DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanova et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210219535) in view of Child (CN 101170900), Song (CN 107711763), and Romanova et al. (U.S. Pat. 12167725).
In regard to claim 1, Romanova et al. discloses a device for attracting and collecting insects comprising an elongated hollow housing that is formed by a base and side walls (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is a case which houses all the components of the device at least having a base and sidewalls), a top cover in which a control unit with a power supply unit is arranged (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is a top cover 6 in which a control unit 8 (“a unit of electronic elements”) with a power supply unit 14 (“solar battery elements”) is at least arranged, an insect collection container, and a carbon dioxide reservoir with at least one sprayer connected thereto arranged in a lower portion of the housing (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is an insect collection container 2, a carbon dioxide reservoir 10 with at least one sprayer 17 (“a nozzle for spraying”) at least arranged in a lower portion of the housing); wherein an axial fan having an outlet that is connected to the insect collection container is arranged in an upper portion of the housing (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is an axial fan 7 (“a fan with a protective mesh”) having an outlet that is connected to (sits above) the insect collection container 2 that is at least arranged in an upper portion of the housing), a receiving chamber is provided over an inlet of the fan, the receiving chamber comprises meshy external walls and a light source (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is a receiving chamber (space above fan and insect collection container) that is provided over an inlet of the fan and where the receiving chamber comprises meshy (“net”) external walls 12 and a light source 18) and an incoming air flow guide that is connected to the cover (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is at least an incoming air flow guide (conical shaped element which is pointing down towards the fan connected to the top cover 6, which at least directs air flow down into the container 2) that is connected to the cover); the incoming air flow guide is shaped as a truncated cone having a vertex that is oriented towards the fan inlet (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where the incoming air flow guide is shaped as a truncated cone having a vertex (conical shaped element which is pointing down towards the fan) that is oriented towards the fan inlet), wherein the sprayer is arranged on an external surface of the upper portion of the housing over the inlet of the fan (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where the sprayer 17 is at least arranged on an external surface of the upper portion of the housing over the inlet of the fan); a heating element along an external surface (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is a heating element 21 at least along an external surface). Romanova et al. is silent on a wall of the incoming air flow guide is made light-transmissive, the heating element is arranged along a circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide, the light source is arranged inside the incoming air flow guide; the infrared radiation of the light source and the infrared radiation of the heating element have different intensities, thereby forming areas having different temperatures outside and inside the incoming air flow guide. Child discloses a wall of the incoming air flow guide is made light-transmissive, the heating element is arranged along a circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide, the light source is arranged inside the incoming air flow guide (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, and Translated Specification Page 3 line 32 – Page 5 line 30, where a wall of the incoming air flow guide (truncated conical portion above the fan 6 and below the top cover) is made light-transmissive (at least light-transmissive at elements 10 to let light pass through), a heating element 1-4/1a is arranged along a circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide, and the light source 7/9 is at least arranged inside the incoming air flow guide); the infrared radiation of the light source and the infrared radiation of the heating element have different intensities, thereby forming areas having different temperatures outside and inside the incoming air flow guide (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, and Translated Specification Page 3 line 32 – Page 5 line 30, where the infrared radiation of the light source 7/9 and the infrared radiation of the heating element 1-4/1a on the incoming air flow guide (truncated conical portion above the fan 6 and below the top cover) at least have different intensities (light source 7/9 has a different wavelength than heating element 1-4/1a and the heating element 1-4/1a at least has a changeable infrared emission), therefore temperatures outside, inside, in the upper portion, and in the lower portion of the incoming air flow guide must be different). Romanova et al. and Child are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include insect traps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Romanova et al. such that a wall of the incoming air flow guide is made light-transmissive, the heating element is arranged along a circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide, the light source is arranged inside the incoming air flow guide; the infrared radiation of the light source and the infrared radiation of the heating element have different intensities, thereby forming areas having different temperatures outside and inside the incoming air flow guide in view of Child. The motivation would have been to have an insect attraction system which is able to modulate the infrared radiation being emitted from a specific area of the device, in order to more effectively trap insects with the device (Child, Abstract).
