DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 January 2024, 11 October 2024, and 10 January 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to because in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the velocity fields lack units that are essential to understanding the velocity fields. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
5. The use of the terms Blu-ray (par 00100) and Blu-ray Disc™ (pars 00106 and 00109), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
6. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 7-8, the term “reciprocally coplanar” appears to simply mean --coplanar--, so the word “reciprocally” should be deleted so as to avoid confusion with the geometric meaning of reciprocal which means “inverse”.
8. Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 7-8, the term “reciprocally coplanar” appears to simply mean --coplanar--, so the word “reciprocally” should be deleted so as to avoid confusion with the geometric meaning of reciprocal which means “inverse”.
9. Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 7-8, the term “reciprocally coplanar” appears to simply mean --coplanar--, so the word “reciprocally” should be deleted so as to avoid confusion with the geometric meaning of reciprocal which means “inverse”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-8, 11-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport (US 20160206471 A1).
12. Regarding claim 1, Rapoport discloses an imaging apparatus (ANTI accommodated within an MRI bore, par 0072, FIGS. 2d and 2p) comprising:
a tubular receptacle (FIG. 2d, elongated container 100) configured to receive an object to be examined by the imaging apparatus (accommodating the neonate parallel to the MRD bore, Abstract, FIG. 2p); and
an air channel device (tube 114 with inlet at distal end 102 and outlet at proximal end 101, pars 0263 and 0265, FIG. 2d) configured to
draw air from the tubular receptacle at an intake device of the air channel device (a tube 114 is connecting between the TRV or venting module at the distal end…which controls the amount of air flowing from the distal TRV, par 0265),
guide drawn-in air through an air filter device for decontamination (airflow is streamed via filter 106, par 0263; FIG. 2d, filter 106), and
output decontaminated air into the tubular receptacle at an output device of the air channel device (airflow is streamed via filter 106 to the inner environment of the incubator, par 0263; FIG. 2d, air output through filter 106); wherein
the air channel device is configured to guide a main airstream of air along the tubular receptacle from the output device to the intake device (FIG. 2d, airflow arrows from fan/filter at proximal end 101 to distal end 102, described in par 0263), and
the main airstream flows through the tubular receptacle towards a receptacle opening of the tubular receptacle (FIG. 2d, opening in receptacle at distal end 102).
Rapoport does not specifically teach that the air filter device would be of the air channel device, as the filter is located adjacent to the output device within the tubular receptacle (FIG. 2d, filter 106). However, shifting the position of the filter from adjacent downstream to the output device to just upstream of the output device would not have modified the operation of the device, providing filtered air to all accessible points within the tubular receptacle. As an obvious matter of design choice, this change would not distinguish patentably over the prior art of Rapoport. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to shift the position of the air filter device 106 to be within the air channel device just upstream of the output device in the apparatus of Rapoport, as doing so would predictably provide the same air filtration for the airflow into the tubular receptacle.
Examiner notes that the device of Rapoport reads upon the structure of the “imaging apparatus” as claimed, as no structure that specifically accomplishes the “imaging” is recited. Therefore, this recitation in the preamble is treated as a mere statement of purpose of use per MPEP 2111.02(II). The device of Rapoport is intended for an analogous use, as the object is similarly contained in a tubular receptacle and ventilated in a controlled manner during imaging, thus would demonstrably be capable of accomplishing the intended use of the claimed imaging apparatus.
13. Regarding claim 2, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the output device has at least one free-jet nozzle (temperature regulating vent is in fluid communication with the proximal side, and comprising at least one first fluid venting module, e.g., a jet, pars 0098 and 0263).
14. Regarding claim 3, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but the embodiment relied upon above does not teach wherein the air channel device includes an air barrier device configured to output at least a portion of the decontaminated air to generate an air barrier in the tubular receptacle between the intake device and the receptacle opening.
