Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 13, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (USPAT 7,902,721 B2).
In regards to claim 1, Maeda teaches in annotated Fig. 7 below and Fig. 9 an acoustic wave device comprising:
A first electrode (bottom electrode can be seen in related fig. 1(b));
A piezoelectric layer (present but not labeled) disposed at least partially on the first electrode;
A second electrode (51) disposed at least partially on the piezoelectric layer, the second electrode comprising:
A second electrode body having a second outline (Annotated outline A); and
A plurality of second protrusions (Annotated protrusions B1-B6) extending from the second outline of the second electrode body, wherein two ends of two adjacent ones of the plurality of second protrusions are separated by a second gap (e.g. 51a-51f), and the second gap exposes at least a portion of the piezoelectric layer.
In regards to claim 4, based on annotated Fig. 7 below, wherein a ratio of a maximum dimension (i.e. area) of one of the plurality of second protrusions (Annotated Protrusions B2 or B5) on a horizontal plane and a maximum dimension of the second electrode body on the horizontal plane is between 0.05 and 1.0 (based on Fig 7 and based on Table 1, the area dimension of the protrusion will be between 0.05 to 1.0 of the area dimension of the second electrode body).
In regards to claim 5, based on annotated Fig. 7 below, a portion of the plurality of second protrusions are evenly distributed along at least a portion of the second outline of the second electrode body (i.e. spacing between annotated protrusion B4, B5 and B9 is evenly distributed).
In regards to claim 6, based on annotated Fig. 7 below, a portion of the plurality of second protrusions are unevenly distributed along at least a portion of the second outline of the second electrode body (i.e. spacing between annotated protrusion B2, B3 and B4 is uneven).
In regards to claims 7 and 8, based on annotated Fig. 7 below, one of the plurality of second protrusions (Annotated protrusions B2) has an trapezoid outline of a shape a short side, two lateral sides, and a long side; wherein the long side contacts the second outline (Annotated outline A) of the second electrode body.
In regards to claim 13, based on annotated Fig. 7 below, wherein the second outline (Annotated outline A) of the second electrode body has a polygon shape.
In regards to claim 14, based on annotated Fig. 7 below, the second electrode further comprises: a second connection (511) disposed at the second outline of the second electrode body and electrically connected to the second electrode body.
In regards to claim 18, based on Fig. 1(b) and Fig. 9, the first electrode comprises a first/bottom surface and a second/top surface, and the piezoelectric layer is disposed at the second/top surface of the first electrode; and the acoustic wave device further comprises a package substrate (91) disposed at the first surface of the first electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (USPAT 7,902,721 B2) in view of Rivas et al. (US2017/0122936 A1).
As discussed above, Maeda teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 18. Maeda does not teach: in regards to claim 19, wherein the substrate comprises a reflector in the substrate, and the reflector, the first electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the second electrode are at least partially overlapped in a vertical direction; and in regards to claim 20, wherein the reflector comprises an air cavity and/or a plurality of stacked layers.
Rivas et al. teaches in Fig. 3 an acoustic wave package comprising: a support/package substrate (12), an acoustic reflector (14) comprising a plurality of stacked layers, a first electrode (20), a piezoelectric layer (26), a second electrode (28), in which the reflector, the first electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the second electrode are at least partially overlapped in a vertical direction. Based on paragraph [0017], the acoustic reflector (14) provides the benefit of reducing/preventing dissipation of acoustic energy in the package substrate.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Maeda and have added an acoustic reflector between the acoustic resonator and package substrate of Maeda (i.e. the reflector, the first electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the second electrode at least partially overlapped in a vertical direction) because such a modification would have provided the benefit of reducing/preventing dissipation of acoustic energy in the package substrate as taught by Rivas et al. (see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0017]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 9-12 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qian et al. (USPAT 11,233,496 B2) teaches in Fig. 4 an acoustic resonator comprising: a bottom electrode (405), a piezoelectric layer (403) and a top electrode (401), in which both the bottom and top electrodes comprise protrusions.
Chang et al. (US2017/0294893 A1) teaches in Figs. 1A and 1B an acoustic resonator comprising: a bottom electrode (1), a piezoelectric layer (2) and a top electrode (3), in which both the bottom and top electrodes comprise curved protrusions.
Song et al. (USPAT 9,385,303 B2) teaches in Figs. 1 and 2A an acoustic wave resonator comprising a top frame (140) comprising protrusions.
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843