DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/15/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 12208229 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted.
The terminal disclaimer does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because:
The disclaimer fee in accordance with 37 CFR 1.20(d) has not been submitted, nor is there any authorization in the application file to charge a specified Deposit Account or credit card.
Note: Please resubmit the Terminal disclaimer and pay the fee.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1-3, 9, 16 are amended and filed on 6/12/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12208229B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
- claim 1 recites the limitation a method of connecting a first tubing to a second tubing for aseptic fluid transfer (Patent, Claim 1, Col. 6, lines 37-67), comprising: placing the first tubing within a first channel and the second tubing within an opposing channel (Patent, Claim 1, Col. 6, lines 37-67); providing two holders ((Patent, Claim 1, Col. 6, lines 37-67); attaching a male connector to a female connector (Patent, Claim 1, Col. 6, lines 37-67); attaching a first tape with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the first tubing (Patent, Claim 1, Col. 6, lines 37-67); attaching the second tape with adhesive on one side to a portion of the second tubing (Patent, Claim 1, Col. 6, lines 37-67), wherein the second tape has sufficient length to extend past the distal end of the female connector and placing the mating surfaces of the holders (Patent, Claim 1, Col. 7, lines 1-6).
Claim 1 of the current application is border that claim of the patent as it is has no tape adhesive on tape that extend from the end of the connectors.
Also, the limitation of claims 2-18 of the current application can be found in claims 1-15 of the patent such as: claim 2 ( Patent, Claim 2), claim 3 (Patent, Claim 1), claim 4 (Patent, Claim 4), claim 5 (Patent, Claim 5), claim 6 (Patent, Claim 6), claim 7 (Patent, Claim 7), claim 8 (Patent, Claim 8), claim 9 (Patent, Claim 9), claim 10 (Patent, Claim 10), claim 11(Patent, Claim 11), claim 12 (Patent, Claim 12), claim 13 ( Patent, Claim 13), claim 14 (Patent, Claim 1), claim 15 (Patent, Claim 1), claim 16 (Patent, Claim 1), claim 17 (Patent, Claim 13), claim 18 (Patent, Claim 18).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 1, the limitation “providing two holders, one with…and one with..” should reads as
“providing a first holder a second holder
In line 4 of claim 1, the limitation “the first and second tubing” should reads as
“the first tubing and second tubing”.
In last 3 lines of claim 1, the limitation “the first and second tubing…” should reads as
“the first tubing and second tubing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a first channel and opposite channel " in line 6. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation “ the first channel and the second channel” as indicated in line 3 of claim 1 or it is referring to the new limitation. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will inter pert the limitation as it is referring to the limitation in claim 1, line 3.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a portion of the first tubing" in line 2. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation “a portion of the first tubing” as indicated in line 12 of claim 1 or it is referring to the new limitation. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will inter pert the limitation as it is referring to the limitation in claim 1, line 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenczar (US. 4019512).in view of Kellogg (US. 4418945).
Re Claim 1, Tenczar discloses a method (abstract, Figs. 1-11) of connecting a first tubing (16, Fig. 2) to a second tubing (23) for aseptic fluid transfer (abstract), comprising: providing two holders (21 and 50, Fig. 1-2), one with a first channel and one with a second channel (channel within 14 and 12), said channels respectively designed to house the first and second tubing (Fig. 2), and said first and second channels each having a mating surface at one end (inner surface of 12 at the right end and outer surface of 14 at the left end); placing the first tubing (16) within a first channel (channel 14) and the second tubing (23, 24) within an opposing channel (channel of 12); attaching a male connector (18, Col. 3, lines 40-45) having a central bore (Fig. 4) to a female connector ( 24, 25) having a central bore (bore of 25) that is an elastic material (flex layer such as 34, Fig. 1, Fig. 8), wherein the male connector has a tapered distal end (18) furthest from the first tubing when the first tubing is connected to a proximal end of the male connector (close to 26, Fig. 8) and the female connector has a distal end (close to 29) furthest from the second tubing when a proximal end of the female connector (close to 38, Fig. 2) is connected with the second tubing (Fig. 2); attaching a first tape (right portion of 60, Col. 5, lines 20-26) with adhesive on one surface (61) to a portion of the first tubing (Fig. 2); attaching the second tape (left 60) with adhesive on one side (56) to a portion of the second tubing (Fig. 2, Col. 5, lines 20-26); and placing the mating surfaces of the holders (Fig. 1-2) adjacent and pulling the ends of the first tape and the second tape ( Fig. 6) such that the first and second tubing are pulled towards each other (Fig, 8, 11) and the male connector is pulled inside the female connector and forms a seal and provides a fluid connection from the first tubing to the second tubing (Fig. 8, 11, Col. 3, lines 17-30), but it fails to disclose that the first tape attached to a portion of the first tubing that is past the proximal end of the male connector; attaching the second tape to a portion of the second tubing that is past the proximal end of the female connector.
