Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on February 12th 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on November 14th 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 and 16 – “array of antenna” should just be “array antenna”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Yen et al. (US 20110316750 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna monitoring method comprising (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures and method on using it 1-5 of Chung et al.): allowing beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled to a plurality of coupling lines formed in a sheet;(Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.); measuring intensities of the coupled beams; and analyzing performance of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Coupled RF energy is fed into a test system 80, serving as an analyzer, which tests the behavior and performance of the antenna which inherently requires analyzing the antenna wherein test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines.
Yen et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction (Antenna apparatus 400 comprises a plurality of coupling lines with coupling elements like 420/425 serving as first coupling wires in a first direction and dissipater elements 440/445 serve as second coupling wires in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction wherein elements 420/425 and 440/445 may be made from a metal wire and serve to couple radio waves form an antenna like 310; Paragraph 46-62 and 99-105 as well as figure 3-4 of Yen et al.) such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (As seen in figure 4 the arrangement of first coupling lines 420/425 and second coupling lines 440/445 form a semi-grid pattern however the first coupling lines 420/425 may comprise a plurality of coupling lines that would from a grid pattern with the second coupling lines; Paragraph 49-63 and figure 3-4 of Yen et al.).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines as taught by Yen et al. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivations stems from the wanting the coupling lines to be orientated for predetermined polarizations such that they couple strongly to their matching polarization radio waves to maximize coupling (Paragraph 51-54 and 59-62 of Yen et al.) and since a grid pattern would create more coupling points.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Guan et al. (CN 113866521 B) and Yen et al. (US 20110316750 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna monitoring apparatus (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures 1-5 of Chung et al.) comprising:
a sheet in which a plurality of coupling lines are formed to allow beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled thereto (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.); and
an analyzer configured to analyze performance of the array antenna, based on the intensities of the beams measured by the detectors (Coupled RF energy is fed into a test system 80, serving as an analyzer, which tests the behavior and performance of the antenna which inherently requires analyzing the antenna; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Although Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of detectors and wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines.
Chung et al. does suggest a plurality of detectors configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, by using the beams radiated from the array antenna (A plurality of test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
However, Guan et al. does disclose a plurality of detectors (Antenna detection system 200 comprises a plurality of coupling lines 1023 of sheet portion 101 wherein these plurality of lines are connected to a plurality of detection units 102 serving as detectors; Pg. 13-17 and figure 2 of Guan et al.).
Yen et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction (Antenna apparatus 400 comprises a plurality of coupling lines with coupling elements like 420/425 serving as first coupling wires in a first direction and dissipater elements 440/445 serve as second coupling wires in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction wherein elements 420/425 and 440/445 may be made from a metal wire and serve to couple radio waves form an antenna like 310; Paragraph 46-62 and 99-105 as well as figure 3-4 of Yen et al.) such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (As seen in figure 4 the arrangement of first coupling lines 420/425 and second coupling lines 440/445 form a semi-grid pattern however the first coupling lines 420/425 may comprise a plurality of coupling lines that would from a grid pattern with the second coupling lines; Paragraph 49-63 and figure 3-4 of Yen et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. to have a plurality of detectors as taught by Guan et al. to allow RF signals form a test antenna be coupled to an analyzer and since the antenna system of Chung et al. can employ an suitable connection device or mechanism to transmit energy to the test system form the coupling lines (Paragraph 17-26 of Chung et al). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines as taught by Yen et al. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivations stems from the wanting the coupling lines to be orientated for predetermined polarizations such that they couple strongly to their matching polarization radio waves to maximize coupling (Paragraph 51-54 and 59-62 of Yen et al.) and since a grid pattern would create more coupling points.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 2, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are arranged at regular intervals (Coupling lines formed by thin strips 18 are discloses at regular intervals on the sheet 16; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Chung et al. and Guan et al. fail to disclose wherein the first coupling lines are formed in a first layer of the sheet, and wherein the second coupling lines are formed in a second layer of the sheet which is different from the first line.