In another embodiment, Rapoport teaches one or more air bafflers that force air to flow parallel to the walls of the tubular receptacle in a linear manner (par 0267, FIG. 2f), reading upon the air barrier device claimed. Rapoport teaches that these bafflers, which can be a shaped surface comprising one or more apertures, can eliminate air turbulences and prevent the neonate from being subjected to perpendicular airflow (par 0267).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air channel device of Rapoport to include an air channel device configured to output at least a portion of the decontaminated air to generate an air barrier in the tubular receptacle between the intake device and the receptacle opening. Incorporating this air baffle structure from the FIG. 2f embodiment of Rapoport would predictably eliminate air turbulences and prevent the neonate from being subjected to perpendicular airflow in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
15. Regarding claim 4, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the air barrier device is configured to output the portion of the decontaminated air for generating the air barrier in the tubular receptacle (air is forced to flow via upper and/or lower apertures of baffler 121A…can eliminate air turbulences and prevent the neonate from being subjected to perpendicular airflow, par 0267, FIG. 2f) at a guide rail device of the imaging apparatus (portion of shaped surface 121A that guides airflow 123, FIG. 2f), said guide rail device being arranged in the tubular receptacle (FIG. 2f).
16. Regarding claim 5, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air channel device is configured to guide the main airstream within an upper half of the tubular receptacle (FIG. 21; makes sure in this case that air 35 flowing through it may circulate, par 0088).
17. Regarding claim 6, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air channel device is configured to adjust the output of the decontaminated air at the output device and an intake of the air at the intake device (tube comprises a regulator 114 which controls the amount of air flowing from the distal TRV 115 and fresh air 113 from the surroundings into the incubator, par 0265). Rapoport does not teach for this embodiment that this adjustment is made such that the main airstream through the tubular receptacle has a laminar flow characteristic .
In another embodiment, Rapoport includes bafflers that force air to flow parallel to the walls of the tubular receptacle in a linear manner (par 0267, FIG. 2f), reading upon the air barrier device claimed. Rapoport teaches that these bafflers, which can advantageously eliminate air turbulences and prevent the neonate from being subjected to perpendicular airflow (par 0267).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air channel device of Rapoport to adjust the main airstream to have a laminar flow characteristic. Incorporating this air baffle structure from the FIG. 2f embodiment of Rapoport would predictably eliminate air turbulences and prevent the imaging object from being subjected to perpendicular airflow in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
18. Regarding claim 7, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air channel device comprises:
a further intake device configured to draw air from an environment of the imaging apparatus (FIG 2d, fresh air intake 113 from the surroundings, par 0265), wherein
the air channel device is configured to supply drawn-in air from the environment for decontamination by the air filter device of the air channel device (airflow is streamed via filter 106 to the inner environment, par 0263).
19. Regarding claim 8, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 but does not teach wherein the air channel device comprises a further output device configured to output at least a portion of the decontaminated air into an environment of the imaging apparatus.
In another embodiment, Rapoport teaches that a thermo-regulated airflow 108 is facilitated from the inner environment to the outside environment, via e.g., opening at the distal end (pars 0261), reading upon a further output device configured to output at least a portion of the decontaminated air post filtration into an environment of the imaging apparatus. This opening i.e. output device would be advantageously applied to the embodiment of FIG. 2d to balance the air intake from opening 113 upstream of the filter (par 0283).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air channel device of Rapoport to include a further output device configured to output a portion of the decontaminated air into the surrounding environment. Doing so would predictably provide the same thermo-regulated airflow to the space while balancing the inflow with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
20. Regarding claim 11, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air filter device is arranged in at least one of a screening tube or a screening container (FIG. 2d, filter 106 arranged within tube containing baby for screening).
21. Regarding claim 12, Rapoport teaches an air channel device (ANTI 100 in which a tube 114 is connecting between the TRV or venting module at the distal end with the TRV at the proximal end, par 0265) for an imaging apparatus (ANTI accommodated within an MRI bore, par 0072, FIGS. 2d and 2p), said air channel device configured to
draw air from the tubular receptacle at an intake device of the air channel device (a tube 114 is connecting between the TRV or venting module at the distal end…which controls the amount of air flowing from the distal TRV, par 0265),
guide drawn-in air through an air filter device of the air channel device for decontamination (airflow is streamed via filter 106, par 0263; FIG. 2d, filter 106), and
output decontaminated air into the tubular receptacle at an output device of the air channel device (airflow is streamed via filter 106 to the inner environment of the incubator, par 0263; FIG. 2d, air output through filter 106).