Romanova et al. as modified by Child is silent on the heating element is arranged along a circumference of an outer surface of the incoming air flow guide near its larger base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heating element is arranged along a circumference of an outer surface of the incoming air flow guide near its larger base, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation would have been to place the heating element along an outer surface to prevent the infrared radiation from being blocked by the wall structures of the device, thereby relatively increasing the number of insects which are able to detect the radiation and be attracted to the device.
Romanova et al. as modified by Child is silent on the light source is a broadband light source providing a radiation in both infrared and ultraviolet spectra simultaneously. Song discloses the light source is a broadband light source providing a radiation in both infrared and ultraviolet spectra simultaneously (Translated Specification Page 5 lines 38-43, where the light source is broadband lamp 2 with wavelength of 300 nm-1000 nm (infrared wavelengths are at least 700nm and ultraviolet wavelengths are at least 400nm). Romanova et al. and Song are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include insect traps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Romanova et al. as modified by Child such that the light source is a broadband light source providing a radiation in both infrared and ultraviolet spectra simultaneously in view of Song. The motivation would have been to use a light source which radiates a larger range of wavelengths, in order to attract a variety of different insect species more effectively.
Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child and Song is silent on the control unit is at least configured to reduce revolutions of the fan lower than a threshold before the sprayer is switched on and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the threshold in a set time. Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the control unit is at least configured to reduce revolutions of the fan lower than a threshold before the sprayer is switched on and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the threshold in a set time (Column 3 lines 4-9, where the control unit is at least configured to reduce revolutions of the fan 8 lower than a threshold (“user may change settings, fan 8 intensity… change the interval at which the fan 8 switches on”) before the sprayer is switched on (this can be done by the user before the sprayer is switched on) and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the threshold (“user may change settings, fan 8 intensity… change the interval at which the fan 8 switches on”) at a set time (this can be done by the user after the sprayer is switched on). Romanova et al. ‘535 and Romanova et al. ‘725 are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include insect traps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child and Song such that the control unit is at least configured to reduce revolutions of the fan lower than a threshold before the sprayer is switched on and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the threshold in a set time in view of Romanova et al. ‘725. The motivation would have been to allow the user to adjust the fan speed and settings, in order to conserve energy when the fan does not need to run at high speed or is not needed at all (when no insects are present).
Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 is silent on the control unit with the power supply unit is configured to reduce revolutions of the fan lower than nominal values before the sprayer is switched on and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the nominal values in 20-60 seconds. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control unit with the power supply unit be configured to reduce revolutions of the fan lower than nominal values before the sprayer is switched on and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the nominal values in 20-60 seconds, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the fan and control unit of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725. The motivation would have been to allow the user to customize fan interval settings, to further optimize energy efficiency of the device, according to any desired protocol or usage schedule.
In regard to claim 2, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1, wherein the side walls of the housing are made in a form of panels that are secured on vertically oriented bars which are mounted on the base (Romanova et al. ‘535, Figs. 1-2, where the side walls of the housing are made in a form of panels (four panels around the housing) that are secured on vertically oriented bars which are mounted on the base (four bars oriented vertically from the base)).
In regard to claim 4, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1, further comprising an additional attractant source that is connected to the sprayer (Romanova et al. ‘535, Paragraph [0014] and Claim 1, where there is an additional attractant source (“pre-saturated with odorant”) that is connected to the sprayer 17).
In regard to claim 5, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1, wherein the heating element is a film or a coil, or a combination thereof (Child, Figs. 1-4, Abstract, and Translated Specification Page 3 line 32 – Page 5 line 30, where the heating element 1-4/1a is at least a film or a coil).
In regard to claim 7, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1. Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 is silent on the control unit is configured to reduce the revolutions of the fan below the nominal values by 50-70% in 2-5 seconds before the sprayer starts to spray carbon dioxide. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control unit be configured to reduce the revolutions of the fan below the nominal values by 50-70% in 2-5 seconds before the sprayer starts to spray carbon dioxide, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the fan and control unit of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725. The motivation would have been to allow the user to customize fan interval settings, to further optimize energy efficiency of the device, according to any desired protocol or usage schedule.