However, Yen et al. does disclose wherein the first coupling lines are formed in a first layer of the sheet, and wherein the second coupling lines are formed in a second layer of the sheet which is different from the first line (The first coupling lines like 100/420/425 may be formed in a first layer like 142 and second coupling lines like 120/440/450 may be formed in a different separate layer like layer 146; Paragraph 42, 84, and 93-104 as well as figure 1 of Yen et al.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the first coupling lines be formed in a first layer of the sheet, and wherein the second coupling lines are formed in a second layer of the sheet which is different from the first line as taught by Yen et al. to allow the coupling lines to be implemented in a single substrate wherein spacing affects the coupling effect (Paragraph 84-85 and 104 of Yen et al.) and to allow the coupling lines to form a grid pattern.
Regarding Claim 5, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are configured to transmit beams in an operating frequency band of the array antenna (Same signal can be used by both the antenna array 12 and the coupling lines of sheet 16 wherein a signal can be inputted into the coupling lines such that they transmit; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 10, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna monitoring method comprising (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures and method on using it 1-5 of Chung et al.): allowing beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled to a plurality of coupling lines formed in a sheet;(Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.); measuring intensities of the coupled beams; and analyzing performance of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Coupled RF energy is fed into a test system 80, serving as an analyzer, which tests the behavior and performance of the antenna which inherently requires analyzing the antenna wherein test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines.
Yen et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction (Antenna apparatus 400 comprises a plurality of coupling lines with coupling elements like 420/425 serving as first coupling wires in a first direction and dissipater elements 440/445 serve as second coupling wires in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction wherein elements 420/425 and 440/445 may be made from a metal wire and serve to couple radio waves form an antenna like 310; Paragraph 46-62 and 99-105 as well as figure 3-4 of Yen et al.) such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (As seen in figure 4 the arrangement of first coupling lines 420/425 and second coupling lines 440/445 form a semi-grid pattern however the first coupling lines 420/425 may comprise a plurality of coupling lines that would from a grid pattern with the second coupling lines; Paragraph 49-63 and figure 3-4 of Yen et al.).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines as taught by Yen et al. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivations stems from the wanting the coupling lines to be orientated for predetermined polarizations such that they couple strongly to their matching polarization radio waves to maximize coupling (Paragraph 51-54 and 59-62 of Yen et al.) and since a grid pattern would create more coupling points.
Regarding Claim 11, Chung et al. does disclose an antenna beam detection apparatus (Antenna monitoring system 10 as seen in figures 1-5 of Chung et al.) comprising:
a sheet in which a plurality of coupling lines are formed to allow beams radiated from an array antenna to be coupled thereto (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Although Chung et al. fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of detectors and wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines. Chung et al. does suggest a plurality of detectors configured to measure intensities of the beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, by using the beams radiated from the array antenna (A plurality of test connection devices 20 with impedance transformers 44 and ports 30 are used to couple RF energy form the conductive layer 16 to the test system 80 and can comprise any suitable electrical connection device which would include detectors wherein the coupled energy is fed into the test system 80 to determine antenna performance and behavior through a built in test(BIT) simulation which can measure things like beam strength and phase; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
However, Guan et al. does disclose a plurality of detectors (Antenna detection system 200 comprises a plurality of coupling lines 1023 of sheet portion 101 wherein these plurality of lines are connected to a plurality of detection units 102 serving as detectors; Pg. 13-17 and figure 2 of Guan et al.).
Yen et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction (Antenna apparatus 400 comprises a plurality of coupling lines with coupling elements like 420/425 serving as first coupling wires in a first direction and dissipater elements 440/445 serve as second coupling wires in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction wherein elements 420/425 and 440/445 may be made from a metal wire and serve to couple radio waves form an antenna like 310; Paragraph 46-62 and 99-105 as well as figure 3-4 of Yen et al.) such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines (As seen in figure 4 the arrangement of first coupling lines 420/425 and second coupling lines 440/445 form a semi-grid pattern however the first coupling lines 420/425 may comprise a plurality of coupling lines that would from a grid pattern with the second coupling lines; Paragraph 49-63 and figure 3-4 of Yen et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. to have a plurality of detectors as taught by Guan et al. to allow RF signals form a test antenna be coupled to an analyzer and since the antenna system of Chung et al. can employ an suitable connection device or mechanism to transmit energy to the test system form the coupling lines (Paragraph 17-26 of Chung et al). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al. and Guan et al. to have the plurality of coupling lines comprise first coupling lines of a first direction and second coupling lines of a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction such that a grid pattern is formed with the first coupling lines and the second coupling lines as taught by Yen et al. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivations stems from the wanting the coupling lines to be orientated for predetermined polarizations such that they couple strongly to their matching polarization radio waves to maximize coupling (Paragraph 51-54 and 59-62 of Yen et al.) and since a grid pattern would create more coupling points.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 12, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are arranged at regular intervals (Coupling lines formed by thin strips 18 are discloses at regular intervals on the sheet 16; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Chung et al. further discloses wherein the coupling lines are configured to transmit beams in an operating frequency band of the array antenna (Same signal can be used by both the antenna array 12 and the coupling lines of sheet 16 wherein a signal can be inputted into the coupling lines such that they transmit; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Guan et al. (CN 113866521 B), Yen et al. (US 20110316750 A1), and Song et al. (US 20190058257 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Chung et al. further to disclose wherein the coupling lines are formed as metal patterns (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines wherein these coupling lines are metal patterns; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna.
