DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This communication is a first Office Action on the Merits. Claims 1-18, as originally filed 27 NOV. 2023, are pending and have been considered as follows:
Claim Objections
Claim 3, 5, 8 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Cl. 3 ln. 3-4; Cl. 5 ln. 4: after “wherein the forward access panel is”
insert --an--
Cl. 8 ln. 2-3: after “thereof, the” replace “two” with --tow--
Cl. 11 ln. 3 and 6: replace “approximate” with --proximate--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman et al. US 4485608 A (Kaufman) in view of HERMAN ALVIN et al. WO 2012075561 A1 (Herman)
As per claim 1 Kaufman teaches a portable protective enclosure comprising:
first and second base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) being arranged parallel and spaced to one another defining a space therebetween,
the first and second base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) having a first end and an opposite second end (proximal, distal ends, FIG. 2); and
a building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) supported on the base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) for movement therewith,
the building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) comprising first and second end walls (end wall left side, FIG. 1, right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3) each extending across the base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2),
first and second side walls (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80 and 81 FIG. 8, 9) one each extending along a length of a respective base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2), and
a roof (decking 44, shingles 45, FIG. 2) spanning the first and second end walls (end wall left side, FIG. 1, right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3) and the first and second side walls (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80 and 81 FIG. 8, 9),
the building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) being free of a floor (see FIG. 2).
Kaufman fails to explicitly disclose:
the base extensions comprise skids.
Herman teaches skids can be provided, specifically:
the base extensions comprise skids (“Where a skid is desired to support the building so same can be dragged along the ground, the skid can simply be attached under the four plates” p. 8 ln. 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman by including skids with the base members as taught by Harman to support the building when it is desired to drag the assembly across the ground as is old and well known in the art of portable buildings.
As per claim 11 Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Kaufman further discloses further comprising:
the first side wall (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80, FIG. 8) having a pair of first side access panels (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) disposed at a bottom end of the first side wall (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80, FIG. 8) [[approximate]] --proximate-- the second end wall (end wall right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3),
wherein the first side access panels (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) are insulated panels (see air gap at 32, 35, FIG. 2) or a strip of flexible rubber material; and
the second side wall (distal wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 81 FIG. 9) having a pair of second side access panels (fiberglass wall panels 36, FIG. 2) disposed at a bottom end of the second side wall (distal wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 81 FIG. 9) [[approximate]] --proximate-- the second end wall (end wall right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3),
wherein the first side access panels (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) are insulated panels (see air gap at 32, 35, FIG. 2) or a strip of flexible rubber material.
Claim 2-7 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Herman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamen et al. US 10017399 B2 (Kamen).
As per claim 2 Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
the first end wall comprising a pair of first swing doors that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids; and
the second end wall comprising a pair of second swing doors that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids.
Kamen teaches swing doors as claimed, specifically:
the first end wall comprising a pair of first swing doors (double doors, upper left, FIG. 1-2, 4) that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids; and
the second end wall comprising a pair of second swing doors (double doors, lower right, FIG. 1-2, 4) that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman by including the vented doors as taught by Kamen in order to improve access and ventilation to the inside of the building.
As per claim 3, Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen teaches the limitations according to claim 2, and Kamen further discloses
each swing door of the pair of first swing doors (double doors, upper left, FIG. 1-2, 4) has a forward access panel (vent 24, FIG. 1) located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door (see extending “along”—or in a direction of— the width, FIG. 1), wherein the forward access panel (vent 24, FIG. 1) is --an-- insulated panel (see “may include insulation 13. The insulation 13 may be added for temperature moderation purposes. In some embodiments, the insulation 13 may be disposed about all interior surfaces of the housing 12 including the doors” 7:57) or is a strip of flexible rubber material; and
each swing door of the pair of second swing doors (double doors, lower right, FIG. 1-2, 4) having two side-by-side rearward access panels (vents 24, FIG. 1) located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door (see extending “along”—or in a direction of— the width, FIG. 1),
wherein the rearward access panels (vents 24, FIG. 1) are insulated panels (see “may include insulation 13. The insulation 13 may be added for temperature moderation purposes. In some embodiments, the insulation 13 may be disposed about all interior surfaces of the housing 12 including the doors” 7:57) or a strip of flexible rubber (see “vent(s) 24 may also include a gasket (not shown)” 18:64) material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen by including the vented doors with improvements such as insulation and gaskets as taught by Kamen in order to improve access and ventilation to the inside of the building to improve energy efficiency thus regulating internal temperatures and making the space more comfortable.