22. Regarding claim 13, Rapoport discloses a method for operating (fluid venting module…operative in a method, par 0263) an imaging apparatus (ANTI accommodated within an MRI bore, par 0072, FIGS. 2d and 2p) having a tubular receptacle (FIG. 2d, elongated container of ANTI 100) configured to receive an object to be examined by the imaging apparatus (accommodating the neonate parallel to the MRD bore, Abstract, FIG. 2p), the method comprising:
drawing in air from the tubular receptacle via an intake device of an air channel device of the imaging apparatus (tube 114 is connecting between the TRV or venting module at the distal end…which controls the amount of air flowing from the distal TRV, par 0265);
guiding drawn-in air through the air channel device for decontamination by an air filter device (airflow is streamed via filter 106, par 0263; FIG. 2d, filter 106); and
outputting decontaminated air into the tubular receptacle via an output device of the air channel device (airflow is streamed via filter 106 to the inner environment of the incubator, par 0263; FIG. 2d, air output through filter 106), wherein
a main airstream of air is guided along the tubular receptacle from the output device to the intake device via the air channel device (FIG. 2d, airflow arrows from fan/filter at proximal end 101 to distal end 102, described in par 0263), and
the main airstream flows through the tubular receptacle towards a receptacle opening of the tubular receptacle (FIG. 2d, opening in receptacle contains baby).
Rapoport does not specifically teach that the air filter device would be of the air channel device, as the filter is located adjacent to the output device within the tubular receptacle (FIG. 2d, filter 106). However, shifting the position of the filter from adjacent to the output device to just upstream of the output device would not have modified the operation of the device, providing filtered air to all accessible points within the tubular receptacle. As an obvious matter of design choice, this change would not distinguish patentably over the prior art of Rapoport. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to shift the position of the air filter device 106 to be within the air channel device just upstream of the output device in the method of Rapoport, as doing so would predictably provide the same air filtration to the airflow into the tubular receptacle.
23. Regarding claim 14, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the air channel device is configured to adjust the output of the decontaminated air at the output device and an intake of the air at the intake device such that the main airstream through the tubular receptacle has a laminar flow characteristic (force air to flow parallel to the walls of the tubular receptacle in a linear manner, par 0267).
24. Regarding claim 17, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the air channel device is configured to adjust the output of the decontaminated air at the output device and an intake of the air at the intake device such that the main airstream through the tubular receptacle has a laminar flow characteristic (force air to flow parallel to the walls of the tubular receptacle in a linear manner, par 0267).
25. Regarding claim 20, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 5,
wherein the air channel device is configured to adjust the output of the decontaminated air at the output device and an intake of the air at the intake device (tube comprises a regulator 114 which controls the amount of air flowing from the distal TRV 115 and fresh air 113 from the surroundings into the incubator, par 0265). Rapoport does not teach for this embodiment that this adjustment is made such that the main airstream through the tubular receptacle has a laminar flow characteristic .
In another embodiment, Rapoport includes bafflers that force air to flow parallel to the walls of the tubular receptacle in a linear manner (par 0267, FIG. 2f), reading upon the air barrier device claimed. Rapoport teaches that these bafflers, which can advantageously eliminate air turbulences and prevent the neonate from being subjected to perpendicular airflow (par 0267).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air channel device of Rapoport to adjust the main airstream to have a laminar flow characteristic. Incorporating this air baffle structure from the FIG. 2f embodiment of Rapoport would predictably eliminate air turbulences and prevent the imaging object from being subjected to perpendicular airflow in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
26. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport (US 20160206471 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mei (WO 2020037851 A1, references herein made to English Machine Translation).
27. Regarding claim 9, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air filter device may be embodied as an air ionizer to remove contaminants not limited to dust, pollen, mold, bacteria, viruses, volatile organic compounds or ozone, etc. (pars 0128-0129). Rapoport does not specifically teach that this filter device is configured as a plasma filter.
Mei teaches an analogous air filtering and purification device (Abstract) with advantageous miniaturization of filter size while providing sterilization and treatment of gaseous pollutants (par 0003) relying on plasma generation within a ladder shaped module to purify the air that passes through the ladder mesh i.e. plasma filter plane (par 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the air filter device of Rapoport to include a plasma filter as taught by Mei. Doing so would predictably provide sterilization and treatment of gaseous pollutants in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
28. Regarding claim 10, Rapoport as modified by Mei teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the air filter device comprises a plasma filter. However, the combination above does not specifically teach the claimed structure of the plasma filter.