However, Song et al. does disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna (E-Plane layer 1610 comprises first horizontal coupling lines in the form of wires 1613 and second H-plane layer 1630, different form the first, comprises second coupling lines 1633 wherein said layers can act as a filter wherein thickness, spacing, and placement of wires determines the filters operating characteristics; Paragraph 108-132 and 157-172 as well as figure 7-16 of Song et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna as taught by Song et al. such that the lines can be formed in a grid pattern to block out certain frequencies and allow other frequencies to pass through (Paragraph 105 of Song et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Chung et al. further to disclose wherein the coupling lines are formed as metal patterns (Sheet 16 comprises conductive elements 18 that take the form of thin strips that can couple RF energy from the antenna 12 and as such serve as coupling lines wherein these coupling lines are metal patterns; Paragraph 1-26 and figure 1 of Chung et al.).
Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna.
However, Song et al. does disclose wherein the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna (E-Plane layer 1610 comprises first horizontal coupling lines in the form of wires 1613 and second H-plane layer 1630, different form the first, comprises second coupling lines 1633 wherein said layers can act as a filter wherein thickness, spacing, and placement of wires determines the filters operating characteristics; Paragraph 108-132 and 157-172 as well as figure 7-16 of Song et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the coupling lines have a thickness, a spacing, and an inter-layer distance adjusted to have a band pass filter characteristic in the operating frequency band of the antenna as taught by Song et al. such that the lines can be formed in a grid pattern to block out certain frequencies and allow other frequencies to pass through (Paragraph 105 of Song et al.).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20030025646 A1) in view of Guan et al. (CN 113866521 B), Yen et al. (US 20110316750 A1), and Park et al. (KR 101389837 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 8, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array of antenna is operating.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array of antenna is operating (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the detectors be configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array of antenna is operating as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 9, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 15, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate a directionality of the array antenna, based on the measured intensities of beams as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 16, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array of antenna is operating.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the detectors are configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array of antenna is operating (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the detectors be configured to measure intensities of beams coupled to the coupling lines, respectively, while the array of antenna is operating as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 17, Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. fail to disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time (Coupling lines 13b/14b couple Rf signals to a detector in the signal processor 16 that calculates the power and phase and then stores in into a data storage 17 wherein a said data can be analyzed to figure out beam intensity and direction and then a correction signal can be applied to the antenna elements through the coupling lines with corrected phase and power to provide beam steering in real time; Pg. 3-6 and figure 4-5 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Chung et al., Guan et al., and Yen et al. to have the analyzer be configured to estimate the directionality of the array antenna before the array antenna is released or in real time as taught by Park et al. to allow the antenna to calibrate the antenna and control the beam power and phase to enable beam steering (Pg. 1-3 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
CN 111077378 B (GU, Sheng-ming et al.) discloses an antenna array with two coupling lines that couple RF energy form the array to measure the antenna characteristics.
US 10659175 B2 (Huynh; Minh-Chau et al.) discloses an probe array formed from strip dipole elements serving as coupling lines that couple energy form an antenna and radiates that coupled Rf energy to a detector antenna and analyzer.
GB 804910 A (MORENO CHARLES A) discloses a filter comprising vertical elements and horizontal elements on two different layers for an antenna radar system.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845