DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under step 1, claim 1 and 11 belong to a statutory category.
Under Step 2A prong 1, the claims as a whole are identified as being directed to a judicial exception as claim 1 and similarly 11 recite(s) “A method for inertial navigation applying an Extended Kalman Filter (EKF)”, “in response to the detecting of the degraded quality, temporarily increasing a noise estimate used by the EKF for the inertial sensor data from a first noise estimate value to a second noise estimate value to avoid drifting of the EKF to an erroneous state and without discontinuing and restarting operation of the EKF, the noise estimate relating to the at least one inertial axis or the inertial sensor associated with the inertial sensor data, and the second noise estimate value being greater than the first noise estimate value” and “in response to the detecting of the normalization of quality, continuing using the second noise estimate value during a predetermined delay period after detecting the normalization of quality to enable the EKF to recover internal state without re-initialization of the inertial navigation system and resetting the temporarily increased noise estimate value used by the EKF back to the first noise estimate value after the predetermined delay period” which are directed to mathematical concepts and/or mental processes in view of applicants specification, for example see Par. 5-8, 53-56.
Under Step 2A prong 2, evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application of that exception, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “detecting a degraded quality of inertial sensor data provided by an inertial sensor device, the inertial sensor data relating to at least one inertial axis, and the degraded quality relating to at least one of a detecting of an error flag indicating an error of at least one type of inertial sensor data and a detecting of an absence of at least one type of incoming inertial sensor data;”, “detecting a normalization of quality of the at least one type of inertial sensor data” and additionally in claim 11, “at least one inertial sensor device” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 11 additionally recites “a computing device configured to perform an EKF calculation based on inertial sensor data received from the at least one inertial sensor device, the computing device that, when executing program code stored on memory” are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
Under Step 2B, evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept both individually and in combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “detecting a degraded quality of inertial sensor data provided by an inertial sensor device, the inertial sensor data relating to at least one inertial axis, and the degraded quality relating to at least one of a detecting of an error flag indicating an error of at least one type of inertial sensor data and a detecting of an absence of at least one type of incoming inertial sensor data;”, “detecting a normalization of quality of the at least one type of inertial sensor data” and additionally in claim 11, “at least one inertial sensor device” are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g)(ii) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(i)(also see prior art of record). Claim 11 additionally recites “a computing device configured to perform an EKF calculation based on inertial sensor data received from the at least one inertial sensor device, the computing device that, when executing program code stored on memory” are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20 further describe the abstract ideas cited above.
In claims 7 and 17 the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application or not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “upon detecting the error, resetting the inertial sensor providing the degraded quality inertial sensor data;” and “resuming use of the inertial sensor data from the inertial sensor by the EKF before the resetting of the temporarily increased noise estimate” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record). The elements “detecting the inertial sensor resuming a normal operation after the resetting” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity and are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20050240347 A1).
In claim 1, Yang discloses a method for inertial navigation applying an Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) (Par. 14 “extended Kalman filter”), the method including: detecting a degraded quality of inertial sensor data (Par. 15 “an estimated error of an inertial device”) provided by an inertial sensor device (Fig. 1, 110, 120, 130), the inertial sensor data relating to at least one inertial axis (Par. 102 “3-axis”), and the degraded quality relating to at least one of a detecting of an error flag (Par. 108 “error”) indicating an error of at least one type of inertial sensor data (Par. 108 “small angle errors”) and a detecting of an absence of at least one type of incoming inertial sensor data; in response to the detecting of the degraded quality, temporarily increasing a noise estimate used by the EKF for the inertial sensor data from a first noise estimate value to a second noise estimate value to avoid drifting of the EKF to an erroneous state (Par. 85-88 “R can be determined by spectral density analysis of the measurement noise of the accelerometer and magnetic compass” “tune the R of the accelerometer to yield the optimal performance” see Eq. 44-45) and without discontinuing and restarting operation of the EKF (Par. 107-108 “re-initialization of the system is not needed under normal conditions” examiner considers “small angle errors” to fall within normal operation and further notes that “attitude may be periodically re-initialized at certain appropriate times” refers to the attitude value, not the device or the EKF), the noise estimate relating to the at least one inertial axis or the inertial sensor associated with the inertial sensor data (Par. 85 “measurement noise of the accelerometer and magnetic compass” “analysis of the process noise of the gyroscope”), and the second noise estimate value being greater than the first noise estimate value (Par. 85-90 examiner notes that the second value being greater would be required to show an increase in noise); detecting a normalization of quality of the at least one type of inertial sensor data (Fig. 4 435 450 455, Par. 117); and in response to the detecting of the normalization of quality, continuing using the second noise estimate value during a predetermined delay period (Fig. 4, 420 “time for error estimate” examiner considers the time between error estimates to be said “predetermined delay period”) after detecting the normalization of quality to enable the EKF to recover internal state without re-initialization of the inertial navigation system (Par. 107-108 “re-initialization of the system is not needed under normal conditions” examiner considers “small angle errors” to fall within normal operation and further notes that “attitude may be periodically re-initialized at certain appropriate times” refers to the attitude value, not the device or the EKF) and resetting the temporarily increased noise estimate value used by the EKF back to the first noise estimate value after the predetermined delay period (Par. 107 “attitude may be periodically re-initialized” Fig. 4, 420 “time for error estimate”).