As per claim 4-5, Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, but the combination fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 4) wherein the first end wall comprising a pair of first swing doors that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids;
(Cl. 5) wherein: each swing door of the pair of first swing doors has a forward access panel located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door, wherein the forward access panel is --an-- insulated panel or is a strip of flexible rubber material.
Kamen teaches swing doors as claimed, specifically:
(Cl. 4) wherein the first end wall comprising a pair of first swing doors (double doors, upper left, FIG. 1-2, 4) that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids;
(Cl. 5) wherein: each swing door of the pair of first swing doors (double doors, upper left, FIG. 1-2, 4) has a forward access panel (vent 24, FIG. 1) located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door (see extending “along”—or in a direction of— the width, FIG. 1), wherein the forward access panel (vent 24, FIG. 1) is --an-- insulated panel (see “may include insulation 13. The insulation 13 may be added for temperature moderation purposes. In some embodiments, the insulation 13 may be disposed about all interior surfaces of the housing 12 including the doors” 7:57) or is a strip of flexible rubber (see “vent(s) 24 may also include a gasket (not shown)” 18:64) material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman by including the vented doors with improvements such as insulation and gaskets as taught by Kamen in order to improve access and ventilation to the inside of the building to improve energy efficiency thus regulating internal temperatures and making the space more comfortable.
As per claim 6-7, Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, but the combination fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 6) the second end wall comprising a pair of second swing doors that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skid;
(Cl. 7) each swing door of the pair of second swing doors having two side-by-side rearward access panels located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door,
wherein the rearward access panels are insulated panels or a strip of flexible rubber material.
Kamen teaches swing doors as claimed, specifically:
(Cl. 6) the second end wall comprising a pair of second swing doors (double doors, lower right, FIG. 1-2, 4) that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids;
(Cl. 7) each swing door of the pair of second swing doors (double doors, lower right, FIG. 1-2, 4) having two side-by-side rearward access panels (vents 24, FIG. 1) located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door (see extending “along”—or in a direction of— the width, FIG. 1),
wherein the rearward access panels (vents 24, FIG. 1) are insulated panels (see “may include insulation 13. The insulation 13 may be added for temperature moderation purposes. In some embodiments, the insulation 13 may be disposed about all interior surfaces of the housing 12 including the doors” 7:57) or a strip of flexible rubber (see “vent(s) 24 may also include a gasket (not shown)” 18:64) material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman by including the vented doors with improvements such as insulation and gaskets as taught by Kamen in order to improve access and ventilation to the inside of the building to improve energy efficiency thus regulating internal temperatures and making the space more comfortable.
As per claim 12 Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
one or more doors in one or both of the first and second side walls.
Kamen teaches such doors specifically:
one or more doors in one or both of the first and second side walls (upper and unidentified lower doors 16b, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman by including the multiple doors on opposite sidewalls as taught by Kamen in order to increase accessibility to users of the space.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Herman as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cohen et al. US 20050235581 A1 (Cohen).
As per claim 8, Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
a tow beam extending between the first and second skids at the first ends thereof,
the [[two]] --tow-- beam being removably attached at its opposite ends to the first and second skids; and
two tow eyes attached to the tow beam and configured to be connected to a tow vehicle for towing the skids and attached building.
Cohen teaches a rectangular frame which forms a tow beam with two tow eyes for a portable assembly, specifically (FIG. 7):
a tow beam (transport element T, supporting members T4, FIG. 7; see also “Thus, it is possible that the transport element can comprise the integral base frame FF of the structure itself” [0114]) extending between the first and second skids at the first ends thereof (see left side, FIG. 7),
the [[two]] --tow-- beam being removably attached at its opposite ends to the first and second skids (see FIG. 7); and
two tow eyes (upper eye, lower eye, left side, FIG. 7) attached to the tow beam and configured to be connected to a tow vehicle for towing (“thereby enable a tow vehicle to connect” p. 9, ln. 1) the skids and attached building.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen by including two eyes attached to the base members as taught by Cohen to improve the mobility of the skidded building
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Carlin US 5285604 A
As per claim 13 Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen teaches the limitations according to claim 12, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
one or more steps attached to one or both of the first and second side walls.
Carlin teaches means for ingress and egress, specifically:
one or more steps attached to one or both of the first and second side walls (“A foldable staircase 156 comprising collapsible stairs with assist steps can be placed at the entrance 150. Stairs can also be placed at the decking 85.” 7:67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen by including a foldable staircases where needed as taught by Carlin in order to assist personnel entering and exiting the interior area of the building.