However, Kellogg discloses a method of connecting tubings (abstract, Figs. 11-13) including attaching a first tape (14 tape attaches to left 3) with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the male connector (right end of left 1, Fig. 12) and to a portion of the first tubing (left 16 on right side) that is past the proximal end of the male connector ( left end of 16); attaching the second tape ( 14 tape attached to the right 3) to a portion of the second tubing (right 1) that is past the proximal end of the female connector. ( left end of right 16, Fig. 13).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modify method of Tenczar so that the first tape attached to a portion of the first tubing that is past the proximal end of the male connector; attaching the second tape to a portion of the second tubing that is past the proximal end of the female connector.as taught by Kellogg for the purpose of keeping the tube in a sterilized status in an art recognized sterilization (Kellogg, Col. 6, line 60 up to Col 7 lines 10).
Re Claim 2, Tenczar fails to disclose further including attaching a third tape with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the male connector and to a portion of the first tubing such that said third tape opposes said first tape, and adhering the adhesive surface of said third tape to the opposed adhesive surface of the first tape; attaching a fourth tape with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the female connector and a portion of the second tubing such that said fourth tape opposes said second tape, and adhering the adhesive surface of said fourth tape to the opposed adhesive surface of the second tap; pulling the ends of the first tape and the third tape apart and pulling the ends of the second tape and the fourth tape apart so that the male connector is pulled inside the female connector.
However, Kellogg discloses a method of connecting tubings (abstract, Figs. 11-13) including attaching a third tape (13 tape attaches to left 16 on top side) with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the male connector (left 1, Fig. 11) and to a portion of the first tubing (left 16 on right side) such that said third tape opposes said first tape (left 15), and adhering the adhesive surface of said third tape to the opposed adhesive surface of the first tape (Col. 4, lines 25-40, Fig. 11); attaching a fourth tape (13 tape attaches to right 16 on lower side) with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the female connector (right 1) and a portion of the second tubing such that said fourth tape opposes said second tape (right 16 on the left side), and adhering the adhesive surface of said fourth tape to the opposed adhesive surface of the second tap (right 15); pulling the ends of the first tape and the third tape apart (left and top 20, 12) and pulling the ends of the second tape and the fourth tape apart so that the male connector is pulled inside the female connector lower 12 and right 20, Col. 6, line 60 up to Col 7 lines 10).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modify method of Tenczar to include including attaching a third tape with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the male connector and to a portion of the first tubing such that said third tape opposes said first tape, and adhering the adhesive surface of said third tape to the opposed adhesive surface of the first tape; attaching a fourth tape with adhesive on one surface to a portion of the female connector and a portion of the second tubing such that said fourth tape opposes said second tape, and adhering the adhesive surface of said fourth tape to the opposed adhesive surface of the second tap; pulling the ends of the first tape and the third tape apart and pulling the ends of the second tape and the fourth tape apart so that the male connector is pulled inside the female connector as taught by Kellogg for the purpose of keeping the tube in a sterilized status in an art recognized sterilization (Kellogg, Col. 6, line 60 up to Col 7 lines 10).
Re Claim 3, Tenczar discloses further including fastening the first holder and the second holder using bolts, screws, magnets, straps, elastic straps or adhesive, or opposed fixtures which twist and lock together (pin 21b, groove 52, Fig. 2 are opposed fixture twist and lock together, Col. 4, lines 64- 68, Col. 5, lines 1-10).
Re Claim 4, Tenczar discloses wherein a visual, auditory or tactile feedback indicates when the connection is made (visual or tactile indication as 21a reaches the end of 52).