In regard to claim 8, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1. Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 is silent on the control unit is configured to reduce the revolutions of the fan below the nominal values by 50-70% before the sprayer starts to spray carbon dioxide, and the sprayer is configured to spray the carbon dioxide in 1-6 seconds. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control unit be configured to reduce the revolutions of the fan below the nominal values by 50-70% before the sprayer starts to spray carbon dioxide, and the sprayer is configured to spray the carbon dioxide in 1-6 seconds, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the fan and control unit of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725. The motivation would have been to allow the user to customize fan interval settings, to further optimize energy efficiency of the device, according to any desired protocol or usage schedule.
In regard to claim 10, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to be wirelessly connected to Internet (Romanova et al. ‘535, Paragraph [0021], where the control unit is configured to be wirelessly connected to Internet).
In regard to claim 11, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1, further comprising an insect types recognition and recording means comprising a video camera that is arranged in the device and a processor for processing images from the video camera (Romanova et al. ‘725, Abstract, Claim 1, and Fig. 1, where there is an insect types recognition (“classify insects into species and subspecies”) and recording means comprising a video camera 4 that is arranged in the device and a processor for processing images (“process a data array generated by the counting sensor and the high-speed computer vision camera”) from the video camera). Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 is silent on multiple video cameras that are arranged in the receiving chamber. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have multiple video cameras that are arranged in the receiving chamber, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the video camera of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725. The motivation would have been to relatively increase the accuracy of the insect types recognition and recording function, by utilizing multiple cameras positioned in the receiving chamber, to ensure insects are not overlooked during image capture.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanova et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210219535) in view of Child (CN 101170900), Song (CN 107711763), and Romanova et al. (U.S. Pat. 12167725) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ji et al. (U.S. Pub. 20170112116).
In regard to claim 3, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1. Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 does not disclose wherein the incoming air flow guide is meshy. Ji et al. discloses wherein the incoming air flow guide is meshy (Figs. 9-10 and Paragraph [0071], where the incoming air flow guide 306/307 is at least meshy). Romanova et al. and Ji et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include insect traps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 such that the incoming air flow guide is meshy in view of Ji et al. The motivation would have been to use a mesh structure to provide structural stability, while utilizing relatively less material to reduce the overall weight of the device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanova et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210219535) in view of Child (CN 101170900), Song (CN 107711763), and Romanova et al. (U.S. Pat. 12167725) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Brown et al. (U.S. Pub. 20070124987).
In regard to claim 6, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1, wherein light source is made of at least three lamps and arranged symmetrically relative to an axis of the incoming air flow guide (Child, Fig. 2, where there are at least three lamps 9 that are arranged symmetrically relative to an axis of the incoming air flow guide). Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 is silent on the light source is made as at least three gas discharge lamps. Brown et al. discloses wherein the light source is made as at least three gas discharge lamps (Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0023], where the light source 54/56/58 is made as at least three gas discharge lamps (“gas discharge lamps”). Romanova et al. and Brown et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include insect traps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 such that the light source is made as at least three gas discharge lamps in view of Brown et al. The motivation would have been to use light sources that are positioned such that they are visible from all sides of the device, thereby attracting more insects from the surrounding area. Furthermore, gas discharge lamps are well known in the art and commonly used to provide light.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanova et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210219535) in view of Child (CN 101170900), Song (CN 107711763), and Romanova et al. (U.S. Pat. 12167725) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hauptmann et al. (ES 2855117 T3).
In regard to claim 12, Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 discloses the device for attracting and collecting insects according to claim 1. Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 is silent on the carbon dioxide reservoir is equipped with a gas reducer having a gas pressure sensor. Hauptmann et al. discloses the carbon dioxide reservoir is equipped with a gas reducer having a gas pressure sensor (Abstract and Translated Specification Page 7 lines 1-10, where there is a carbon dioxide reservoir equipped with a gas reducer (“a pressure reduce”) having a gas pressure sensor (“unit has pressure sensors, flow sensors and possibly control of the content of the CO2 tanks”)). Romanova et al. and Hauptmann et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include insect traps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Romanova et al. ‘535 as modified by Child, Song, and Romanova et al. ‘725 such that the carbon dioxide reservoir is equipped with a gas reducer having a gas pressure sensor in view of Hauptmann et al. The motivation would have been to have a mechanism that allows the device to control the amount of gas sprayed out per unit of time, thereby allowing the user to further customize sprayer settings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (filed 12/19/2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Gianni et al. (WO 2008155199) in view of Romanova et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210219535) in view of Child (CN 101170900), Song (CN 107711763), and Romanova et al. (U.S. Pat. 12167725) disclose the applicant’s claim 1, as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
Upon further consideration, based on the amendments made to recite the location of the heating element in claim 1, the claims are still obvious in light of the prior art of record.
