DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/31/2026.
Priority
This application is claiming the benefit of provisional application No. 63/413,546 (filed 10/5/2022) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e). However, this application was not filed within twelve months from the filing date of the provisional application, and there is no indication of an intermediate nonprovisional application or international application designating the United States that is directly claiming the benefit of the provisional application and filed within 12 months of the filing date of the provisional application. In addition, no petition under 37 CFR 1.78(b) or request under PCT Rule 26bis.3 to restore the benefit of the provisional application has been granted.
Applicant is required to delete the claim to the benefit of the prior-filed provisional application, unless applicant can establish that this application, or an intermediate nonprovisional application or international application designating the United States, was filed within 12 months of the filing date of the provisional application. See 35 U.S.C. 119(e)(3). Alternatively, applicant may wish to file a petition to restore the benefit of the provisional application under 37 CFR 1.78 in the subsequent nonprovisional application or international application designating the United States if the subsequent application was filed within two months from the expiration of the twelve-month period and the delay was unintentional. A petition under 37 CFR 1.78(b) to restore the benefit of the provisional application must include: (1) the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78 to the prior-filed provisional application (unless previously submitted); (2) the petition fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(m)(3); and (3) a statement that the delay in filing the subsequent nonprovisional application or international application designating the United States within the twelve-month period was unintentional. A petition to restore the benefit of a provisional application must be filed in the subsequent application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and § 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
[Claims 8 and 9] “and stirred for 30-45 min” is a typographical error and should read “and stirring for 30-45 min”.
[Claim 17] “N,N-methylenebistearamide” is a typographical error and should read “N,N-methylenebis(stearamide)” or “N,N-methylenebisstearamide”.
[Claim 18] “epoxy soybean oil” is believed to be a typographical error and should read “epoxidized soybean oil”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This application is claiming the benefit of provisional application No. 63/428,254 (filed 11/28/2022) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e). The specification of this provisional application does not provide sufficient support to comply with the written description requirement. The specification of the provisional discloses “add[ing] an antimicrobial additive to the compostable blend to provide a minimum of 98% protection against germs, viruses, bacteria, surface mold, odor, and other microorganisms” yet contains no written description of the claimed method for preparing a compostable and antimicrobial packaging material nor does it describe or suggest any of the components claimed to be present in said packaging material.
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 10, the term “normal pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, “normal pressure” has been interpreted as atmospheric pressure. Dependent claims 9-20 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "PGS fiber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, PGS fiber has been interpreted as polyglycerol sebacate fiber. Dependent claims 11-20 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 10.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “bamboo fiber” and “loofah fiber emulsion” in “the PGS fiber, bamboo fiber, loofah fiber emulsion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Dependent claims 11-20 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 10.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the term “polylactic acid and polybutylene terephthalic acid butylene glycol terephthalate” is indefinite because it is unclear if this term refers to polylactic acid, polybutylene terephthalic acid, and butylene glycol terephthalate, some other combination of structures, or if this is a typographical error. For examination purposes, this term has been interpreted as referring to polylactic acid and polybutylene terephthalate adipate, as listed in claim 15. Dependent claims 15-20 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claims 13 and 14.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "polybutylene terephthalate adipate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 16-20 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, the term “modified polydimethylsiloxane and glycerol polyoxypropylene polyoxyethylene ether” is indefinite because it is unclear if this term refers to more than one alternative component, one singular component of an unknown structure, or if this is a typographical error. For examination purposes, this term has been interpreted as referring to a polyglycerol-modified polydimethylsiloxane. Claim 20 is similarly rejected by its dependence on indefinite claim 19.
Claim 20 contains the trademark/trade names “antioxidant 1010” and “antioxidant 168”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe antioxidants which are required claim limitations and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (CN 115651376 A, priority date 11/3/2022, English translation attached).
