Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on January 09, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 09, 2026.
Claims 1-9 are examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, “obtained” should read “obtain”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite because it is unclear what Fractions A-E represents; the specification does not list or specify the compound(s) within each fraction. In addition, the claim states that the fractions “are used” but does not state what the fractions are “used” for.
Claim 5 is indefinite because it is unclear what Fractions C-E represents the specification does not list or specify the compound(s) within each fraction. In addition, the claim states that the fractions “are used” but does not state what the fractions are “used” for.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung (KR 20110029893 A – English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, the Chung reference teaches a method of extracting from onions is performed by subcritical extraction using subcritical water (abstract). Chung teaches preparing onion sample (abstract). Chung teaches extraction temperature ranges at 163-167 oC (abstract). Chung teaches that the extraction method may be carried out for 5 minutes to 30 minutes (page 4). Chung teaches that the subcritical extraction method has a pressure of the subcritical water is more preferably 1300 to 1700 psi (page 4).
Regarding claim 6, the Chung reference teaches extraction temperature ranges at 163-167 oC (abstract).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the Chung reference teaches that onion varieties are divided into rounded and flat rounded scales, with red, yellow and white scales (page 5). The Chung reference also teaches specifically an orange onion (page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (KR 20110029893 A – English translation provided) in view of Yang et al (Food and Chemical Toxicology, (Year: 2012), vol. 50, issue. 6, pp. 2042-2048).
The teachings of Chung in regards to claim 1 are discussed above.
The Chung reference teaches that the extraction time is 10-20 minutes (abstract). Chung teaches [a compound: quercetin within the extract was] measured using HPLC (High Performance Liquid Chromatography method) (page 7). Chung teaches an onion extraction fraction ([which is quercetin from the onion extract]) (figure 3, page 23).
Chung does not explicitly teach HPLC fractionation based on signal intensity (e.g. three fractions – Fraction 1, 2 and 3 as stated within claim 3 of the present invention) and does not teach multiple fractions (e.g. Fraction A-E of the present invention as stated within claims 4-5 of the present invention) from the onion extract.
Yang et al teaches the HPLC profile of onion (A. cepa) extracts (page 2045, figure 2 (A)).
The method of extraction of quercetin from an onion (e.g. A. cepa) as taught by Chung can be modified to include additional information that an onion extract that is subjected to HPLC analysis, as taught by Yang et al, can yield multiple fractions that is indicative of different components from the onion extract. One of ordinary skill in the art would know the analytical chemistry technique - HPLC and the principle behind fraction collection. The combination of references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the method of extraction of an onion and to also conduct HPLC analysis of components present within the extraction.
Conclusion
NASHARA L MOREAUExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655