DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023 and 11/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taga et al. US 2015/0137758 (hereinafter Taga).
Regarding claim 1, Taga teaches a charging device (¶ 0053; a four-port type charger 10), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 5 and ¶¶ 0057-0058; the charger 10 includes a main body housing 20 that has a rectangular shape), defining a receiving cavity (¶ 0109);
a circuit board (comprising: control substrate 40), arranged in the receiving cavity (¶¶ 0109, 0153; the layout of the control substrate or the like accommodated in the main body housing 20);
an input part, provided on the housing and configured for connection to an external power supply (¶ 0059; the power source cord 24 is drawn out from the inner portion of the recessed portion 23 which is recessed to the inside from the side area S in a planar view of the main body housing 20…the charger 10 can be mounted to closely abut the comer portion of the wall without being obstructed by the power source cord 24); and
a plurality of output parts (fig. 5 below), provided on the housing (fig. 5, element 20), the input part and the output part being electrically connected via the circuit board (¶¶ 0056, 0058, 0119, 0157, 0182; each of the pairs of right and left receiving rail portions 11a and 11a to 14a and 14a is provided on each of the battery attachment portions 11 to 14…a large electronic member having a large height dimension such as a capacitor or a transformer can be mounted on the control substrate 40);
wherein each of the output parts (fig. 5, elements 11-14; battery attachment portions 11 to 14) comprises at least one terminal (fig. 14, elements 43-46; terminal plate), and the terminal is arranged in the receiving cavity (see fig. 14) and passes through the housing to a surface of the housing (see fig. 5, 13-16, 18 and ¶¶ 0126, 0156; the connection terminals 11b and 11b and the connector 11d of a first terminal plate 43 protrude to the upper side via the window portion 43a).
Regarding claim 2, Taga teaches wherein the output part comprises a first output part, a second output part (¶ 0057 and figs. 1-5; the main body housing 20 has a
two-piece structure in which the main body housing is divided into two in the height direction, and in which an upper divided housing 21 positioned at the upper portion of the main body housing and a lower divided housing 22 positioned at the lower portion of the main body housing are abutted against each other) and a third output part, the first output part, the second output part and the third output part are of different types (¶ 0057 and fig. 5; upper 21 and lower 22 abutted against each other; interior holds the charge function parts).
Regarding claim 3, Taga teaches the charging device further comprising a receiving groove provided on the housing to accommodate an electronic device (¶ 0163; the space in the main body housing 20 is effectively used, and thus, for
example, a large electronic part or a plurality of electronic parts can be mounted on the control substrate 40).
Regarding claim 4, Taga teaches the charging device further comprising an output protection device (¶ 0120; terminal cover mechanism 11A includes terminal cover 11c + compression spring 11e which is a biasing spring),
wherein the output protection device is arranged on one of the terminals and allows the output protection device to cover and expose the terminal (¶¶ 0120-0121, 0141; The terminal cover 11c slides so that the position of the terminal cover is changed
between both positions, that is, a covering position at which the positive and negative connection terminals 11b and 11b and the connector 11d are covered, and an exposure position at which the connection terminals 11b and 11b and the connector 11d are exposed to the outside to be connectable).
Regarding claim 10, Taga teaches the charging device (Fig. 1-5, 14-16 and ¶¶ 0053, 0056-0058; Four-port charger 10) wherein a wall-mounted locking device is further provided on one side of the housing (claim 1, Abstract, ¶¶ 0010, 0021, fig. 10-11, 25-27; a charger that can be mounted in a bottom surface of a main body housing along a wall surface in a wall-hanging posture), and
the wall-mounted locking device comprises:
a backboard body, arranged on a vertical wall (fig. 25-27 and ¶ 0101; when the charger 10 is mounted to be in a wall-hanging state, the bottom surface 27 opposes a wall surface W, engagement convex portions 28 and 28 provided on the wall surface are hooked to both hook portions 27 e and 27 e, fixing screws 29 and 29 are inserted into both fixing holes 30 and 30 in the hooked state and are fastened to the wall surface W, and thus, the charger 10 can be fixed in a wall-hanging state); and
a backboard mating part, provided on the housing (¶¶ 0185; the engagement convex portions 28 and 28 of the wall surface W side are hooked to the pair of right and left hook portions (tumbler-shaped hole) 27e and 27e which are provided on the bottom surface 27 of the main body housing 20) and detachably connected to the backboard body (¶ 0198 and claims 1, 11, 12; the charger 10 moves to the lower portion, and each of the hook convex portions 37 and 37 are hooked to the recessed hook portion 35a; charger can be lifted off. Regulating members stop the housing from sliding the pack-detachment direction while hung).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taga in view of Ito (US 2004/0135542).