In claim 2, Yang further discloses wherein the degraded quality indicates an error causing unreliable or missing inertial sensor data (Par. 85 “process noise of the gyroscope and its associated drift”).
In claim 3, Yang further discloses temporarily replacing the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data used by the EKF with replacement data having a constant value (Par. 128 “constant speed”); and resuming using the inertial sensor data by the EKF after detecting that quality of the at least one type of inertial data is normalized (Par. 128).
In claim 4, Yang further discloses wherein the replacement data is at least one of: i) a zero value of the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data, ii) an estimate of a system state parameter determined by the EKF immediately before the detecting of the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data, the system state parameter corresponding to the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data (Par. 118), and iii) inertial sensor data obtained immediately before the detecting of the respective inertial sensor data to be unreliable or missing.
In claim 5, Yang further discloses wherein the at least one type of inertial sensor data comprises at least one of acceleration data relating to acceleration along at least one of three different axes (Par. 111 “acceleration”), and angular velocity data relating to a rotation about any one of the three different axes (Par. 53 “real time attitude rotation matrix, latitude, height, and velocity”).
In claim 6, Yang further discloses wherein the noise estimate is an observation noise covariance (Par. 53 “process noise covariance matrix”).
In claim 7, Yang further discloses upon detecting the error, resetting the inertial sensor providing the degraded quality inertial sensor data (Par. 107 “attitude may be periodically re-initialized”); detecting the inertial sensor resuming a normal operation after the resetting (Fig. 4 435 450 455, Par. 117); and resuming use of the inertial sensor data from the inertial sensor by the EKF before the resetting of the temporarily increased noise estimate (Par. 128).
In claim 8, Yang further discloses comprising implementing, by the EKF, a position estimation (Par. 19 “updated attitude”).
In claim 9, Yang further discloses wherein the position estimation is at least one of a pitch estimation and a roll estimation (Par. 14 “pitch” “roll”).
In claim 10, Yang further discloses wherein the inertial sensor device is at least one of an accelerometer and a gyroscope (Fig. 1, 110 120).
In claim 11, Yang further discloses a system for inertial navigation applying Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) (Par. 14 “extended Kalman filter”), the system comprising: at least one inertial sensor device (Fig. 1, 110 120 130); and a computing device (Par. 20 “processing device”) configured to perform an EKF calculation (Par. 20) based on inertial sensor data received from the at least one inertial sensor device (Par. 19), the computing device that, when executing program code stored on memory (Par. 162 “memory”), is configured to: detect a degraded quality of inertial sensor data (Par. 15 “an estimated error of an inertial device”) provided by an inertial sensor device (Fig. 1, 110, 120, 130), the inertial sensor data relating to at least one inertial axis (Par. 102 “3-axis”), and the degraded quality relating to at least one of a detecting of an error flag (Par. 108 “error”) indicating an error of at least one type of inertial sensor data (Par. 108 “small angle errors”) and a detecting of an absence of at least one type of incoming inertial sensor data; in response to the detecting of the degraded quality, temporarily increasing a noise estimate used by the EKF for the inertial sensor data from a first noise estimate value to a second noise estimate value to avoid drifting of the EKF to an erroneous state (Par. 85-88 “R can be determined by spectral density analysis of the measurement noise of the accelerometer and magnetic compass” “tune the R of the accelerometer to yield the optimal performance” see Eq. 44-45) and without discontinuing and restarting operation of the EKF (Par. 107-108 “re-initialization of the system is not needed under normal conditions” examiner considers “small angle errors” to fall within normal operation and further notes that “attitude may be periodically re-initialized at certain appropriate times” refers to the attitude value, not the device or the EKF), the noise estimate relating to the at least one inertial axis or the inertial sensor associated with the inertial sensor data (Par. 85 “measurement noise of the accelerometer and magnetic compass” “analysis of the process noise of the gyroscope”), and the second noise estimate value being greater than the first noise estimate value (Par. 85-90 examiner notes that the second value being greater would be required to show an increase in noise); detect a normalization of quality of the at least one type of inertial sensor data (Fig. 4 435 450 455, Par. 117); and in response to the detecting of the normalization of quality, continue using the second noise estimate value during a predetermined delay period (Fig. 4, 420 “time for error estimate” examiner considers the time between error estimates to be said “predetermined delay period”) after detecting the normalization of quality to enable the EKF to recover internal state without re-initialization of the inertial navigation system (Par. 107-108 “re-initialization of the system is not needed under normal conditions” examiner considers “small angle errors” to fall within normal operation and further notes that “attitude may be periodically re-initialized at certain appropriate times” refers to the attitude value, not the device or the EKF) and reset the temporarily increased noise estimate value used by the EKF back to the first noise estimate value after the predetermined delay period (Par. 107 “attitude may be periodically re-initialized” Fig. 4, 420 “time for error estimate”).