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 10, Li discloses a compostable antibacterial material for a recyclable packaging product and production method thereof, the method comprising (page 2, lines 1-9):
Mixing halloysite nanotubes with wormwood extract and ethanol to obtain a mixture; subjecting the mixture to vacuum at 0.1-0.2 MPa and stirring for 30-45 min; and upon stirring under vacuum, restoring the mixture to normal pressure and stirring for 15-20 minutes; repeating the vacuum and normal pressure treatment for three total cycles; and filtering to obtain antibacterial halloysite nanotubes;
Dissolving polyglycerol sebacate in hexafluoroisopropanol to obtain a spinning liquid; electrospinning the spinning liquid to obtain PGS fibers; and
Mixing the polyglycerol sebacate fiber, bamboo fiber, loofah fiber emulsion, and the antimicrobial halloysite nanotubes to obtain an antimicrobial material.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Li further discloses that the loofah fiber emulsion is prepared by the following method (page 2, lines 47-51):
Mixing, beating, and homogenizing loofah and water to obtain a slurry;
Adding emulsifier, tea tree oil, and dopamine hydrochloric acid buffer to the slurry; and
Stirring the slurry at 25-30 °C for 5-6 hours.
The mass ratio of the emulsifier, the tea tree oil and the dopamine hydrochloric acid buffer in the slurry is disclosed to be 1:(0.02-0.03):(0.05-0.1).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Li discloses that the method for preparing a compostable and antibacterial material further comprises (page 4, lines 36-49):
Drying polylactic acid and polybutylene terephthalate adipate followed by extruding and granulating to obtain a masterbatch;
Mixing the masterbatch with the antibacterial material (antimicrobial halloysite nanotubes), plasticizers, lubricants, antioxidants, fillers, and defoamers; and
Granulating and extruding to obtain compostable antibacterial materials for recyclable packaging products.
The extrusion temperature is disclosed to optionally be 170-190°C.
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses that the compostable antibacterial material for recyclable packaging products comprises the following components by weight: 1-5 parts of polylactic acid, 93.5-99.4 parts of polybutylene terephthalate adipate, 0.6-1.5 parts of antibacterial material, 0.1-0.5 parts of lubricant, 0.3-0.8 parts of antioxidant, 10-15 parts of filler, 1-3 parts of plasticizer, 0.1-0.2 parts of defoamer, and 0.5-1 part of anti-hydrolysis agent (antihydrolytic agent) (page 1, lines 53-56).
Regarding claim 16, Li further discloses that the filler optionally comprises graphene oxide, eggshell membrane powder, and polyvinyl alcohol in a mass ratio of 1:(0.2-0.5):(0.1-0.2) (page 3, lines 6-7), which is prepared by the following method (page 3, lines 23-34):
Immersing eggshell membrane powder in silver nitrate solution for 20-24 hours, adding sodium borohydride solution and stirring for 1-2 hours, filtering (after obtaining solids), washing, and drying;
Adding chitosan and 1-1.5 wt% of acetic acid solution, mixing evenly,
Pressing and pulverizing (grinding) under pressure to obtain modified eggshell membrane powder;
Mixing graphene oxide, a surfactant, titanium trichloride, and deionized water at 180-190°C to obtain modified graphene oxide; and
Mixing the modified eggshell membrane powder, the modified graphene oxide, polyvinyl alcohol, glutaraldehyde, and deionized water to obtain the filler.
Regarding claims 17, 18, 19, and 20, Li discloses that the lubricant is selected from one or more of N,N-methylenebisstearamide, polyethylene wax, and zinc stearate (page 4, lines 1-2). The plasticizer is selected from one or more of glycerin, epoxidized soybean oil (epoxy soybean oil), and tri-n-butyl citrate (tributyl citrate) (page 4, line 4). The defoamer is selected from one or more of silicone ether copolymer defoamers and modified polydimethylsiloxane and glycerol polyoxypropylene polyoxyethylene ether (page 4, lines 6-7). The antioxidant is selected from one or both of antioxidant 1010 and antioxidant 168 (page 4, line 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiao et al (CN 112175361 A, priority date 10/13/2020, English translation attached) discloses a bacteriostatic film degradable material and preparation method thereof, comprising polybutylene terephthalate adipate, an aliphatic polyester, poly(propylene carbonate), an antibacterial agent, a citric or tannic acid compatibilizer, and an antioxidant. Silver ion and zinc salt antibacterial agents are added. Antioxidant 1010 and glycerol are also added for improved weather resistance and mechanical properties. The combination of polybutylene terephthalate adipate and glycerol provide good thermoplastic performance and processability.
Segal et al (US 20180112068 A1, priority date 3/26/2015) discloses hollow mineral tubes, such as halloysite nanotubes, comprising essential oils, such as cineole (present in mugwort) which are included for their antimicrobial activity, incorporated into a polymeric substrate.
/SAVANNAH G. PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763