DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura et al. (US 20060137579 A1) in view of Suda et al. (US 2010/0024297).
With respect to claim 1, Fujimura teaches a fluidized bed reactor (Figure 3, 11) configured to react a fuel in a fluidized bed of bed solids (as illustrated), the reactor comprising:
a container (11) configured to hold the bed of bed solids (as illustrated);
a wall (Figure 3, not numbered) separating at least a gas phase above the bed in the container (11) into a volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) and a combustion stage (13), the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) including:
a fuel inlet/(waste inlet) configured to receive the fuel/(waste);
a LowOx gas/(steam or inert gas) inlet disposed at a first portion of a bottom of the container (11) (para. [0021]) (as illustrated in Figure 3);
a LowOx gas supply/(booster (20)) configured to supply an inert and/or less-oxidizing gas/(CO2) to the LowOx gas inlet (para. [0050]) to fluidize the bed of bed solids to yield a first fluidized bed and volatilize the fuel to yield:
a volatiles stream/(produced gas) comprising a syngas/(fuel gas) (para. [0049]) and a char/dust stream (para. [0049]);
a volatiles stream outlet/(outlet at top of chamber (12)) configured to convey the volatiles stream out of the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) (as illustrated);
a syngas outlet/(fuel gas) coupled to the volatiles stream outlet/(outlet at top of chamber (12)) and configured to extract the syngas/(fuel gas) from the reactor (11);
the combustion stage (13) including:
an oxidant inlet (para. [0021]) disposed at a second portion of the bottom of the container (11) (as illustrated in Figure 3) (para. [0010], [0021]);
a HiOx gas supply configured to supply the oxidant inlet with a gas that is more oxidizing than that supplied by the LowOx gas supply (para. [0021]) (as illustrated), the HiOx gas supply and oxidant inlet configured to fluidize the bed of bed solids to yield a second fluidized bed and combust the char stream to yield an exhaust/combustion gas (para. [0021]);
an exhaust/combustion gas outlet/(outlet of chamber (13)) configured to convey the exhaust/combustion gas out of the combustion stage (13);
an opening (illustrated within the solids bed below the vertical wall separating the combustion chamber (13) from the gasification chamber (12)) through and/or below the wall and below a surface of the at least one of the fluidized beds, the opening configured to provide for a flow of the char stream and bed solids between the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) and the combustion stage (13) (as illustrated).
Fujimura fails to teach providing a volatiles pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) and
a combustion pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (13); and
a controller coupled to the pressure gauges and the means to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages.
Suda teaches a fluidized bed furnace (107) (Figures 4-5) comprising a volatiles pressure gauge (P1) configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (113)) and a combustion pressure gauge (P2) configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (112) (para. [0027], [0087]); a means/damper to control gas flow into/out of at least one stage (para. [0087]); and
a controller (121 & 124) coupled to the pressure gauges (P1 & P2) and the means/damper to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages (para. [0027]) in order to enhance and control the gasification efficiency in the fluidized bed gasification furnace.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the fluidized bed of Fujimura comprise a volatiles pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) and a combustion pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (13); and a controller coupled to the pressure gauges and the means to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages, as taught by Suda, in order to control and enhance the gasification efficiency in the fluidized bed gasification furnace.
Regarding limitations recited in claim 1 which are directed to a manner of operating a disclosed device, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon (i.e. “bubbling”, lowOx gas, an inert and/or less-oxidizing gas) further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
With respect to claim 2, Fujimura teaches a heat exchanger/(waste heat boiler & filter (17 & 19)) coupled to the exhaust/combustion gas outlet (as illustrated in Figure 3) and LowOx gas supply/steam, the heat exchanger/(boiler & filter (17 & 19)) configured to transfer heat from the exhaust/combustion gas to the inert and/or less-oxidizing gas/CO2 prior to the LowOx gas inlet (para. [0050], [0057]).
With respect to claim 3, Suda further teaches wherein the controller (121 & 124) is further configured to control a pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet and the oxidant inlet - Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet and the oxidant inlet (para. [0027], [0035], [0087], [0094], [0097]).
