DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a heating system that elevates a temperature of the kiln” (Claim 1)
“a heating system that elevates a temperature of the kiln” (from Claim 1) is being interpreted as a system comprising gas or liquid fuel fired burners and/or electrical resistive heating elements, and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Grady (US 2019/0119588 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 208303881 U) (hereinafter “Zhang”) (see attached original document and translation for reference) and Liss et al. (US 2018/0051877 A1) (hereinafter “Liss”).
Regarding Claim 1, O’Grady teaches of an indirectly heated rotary kiln (Fig. 2) comprising:
an outer housing (3) (see at least [0077] and Fig. 2);
a kiln (4) having a body (as is shown in Fig. 2) (see at least [0077] and Figs. 2, 6-7), a first end (left-hand end of element (4) with respect to Fig. 2), and a second end (right-hand end of element (4) with respect to Fig. 2) that define a cavity (as is shown in Fig. 2) (see at least [0077] and Figs. 2, 6-7), the kiln being dimensioned to fit within the outer housing (as is shown in Fig. 2) (see at least [0077] and Figs. 2, 6-7);
a feed screw assembly (83) coupled to the outer housing that transports feedstock into the kiln through the first end (as is shown in Fig. 6) (see at least [0104] and Figs. 2, 6-7);
an extraction screw assembly (15) coupled to the outer housing that removes product material from the kiln through the second end (as is shown in Fig. 7) (see at least [0120] and Figs. 2, 6-7); and
a heating system that elevates a temperature of the kiln (heating system comprising at least burner elements (11) and (18)) (see at least [0077] and Figs. 1-2).
O’Grady also teaches of controlling kiln rotation speed (see at least [0182] and Fig. 2), feed screw rotation speed (see at least [00127]-[0128] and Fig. 6) and extraction screw rotation (see at least [0184] and Fig. 7).
O’Grady fails to teach that the outer housing includes an upper outer housing pivotably coupled to a lower outer housing.
Zhang discloses a relatable rotary kiln system (Fig. 2) that comprises a kiln (2) disposed within an outer housing (1) (see at least [0013]-[0016] and Figs. 1-2). The outer housing includes an upper outer housing (11) pivotably coupled to a lower outer housing (12) (see at least [0013]-[0016] and Figs. 1-2). Zhang teaches that such configuration enables, inter alia, “simple maintenance” and “automated cooling control” (see at least [0016] and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus taught by O’Grady by configuring the existing outer housing to include an upper outer housing pivotably coupled to a lower outer housing as is taught by Zhang. Doing so would have yielded an outer housing configuration that enables simple maintenance and automated cooling control.
Furthermore, O’Grady fails to explicitly teach of an electronic controller that controls a temperature profile along a length of the kiln in addition to the existing controllable kiln rotation speed, feed screw rotation speed and extraction screw rotation.
Liss discloses a relatable rotary kiln system (Fig. 2A) that comprises a kiln (200) through which material to be heat treated passes (see at least [0031], [0041] and Fig. 2A). Liss teaches that the system comprises an electronic controller (202) that controls all aspects of the system including a temperature profile along a length of the kiln (“axial temperature profile”), kiln rotation speed (“kiln rotation rate”), feed rate (“feed rates”) and extraction rate (“rate” of extraction at (at least) port (112)) (see at least [0031]-[0034] and Fig. 2A). Liss teaches that such a controller is advantageous because, inter alia, it provides means for controlling all aspects of the system from a common location while enabling the creation and sustainment of “a plurality of reaction zones” (see at Abstract, [0031]-[0034] and Fig. 2A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the apparatus taught by O’Grady by configuring the rotary kiln to comprises an electronic controller that controls all aspects of the rotary kiln including a temperature profile along a length of the kiln in addition to the existing kiln rotation speed, feed rate via feed screw rotation speed and extraction rate via extraction screw rotation speed based on the teachings of Liss. Doing so would have provided means for controlling all aspects of the apparatus from a common location while enabling the creation and sustainment of a plurality of distinct reaction zones. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Grady, Zhang and Liss further in view of Hope et al. (US 5,655,313) (hereinafter “Hope”).
Regarding Claim 2, O’Grady, Zhang and Liss teach the indirectly heated rotary kiln according to Claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1) and O’Grady also teaches of a drive mechanism (100) that is configured to rotate the kiln (see at least [0018] and Figs. 2, 6).
O’Grady (in addition to Zhang and Liss) fails to explicitly teach that the drive mechanism comprises a motor drive and chain drive.
Hope discloses a relatable rotary kiln system (Fig. 1) that comprises a kiln (50) through which material to be heat treated passes (see Fig. 1) that is rotatable within an outer housing (31) (see at least Col. 3 lines 6-20 and Fig. 1). Hope teaches of a drive mechanism (drive mechanism comprising elements (76) and (73) as shown in Fig. 1) that is configured to rotate the kiln (see at least Col. 3 lines 48-61 and Fig. 1) that comprises a motor drive (76) and chain drive (73) (see at least Col. 3 lines 48-61 and Fig. 1). Hope teaches that such a motor drive/chain drive configuration, inter alia, enables the rotational power source (i.e., the motor) to be disposed in any desired location and out of excessive heat via a “bracket” element (77) or “wall” mount (see at least Col. 3 lines 48-61 and Fig. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the existing drive mechanism to comprise a motor drive and chain drive based on the teachings of Hope. Doing so would have (at least) enabled the rotational power source (i.e., the motor) to be disposed in any desired location and out of excessive heat. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art is considered relevant to this application in terms of structure and use:
Lobik et al. (US 10,132,496 B1)
Harris et al. (US 2009/0175779 A1)
Fordred (US 363,057)
/BENJAMIN W JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 1/13/2026
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762