Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on July 14, 2025 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the text in the graphs for Figures 6-19 is illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0003] acronym “BB” is not defined
[0027], [0031], and [0083] “angel” should read “angle”
[0089] “Referring to FIG 1…” should read “Referring to FIG 2…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…an angel distribution range…” should read “…an angle distribution range…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 19, claims 7, 15, and 19 recite the limitation “an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light.” It is unclear what is being compared and how this limitation is to be interpreted. Is it comparing the angular of spread of the light incident on the relay assembly to the to the angular spread of the illumination light? Is it comparing angular distribution of intensity? Is it comparing the angular of spread of the light incident on the relay assembly to only the overlapping regions of the different colors? It is also unclear from the claims and the specification what “a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light” means or is referring to. [0083] refers to ranges α and θ but it unclear what these refer to from the specification or drawings. Since it is unclear how this limitation is to be interpreted, claims 7, 15, and 19 are rendered indefinite. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret any angular distribution of illumination light and light incident on the relay assembly as satisfying this limitation.
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 20, claims 8, 16, and 20 recite the limitation “ an angle distribution range of incident light received by the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is greater than a maximum value of a range of angular distribution of the multi-color illumination light.” It is unclear what is being compared and how this limitation is to be interpreted. Is the angular spread of light incident on the light-homogenizing color-mixing device being compared to the maximum angle of illumination light (i.e. the light-homogenizing device receives 40 degrees of light and the maximum angle of illumination light is 10 degrees)? Or is it comparing the angle of maximum intensity of the illumination and incident light? [0084] refers to range β and value Ψ(r,g,b)max but it is unclear what these are referring to from the drawings and specification. Since it is unclear how this limitation is to be interpreted, claims 8, 16, and 20 are rendered indefinite. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret any angular distribution of illumination light and light incident on the light-homogenizing device as satisfying this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu et al. (Chinese Patent Publication CN 103576432 A – machine translation – cited by Applicant – hereinafter referred to as “Gu”).
Regarding claim 1, Gu teaches an illumination assembly (Figure 1), configured to provide a mixed-color illumination light ([0004] uniform illumination) for a display chip (Figure display chip 6, [0008]), the illuminating assembly comprising:
an illumination light source ([0008] lighting device, example seen in Figure 3) comprising a substrate (Figure 3 substrate 10, [0008]), a first light-emitting element (light emitting diode (LED) chip 13), a second light-emitting element (LED chip 14), and a third light-emitting element (LED chip 15), wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are arranged on the substrate (Figure 3 LED chips 13-15 are on substrate 10, [0008]);
a light-homogenizing color-mixing device (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21, 22 and color combiner 42, [0008]), wherein the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is arranged on a light exit side of the illumination light source (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21, 22 and color combiner 42 are on the light exit side of the lighting device) and configured to shape and homogenize multi-color illumination lights emitted by the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element to form the mixed-color illumination light ([0008] light-uniforming 21,22 and color combiner 42 shape and homogenize light emitted form LEDs 13-15); and
a relay assembly (Figure 1 focusing component 5, [0008]), wherein the relay assembly is arranged on a light exit side of the light-homogenizing color-mixing device (Figure 1 focusing component 5 is on light exit side of color combiner 42)and configured to transmit the mixed-color illumination light from the light-homogenizing color-mixing device to the display chip to modulate the mixed-color illumination light into image light ([0008] focusing component 8 transmits light to display chip 6).
Regarding claim 3, Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Gu further teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42), wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 are stacking the light path between the light device and focusing component 5).
Regarding claim 4, Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Gu further teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 comprise three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices), wherein the three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 each light-uniforming component 21,22 is stacked in the light path with color combiner 42 between the lighting device and focusing component 5).
Regarding claim 5, Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Gu further teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 comprise two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices), wherein the two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 each light-uniforming component 21,22 is stacked in the light path with color combiner 42 between the lighting device and focusing component 5).
Regarding claim 6, Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Gu further teaches is one of an RGBW four-in-one light source, an RGGB four-in-one light source, and an RGB three-in-one light source (Figure 3 LED chip 13 is a green LED, LED chip 14 is a blue LED, and LED chip 15 is a red LED all on a single substrate 10, [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Gu further teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light ([0026] light emission is compressed to 20° after emission from the lighting device and passing through light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 to the focusing component 5).