Re Claim 6, Tenczar discloses further comprising a mechanism to pull the ends of the first tape and the second tapes to establish the connection (clamping means Col. 1, lines 48-52).
Re Claim 7, Tenczar discloses that the mechanism is a robot that automatically pulls the ends of the first tape and the second tape to establish the connection (clamping means Col. 1, lines 48-52).
Re Claim 9, Tenczar discloses wherein the first and second holders include a flexible layer (53) on the mating surfaces, which are pressed together to form the seal (Col. 5, lines 10-25).
Re Claim 10, Tenczar discloses wherein the connection is made or broken autonomously, triggered by a detected external event (rotating he tube so 21bis inserted in 52).
Re Claim 11, Tenczar discloses further comprising an autonomous sterilisation procedure (Col. 5, lines 34-45, abstract).
Re Claim 12, Tenczar discloses wherein the method is used in applications that require the connection between tubing be performed in a controlled environment (Col. 5, lines 34-45, abstract).
Re Claim 13, Tenczar discloses wherein the applications include: cell and gene therapy applications, stem cell therapy, regenerative medicine and tissue engineering applications, cell banking applications, pharmaceutical manufacturing applications, bio-manufacturing and biotechnology research applications, cell expansion applications, cell culture bioprocessing applications, and chemical processing applications (Col. 6, lines 42-48 such as blood transfer, abstract).
Re Claim 14, Tenczar discloses wherein the first tape has no adhesive on the surfaces which extend from the end of the male connector to the end of the first tape ( close to the finger , there is no adhesive).
Re Claim 15, Tenczar discloses wherein the second tape has no adhesive on the surfaces which extend from the end of the female connector to the end of the second tape (close to the finger , there is no adhesive).
Re Claim 16, Tenczar discloses wherein the elastic material is formed from flexible layer/layers (34, Col. 4, line 15).
Claim(s) 5, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenczar in view of Kellogg and further in view of Johnson et al. (US. 20030030272A1) ("Johnson").
Re Claim 5, Tenczar fails to disclose a pinch valve on the first or second tubing to prevent fluid flow to the male or female connector before the connection is made.
However, Johnson discloses a pinch valve on the first or second tubing to prevent fluid flow to the male or female connector before a connection is made (Fig. 6, 200 valve, tube 190).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modify method of Tenczar to include a pinch valve on the first or second tubing to prevent fluid flow to the male or female connector before a connection is made as taught by Johnson for the purpose of keeping the tube in a sterilized status (Johnson, ¶0081).
Re Claim 17, Tenczar fails to disclose a secondary sterilisation procedure using an aerosolized or gaseous sterilisation applied to the connector to further reduce the risk of contamination.
However, Johnson discloses connected tube comprising a secondary sterilisation procedure using an aerosolized or gaseous sterilisation applied to the connector to further reduce the risk of contamination (¶0081).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modify method of Tenczar to include a secondary sterilisation procedure using an aerosolized or gaseous sterilisation applied to the connector to further reduce the risk of contamination as taught by Johnson for the purpose of keeping the tube in a sterilized status in an art recognized sterilization (Johnson, ¶0081).
Re Claim 18, Tenczar fails to disclose wherein sterilisation is performed using steam, atomised ethanol or ethylene gas.
However, Johnson discloses connected tube comprising sterilisation is performed using steam, atomised ethanol or ethylene gas (¶0081).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modify method of Tenczar so that sterilisation is performed using steam, atomised ethanol or ethylene gas as taught by Johnson for the purpose of keeping the tube in a sterilized status in an art recognized sterilization (Johnson, ¶0081).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenczar in view of Kellogg and further in view of Faldt et al. (US. 10946183B2) ("Faldt").
Re Claim 8, Tenczar fails to disclose a plurality of first and second tubings to form multiple fluid networks.
However, Faldt discloses a multiple connector together to join multiple fluid networks at once (Fig. 1, 120 tubes and 126 connectors, abstract).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modify method of Tenczar to have plurality of first and second tubings to form multiple fluid networks as taught by Faldt for the purpose connecting multiple lines together for multiple fluid flow at once (Faldt, Col. 4, lines 50-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 6/12/2026, with respect to new amendment and with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 using Tenczar have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Tenczar in view of Kellogg.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783