Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Werner et al. (US 20220045409 A1, provided in applicant’s IDS filed 10/24/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Werner teaches a battery housing (pack) for a vehicle that contains a drainage device with a pathway (conduit), 24, where the device has a first end of the pathway located inside the housing and a second end of the pathway located outside the housing (Fig. 1, 0007). The drainage device further has a valve, 26, within the pathway that controls the fluid flow from one end to another (0008) which is controlled by an evaluation unit (processor), 38, that is able to open or close the drainage valve in response to both inside and outside battery conditions, such as moisture content, detected via multiple inside and outside sensors, such as 34 and 44 (0022 0023).
Regarding claim 2, Werner teaches the drain assembly of claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the exterior sensor is disposed proximate the second end outside the housing (0013). The criteria is met because proximate is a broad term and the sensor needs to measure data received from the atmosphere around the second end in order to make a proper decision on whether or not to open the valve.
Regarding claim 3, Werner teaches the drain assembly of claim 1 as described above and further teaches an interior sensor, 32, which measures a fill level of a fluid (0022).
Regarding claim 4, Werner teaches the drain assembly of claim 3 as described above and further teaches that the processor takes into account both the inner pressure and fluid level as well as the moisture content of the outside before opening the valve to ensure that condensation water does not enter the battery (0022 0023).
Regarding claim 6, Werner teaches the drain assembly of claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the exterior sensor in along the outside of the conduit, see Figure 1 below.
Regarding claim 8, Werner teaches a battery housing (pack) for a vehicle that contains a drainage device with a pathway (conduit), 24, where the device has a first end of the pathway located inside the housing and a second end of the pathway located outside the housing (Fig. 1, 0007). The drainage device further has a valve, 26, within the pathway that controls the fluid flow from one end to another (0008) which is controlled by an evaluation unit (processor), 38, that is able to open or close the drainage valve in response to both inside and outside battery conditions, such as moisture content, detected via multiple inside and outside sensors, such as 34 and 44 (0022 0023).
Regarding claim 9, Werner teaches claim 8 as described above and further teaches that the exterior sensor is disposed proximate the second end outside the housing (0013). The criteria is met because proximate is a broad term and the sensor needs to measure data received from the atmosphere around the second end in order to make a proper decision on whether or not to open the valve.
Regarding claim 10, Werner teaches claim 8 as described above and further teaches an interior sensor, 32, which measures a fill level of a fluid (0022).
Regarding claim 11, Werner teaches claim 10 as described above and further teaches that the processor takes into account both the inner pressure and fluid level as well as the moisture content of the outside before opening the valve to ensure that condensation water does not enter the battery (0022 0023).
Regarding claim 13, Werner teaches claim 8 as described above and further teaches that the exterior sensor in along the outside of the conduit, see Figure 1 below.
Regarding claim 15, Werner teaches a battery housing (pack) for a vehicle that contains a drainage device with a pathway (conduit), 24, where the device has a first end of the pathway located inside the housing and a second end of the pathway located outside the housing (Fig. 1, 0007). The drainage device further has a valve, 26, within the pathway that controls the fluid flow from one end to another (0008) which is controlled by an evaluation unit (processor), 38, that is able to open or close the drainage valve in response to both inside and outside battery conditions, such as moisture content, detected via multiple inside and outside sensors, such as 34 and 44 (0022 0023).
Regarding claim 16, Werner teaches claim 15 as described above and further teaches that the exterior sensor is disposed proximate the second end outside the housing (0013). The criteria is met because proximate is a broad term and the sensor needs to measure data received from the atmosphere around the second end in order to make a proper decision on whether or not to open the valve.
Regarding claim 17, Werner teaches claim 15 as described above and further teaches an interior sensor, 32, which measures a fill level of a fluid (0022). Werner further teaches that the processor takes into account both the inner pressure and fluid level as well as the moisture content of the outside before opening the valve to ensure that condensation water does not enter the battery (0022 0023).
Regarding claim 19, Werner teaches claim 15 as described above and further teaches that the exterior sensor in along the outside of the conduit, see Figure 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner et al. (US 20220045409 A1, provided in applicant’s IDS filed 10/24/2024) in view of Yebka et al. (US 20130143077 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Werner teaches the drain assembly of claim 1 as described above but is silent to how the processor itself is being powered prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. Yebka teaches an electrochemical cell package with management circuitry, such as a controller, that monitors and controls various sensors (Yebka 0020). Yebka further teaches that the management circuitry has a dedicated battery in order to work (Yebka fig. 1, 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the drain assembly of Werner and have the processor be powered by a dedicated battery in order to provide it with electricity to work.
Regarding claim 12, Werner teaches claim 8 as described above but is silent to how the processor itself is being powered prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. Yebka teaches an electrochemical cell package with management circuitry, such as a controller, that monitors and controls various sensors (Yebka 0020). Yebka further teaches that the management circuitry has a dedicated battery in order to work (Yebka fig. 1, 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the drain assembly of Werner and have the processor be powered by a dedicated battery in order to provide it with electricity to work.
Regarding claim 18, Werner teaches claim 15 as described above but is silent to how the processor itself is being powered prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. Yebka teaches an electrochemical cell package with management circuitry, such as a controller, that monitors and controls various sensors (Yebka 0020). Yebka further teaches that the management circuitry has a dedicated battery in order to work (Yebka fig. 1, 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the drain assembly of Werner and have the processor be powered by a dedicated battery in order to provide it with electricity to work.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner et al. (US 20220045409 A1, provided in applicant’s IDS filed 10/24/2024) in view of Landvik et al. (US 20230011751 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Werner teaches the drain assembly of claim 1 as described above but is silent to the processor sending a signal to a vehicle diagnostics circuit, prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. One of ordinary skill would then come across Landvik which teaches a vehicle with fluid sensors in the battery pack that actuate a valve in order to change the amount of fluid in the battery housing. Landvik further teaches that the processor (control unit) can send instructions to an operator or rescue personnel informing them about the condition of the battery in order to take the necessary steps to properly control the battery (Landvik 0075 0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the drain assembly of Werner and configure the processor to be capable of sending information and instructions to an operator via a dashboard, screen, or any other visual/auditory aid as described in Landvik in order to properly control the battery.
Regarding claim 14, Werner teaches claim 8 as described above but is silent to the processor sending a signal to a vehicle diagnostics circuit, prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. One of ordinary skill would then come across Landvik which teaches a vehicle with fluid sensors in the battery pack that actuate a valve in order to change the amount of fluid in the battery housing. Landvik further teaches that the processor (control unit) can send instructions to an operator or rescue personnel informing them about the condition of the battery in order to take the necessary steps to properly control the battery (Landvik 0075 0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the drain assembly of Werner and configure the processor to be capable of sending information and instructions to an operator via a dashboard, screen, or any other visual/auditory aid as described in Landvik in order to properly control the battery.
Regarding claim 20, Werner teaches claim 15 as described above but is silent to the processor sending a signal to a vehicle diagnostics circuit, prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. One of ordinary skill would then come across Landvik which teaches a vehicle with fluid sensors in the battery pack that actuate a valve in order to change the amount of fluid in the battery housing. Landvik further teaches that the processor (control unit) can send instructions to an operator or rescue personnel informing them about the condition of the battery in order to take the necessary steps to properly control the battery (Landvik 0075 0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the drain assembly of Werner and configure the processor to be capable of sending information and instructions to an operator via a dashboard, screen, or any other visual/auditory aid as described in Landvik in order to properly control the battery.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728