Regarding claim 8The illumination assembly of claim 1, wherein an angel distribution range of incident light received by the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is greater than a maximum value of a range of angular distribution of the multi-color illumination light ([0026] light-uniforming components 21,22 collect all the light from the light-emitting matrix 11 and therefore are able to receive a larger angular distribution of light than that emitted by the lighting device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0335628 – hereinafter referred to as “Hung”) in view of Gu (Chinese Patent Publication CN 103576432 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hung teaches an illumination assembly (Figure 16 illumination system 350B, [0085]), configured to provide a mixed-color illumination light for a display chip (Figure 16 display device 330B, [0086]), the illuminating assembly comprising:
an illumination light source (Figure 16 light source 351, [0086]) comprising a substrate ([0084] light source 351 can be an LED which has a substrate), and a first light-emitting element ([0084] light source 351 can be an LED),
a light-homogenizing color-mixing device (Figure 16 light uniforming element 357, [0086]), wherein the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is arranged on a light exit side of the illumination light source and configured to shape and homogenize multi-color illumination lights emitted by the first light-emitting element to form the mixed-color illumination light ([0086] light uniforming element 357 is on exit side of light source 351); and
a relay assembly (Figure 16 prism module 359B, [0086]), wherein the relay assembly is arranged on a light exit side of the light-homogenizing color-mixing device and configured to transmit the mixed-color illumination light from the light-homogenizing color-mixing device to the display chip to modulate the mixed-color illumination light into image light (Figure 16, [0086] prism module 359B transmits light from light uniforming element 357 to display device 330B).
Hung fail to teach the illumination light source comprises a second light-emitting element, and a third light-emitting element, wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting clement are arranged on the substrate and the light homogenizing device shapes and homogenizes light emitted from the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting elements. However, Gu teaches a display illumination assembly (Figure 1) with an illumination light source comprises a second light-emitting element, and a third light-emitting element (Figure 3 LED chips 13, 14, and 15 comprise three light emitting elements, [0008]), wherein the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting clement are arranged on the substrate (Figure 3 LEDs 13-15 are on substrate 10) and the light homogenizing device shapes and homogenizes light emitted from the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting elements ([0008] light-uniforming 21,22 and color combiner 42 shape and homogenize light emitted form LEDs 13-15). Gu further teaches using three light-emitting elements to provide red, green, and blue light [0010]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by using three light emitting elements as taught by Gu in order to provide red, green, and blue light (Gu [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung further teaches the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is a microlens array ([0084] light uniforming element 357 is a lens array) or a binary optical device.
Regarding claim 3, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung fails to teach a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices, wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly. However, Gu teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42), wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 are stacking the light path between the light device and focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices improves the efficiency of the light device ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination device taught by Hung by having a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices as taught by Gu in order to improve the efficiency of the lighting device (Gu [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Hung fails to teach the light-homogenizing color-mixing devices comprises three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices, wherein the three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly. However, Gu teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 comprise three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices), wherein the three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 each light-uniforming component 21,22 is stacked in the light path with color combiner 42 between the lighting device and focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices improves the efficiency of the light device ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination device taught by Hung by having three light-homogenizing color-mixing devices as taught by Gu in order to improve the efficiency of the lighting device (Gu [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Hung fails to teach light-homogenizing color-mixing devices comprises two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices, wherein the two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly. However, Gu teaches a light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprising two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 comprise two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices), wherein the two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 each light-uniforming component 21,22 is stacked in the light path with color combiner 42 between the lighting device and focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices improves the efficiency of the light device ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination device taught by Hung by having two light-homogenizing color-mixing devices as taught by Gu in order to improve the efficiency of the lighting device (Gu [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung fails to teach the illumination light source is one of an RGBW four-in-one light source, an RGGB four-in-one light source, and an RGB three-in-one light source. However, Gu teaches one of an RGBW four-in-one light source, an RGGB four-in-one light source, and an RGB three-in-one light source (Figure 3 LED chip 13 is a green LED, LED chip 14 is a blue LED, and LED chip 15 is a red LED all on a single substrate 10, [0010]). Gu further teaches using a RGB three-in-one- light source to prove white light from the combined light ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by using an RGB three-in-one light source as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung fails to teach wherein an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light. However, Gu teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light ([0026] light emission is compressed to 20° after emission from the lighting device and passing through light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 to the focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using mixed-color illumination to provide white light from the combined light ([0007]) and such an arrangement would allow the relay assembly to receive all the light from the light homogenizing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by having an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]) and such an arrangement would allow the relay assembly to receive all the light from the light homogenizing device.