Regarding claim 5, Taga teaches the charging device wherein the output protection device (¶¶ 0120-0121; terminal cover mechanism 11A includes terminal cover 11c + compression spring 11e which is a biasing spring), but it does not teach the output protection device further comprises: a fixing part, which is arranged in the housing of the charging device and is fixedly connected to the housing; a sliding part, arranged between the fixing part and the housing, the sliding part is capable of sliding between a first position and a second position; when the sliding part is in the first position, the sliding part is configured to cover the output part of the charging device, and when the sliding part is in the second position, the output part of the charging device is at least partially exposed to the sliding part.
However, Ito further discloses the output protection device further comprises:
a fixing part, which is arranged in the housing of the charging device and is fixedly connected to the housing (¶ 0036 and fig. 1-5 and claims 1, 3-4, 8-10; a stopper 25 formed at the center of the under surface of the top plate 22 penetrates the elongated hole 24, and a screw 27 is tightened into the stopper 25 via a washer 26 from the bottom of the upper case 3, the slide cover 21 is attached to the upper case 3 in a manner that prevents the slide cover from slipping off the upper case while allowing the stopper 25 to slide on the connecting portion 5 in back-and-forth strokes within the limitations defined by the elongated hole 24);
a sliding part, arranged between the fixing part and the housing, the sliding part is capable of sliding between a first position and a second position (¶¶ 0037, 0039; under the normal operating conditions, the slide cover 21 is urged by the biasing force of the coil springs 29 to its rearmost position (i.e., the covering position); when the battery pack 40 is slid into place with its stoppers 49 abutting the rear ends of the guide rails 6 of the charger 1, the slide cover 21 is located in its withdrawn position);
when the sliding part is in the first position, the sliding part is configured to cover the output part of the charging device (¶ 0037; the top plate 22 protrudes upward of the rear portion 9 and covers the terminals 12-14 from above, while the side plates 23 are located along the outward sides of the respective charge terminals 12 thus
flanking the terminals 12), and
when the sliding part is in the second position, the output part of the charging device is at least partially exposed to the sliding part (¶ 0033, 0039; in this position, the terminal block 11 is exposed and the charge terminals 12).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taga to incorporate with the teaching of Ito by attaching the slide cover to upper case to upper case by stopper through elongated hole, because it would be advantageous to ensure protection of the terminals of the terminal block from objects falling onto the connecting portion or from damage to the block caused by the charger falling to the floor or the ground.
Regarding claim 6, Taga fails to teach the charging device wherein the sliding part is provided with a sliding protrusion, the sliding protrusion is located on the sliding part proximate to an opening in the housing, the sliding protrusion passes through the opening and allows the sliding protrusion to slide in the opening.
However, Ito further discloses wherein the sliding part is provided with a sliding protrusion (¶ 0036; a stopper formed at the center of the under surface of the top plate of slide cover),
the sliding protrusion is located on the sliding part proximate to an opening in the housing (¶ 0036 and claim 3; an elongated hole is provided at the center of the charger's front portion, extending in parallel with the guide rails; the urging means includes at least one coil spring interposed between the slide cover and a portion of the housing below the slide cover for urging the slide cover in the predetermined direction to the covering position),
the sliding protrusion passes through the opening (¶ 0036; stopper 25 penetrates the elongated hole 24; a screw 27 is tightened into the stopper 25 via a washer 26) and allows the sliding protrusion to slide in the opening (¶ 0036; This attaches the slide cover to the upper case in a manner that prevents the slide cover from slipping off the upper case while allowing the stopper to slide on the connecting portion in back-and-forth strokes within the limitations defined by the elongated hole).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taga to incorporate with the teaching of Ito by including the slide cover in the charger, because it would be advantageous to ensure protection of the terminals of the terminal block from objects falling onto the connecting portion or from damage to the block caused by the charger falling to the floor or the ground.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taga in view of YOUSSEFI-SHAMS et al. US 2011/0009005 (hereinafter Youssefei-Shams).
Regarding claim 7, Taga teaches the charging device wherein a side of the housing is provided with a locking structure (¶¶ 0185, 0192, 0196-0200 and fig. 10-11, 25-27), and the locking structure comprises:
a first locking unit, arranged at a bottom of the charging device (¶¶ 0192, 0196; the hook portions 27e and 27e may be omitted, or the fixing screws 29 and 29 may be fastened to only the fixing holes 30 and 30 of the rear surface side; hook portions 35 and 35 and regulating portions 36 and 36 are provided on four corners of the bottom surface 27 of the main body housing 20).
