BATTERY AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/518,949 Art Unit: 1727 September 23, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on November 24, 2023 have been received. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 2020/0112063 A1; as found in IDS dated 06/13/2025) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2022/0140402 A1).
As to Claims 1 and 12, Harada discloses a lithium-ion battery, comprising: a power generation element comprising laminated battery cells, each cell having: an electrode layer 11; a counter electrode layer 13; and a solid electrolyte layer 12 provided therebetween (Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0044 and 0064]). The power generation element comprises a first pair of side surfaces 40 facing each other; and a second pair of side surfaces 20,30 facing each other and different from the first pair of side surfaces (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0064]). Harada does not specifically disclose the claimed recessed solid electrolyte layer or the claimed surface roughness relationship of the side surfaces.
However, Tanaka teaches of a solid-sate battery, comprising: a recessed solid electrolyte layer 13 recessed from the electrodes on each of the first pair of side surfaces (Abstract, Fig. 3a and paragraph [0090]). In addition, Tanaka teaches wherein the surface roughness of the first side surface can be 12 microns and wherein the surface roughness of the second side surface can be 1 micron, which reads on the claimed relationship. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Harada to have the claimed recessed solid electrolyte layer and claimed surface roughness relationship because Tanaka teaches that a battery in which volume expansion and contraction can be sufficiently suppressed and excellent cycle characteristics can be obtained (paragraph [0195]).
As to Claims 2 and 6, Tanaka teaches of a first terminal electrode 21 and a second terminal electrode 22 that is one of the second pair of side surfaces that covers the counter electrode layer and is electrically connected to the counter electrode layer on a first side surface (Fig. 1B). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Harada to have the claimed first terminal electrode because Tanaka teaches that a battery in which volume expansion and contraction can be sufficiently suppressed and excellent cycle characteristics can be obtained (paragraph [0195]).
As to Claims 3, 5 and 8, Harada discloses wherein a first insulating member 40 covers the electrode layers and the solid electrolyte layer on a first side surface and a second insulating member 40 covering a third side surface being one of the first pair of side surfaces (Fig. 5).
As to Claim 4, modified Harada discloses wherein the first terminal electrode 21 (of Tanaka) covers the first insulating member of Harada (Fig. 5 of Harada and Fig. 1B of Tanaka).
As to Claim 7, Harada teaches wherein the first pair of side surfaces are not provided with terminal electrodes (Fig. 5).
As to Claim 9, the second insulating member 40 of modified Harada intrinsically enters the recess taught by Tanaka given that the structure and materials of the prior art and the claimed invention are the same and in order to not have any wasted space for maximizing energy density of the battery, see MPEP 2112.
As to Claim 10, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A. Furthermore, the courts have held that the claimed configuration of the battery is a matter of choice which a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed configuration was significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the battery of modified Harada to comprise the claimed shape because Harada teaches that a solid-state battery with high capacity can be obtained (paragraph [0065]).
As to Claim 11, the courts have held that the claimed configuration of the battery is a matter of choice which a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed configuration was significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the battery of modified Harada to comprise the claimed shape because Tanaka teaches that a battery in which volume expansion and contraction can be sufficiently suppressed and excellent cycle characteristics can be obtained (paragraph [0195]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior arts of record, Harada and Tanaka, do not specifically disclose, teach, or fairly suggest the claimed method of making a battery, comprising: forming second laminated bodies by cutting at least one first laminated body including an electrode layer, a counter electrode layer, and a solid electrolyte layer located between the electrode layer and the counter electrode layer, in which a first pair of cut surfaces facing each other are provided to each of the second laminated bodies by cutting 2 the at least one first laminated body in such a way as to cut the electrode layer, the counter electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer collectively; forming a third laminated body by laminating the second laminated bodies such that the respective first pairs of cut surfaces of the second laminated bodies face in same directions; and forming a fourth laminated body by cutting the third laminated body, in which a second pair of cut surfaces facing each other and extending in a direction intersecting the first pair of cut surfaces are provided to the fourth laminated body by cutting the third laminated body in such a way as to cut the second laminated bodies collectively (claim 13).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727