With respect to claim 4, Suda teaches wherein the controller (121 & 124) is further configured to control a difference in pressure between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the fluidized bed – Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure difference between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the fluidized bed, and into controlling residence time.
With respect to claim 5, Suda further teaches wherein the controller (121 & 124) is further configured to control (Pd1-Pd2) across the LowOx gas inlet – Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure difference (Pd1-Pd2) across the LowOx gas inlet.
With respect to claim 7, Fujimura teaches a separator (14 & 15) (Figure 3) coupled to the volatiles stream/(produced gas) outlet and comprising the syngas outlet, the separator (14 & 15) configured to separate the syngas/(produced gas) from one or more useful chemical species/(fuel gas) in the volatiles stream, the useful chemical species comprising at least one of: a gaseous hydrocarbon, a gaseous fuel/(fuel gas) (as illustrated), a volatile polymer, a monomer, a liquid fuel, and a fine chemical; the separator further comprising a chemicals outlet/(outlet of the fuel gas stream) (as illustrated) configured to extract the useful chemical species/(fuel gas) from the reactor (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 8, Fujimura teaches wherein:
the separator (14 & 15) is further configured to cool the volatiles/(produced gas) stream prior to separating the one or more useful chemical species/(fuel gas) from the syngas/(produced gas) (para. [0057]); and at least one of the extracted useful chemical species comprises a liquid fuel – fuel gas.
Regarding limitations recited in claim 8 which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed device, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon (i.e. a liquid fuel) further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
With respect to claim 9, Fujimura teaches wherein the separator (14 & 15) further comprises a particle separator (14) (Figure 3) configured to separate entrained particles, dust, and/or particulates from the syngas/(produced gas) and the useful chemical species/(fuel gas), the particle separator (14) comprising at least one of a cyclone (as illustrated) (para. [0057]).
With respect to claim 10, Fujimura teaches wherein the separator (14 & 15) further comprises a heat exchanger configured to cool the volatiles stream prior to separation of the one or more useful chemical species (para. [0057]) – Fujimura teaches wherein the scrubber (15) is configured to cool the produced gas, and then removes tar and acid gas from the produced gas (para. [0057]); in addition, it would be obvious that the scrubber (15) would comprise a cooling mechanism, such as water, since the lower outlet of the scrubber (15) is connected to a waste water treatment facility (16); the water would function as a “heat exchanger”.
With respect to claim 13, Fujimura teaches wherein the separation reactor/scrubber (15) is further configured to separate a residual stream comprising tar from the volatiles/(produced gas) stream, and the reactor (Figure 3, 11) further comprises a residual stream outlet/(stream exiting the bottom of scrubber (15)) configured to extract the tar from the separator (15) (para. [0049]).
With respect to claim 14, claim describes operational conditions (i.e. wherein the reactor is further configured to generate a volatiles stream having a lower heating value that is higher than an average heating value of a total gas volume leaving the volatilization and combustion stages) and do not Iimit the invented apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQZd 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), see also In re Swinehad, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). ''Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.'' Hewlett-packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 16, Suda further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the pressure difference using closed-loop control (para. [0027], [0035], [0087], [0094], [0097]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura et al. (US 20060137579 A1) in view of Suda et al. (US 2010/0024297), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wormer (US 4,823,712).
With respect to claim 6, modified Fujimura discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein the bed solids have a mean particle diameter that is at least 0.4mm, and at least 0.6mm. Wormer teaches a fluidized bed reactor, similar to that of Fujimura (as illustrated in Figure 11), comprising bed solids consisting mostly of hot 20-mesh sand, which is having a maximum particle diameter of 0.841 mm (col. 5, lines 15-21), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of “at least 0.4 mm” in order to prevent clogging.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the bed particles of modified Fujimura comprise a mean particle diameter that is at least 0.4mm, as taught by Wormer, in order to prevent clogging.
