DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application claims priority to Foreign application Filed: 11/01/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
6. Claims 1-7, 10-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (US-20250351193-A1), hereinafter “Shah” in view of Gapeyenko et al. "Standardization of extended reality (XR) over 5G and 5G-advanced 3GPP new radio." IEEE network 37.4 (2023): 22-28. hereinafter “Gapeyenko”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Shah discloses ‘An extended reality (XR) device, comprising:
a transceiver configured to perform wireless signal transmissions and receptions’ (A wireless communication network includes a UE that also include XR devices and can implement XR applications [0024]. In Fig. 3, illustrates the UE and the transceiver [0029].);
And discloses, ‘and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform the following operations: receiving a first connected-mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) configuration message from a base station via the transceiver,
wherein the first C-DRX configuration message corresponds to an XR frame rate mode and corresponds to a plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences, wherein the XR frame rate mode is in a unit of millisecond, and wherein the XR frame rate mode is a non-integer frame rate mode’ (Disclosure, the C-DRX that is a connected-mode C-DRX configuration, the periodicity of C-DRX and receive from the BS [0005-0006]. The C-DRX periodicity includes frame rate and the XR frame is a non-integer [0073]. And, in Fig. 6 illustrates the plurality of the first C-DRX configuration sequences [0074-0077].);
And discloses, ‘and selecting one of the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences as a selected C-DRX configuration sequence of the XR device’ (To determine an optimal C-DRX configuration includes on-duration start occasion to minimize latency and QoS [0081- 0082]. And to reduce delay that to start the C-DRX on-duration immediately before the burst arrival [0077].)
And didn’t disclose, ‘according to performance information of the XR device.’
Gapeyenko in the relevant art discloses, the performance based on parameters: packet rate, average data rate, packet size, jitter and packet delay budget in Table 1, page-3. As an example: for 60 fps is illustrated. Disclosure also includes power saving gain as KPIs for the C-DRX configurations in page - 4, page – 5 in Fig. 3 and section -V includes XR Specific 3GPP KPIs/metrics.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shah and to include
with that of Gapeyenko to come up with the claim invention,
Shah discloses to determine an optimal C-DRX configuration that includes power consumptions/savings, and to reduce delay/latency [0077, 0080-0082]. And didn’t disclose to lower or higher the parameters to acquire the performance metrics.
Someone would identify the determination of the optimal C-DRX configuration and dynamically adjust to match XR service data rate, Shah [0103] and further include the KPIs to provide a performance metric as illustrated by Gapeyenko. This would, match the service data, reduce delay, and improve latency and throughput to achieve the performance of the XR device as specified by the 3GPP RAN. To include: low latency, low loss, scalable throughput (L4S) scheme for the XR applications, page -5 section-VII.
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And Shah didn’t disclose, ‘wherein a frames per second (FPS) corresponding to the XR frame rate mode comprises one of 15, 30, 45, 60, 72, 90, and 120.’
Gapeyenko in the relevant art discloses in Table 1. Motive to include would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above. As the variation of fps would provide the metric to determine an efficient/optimal C-DRX configurations.
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Shah discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences comprise at least one non-decreasing sequence and at least one non-increasing sequence.’ (Fig. 6 illustrates the plurality of the C-DRX configuration sequences includes {17ms, 17ms, 16ms} and {16ms, 17ms, 17ms}.)
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Shah discloses, ‘wherein each of the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences comprises two different discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations.’ (Fig. 6 illustrates an example of the plurality of the C-DRX sequences and disclosed above in Claim 4 that comprises two different configurations.)
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Shah discloses ‘wherein the number of DRX configurations of each of the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences is a minimal positive integer that multiplies the XR frame rate mode to become an integer.’ (Fig. 6 illustrates the C-DRX configurations includes sequences and an example of 60 frame per second XR burst arrives at a non-integer time i.e. ms (e.g., the least integer ms that is larger than or equal to the non-integer ms). For example, if the data burst arrives at a 16.667 ms, then the C-DRX on-duration starts at 17 ms. And, for burst arrives 33.33 ms and 50 ms then the C-DRX on-duration starts at 34 ms and 50 ms respectively [0076]. )
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Identical to third Claim element disclosed above, ‘wherein the performance information comprises at least one of an amount of power consumption and an amount of delay.’ (Disclosure, Gapeyenko, section- III to V, Table 1, page- 3 to 5. And, motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, measurement/metrics for the performance included in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And Shah discloses, ‘wherein the processor is configured to further perform the following operation: transmitting a response message to the base station via the transceiver, wherein the response message corresponds to the selected C-DRX configuration sequence.’ (In Fig. 7, the device receives the configurations and then send response.)