Mei further teaches the structure of the plasma filter, namely at least one electrode device (plasma generating ladder module 7, par 0024, FIGS. 1-7), the at least one electrode device having a first planar composite electrode (left electrode 11 and n left discharge rods 12, par 0024, FIGS. 2-3) and a second planar composite electrode (right electrode 14 and n+1 right discharge rods 15, par 0024), wherein
the first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode are arranged in a reciprocally coplanar manner in a principal surface plane of the at least one electrode device (FIG. 3), and the first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode are physically separated from each other by a discharge gap (reasonable discharge gap “a” for the module DBD dielectric barrier discharge, par 0024, FIG. 3), and
each of first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode has a respective electrode plate (array of left discharge rods 12 and right discharge rods 15) with a respective dielectric coating (a dielectric barrier layer 13 for the left discharge rods, par 0024; dielectric barrier layer 16 of the electric pole, par 0024; FIG. 3) at least at a boundary surface of the respective electrode plate relative to the discharge gap (FIG. 3); and
a voltage source configured to supply an alternating voltage to the at least one electrode device (left and right electrodes are connected to a high-frequency high-voltage power supply, par 0025), wherein
the alternating voltage is parameterized to cause formation of a plasma (frequency range is 50Hz to 40KHz and the voltage is 2KV to 50KV, controlled by the controller 3 to control the opening and closing, thereby controlling the generation of plasma, par 0025) via a dielectric barrier discharge in the discharge gap (discharge gap for the module DBD dielectric barrier discharge, par 0024), and
the plasma filter is configured to guide the air along a filter flow direction (air…passing through the working section of the plasma generating module, par 0023), the filter flow direction being oriented parallel to a normal of the principal surface plane of the at least one electrode device (FIG. 1, flow arrow perpendicular to plane of electrode device 7), and through the discharge gap (FIG. 2, par 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to structure the plasma filter device of modified Rapoport as a first composite electrode and second composite electrode with an alternating voltage source as taught above by Mei. Doing so would predictably provide the same dielectric barrier discharge/plasma generation conditions demonstrated to effectively sterilize and remove contaminants (Mei par 0003). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
29. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport (US 20160206471 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Mei (WO 2020037851 A1, references herein made to English Machine Translation).
30. Regarding claim 15, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the air filter device may be embodied as an air ionizer to remove contaminants not limited to dust, pollen, mold, bacteria, viruses, volatile organic compounds or ozone, etc. (pars 0128-0129). Rapoport does not specifically teach that this filter device is configured as a plasma filter.
Mei teaches an analogous air filtering and purification device (Abstract) with advantageous miniaturization of filter size while providing sterilization and treatment of gaseous pollutants (par 0003) relying on plasma generation within a ladder shaped module to purify the air that passes through the ladder mesh i.e. plasma filter plane (par 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the air filter device of Rapoport to include a plasma filter as taught by Mei. Doing so would predictably provide sterilization and treatment of gaseous pollutants in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
31. Regarding claim 16, Rapoport as modified by Mei teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the air filter device comprises a plasma filter. However, the combination above does not specifically teach the claimed structure of the plasma filter.
Mei further teaches the structure of the plasma filter, namely at least one electrode device (plasma generating ladder module 7, par 0024, FIGS. 1-7), the at least one electrode device having a first planar composite electrode (left electrode 11 and n left discharge rods 12, par 0024, FIGS. 2-3) and a second planar composite electrode (right electrode 14 and n+1 right discharge rods 15, par 0024), wherein
the first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode are arranged in a reciprocally coplanar manner in a principal surface plane of the at least one electrode device (FIG. 3), and the first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode are physically separated from each other by a discharge gap (reasonable discharge gap “a” for the module DBD dielectric barrier discharge, par 0024, FIG. 3), and
each of first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode has a respective electrode plate (array of left discharge rods 12 and right discharge rods 15) with a respective dielectric coating (a dielectric barrier layer 13 for the left discharge rods, par 0024; dielectric barrier layer 16 of the electric pole, par 0024; FIG. 3) at least at a boundary surface of the respective electrode plate relative to the discharge gap (FIG. 3); and
a voltage source configured to supply an alternating voltage to the at least one electrode device (left and right electrodes are connected to a high-frequency high-voltage power supply, par 0025), wherein
the alternating voltage is parameterized to cause formation of a plasma (frequency range is 50Hz to 40KHz and the voltage is 2KV to 50KV, controlled by the controller 3 to control the opening and closing, thereby controlling the generation of plasma, par 0025) via a dielectric barrier discharge in the discharge gap (discharge gap for the module DBD dielectric barrier discharge, par 0024), and
the plasma filter is configured to guide the air along a filter flow direction (air…passing through the working section of the plasma generating module, par 0023), the filter flow direction being oriented parallel to a normal of the principal surface plane of the at least one electrode device (FIG. 1, flow arrow perpendicular to plane of electrode device 7), and through the discharge gap (FIG. 2, par 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to structure the plasma filter device of modified Rapoport as a first composite electrode and second composite electrode with an alternating voltage source as taught above by Mei. Doing so would predictably provide the same dielectric barrier discharge/plasma generation conditions demonstrated to effectively sterilize and remove contaminants (Mei par 0003). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
32. Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport (US 20160206471 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Mei (WO 2020037851 A1, references herein made to English Machine Translation).