Taga fails to disclose the locking structure comprises: a second locking unit, arranged on a top of a fixed base, and the second locking unit being detachably connected to the first locking unit.
Youssefei-Shams further discloses the locking structure comprises: a second locking unit, arranged on a top of a fixed base, and the second locking unit being detachably connected to the first locking unit (¶¶ 0039, 0055 and fig. 1-2, 13-17; the locking assembly 600 includes at least one operative detent member 602, 604 configured for becoming biased into an interference relationship with the charger assembly 500 such that the at least one operative detent member 602, 604 effects resistance to relative movement (for example, rotation) between the base unit 200 and the adaptor unit 400 when the base unit 200 is electrically coupled to the adaptor unit 400 such that a locked state (see FIGS. 1 and 2) is thereby provided).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taga to incorporate with the teaching of Youssefei-Shams by further including at least one detent member in a one of the at least one operative recess when there is provided the locked state, because it would be advantageous to reduce the risk of inadvertent human contact with the contacts and increase the utility of the adaptor unit in ¶ 0046.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taga in view of Youssefei-Shams as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kaurala (EP 2979335B1).
Regarding claim 8, Taga in view of Youssefei-Shams fails to teach the charging device wherein the first locking unit comprises:
a plurality of sliding ribs, arranged on one side of the first locking unit, and the plurality of sliding ribs being parallel to each other; and
a locking groove, provided on one side of the plurality of sliding ribs, and
the locking groove being arranged on a side surface of the first locking unit where the first locking unit is connected to the bottom of the charging device.
Kaurala further discloses the charging device wherein the first locking unit comprises:
a plurality of sliding ribs (guiding rails), arranged on one side of the first locking unit, and the plurality of sliding ribs being parallel to each other (¶¶ 0010, 0040; The plug 200 is attached to the charger body 100 by sliding the guiding rails 204, 205 along the guiding grooves 104, 105 until the locking springs 112 are engaged with the locking slots 207); and
a locking groove, provided on one side of the plurality of sliding ribs (¶¶ 0039, 0041, 0044; The first guiding rail 204 comprises a locking slot 207, which has essentially the same shape as the bent portion of the locking spring 112 so that the locking spring 112 fits into the locking slot 207. The locking slot 207 of the first guiding rail 204 is located near a first end 208 of the coupling part 201), and
the locking groove being arranged on a side surface of the first locking unit where the first locking unit is connected to the bottom of the charging device (¶¶ 0010, 0039; the first guiding grooves are arranged to receive the first guiding rails so that the locking springs are engageable with the locking slots. The slot 207 is on the side of the plug coupling part).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taga in view of Youssefei-Shams to incorporate with the teaching of Kaurala by including guiding rails with locking slots on the charger, because it would be advantageous to increase the utility of the battery charger and positively enhance user experience.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taga in view of Dyson et al. US 2011/0219566 (hereinafter Dyson).
Regarding claim 11, Taga fails to teach the charging device wherein the backboard body comprises: a slideway provided on the backboard body, and a clamping member arranged on the backboard body.
However, Dyson further discloses the charging device wherein the backboard body (¶¶ 0067-0074, 0115; fig. 3) comprises: a slideway provided on the backboard body (¶¶ 0052, 0083, 0087, 0117 and fig. 4-6, 8-14; a docking cradle 25 shaped to
receive the battery pack 17 in a close sliding fit), and a clamping member arranged on the backboard body (¶¶ 0055, 0080-0082, 0088, 0121-0124; figs. 4-6, 8-11; The catch 35 is pivotally mounted on a catch housing 36 fitted to the side of the docking cradle 25 and is spring-biased towards a locking position; The movement of one of the clamping members (e.g. the docking cradle 250) into and out of clamping alignment with the other clamping member).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taga to incorporate with the teaching of Dyson by pivoting clamping members on the system, because it would be advantageous to minimize the length of the docking cradle so that the battery pack can be inserted into the fixed docking cradle at a very shallow angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of teaches the charging device wherein the second locking unit comprises: a locking member, arranged in the second locking unit and capable of be inserted into or disengaged from the locking groove; wherein, when the locking member is inserted into the locking groove, the first locking unit and the second locking unit are locked; when the locking member is disengaged from the locking groove, the first locking unit and the second locking unit are unlocked.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of the charging device wherein the backboard mating part comprises: a mating slideway, provided on the backboard mating part and cooperates with the slideway to allow the slideway to slide within the matching slideway; and a clamping member mating structure, provided on the backboard mating part and fitted with the clamping member.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 09/05/2026