claim 8, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein the at least two dental crowns comprise a plurality of first dental crowns and a plurality of second dental crowns, wherein the plurality of first dental crowns are configured to be removably inserted on a plurality of first molar teeth present on a first side of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein the plurality of second dental crowns are configured to be removably inserted on a plurality of second molar teeth present on a second side of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw. As shown in figure 2, bottom jaw with two molars and crowns and as disclosed in [0013 discloses removable nature] – abstract describes both upper and lower jaws.
Regarding claim 9, Garnet teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two dental crowns comprises an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the inner surface abuts a top portion of each of the at least two molar teeth, wherein the inner surface complements a surface of the top portion. See figure 2, band 14 abuts top surface of tooth and complements at the perimeter of the occlusional surface. See claim 1 regarding interpretation of crowns based on Applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 10, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of dental attachments comprises at least one attachment surface, wherein the at least one attachment surface abuts a surface of at least one of the plurality of teeth (see figure 2) (18 abuts a surface of the tooth).
Regarding claim 11, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 10, wherein the at least one attachment surface comprises a layer of at least one material. Clearly the device of Garnett comprises a material and as shown has a layer (surface).
Regarding claim 12, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance for facilitating orthodontic treatments, wherein the removable orthodontic appliance comprises at least one dental brace, wherein the at least one dental brace is configured to be removably attached to teeth of at least one of an upper jaw and a lower jaw of at least one user, wherein the at least one dental brace corresponds to a dental arch of the teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein each of the at least one dental brace comprises:
at least two dental crowns (14) configured to be removably [0013] inserted on at least two molar teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw (abstract) for holding each of the at least one dental brace to at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein the at least two molar teeth are oppositely located in at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw (see figure 2);
a plurality of dental attachments (18) configured to be removably secured to a plurality of teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw based on the removably inserting of the at least two dental crowns, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are interconnected, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are connected to the at least two dental crowns; and
at least one connecting element (12) configured for:
interconnecting the plurality of dental attachments; and connecting the plurality of dental attachments to the at least two dental crowns.
It is noted that Applicant uses the term crown that is inserted on the molar teeth, as best understood in the drawings and the art- it appears Applicant means band as a traditional crown is not removable in this manner and is permanently placed on a partial tooth to remake the tooth in a normal shape. Applicant has no disclosure of such a process.
Regarding claim 13, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 12, wherein the plurality of dental attachments comprises at least one of a plurality of interior attachments and a plurality of exterior attachments, wherein the plurality of interior attachments are configured to be removably secured to an interior side of the plurality of teeth, wherein the plurality of exterior attachments are configured to be removably secured to an exterior side of the plurality of teeth.
Regarding claim 14, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 12, wherein at least one of the plurality of dental attachments comprises at least one dental plate, wherein the at least one dental plate is configured to be removably secured to at least one of the interior side and the exterior side of at least one tooth of the plurality of teeth. It is noted Applicant appears to show that a plate is a contact surface.
Regarding claim 15, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 14, wherein each of the at least one dental plate comprises an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the inner surface abuts at least one of an interior portion and an exterior portion of each of the at least one tooth, wherein the inner surface complements a surface of at least one of the interior portion and the exterior portion.
Regarding claim 17, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 12, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are fixedly interconnected, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are fixedly connected to the at least two dental crowns [0038].
Regarding claim 18, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 12, wherein the at least two dental crowns comprise a plurality of first dental crowns and a plurality of second dental crowns, wherein the plurality of first dental crowns are configured to be removably inserted on a plurality of first molar teeth present on a first side of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein the plurality of second dental crowns are configured to be removably inserted on a plurality of second molar teeth present on a second side of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw. As shown in figure 2, bottom jaw with two molars and crowns and as disclosed in [0013 discloses removable nature] – abstract describes both upper and lower jaws.
Regarding claim 19, Garnett teaches a removable orthodontic appliance of claim 12, wherein each of the at least two dental crowns comprises an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the inner surface abuts a top portion of each of the at least two molar teeth, wherein the inner surface complements a surface of the top portion. See figure 2, band 14 abuts top surface of tooth and complements at the perimeter of the occlusional surface. See claim 1 regarding interpretation of crowns based on Applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 20, Garnett teaches A removable orthodontic appliance for facilitating orthodontic treatments, wherein the removable orthodontic appliance comprises at least one dental brace, wherein the at least one dental brace is configured to be removably attached to teeth of at least one of an upper jaw and a lower jaw of at least one user, wherein the at least one dental brace corresponds to a dental arch of the teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein each of the at least one dental brace comprises:
at least two dental crowns (14) configured to be removably [0013] inserted on at least two molar teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw for holding each of the at least one dental brace to at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, wherein the at least two molar teeth are oppositely located in at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw;
a plurality of dental attachments (18) configured to be removably secured to a plurality of teeth of at least one of the upper jaw and the lower jaw based on the removably inserting of the at least two dental crowns, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are interconnected, wherein the plurality of dental attachments are connected to the at least two dental crowns, wherein at least one of the plurality of dental attachments comprises at least one dental plate, wherein the at least one dental plate is configured to be removably secured to at least one of the interior side and the exterior side of at least one tooth of the plurality of teeth; and
at least one connecting element (12) configured for:
interconnecting the plurality of dental attachments; and connecting the plurality of dental attachments to the at least two dental crowns.
It is noted that Applicant uses the term crown that is inserted on the molar teeth, as best understood in the drawings and the art- it appears Applicant means band as a traditional crown is not removable in this manner and is permanently placed on a partial tooth to remake the tooth in a normal shape. Applicant has no disclosure of such a process.
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Tepper USP 3,302,228.
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are anticipated by Tepper. Tepper teaches:
Crowns (12) see figure 2; plates/attachments (14) see figure 6; the attachments located on connecting element (44). The connecting element (44) is threaded through attachments thus permitting movable connection.
The attachments are removably secured to external face of teeth see figure 2.
Crowns (12) are removable (see column 4 lines 1-34).
Crown (12) abuts top surface of tooth and complements at the perimeter of the occlusional surface.
As shown in figure 1 the device may be used on upper and lower jaw thus comprising multiple crowns.
It is noted that Applicant uses the term crown that is inserted on the molar teeth, as best understood in the drawings and the art- it appears Applicant means band as a traditional crown is not removable in this manner and is permanently placed on a partial tooth to remake the tooth in a normal shape. Applicant has no disclosure of such a process.
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612