Claims 20, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura et al. (US 20060137579 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Fujimura teaches a fuel stream processing system/apparatus comprising:
a pretreatment reactor (12) including:
a reaction zone/(gasification chamber (12)) (Figure 3) comprising bed solids and configured to react a fuel stream/(waste) with an inlet gas/(steam or inert gas) (as illustrated);
a LowOx gas inlet/(steam or inert gas) inlet configured to deliver an inert and/or less-oxidizing gas into the reaction zone/(gasification chamber (12)) (as illustrated) (para. [0021]) and fluidize the bed solids to yield a bubbling fluidized bed (as illustrated in Figure 3);
a fuel inlet/(waste inlet) configured to receive a fuel supply/(waste) and deliver the fuel supply/(waste) to the reaction zone/(gasification chamber (12)) (as illustrated);
a volatiles stream outlet/(outlet at top of chamber (12)) configured to convey a volatiles stream/(produced gas) out of the reaction zone/(gasification chamber (12)) (para. [0049]); and
a char stream outlet/(space near upper divider wall within container (11)) (as illustrated) configured to convey a char stream comprising at least a portion of the bed solids out of the reaction zone/(gasification chamber (12)) (para. [0048]);
a separation reactor (14 & 15) fluidically coupled to the volatiles stream/(produced gas) outlet (as illustrated), and configured to:
cool the volatiles stream/(produced gas) (para. [0049]) from the pretreatment reactor (12) (as illustrated); and separate the volatiles stream/(produced gas) into:
a gaseous phase/(fuel gas) comprising at least one of a gaseous hydrocarbon, a
gaseous oxygenated hydrocarbon, and syngas;
a liquid fuel/tar – as part of bottom stream exiting scrubber (15) (para. [0049]);
and a particle stream – as part of bottom stream exiting dust collector (14) (para. [0049]):
the separation reactor (14 & 15) further comprising: from the pretreatment reactor;
a first chemicals outlet configured to extract the gaseous phase (i.e. fuel gas stream exiting scrubber (15) from the system/apparatus (as illustrated); a second chemicals outlet configured to extract the liquid fuel/(tar) as part of bottom stream exiting scrubber (15) (para. [0049]) from the system/apparatus; and
a particle separator (14) configured to separate entrained particles, dust, and/or particulates from the volatiles stream/(produced gas) - as part of bottom stream exiting dust collector (14) (para. [0049]);
a combustion reactor (13) comprising:
a combustion zone (within char bed) (para. [0048]);
an oxidant/(oxygen) inlet (at the bottom of the char bed) (as illustrated) configured to deliver a gas that is more oxidizing than that delivered by the LowOx gas inlet to the combustion zone (12);
a char stream inlet/(space near lower divider wall) coupled to the char stream outlet/(space near upper divider wall) of the pretreatment reactor (12)
and configured to convey the char stream (para. [0048]); and at least a portion of the bed solids into the combustion zone (within combustion reactor (13)) (para. [0048])
and
an exhaust outlet/(combustion gas outlet at the top of chamber (13)) configured to convey an exhaust from the combustion of the oxidant, char stream, residual stream out of the combustion zone (13) (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 11, Suda further teaches wherein the system/apparatus of claim 20 further comprises a controller (121 & 124) configured to control:
a pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet - Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet (para. [0027], [0035], [0087], [0094], [0097]); and
a difference in pressure between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the fluidized bed – Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure difference between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the fluidized bed, and into controlling residence time.
With respect to claim 15, claim describes operational conditions (i.e. wherein the system is further configured to generate a volatiles stream having a lower heating value that is higher than an average heating value of a total gas volume leaving the volatiles stream outlet and the exhaust outlet) and do not Iimit the invented apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQZd 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), see also In re Swinehad, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). ''Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.'' Hewlett-packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). MPEP 2114.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura et al. (US 20060137579 A1), as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Wormer (US 4,823,712).
With respect to claim 12, Fujimura discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein the bed solids have a mean particle diameter that is at least 0.4mm. Wormer teaches a fluidized bed reactor, similar to that of Fujimura (as illustrated in Figure 11), comprising bed solids consisting mostly of 20-mesh sand, which is having a maximum particle diameter of 0.841 mm (col. 5, lines 15-21), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of “at least 0.4mm” in order to prevent clogging (col. 5, lines 15-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the bed particles of modified Fujimura comprise a mean particle diameter that is at least 0.4mm, as taught by Wormer, in order to prevent clogging.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12018835 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The recited limitations of instant claims 1 and 20 are encompassed in claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12018835 B2.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 in view of Suda et al. (US 2010/0024297).