Regarding claim 8, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung further teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is greater than a maximum value of a range of angular distribution of the illumination light ([0086] light uniforming element 357 receives an angular distribution of light from light source 351). Hung fails to teach multicolor illumination light. However, Gu teaches multicolor illumination light ([0010] red, blue, and green LEDs). Furthermore, Gu teaches using multicolor illumination light in order to create white light from the combined light ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by using multi-color illumination as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung further teaches the relay assembly comprises a beam splitter (BS) prism (Figure 16 prism 352 is a beam splitter prism, [0086]), a first relay lens (Figure 16 lower lens in prism module 359B), and a collimating lens (Figure 16 collimating lens 353, [0086]). Hung fails to teach the BS prism is arranged in a light path between the first relay lens and the light-homogenizing color-mixing device. However, placement of the BS prism, relay lens, and light-homogenizing color-mixing device would be a matter of design choice and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by having the BS prism arranged in a light path between the first relay lens and the light-homogenizing color-mixing device as doing so would be a rearrangement of parts a matter of design choice one skilled in the art would be capable of making.
Regarding claim 10, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Hung further teaches the collimating lens is arranged in a light path between the illumination light source and the light-homogenizing color-mixing device (Figure 16 collimating lens 353 is between light source 351 and light uniforming element 357).
Regarding claim 13, Hung and Gu teach display light machine (Hung Figure 16 head mounted device (HMD) 300B), comprising:
the illumination assembly of claim 1 (combination of Hung and Gu teach claim 1, see claim 1 above);
an imaging lens (Hung lens module 340, [0086]) and
a display chip (Hung display device 330B), wherein the display chip is arranged in a light path between the illumination assembly and the imaging lens and configured to modulate the mixed-color illumination light from the illumination assembly into image light which is modulated for imaging via the imaging lens (Figure 16 display device 330 is between the illumination system 350B and lens module 340).
Regarding claim 14, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 13. Hung fails to teach a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices, wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly. However, Gu teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42), wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 are stacking the light path between the light device and focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices improves the efficiency of the light device ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination device taught by Hung by having a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices as taught by Gu in order to improve the efficiency of the lighting device (Gu [0012]).
Regarding claim 15, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 13. Hung fails to teach wherein an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light. However, Gu teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light ([0026] light emission is compressed to 20° after emission from the lighting device and passing through light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 to the focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using mixed-color illumination to provide white light from the combined light ([0007]) and such an arrangement would allow the relay assembly to receive all the light from the light homogenizing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by having an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]) and such an arrangement would allow the relay assembly to receive all the light from the light homogenizing device.
Regarding claim 16, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 13. Hung further teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is greater than a maximum value of a range of angular distribution of the illumination light ([0086] light uniforming element 357 receives an angular distribution of light from light source 351). Hung fails to teach multicolor illumination light. However, Gu teaches multicolor illumination light ([0010] red, blue, and green LEDs). Furthermore, Gu teaches using multicolor illumination light in order to create white light from the combined light ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by using multi-color illumination as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]).
Regarding claim 17, Hung and Gu teach a near-eye display device (Hung Figure 1), comprising: a device body (HMD 100); and the display light machine of claim 13 (combination of Hung and Gu teach claim 13, see claim 13 above), wherein the display light machine is mounted on the device body (Hung Figure 1 display device 130 is mounted on HMD 100).
Regarding claim 18, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Hung fails to teach a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices, wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly. However, Gu teaches light-homogenizing color-mixing device comprises a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42), wherein the plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices are stacked in a light path between the illumination light source and the relay assembly (Figure 1 light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 are stacking the light path between the light device and focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices improves the efficiency of the light device ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination device taught by Hung by having a plurality of light-homogenizing color-mixing devices as taught by Gu in order to improve the efficiency of the lighting device (Gu [0012]).