In claim 12, Yang further discloses wherein the degraded quality indicates an error causing unreliable or missing inertial sensor data (Par. 85 “process noise of the gyroscope and its associated drift”).
In claim 13, Yang further discloses temporarily replacing the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data used by the EKF with replacement data having a constant value (Par. 128 “constant speed”); and resuming using the inertial sensor data by the EKF after detecting that quality of the at least one type of inertial data is normalized (Par. 128).
In claim 14, Yang further discloses wherein the replacement data is at least one of: i) a zero value of the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data, ii) an estimate of a system state parameter determined by the EKF immediately before the detecting of the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data, the system state parameter corresponding to the unreliable or missing inertial sensor data (Par. 118), and iii) inertial sensor data obtained immediately before the detecting of the respective inertial sensor data to be unreliable or missing.
In claim 15, Yang further discloses wherein the at least one type of inertial sensor data comprises at least one of acceleration data relating to acceleration along at least one of three different axes (Par. 111 “acceleration”), and angular velocity data relating to a rotation about any one of the three different axes (Par. 53 “real time attitude rotation matrix, latitude, height, and velocity”).
In claim 16, Yang further discloses wherein the noise estimate is an observation noise covariance (Par. 53 “process noise covariance matrix”).
In claim 17, Yang further discloses upon detecting the error, resetting the inertial sensor providing the degraded quality inertial sensor data (Par. 107 “attitude may be periodically re-initialized”); detecting the inertial sensor resuming a normal operation after the resetting (Fig. 4 435 450 455, Par. 117); and resuming use of the inertial sensor data from the inertial sensor by the EKF before the resetting of the temporarily increased noise estimate (Par. 128).
In claim 18, Yang further discloses comprising implementing, by the EKF, a position estimation (Par. 19 “updated attitude”).
In claim 19, Yang further discloses wherein the position estimation is at least one of a pitch estimation and a roll estimation (Par. 14 “pitch” “roll”).
In claim 20, Yang further discloses wherein the inertial sensor device is at least one of an accelerometer and a gyroscope (Fig. 1, 110 120).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicants 101 arguments on pages 7-9, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that cited abstract ideas are “defined mechanisms that improve the navigation system but per MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) “However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology.” Thus the claims are not considered to be an improvement as an improved abstract idea is not eligible.
Regarding applicants 102 arguments on pages 9-11 the examiner respectfully disagrees. While applicant asserts “Yang's adaptive Kalman filter is driven by accelerometer magnitude thresholds only (e.g., non-acceleration, low-acceleration, and high-acceleration modes as determined by acceleration residual α), rather than by any indication that the inertial sensor data has become unreliable” said thresholds identify errors in measurement which is well within the BRI of “indication that the inertial sensor data has become unreliable”. Applicant further asserts “the "bias errors" and "small angle errors" referenced in Yang paragraph [0108] are internal state estimates produced by the Kalman filter itself; they represent the Kalman filter's computed difference between measured and predicted inertial values” and “Yang does not disclose or suggest utilizing error flags provided by the inertial sensor devices themselves. The claims require detecting a degraded quality event relating to an error flag indicating an error from the sensor or an absence of incoming data”. However the claims recite “the degraded quality relating to at least one of a detecting of an error flag indicating an error of at least one type of inertial sensor data” and per applicants specification, “Error information, such as error flags, may comprise indications of different levels of errors”. Per Yang Par. 108, “one embodiment, as described above, comprises 6 error values. The 6 error values are 3 bias errors and 3 small angle errors.”, examiner notes that a value that describes an error, is within the BRI of “an error flag” as claimed and an error in a measurement is within the scope of “detecting a degraded quality of inertial sensor data”. Examiner notes the claims do not describe “a sensor degradation event” nor is that required, as the claims only recite “detecting a degraded quality of inertial sensor data” (emphasis added). While applicant asserts that the “resetting a temporarily increased noise estimate” is different from the prior arts “re-initializing” but does not state how. The examiner respectfully disagrees, the prior art is within the BRI of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9103683 B2, Azimuth Update Controller For Inertial Systems; US 20160370188 A1, INERTIAL DEVICE, CONTROL METHOD AND PROGRAM.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.J.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857