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Kamen, Cohen, and Herman.
As per claim 14 Kaufman teaches a portable protective enclosure (“Prefabricated“ title) comprising:
first and second base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) being arranged parallel and spaced to one another defining a space therebetween (see open lowermost space, FIG. 2),
the first and second base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) having a first end and an opposite second end;
a building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) supported on the base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2) for movement therewith, the building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) comprising first and second end walls (end wall left side, FIG. 1, right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3) each extending across the base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2)
first and second side walls (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80 and 81 FIG. 8, 9) one each extending along a length of a respective base extensions (bottom of frame 30, FIG. 2), and
a roof (decking 44, shingles 45, FIG. 2) spanning the first and second end walls (end wall left side, FIG. 1, right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3) and the first and second side walls (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80 and 81 FIG. 8, 9),
the building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) being free of a floor,
the first and second end walls (end wall left side, FIG. 1, right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3), the first and second side walls (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80 and 81 FIG. 8, 9), and the roof (decking 44, shingles 45, FIG. 2) being insulated;
the first side wall (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80, FIG. 8) having a pair of first side access panels (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) disposed at a bottom end of the first side wall (proximate wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 80, FIG. 8) [[approximate]] --proximate-- (see FIG. 2; these are proximate both ends, as broadly claimed) the second end wall (end wall right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3),
wherein the first side access panels (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) are insulated panels or a strip of flexible rubber (see “vent(s) 24 may also include a gasket (not shown)” 18:64) material; and
the second side wall (distal wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 81 FIG. 9) having a pair of second side access panels (fiberglass wall panels 36, FIG. 2) (fiberglass wall panels 36, FIG. 2) disposed at a bottom end of the second side wall (distal wall FIG. 2, sidewall panels 81 FIG. 9) [[approximate]] --proximate-- (see FIG. 2; these are proximate both ends, as broadly claimed) the second end wall (end wall right side FIG. 2, 50, FIG. 3),
wherein the first side access panels (particle boards 35, FIG. 2) are insulated panels (see air gap at 32, 35, FIG. 2) or a strip of flexible rubber material.
Kaufman fails to explicitly disclose:
the first and second base extensions comprise skids;
the first end wall comprising a pair of first swing doors that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids;
the second end wall comprising a pair of second swing doors that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids
a tow beam extending between the first and second skids at the first ends thereof,
the [[two]] --tow-- beam being removably attached at its opposite ends to the first and second skids;
two tow eyes attached to the tow beam and configured to be connected to a tow vehicle for towing the skids and attached building;
each swing door of the pair of first swing doors has a forward access panel located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door,
wherein the forward access panel is --an-- insulated panel or is a strip of flexible rubber material;
each swing door of the pair of second swing doors having two side-by-side rearward access panels located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door,
wherein the rearward access panels are insulated panels or a strip of flexible rubber material.
Herman teaches skids can be provided, specifically:
the base extensions comprise skids (“Where a skid is desired to support the building so same can be dragged along the ground, the skid can simply be attached under the four plates” p. 8 ln. 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman by including skids with the base members as taught by Harman to support the building when it is desired to drag the assembly across the ground as is old and well known in the art of portable buildings.
Kamen teaches vented swing doors capable of allowing a larger entryway to the building, specifically
the first end wall comprising a pair of first swing doors (double doors, upper left, FIG. 1-2, 4) that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building and to the space between the first and second skids;
the second end wall comprising a pair of second swing doors (double doors, lower right, FIG. 1-2, 4; see also “barn-style doors 16a” 8:46) that are openable to permit access to an interior of the building (building 20, FIG. 1-3) and to the space between the first and second skids
each swing door of the pair of first swing doors (double doors, upper left, FIG. 1-2, 4; see also “barn-style doors 16a” 8:46) has a forward access panel (vent 24, FIG. 1) located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door (see extending “along”—or in a direction of— the width, FIG. 1),
wherein the forward access panel (vents 24, FIG. 1) is --an-- insulated panel (see “may include insulation 13. The insulation 13 may be added for temperature moderation purposes. In some embodiments, the insulation 13 may be disposed about all interior surfaces of the housing 12 including the doors” 7:57) or is a strip of flexible rubber material (“The vent(s) 24 may also include a gasket (not shown). The gasket may be of any of a variety of materials, for instance silicone. In other embodiments, the gasket may be made from different materials” 10:63);
each swing door of the pair of second swing doors (double doors, lower right, FIG. 1-2, 4; see “may be located on both ends of the housing 12” 8:46) having two side-by-side rearward access panels (vents 24, FIG. 1) located at a bottom of the door and extending along a width of the door (see extending “along”—or in a direction of— the width, FIG. 1),
wherein the rearward access panels (vents 24, FIG. 1) are insulated panels (see “may include insulation 13. The insulation 13 may be added for temperature moderation purposes. In some embodiments, the insulation 13 may be disposed about all interior surfaces of the housing 12 including the doors” 7:57) or a strip of flexible rubber material (“The vent(s) 24 may also include a gasket (not shown). The gasket may be of any of a variety of materials, for instance silicone. In other embodiments, the gasket may be made from different materials” 10:63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman by including the vented doors as taught by Kamen in order to improve access and ventilation to the inside of the building.
