DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response submitted June 10, 2026, has been received. The amendment of claims 1 and 6 is acknowledged. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed to the additional limitations of claims 1 and 6, it is noted that Samarao provides for group changing of the signals such that a common line is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0363478 (“Samarao”).
Claim 1
Samarao discloses a micro-bolometer, comprising: a plurality of thermal sensing pixels, wherein each of the thermal sensing pixels has a first connection point and a second connection point (Figs. 11/12, paragraph [0043], bolometers 42); and a plurality of switching circuits, respectively coupled to a first signal transmission line, a second signal transmission line, at least one shared connection line, and the first connection point or the second connection point of the corresponding thermal sensing pixel (paragraph [0043], switching elements 10), switching connection relationship between the first connection point or the second connection point of the corresponding thermal sensing pixel and the first signal transmission line (switching elements 10), the second signal transmission line and the at least one shared connection line, so as to adjust a connection mode between at least two of the plurality of the thermal sensing pixels with the first signal transmission line, the second signal transmission line and the at least one shared connection line to change a sensing signal provided by the thermal sensing pixels (paragraphs [0043-0044], set and reset can be performed as groups, provided by shared connection line), wherein the thermal sensing pixels and the switching circuits are jointly formed on a silicon substrate through a semiconductor manufacturing process (paragraph [0038], silicon substrate).
Claim 4
Samarao discloses the micro-bolometer according to claim 1, wherein the connection mode of the thermal sensing pixels comprises at least one of a series connection, a parallel connection, and a disconnection (Samarao, Fig. 11, series connections between pixels 42).
Claim 6
Samarao discloses a thermal sensing method of a micro-bolometer, wherein the micro- bolometer comprises a plurality of thermal sensing pixels (bolometers 42) and a plurality of switching circuits (switching elements 10), and each of the thermal sensing pixels has a first connection point and a second connection point (Figs. 11/12, paragraph [0043]), the thermal sensing method of the micro-bolometer comprising: providing the switching circuits, wherein the switching circuits are connected to a first signal transmission line, a second signal transmission line, at least one shared connection line, and the first connection point or the second connection point of the corresponding thermal sensing pixel (Figs. 11/12); and controlling the switching circuits to switch connection relationship between the first connection point or the second connection point of the corresponding thermal sensing pixel and the first signal transmission line, the second signal transmission line and the at least one shared connection line, so as to adjust a connection mode between at least two of the plurality of the thermal sensing pixels with the first signal transmission line, the second signal transmission line and the at least one shared connection line to change a sensing signal provided by the thermal sensing pixels (paragraphs [0043-0044], set and reset can be performed as groups, provided by shared connection line), wherein the thermal sensing pixels and the switching circuits are jointly formed on a silicon substrate through a semiconductor manufacturing process (paragraph [0038], silicon substrate).
Claim 9
Samarao discloses the thermal sensing method of the micro-bolometer according to claim 6, wherein the connection mode of the thermal sensing pixels comprises at least one of a series connection, a parallel connection, and a disconnection (Samarao, Fig. 11, series connections between pixels 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 3, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0363478 (“Samarao”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2003/0146383 (“Knauth”).
Claim 2
Samarao discloses the micro-bolometer according to claim 1.
Samarao does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising: a sensing circuit, coupled to the first signal transmission line and the second signal transmission line, and performing a signal amplification processing on the sensing signal; and a signal processing circuit, coupled to the sensing circuit, and performing an analog to digital conversion processing on the sensing signal provided by the sensing circuit.
Knauth discloses a microbolometer connected to a sensing circuit, amplifier, and ADC processing based on the sensing signal (paragraphs [0030-0032], bridge circuit output to amplifier 116 and ADC 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sensing circuit, coupled to the first signal transmission line and the second signal transmission line, and performing a signal amplification processing on the sensing signal; and a signal processing circuit, coupled to the sensing circuit, and performing an analog to digital conversion processing on the sensing signal provided by the sensing circuit, as disclosed by Knauth, into the device of Samarao, for the purpose of removing non-uniform variations to the signals (Knauth, paragraphs [0033-0034]).
Claim 3
Samarao in view of Knauth discloses the micro-bolometer according to claim 2, further comprising: a control circuit, coupled to the switching circuits, and controlling the switching circuits to adjust the connection mode of the thermal sensing pixels according to a dynamic range of the signal processing circuit (Knauth, paragraph [0031-0032], dynamic range processing to match ADC).
Claim 7
Samarao discloses the thermal sensing method of the micro-bolometer according to claim 6.
Samarao does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the sensing signal generated by the thermal sensing pixels is transmitted to a signal processing circuit to perform an analog to digital conversion processing.
Knauth discloses a microbolometer connected to a sensing circuit, amplifier, and ADC processing based on the sensing signal (paragraphs [0030-0032], bridge circuit output to amplifier 116 and ADC 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the sensing signal generated by the thermal sensing pixels is transmitted to a signal processing circuit to perform an analog to digital conversion processing, as disclosed by Knauth, into the device of Samarao, for the purpose of removing non-uniform variations to the signals (Knauth, paragraphs [0033-0034]).
Claim 8
Samarao in view of Knauth discloses the thermal sensing method of the micro-bolometer according to claim 7, comprising: controlling the switching circuits to adjust the connection mode of the thermal sensing pixels according to a dynamic range of the signal processing circuit (Knauth, paragraph [0031-0032], dynamic range processing to match ADC).
Claim 10
Samarao in view of Knauth discloses the thermal sensing method of the micro-bolometer according to claim 8, wherein the thermal sensing pixels comprise a micro-bolometer pixel (Samarao, paragraph [0003], mems bolometers).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853