DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Guan et al. (CN 113866521 B) and Fletcher et al. (US 20010035815 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna monitoring apparatus (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures 1-5 of Chung et al.) comprising:
a sheet in which a plurality of coupling lines are formed to allow beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled thereto (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.); and
an analyzer configured to analyze performance of the array antenna, based on the intensities of the beams measured by the detectors (Coupled RF energy is fed into a test system 80, serving as an analyzer, which tests the behavior and performance of the antenna which inherently requires analyzing the antenna; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of detectors and wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines, and wherein the plurality of detectors are configured to measure the intensities of beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively.
But, Chung et al. does suggest a plurality of detectors configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, by using the beams radiated from the array antenna (A plurality of test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
However, Guan et al. does disclose a plurality of detectors (Antenna detection system 200 comprises a plurality of coupling lines 1023 of sheet portion 101 wherein these plurality of lines are connected to a plurality of detection units 102 serving as detectors; Pg. 13-17 and figure 2 of Guan et al.).
Fletcher et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (Antenna sensing array 212 comprises a row-column design which comprising first and second lines in a first and second direction forming a grid pattern wherein said lines are designed to behave like coils that can couple the RF signals of a plurality of RFID tags above the sensing array 212 for measurements of their magnitude to determine their locations; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.), wherein the plurality of detectors are configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively (Reader 23 comprises a plurality of detectors in the form of a pair or quadrature mixture of demodulators, such that the signal beams of the plurality of RFID tags, coupled to the lines, can be sensed and there magnitudes can be measured; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.), and wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate an intensity and a direction of the beams radiated from the array antenna based on a two-dimensional measurement of the intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (Device 23 also serves as an analyzer that can use the magnitudes measured form the plurality of RFID tags beams to determine the two-dimensional location of the object which would comprise a two-dimensional measurement of the magnitude of the beams from the line elements in the first and second directions; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. to have a plurality of detectors as taught by Guan et al. to allow RF signals form a test antenna be coupled to an analyzer and since the antenna system of Chung et al. can employ an suitable connection device or mechanism to transmit energy to the test system form the coupling lines (Paragraph 17-26 of Chung et al).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines, wherein the plurality of detectors are configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively, and wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate an intensity and a direction of the beams radiated from the array antenna based on a two-dimensional measurement of the intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines as taught by Fletcher et al. so that the coupling lines in two-directions can be used to determine the two dimension position of the beams (Paragraph 22 of Fletcher et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are arranged at regular intervals (Coupling lines formed by thin strips 18 are discloses at regular intervals on the sheet 16; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Chung et al. and Guan et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams.
However, Fletcher et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Antenna sensing array 212 comprises a row-column design which comprising first and second lines in a first and second direction forming a grid pattern wherein said lines are designed to behave like coils that can couple the RF signals of a plurality of RFID tags above the sensing array 212 for measurements of their magnitude to determine their locations; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams as taught by Fletcher et al. so that the coupling lines in two-directions can be used to determine the two dimension position of the beams (Paragraph 22 of Fletcher et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna beam detection apparatus (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures 1-5 of Chung et al.) comprising:
a sheet in which a plurality of coupling lines are formed to allow beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled thereto (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of detectors and wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines, wherein the measuring comprises measuring intensities of beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively.
But, Chung et al. does suggest a plurality of detectors configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, by using the beams radiated from the array antenna (A plurality of test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
However, Guan et al. does disclose a plurality of detectors (Antenna detection system 200 comprises a plurality of coupling lines 1023 of sheet portion 101 wherein these plurality of lines are connected to a plurality of detection units 102 serving as detectors; Pg. 13-17 and figure 2 of Guan et al.).
Fletcher et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (Antenna sensing array 212 comprises a row-column design which comprising first and second lines in a first and second direction forming a grid pattern wherein said lines are designed to behave like coils that can couple the RF signals of a plurality of RFID tags above the sensing array 212 for measurements of their magnitude to determine their locations; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.), wherein the plurality of detectors are configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively (Reader 23 comprises a plurality of detectors in the form of a pair or quadrature mixture of demodulators, such that the signal beams of the plurality of RFID tags, coupled to the lines, can be sensed and there magnitudes can be measured; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. to have a plurality of detectors as taught by Guan et al. to allow RF signals form a test antenna be coupled to an analyzer and since the antenna system of Chung et al. can employ an suitable connection device or mechanism to transmit energy to the test system form the coupling lines (Paragraph 17-26 of Chung et al).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines, wherein the plurality of detectors are configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively as taught by Fletcher et al. so that the coupling lines in two-directions can be used to determine the two dimension position of the beams (Paragraph 22 of Fletcher et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are arranged at regular intervals (Coupling lines formed by thin strips 18 are discloses at regular intervals on the sheet 16; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are configured to transmit beams in an operating frequency band of the array antenna (Same signal can be used by both the antenna array 12 and the coupling lines of sheet 16 wherein a signal can be inputted into the coupling lines such that they transmit; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Chung et al. and Guan et al. fail to explicitly disclose further comprising an analyzer configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams.