Regarding Claim 10,
Shah discloses, ‘A base station, comprising: a transceiver configured to perform wireless signal transmissions and receptions; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured’ (Fig. 2),
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘to perform the following operations: allocating a plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences for an XR device according to an XR frame rate mode, wherein the XR frame rate mode is in a unit of millisecond, and wherein the XR frame rate mode is a non-integer frame rate mode; and transmitting a first C-DRX configuration message to the XR device via the transceiver, wherein the first C-DRX configuration message corresponds to the XR frame rate mode and corresponds to the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences.’
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein an FPS corresponding to the XR frame rate mode comprises one of 15, 30, 45, 60, 72, 90, and 120.’
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences comprise at least one non-decreasing sequence and at least one non-increasing sequence.’
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘wherein each of plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences comprises two different DRX configurations.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 5 disclosed above, ‘wherein the number of DRX configurations of each of the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences is a minimal positive integer that multiplies the XR frame rate mode to become an integer.’
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘wherein the processor is configured to further perform the following operation: after transmitting the first C-DRX configuration message, receiving a response message from the XR device via the transceiver, wherein the response message corresponds to a selected C-DRX configuration sequence adopted by the XR device from the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences.’
Regarding Claim 18,
A method claim and Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A DRX configuration allocating method for an XR device, comprising: receiving a C-DRX configuration message from a base station, wherein the C-DRX configuration message corresponds to an XR frame rate mode and corresponds to a plurality of C-DRX configuration sequences, wherein the XR frame rate mode is in a unit of millisecond, and wherein the XR frame rate mode is a non-integer frame rate mode; and selecting one of the plurality of C-DRX configuration sequences as a selected C-DRX configuration sequence of the XR device according to performance information of the XR device.’
Regarding Claim 19,
‘The method of claim 18 (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein an FPS corresponding to the XR frame rate mode comprises one of 15, 30, 45, 60, 72, 90, and 120.’
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The method of claim 18 (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘further comprising: transmitting a response message to the base station in response to the C-DRX configuration message.’
7. Claims 8-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. in view of Gapeyenko et al. and further in view of (US-20230051778-A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Shah discloses, ‘wherein the processor is configured to further perform the following operations:
acquiring the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences’ (In Fig. 6 illustrates the plurality of the first C-DRX configuration and to determine the optimal C-DRX to reduce delay/latency and power consumptions [0076-0077].)
And didn’t disclose, ‘neither meeting the performance information’;
Gapeyenko in the relevant art discloses, to include specific values for the performance metric/KPIs: packet delay and power consumption and decrease/increase in contrast to baseline, Table-1, section-V, VI and page- 4 to 6.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shah and to include
with that of Gapeyenko to come up with the claim invention,
Motive would be identical to Claim 1 and in addition, Shah identify an efficient resource configurations and the UE power consumption as critical factor to reduce latency in the wireless network and includes 5G NR [0024]. And further provide motivations to make adjustment of C-DRX and scale factor [0106]:
C-DRX periodicity adjustment amount (or scale factor) (e.g., the new C-DRX periodicity=the current C-DRX periodicity+ C-DRX periodicity adjustment amount;
or the new C-DRX periodicity=the current C-DRX periodicity * DRX periodicity adjustment amount [0108];
Someone sensibly identify the scale factor/specific metrics to perform adjustment.
In addition, to reduce the delay/latency this is very important to accelerate and maximize the full capability of 5G NR to acquire the efficient C-DRX configuration to use the capability of 5G NR and to use the XR-enhancements features in 5G. And, to maximize the use of unused CG resources, spectral efficiency, full duplexing capability, bring the application to radio resources and agile slice for XR application (features of O-RAN) and an adaptive DRX for the device power savings (Fig. 4 and page 6). This would reduce latency/delay, increase the data rate and throughput and meet the L4 schemes for the XR applications and significantly increase XR capacity as highlighted by Gapeyenko
And Shah though discloses, new C-DRX configuration and the new C-DRX periodicity, and didn’t disclose, ‘selecting a plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences’,
Lee in the relevant art discloses, the second C-DRX configuration that includes a sequence includes 120 frame rate as illustrated in Fig. 5 to Fig. 8. And, a set of DRX periodicity [0067, 0077] and Fig. 6.