The recited limitations of instant claim 1 are encompassed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 except for the following:
U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 fails to teach providing a volatiles pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber and a combustion pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage; and a controller coupled to the pressure gauges and the means to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages.
Suda teaches a fluidized bed furnace (107) (Figures 4-5) comprising a volatiles pressure gauge (P1) configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (113)) and a combustion pressure gauge (P2) configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (112) (para. [0027], [0087]); a means/damper to control gas flow into/out of at least one stage (para. [0087]); and
a controller (121 & 124) coupled to the pressure gauges (P1 & P2) and the means/damper to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages (para. [0027]) in order to enhance and control the gasification efficiency in the fluidized bed gasification furnace.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the fluidized bed of U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 comprise a volatiles pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage and a combustion pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage; and a controller coupled to the pressure gauges and the means to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages, as taught by Suda, in order to control and enhance the gasification efficiency in the fluidized bed gasification furnace.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 in view of Fujimura et al. (US 20060137579 A1).
The recited limitations of instant claim 20 are encompassed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2, except for the following:
U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 fails to teach providing a residual stream inlet coupled to the residual stream outlet of the separation reactor and configured to deliver at least a portion of the residual stream into the combustion zone.
Fujimura teaches wherein a portion of the residual stream/(fuel gas) is used in combustion furnace (22) (para. [0069]), and teaches wherein the produced gas discharged from the separation reactor (14 & 15) is utilized as a fuel gas or the like (para. [0065]) in order to serve as supplemental fuel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a residual stream/(fuel gas) inlet coupled to the residual stream outlet/(fuel gas) of the separation reactor in U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 and configured to deliver at least a portion of the residual stream into the combustion zone in order to assist in bringing the combustion zone to reaction temperature at startup and to serve as supplemental fuel.
Therefore, U.S. Patent No. 12440818 B2 in view of Fujimura would teach an exhaust outlet that would be configured to convey an exhaust from the combustion of the oxidant/oxygen, char stream, residual stream/(supplemental fuel gas) out of the combustion zone.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments related to how a BFB reactor differs from a CFB reactor as outlined on pages 9-11:
Examiner respectfully appreciates the information provided. However, examiner respectfully points out that the instant claims are directed towards an apparatus. Furthermore, the superficial gas velocity inducing the “bubbling” effect is an operational limitation which does not contribute any structural attribute; in fact, the structure of instant figure 3 is comparable to that of figure 3 of Fujimura.
On page 12, Applicant argues that Suda’s CFB is incompatible with a BFB reactor; and on page 13, applicant argues:
As shown in both Suda figures 4 and 5, the same fluidization gas (steam, etc) is used throughout Suda's gasification furnace 107 (i.e., on both sides of Suda's wall 112). As such, Suda's pressure gauge P2 does not monitor pressure in a combustion stage as recited in claim 1. Thus, Suda fails to rectify the deficiency of Fujimura with respect to a "controller configured to control a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages" per claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fujimura teaches all claim limitations as set forth in section 7 above; but since Fujimura failed to teach providing a volatiles pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) and
a combustion pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (13); and
a controller coupled to the pressure gauges and the means to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages; Suda was relied upon to teach the missing feature.
Suda teaches a fluidized bed furnace (107) (Figures 4-5) comprising a volatiles pressure gauge (P1) configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (113)) and a combustion pressure gauge (P2) configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (112) (para. [0027], [0087]); a means/damper to control gas flow into/out of at least one stage (para. [0087]); and a controller (121 & 124) coupled to the pressure gauges (P1 & P2) and the means/damper to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages (para. [0027]) in order to enhance and control the gasification efficiency in the fluidized bed gasification furnace. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the fluidized bed of Fujimura comprise a volatiles pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (12)) and a combustion pressure gauge configured to measure pressure within the combustion stage (13); and a controller coupled to the pressure gauges and the means to control gas flow, the controller configured to control a residence time of the fuel in the volatilization stage/(gasification chamber (1)) via control of a pressure difference (P1-P2) between the stages, as taught by Suda, in order to control residence time of material being converted and to enhance the gasification efficiency in the fluidized bed gasification furnace.