33. Regarding claim 18, Rapoport teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air filter device may be embodied as an air ionizer to remove contaminants not limited to dust, pollen, mold, bacteria, viruses, volatile organic compounds or ozone, etc. (pars 0128-0129). Rapoport does not specifically teach that this filter device is configured as a plasma filter.
Mei teaches an analogous air filtering and purification device (Abstract) with advantageous miniaturization of filter size while providing sterilization and treatment of gaseous pollutants (par 0003) relying on plasma generation within a ladder shaped module to purify the air that passes through the ladder mesh i.e. plasma filter plane (par 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the air filter device of Rapoport to include a plasma filter as taught by Mei. Doing so would predictably provide sterilization and treatment of gaseous pollutants in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
34. Regarding claim 19, Rapoport as modified by Mei teaches the imaging apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the air filter device comprises a plasma filter. However, the combination above does not specifically teach the claimed structure of the plasma filter.
Mei further teaches the structure of the plasma filter, namely at least one electrode device (plasma generating ladder module 7, par 0024, FIGS. 1-7), the at least one electrode device having a first planar composite electrode (left electrode 11 and n left discharge rods 12, par 0024, FIGS. 2-3) and a second planar composite electrode (right electrode 14 and n+1 right discharge rods 15, par 0024), wherein
the first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode are arranged in a reciprocally coplanar manner in a principal surface plane of the at least one electrode device (FIG. 3), and the first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode are physically separated from each other by a discharge gap (reasonable discharge gap “a” for the module DBD dielectric barrier discharge, par 0024, FIG. 3), and
each of first planar composite electrode and the second planar composite electrode has a respective electrode plate (array of left discharge rods 12 and right discharge rods 15) with a respective dielectric coating (a dielectric barrier layer 13 for the left discharge rods, par 0024; dielectric barrier layer 16 of the electric pole, par 0024; FIG. 3) at least at a boundary surface of the respective electrode plate relative to the discharge gap (FIG. 3); and
a voltage source configured to supply an alternating voltage to the at least one electrode device (left and right electrodes are connected to a high-frequency high-voltage power supply, par 0025), wherein
the alternating voltage is parameterized to cause formation of a plasma (frequency range is 50Hz to 40KHz and the voltage is 2KV to 50KV, controlled by the controller 3 to control the opening and closing, thereby controlling the generation of plasma, par 0025) via a dielectric barrier discharge in the discharge gap (discharge gap for the module DBD dielectric barrier discharge, par 0024), and
the plasma filter is configured to guide the air along a filter flow direction (air…passing through the working section of the plasma generating module, par 0023), the filter flow direction being oriented parallel to a normal of the principal surface plane of the at least one electrode device (FIG. 1, flow arrow perpendicular to plane of electrode device 7), and through the discharge gap (FIG. 2, par 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to structure the plasma filter device of modified Rapoport as a first composite electrode and second composite electrode with an alternating voltage source as taught above by Mei. Doing so would predictably provide the same dielectric barrier discharge/plasma generation conditions demonstrated to effectively sterilize and remove contaminants (Mei par 0003). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
35. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dencovski et al (US 20220193281 A1) teaches an analogous imaging apparatus wherein the FIG. 21 embodiment demonstrates the integration of an air filtration system into the body of an imaging apparatus to advantageously create the claimed disinfected airflows therethrough (par 0088).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758