And to include, ‘according to the performance information’ (Gapeyenko discloses, disclosed above in Claim 1, 6 and 8, Table 1, page-3),
And further to include, ‘wherein the plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences are not the same’ (Lee discloses), and ‘as the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences’ (Shah discloses);
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shah and to include
with that of Gapeyenko to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Shah includes new C-DRX configuration and the periodicity [0108], and Gapeyenko discloses different frame rate Table-1 that includes 60 fps as default frame rate yet 30/90/120 fps and parameters also considered for XR scenarios. Someone would include the sequences of different C-DRX periodicity and the configurations.
Motive would be to dynamically adapt and adjust the C-DRX duty cycles base on XR traffic characteristics and XR application requirements autonomously adapt the C-DRX to acquire the best configuration by reducing delay, latency and increase throughput, disclosed by Gapeyenko.
Shah discloses, ‘transmitting a C-DRX configuration sequence changing request message to the base station via the transceiver’ (discloses, Fig. 7),
Lee discloses, ‘and receiving a second C-DRX configuration message from the base station via the transceiver, wherein the second C-DRX configuration message corresponds to the XR frame rate mode and corresponds to one of the plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences’ (Fig. 9 illustrates the C-DRX configurations and Fig. 6 includes the sequences uses 120 fps);
Motive would be identical to the first claim element.
Lee discloses, ‘and selecting the one of the plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences as the selected C-DRX configuration sequence of the XR device according to the performance information.’ (Fig. 9 illustrates the select/determine the second C-DRX configurations. Motive would be identical to first claim element disclosed above.)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The XR device of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Identical to first claim element of Claim 8, ‘wherein the processor is configured to further perform the following operations: acquiring the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences neither meeting the performance information’;
Identical to third claim element of Claim 9 disclosed above, ‘and transmitting a C-DRX configuration sequence changing request message to the base station via the transceiver, and receiving a second C-DRX configuration message from the transceiver, wherein the second C-DRX configuration message corresponds to the XR frame rate mode and corresponds to the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences.’
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 8 disclosed above, ‘wherein the processor is configured to further perform the following operations: after transmitting the first C-DRX configuration message, receiving a C-DRX configuration sequence changing request message from the XR device via the transceiver; allocating one of a plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences for the XR device according to the C-DRX configuration sequence changing request message, wherein the plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences are selected by the XR device and are not the same as the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences; and transmitting a second C-DRX configuration message to the XR device via the transceiver, wherein the second C-DRX configuration message corresponds to the XR frame rate mode and corresponds to the one of the plurality of second C-DRX configuration sequences.’
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The base station of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 9 disclosed above, ‘wherein the processor is configured to further perform the following operations: after transmitting the first C-DRX configuration message, receiving a C-DRX configuration sequence changing request message from the XR device via the transceiver; and transmitting a second C-DRX configuration message to the XR device via the transceiver, wherein the second C-DRX configuration message corresponds to the plurality of first C-DRX configuration sequences.’
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #109-e; Moderator Summary#2 on XR specific power saving techniques;R1-220xxxx e-Meeting, May 9th – 20th, 2022 (Year: 2022); RAN1 #105, page - 5 includes baseline/optional configurations that is identical to Disclosure, Gapeyenko, Table-1 and more comprehensive details for the XR Traffic models and metrics/KPIs/measurements presented by the prior art literature, Gapeyenko et al. "Standardization of extended reality (XR) over 5G and 5G-advanced 3GPP new radio." IEEE network 37.4 (2023): 22-28. In addition 3GPP discloses, power saving gain and power saving enhancements for the periodicity alignment, page-8, that is included as measurements/KPIs and an evaluation metrics in Gapeyenko disclosure, Fig. 3, section-V, XR-specific 3GPP KPIs and metrics page-4.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466