Regardless, Suda teaches two reaction stages within a reaction vessel separated by an internal divider, similar to the apparatus of Fujimura, and teaches measuring the pressure within each stage, controlling the pressure difference between the two stages in order to thereby control residence time.
On page 14, Applicant argues the following regarding claim 2:
With respect to claim 2, the Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Office's assertion that Fujimura teaches a heat exchanger coupled to the exhaust gas outlet configured to transfer heat from the exhaust gas to the inert and/or less-oxidizing gas prior to the LowOx gas inlet" as recited in claim 2. (NonFinal, p. 7) Rather, Fujimura's boiler 17 heats water to generate steam to drive steam turbine power generator 18. "Steam is produced in the boiler 17 by heat recovery and supplied to a steam turbine power generator 18 to generate electric power." (Fujimura, para [0050]) Fujimura's fails to disclose a heat generator coupled to the LowOx gas inlet as recited in claim 2. As such, the Applicant respectfully submits that claim 2 is not obvious over Fujimura.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fujimura teaches a heat exchanger/(waste heat boiler & filter (17 & 19)) coupled to the exhaust/combustion gas outlet (as illustrated in Figure 3) and fluidly coupled to LowOx gas supply/steam (as illustrated in Figure 3), the heat exchanger/(boiler & filter (17 & 19)) configured to transfer heat from the exhaust/combustion gas to the inert and/or less-oxidizing gas/CO2, which exchanges heat with the LowOx gas supply/steam stream prior to the LowOx gas inlet as the steam input mixes with the carbon dioxide stream and exchanges heat therewith (as illustrated in Figure 3) (para. [0050], [0057]).
On page 14, Applicant argues the following regarding claims 3, 4, 5:
With respect to claims 3, 4, and 5, the Applicant respectfully submits that the Office has provided no basis to support the assertion that Suda teaches controlling "a pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet and the oxidant inlet" (claim 3) "a pressure difference between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the first bubbling fluidized bed (Pd2 - P2)" (claim 4) or "(Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet" (claim 5). The Office's assertions are merely conjecture. As such, the Applicant respectfully submits that these claims are not obvious.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth above With respect to claim 3, Suda further teaches wherein the controller (121 & 124) is further configured to control a pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet and the oxidant inlet - Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure drop (Pd1-Pd2) across at least one of the LowOx gas inlet and the oxidant inlet (para. [0027], [0035], [0087], [0094], [0097]); and as set forth above with respect to claim 4, Suda teaches wherein the controller (121 & 124) is further configured to control a difference in pressure between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the fluidized bed – Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure difference between a bottom of the fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the fluidized bed, and into controlling residence time; and as set forth above with respect to claim 5, Suda further teaches wherein the controller (121 & 124) is further configured to control at least one of:
a pressure difference between a bottom of the first fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the first fluidized bed – Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure difference between a bottom of the first fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the first fluidized bed, and into controlling residence time; and
a pressure difference between a bottom of the second fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the second fluidized bed – Suda is concerned with controlling the pressure difference between the combustion chamber (2) and the volatilization/gasification chamber (1) (para. [0035], [0094], [0097]), which would indirectly translate into controlling and managing the pressure difference between a bottom of the second fluidized bed proximate to the LowOx gas inlet and the pressure above the second fluidized bed, and into controlling residence time.
On pages 15-16, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach instant claims 8012 and 14-16 as presently amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kindly, see a rejection of the respective claims as set forth above.
On page 16, Applicant argues the rejection made over Wormer in regards to claim 6. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fujimura discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein the bed solids have a mean particle diameter that is at least 0.4mm. Wormer was relied upon to teach the missing feature. Wormer teaches a fluidized bed reactor, similar to that of Fujimura (as illustrated in Figure 11), comprising bed solids consisting mostly of 20-mesh sand, which is having a maximum particle diameter of 0.841 mm (col. 5, lines 15-21), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of “at least 0.4mm” in order to prevent clogging (col. 5, lines 15-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the bed particles of modified Fujimura comprise a mean particle diameter that is at least 0.4mm, as taught by Wormer, in order to prevent clogging.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 9/3/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725