Cohen teaches a rectangular frame which forms a tow beam with two tow eyes for a portable assembly, specifically(FIG. 7):
a tow beam (transport element T, supporting members T4, FIG. 7; see also “Thus, it is possible that the transport element can comprise the integral base frame FF of the structure itself” [0114]) extending between the first and second skids at the first ends thereof (see left side, FIG. 7),
the [[two]] --tow-- beam being removably attached at its opposite ends to the first and second skids (see FIG. 7);
two tow eyes (upper eye, lower eye, left side, FIG. 7) attached to the tow beam and configured to be connected to a tow vehicle for towing (“thereby enable a tow vehicle to connect” p. 9, ln. 1) the skids and attached building.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen by including two eyes attached to the base members as taught by Cohen to improve the mobility of the skidded building.
As per claim 12 Kaufman in view of Herman teaches the limitations according to claim 1, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
one or more doors in one or both of the first and second side walls.
Kamen teaches such doors specifically:
one or more doors in one or both of the first and second side walls (upper and unidentified lower doors 16b, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman by including the multiple doors on opposite sidewalls as taught by Kamen in order to increase accessibility to users of the space.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Herman, Kamen, and Cohen as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Carlin US 5285604 A
As per claim 13 Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen teaches the limitations according to claim 12, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
one or more steps attached to one or both of the first and second side walls.
Carlin teaches means for ingress and egress, specifically:
one or more steps attached to one or both of the first and second side walls (“A foldable staircase 156 comprising collapsible stairs with assist steps can be placed at the entrance 150. Stairs can also be placed at the decking 85.” 7:67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen by including a foldable staircases where needed as taught by Carlin in order to assist personnel entering and exiting the interior area of the building.
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen and Cohen as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Carlin.
As per claim 17 Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen and Cohen teaches the limitations according to claim 14, but the combination but fails to explicitly disclose:
the first side wall building having a first door;
the second side wall building having a second door;
a first access step pivotally attached to the first side wall building on an exterior surface thereof and at a location below the first door
a second access step pivotally attached to the first side wall building on an interior surface thereof and at a location below the first door;
a third access step pivotally attached to the second side wall building on an exterior surface thereof and at a location below the second door; and
a fourth access step pivotally attached to the second side wall building on an interior surface thereof and at a location below the second door.
Carlin teaches a door can be provided with a staircase (see “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 4… foldable staircase 156 comprising collapsible stairs with assist steps can be placed at the entrance 150. Stairs can also be placed at the decking 85” 7:59).
Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art would teach any number of access steps and doors —including a first through fourth access step pivotally attached below the first and second doors on an interior and an exterior surface— so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the assembly of Kaufman in view of Herman and Kamen and Cohen by including a first through fourth access step pivotally attached below the first and second doors on an interior and an exterior surface in order to facilitate ingress and egress when the building is positioned near a raised or sunken area. (note: It has been held that: “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418, 82, USPQ2d at 1396.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 allowed.
Claims 9-10, and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Examiner notes that a thorough search was performed and the prior art of record has been cited; the Examiner did not find a reference or combination of references that distinctly disclosed or fairly suggested a modification to arrive at the portable enclosure with an open floor and the enclosure being supported on skids which have a cross member pivotally attached therebetween
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Campbell, JR. et al. US 20100071995 A1 teaches temporary ingress and egress to a job site
Pollack US 20090266390 A1 teaches double swing doors at a pair of narrow side access points
Fetter US 4788934 A teaches access panels
Peterson et al. US 9222250 B2 teaches a turnbuckle between walls of a building
/JJS/
/RODNEY MINTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635