Regarding claim 19, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Hung fails to teach wherein an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light. However, Gu teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light ([0026] light emission is compressed to 20° after emission from the lighting device and passing through light-uniforming components 21,22 and color combiner 42 to the focusing component 5). Gu further teaches using mixed-color illumination to provide white light from the combined light ([0007]) and such an arrangement would allow the relay assembly to receive all the light from the light homogenizing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by having an angle distribution range of incident light received by the relay assembly is less than a range of maximum overlapping region of lights with different colors in the mixed-color illumination light as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]) and such an arrangement would allow the relay assembly to receive all the light from the light homogenizing device.
Regarding claim 20, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Hung further teaches an angle distribution range of incident light received by the light-homogenizing color-mixing device is greater than a maximum value of a range of angular distribution of the illumination light ([0086] light uniforming element 357 receives an angular distribution of light from light source 351). Hung fails to teach multicolor illumination light. However, Gu teaches multicolor illumination light ([0010] red, blue, and green LEDs). Furthermore, Gu teaches using multicolor illumination light in order to create white light from the combined light ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung by using multi-color illumination as taught by Gu in order to provide white light from the combined light (Gu [0007]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0335628) in view of Gu (Chinese Patent Publication CN 103576432 A) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Ronen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0359034).
Regarding claim 11, Hung and Gu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Hung further teaches the relay assembly comprises a polarizer ([0086] the illumination beam is converted to a single polarity and therefore passes through a polarizer), a polarizing beam splitter (PBS) prism (Figure 16 prism 352 is a PBS, [0086]), a first relay lens (Figure 16 lower lens in prism module 359B), wherein the polarizer is arranged in a light path between the illumination light source and the PBS prism ([0086] since illumination beam is polarized before PBS prism the polarizer is between light source 351 and prism 352).
Hung and Gu fail to teach a quarter-wave plate, and a curved mirror; the first relay lens and the curved mirror are respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the PBS prism, and the quarter-wave plate is arranged in a light path between the PBS prism and the curved mirror. However Ronen teaches an illumination device (Figure 8) with a quarter-wave plate ([0062] reflective lens 310 is associated with a quarter wave plate) and a curved mirror (Figure 8 reflective lens 310 is a curved mirror). Ronen further teaches a relay lens (Figure 8 lens 313) and the curved mirror (reflective lens 310) are respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the PBS prism (Figure 8 lens 313 and reflective lens 310 are on opposite sides of PBS 35) and the quarter-wave plate is arranged in a light path between the PBS prism and the curved mirror ([0062] quarter wave plate is associated with reflecting lens 310 and there must be in the light path between reflecting lens 310 and PBS 35). Ronen further teaches such an arrangement is well-known in art and used in conventional reflective spatial light modulator (SLM) projectors ([0062). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination assembly taught by Hung and Gu by adding a quarter-wave plate, and a curved mirror; the first relay lens and the curved mirror are respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the PBS prism, and the quarter-wave plate is arranged in a light path between the PBS prism and the curved mirror as taught by Ronen since such an arrangement is well-known in the art and commonly used with conventional reflective SLM projectors (Ronen [0062])
Regarding claim 12, Hung, Gu, and Ronen teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 11. Hung further teaches the relay assembly comprises a second relay lens (Figure 16 upper lens in prism module 359B) and a collimating lens (Figure 16 collimating lens 353, [0086]), and the collimating lens is arranged in a light path between the illumination light source and the light-homogenizing color-mixing device (Figure 16 collimating lens 353 is between light source 351 and light uniforming element 357).
Hung, Gu, and Ronen fail to teach a turning prism, wherein the turning prism is arranged in a light path between the illumination light source and the polarizer, the second relay lens is arranged in a light path between the turning prism and the polarizer. However, a turning prism is well-known in the art and commonly used to shorten a lens assembly with affecting the path length of the lens assembly. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination device taught by the combination of Hung, Gu, and Ronen by adding a turning prism, wherein the turning prism is arranged in a light path between the illumination light source and the polarizer, the second relay lens is arranged in a light path between the turning prism and the polarizer since turning prisms are well-known in the art and reduce the size of illumination assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xaio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0300442) teaches an illumination assembly similar to the instant invention using a display device, light homogenizing assembly, and relay assembly.
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872