Specifically, Child teaches the heating element is arranged along a circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide in Figs. 1-4, Abstract, and Translated Specification Page 3 line 32 – Page 5 line 30, where a heating element 1-4/1a is arranged along a circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide. Child also teaches the infrared radiation of the light source and the infrared radiation of the heating element have different intensities, thereby forming areas having different temperatures outside and inside the incoming air flow guide in Figs. 1-4, Abstract, and Translated Specification Page 3 line 32 – Page 5 line 30, where the infrared radiation of the light source 7/9 and the infrared radiation of the heating element 1-4/1a on the incoming air flow guide (truncated conical portion above the fan 6 and below the top cover) at least have different intensities (light source 7/9 has a different wavelength than heating element 1-4/1a and the heating element 1-4/1a at least has a changeable infrared emission), therefore temperatures outside, inside, in the upper portion, and in the lower portion of the incoming air flow guide must be different.
Furthermore, the specific location of “the heating element” along “a circumference of an outer surface of the incoming air flow guide near its larger base” is not disclosed as critical to the function of the invention, in the Applicant’s Specification. The recited passages in the arguments, of original specification page 5 line 3-5 and page 8 lines 3-5, are not providing any support for the criticality or reason to specifically place the heating element along “a circumference of an outer surface of the incoming air flow guide near its larger base”, and it seems that the heating element of Child would provide the same level of function as that disclosed by the original specification and drawings.
Child also teaches a light transmissive, incoming air flow guide in Figs. 1-4, Abstract, and Translated Specification Page 3 line 32 – Page 5 line 30, where there is an incoming air flow guide (truncated conical portion above the fan 6 and below the top cover) which is also light-transmissive (at least light-transmissive at elements 10 to let light pass through). Which is also already taught by Romanova et al. ‘535 in in Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph [0013], where there is at least an incoming air flow guide (conical shaped element which is pointing down towards the fan connected to the top cover 6). Child further shows heating element 1a which is a connected ring (uniform heating) that is placed along the circumference of a surface of the incoming air flow guide (as defined above). The applicant’s arguments are not considering the portion of Child which is considered the air flow guide, as specifically defined in the rejections and recited again in this paragraph above. As recited, these claim limitations are covered in the combination of these references, as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
In reference to the arguments against Song, the combination of two different radiation sources, as shown by Song, is not relied upon for the rejection of claim 1. Song teaches the light source is a broadband light source providing a radiation in both infrared and ultraviolet spectra simultaneously in Translated Specification Page 5 lines 38-43, where the light source is broadband lamp 2 with wavelength of 300 nm-1000 nm (infrared wavelengths are at least 700nm and ultraviolet wavelengths are at least 400nm). The claim limitation is shown by the “broadband” lamp of Song. The combination of two different radiation sources is shown by the other references in the rejection of claim 1.
With regard to the argument against Romanova ‘725, the claim limitations, as currently recited in claim 1, are taught in Column 3 lines 4-9, where the control unit is at least configured to reduce revolutions of the fan 8 lower than a threshold (“user may change settings, fan 8 intensity… change the interval at which the fan 8 switches on”) before the sprayer is switched on (this can be done by the user before the sprayer is switched on) and to subsequently increase the revolutions of the fan up to the threshold (“user may change settings, fan 8 intensity… change the interval at which the fan 8 switches on”) at a set time (this can be done by the user after the sprayer is switched on). An “algorithm” as described in the arguments is not required by claim 1.
With regard to the arguments against Brown et al. in the rejection of claim 6, it is emphasized that Brown et al. solely teaches the use of “gas discharge lamps” in Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0023], where the light source 54/56/58 is made as at least three gas discharge lamps (“gas discharge lamps”). The arrangement configuration of the lights is shown by the other references in the rejection of claim 6.
As previously stated, the prior art disclosures, along with the obvious design choices, routine rearrangements, and respective motivations detailed in the rejection, render the Applicant’s claims as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the 35 USC § 103 rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of insect traps.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647