However, Fletcher et al. does disclose further comprising an analyzer configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Antenna sensing array 212 comprises a row-column design which comprising first and second lines in a first and second direction forming a grid pattern wherein said lines are designed to behave like coils that can couple the RF signals of a plurality of RFID tags above the sensing array 212 for measurements of their magnitude to determine their locations wherein said locations is determined by an analyzer 23; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to further comprise an analyzer configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams as taught by Park et al. so that the coupling lines in two-directions can be used to determine the two dimension.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Fletcher et al. (US 20010035815 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna monitoring method comprising (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures and method on using it 1-5 of Chung et al.): allowing beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled to a plurality of coupling lines formed in a sheet;(Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.); measuring intensities of the coupled beams; and analyzing performance of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Coupled RF energy is fed into a test system 80, serving as an analyzer, which tests the behavior and performance of the antenna which inherently requires analyzing the antenna wherein test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines wherein the measuring comprises measuring intensities of beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively, and wherein the analyzing comprises estimating an intensity and a direction of the beams radiated form the array antenna based on a two-dimensional measurement of the intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines
Fletcher et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (Antenna sensing array 212 comprises a row-column design which comprising first and second lines in a first and second direction forming a grid pattern wherein said lines are designed to behave like coils that can couple the RF signals of a plurality of RFID tags above the sensing array 212 for measurements of their magnitude to determine their locations; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.), wherein the measuring comprises measuring intensities of beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively (Reader 23 comprises a plurality of detectors in the form of a pair or quadrature mixture of demodulators, such that the signal beams of the plurality of RFID tags, coupled to the lines, can be sensed and there magnitudes can be measured; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al.), and wherein the analyzing comprises estimating an intensity and a direction of the beams radiated form the array antenna based on a two-dimensional measurement of the intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (Device 23 also serves as an analyzer that can use the magnitudes measured form the plurality of RFID tags beams to determine the two-dimensional location of the object which would comprise a two-dimensional measurement of the magnitude of the beams from the line elements in the first and second directions; Paragraph 6-28 and figure 1-4 of Fletcher et al).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. to have wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines, wherein the measuring comprises measuring intensities of beams coupled to the first coupling lines and intensities of beams coupled to the second coupling lines, respectively, and wherein the analyzing comprises estimating an intensity and a direction of the beams radiated form the array antenna based on a two-dimensional measurement of the intensities of the beams coupled to the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines as taught by Fletcher et al. so that the coupling lines in two-directions can be used to determine the two dimension position of the beams (Paragraph 22 of Fletcher et al.).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Guan et al. (CN 113866521 B), Fletcher et al. (US 20010035815 A1), and Song et al. (US 20190058257 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. fail to disclose wherein the first coupling lines are formed in a first layer of the sheet, and wherein the second coupling lines are formed in a second layer of the sheet which is different from the first layer.
However, Song et al. does disclose wherein the first coupling lines are formed in a first layer of the sheet, and wherein the second coupling lines are formed in a second layer of the sheet which is different from the first layer (E-Plane layer 1610 comprises first horizontal coupling lines in the form of wires 1613 and second H-plane layer 1630, different form the first, comprises second coupling lines 1633 wherein said layers can act as a filter wherein thickness, spacing, and placement of wires determines the filters operating characteristics; Paragraph 108-132 and 157-172 as well as figure 7-16 of Song et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. to have the first coupling lines be formed in a first layer of the sheet, and wherein the second coupling lines are formed in a second layer of the sheet which is different from the first layer as taught by Song et al. such that the lines can be formed in a grid pattern to block out certain frequencies and allow other frequencies to pass through (Paragraph 105 of Song et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are configured to transmit beams in an operating frequency band of the array antenna (Same signal can be used by both the antenna array 12 and the coupling lines of sheet 16 wherein a signal can be inputted into the coupling lines such that they transmit; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Chung et al. further to disclose wherein the coupling lines are formed as metal patterns (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines wherein these coupling lines are metal patterns; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. fail to disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna.
However, Song et al. does disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna (E-Plane layer 1610 comprises first horizontal coupling lines in the form of wires 1613 and second H-plane layer 1630, different form the first, comprises second coupling lines 1633 wherein said layers can act as a filter wherein thickness, spacing, and placement of wires determines the filters operating characteristics; Paragraph 108-132 and 157-172 as well as figure 7-16 of Song et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. to have the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna as taught by Song et al. such that the lines can be formed in a grid pattern to block out certain frequencies and allow other frequencies to pass through (Paragraph 105 of Song et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Chung et al. further to disclose wherein the coupling lines are formed as metal patterns (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines wherein these coupling lines are metal patterns; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. fail to disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna.
However, Song et al. does disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna (E-Plane layer 1610 comprises first horizontal coupling lines in the form of wires 1613 and second H-plane layer 1630, different form the first, comprises second coupling lines 1633 wherein said layers can act as a filter wherein thickness, spacing, and placement of wires determines the filters operating characteristics; Paragraph 108-132 and 157-172 as well as figure 7-16 of Song et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. to have the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna as taught by Song et al. such that the lines can be formed in a grid pattern to block out certain frequencies and allow other frequencies to pass through (Paragraph 105 of Song et al.).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Guan et al. (CN 113866521 B), Fletcher et al. (US 20010035815 A1), and Park et al. (KR 101389837 B1).
Regarding Claim 8, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. fail to disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array antenna is operating.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array antenna is operating (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. to have the detectors be configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array antenna is operating as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. fail to disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Regarding Claim 16, Chung et al. and Guan et al. fail to disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array antenna is operating.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array antenna is operating (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the detectors be configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array antenna is operating as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. fail to disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Fletcher et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, and 15-17, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20080238885 A1 (Zachut; Rafi et al.) further discloses a sensing array formed by coupling conductive lines in a first and second direction wherein each set of lines are disposed in different layers to couple RF signals from a plurality of RFID antennas as recited in claim 1 and 3.
US 20040095333 A1 (Morag, Meir et al.) further discloses a sensing array formed by conducting lines in two directions on two different layers wherein said lines are connected to a plurality of detectors.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845