DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-10 are pending; claim 1 and 6 are independent. Claims 2 and 7 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim(s) contains subject matter (… such that a size of the at least one widget or menu icon is maintained), claim 1, lines 17-18 and claim 6, lines 20-21, which was not described in the specification of the instant application and (figs 19A-19D) which is provided by the applicant’s remark illustrated that the size of all widgets or menu icons is change, applicant would be advised to point description support or delete this subject matter from the claims.
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 have rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (US 2018/0232057), in view of Pieree (US 2017/0090695), in view of Kim (US 2014/0019910), hereinafter Kim, and further in view of Kim (US 2009/0058829), hereinafter “Kim29”.
Regarding claim 1, Takada teaches a display method using a position detection apparatus, (fig. 3 and fig. 10), the method comprising:
displaying, by a processor, at least one widget or menu icon to a length corresponding to at least a portion of an area of a display screen in one direction (fig. 4 and Par 0044, wherein the NAVI icon and the AV icon are displayed on a display unit112);
aligning, by the processor, the at least one widget or menu icon based on a manipulating position of an object or a detected position of the object, in response to the object approaching the display screen (fig. 3, S302 and Para 0045, wherein the sensing unit 103 monitors whether the user's hand is detected in region 1 such as the one shown in FIG. 4. If the user's hand is detected in region 1 (S302: “Is hand detected in region 1?” Yes) as shown in FIG. 5.In Para 0046, the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to move a predetermined icon, displayed by the display unit 112, to the right side, that is, to the driver's side in such a way that the NAVI button shown in FIG. 5 is moved (S304: “Move predetermined icon to predetermined position”); and
activating at least one of the at least one widget or menu icon based on the detected position of the object (fig. 3, S308, S309, S310 and Paras 0048-0049, wherein. if the sensing unit 103 detects that the user's hand is present in region 1 (S305: “Is user's hand present in region 1?” Yes) and that the user's hand is present in region 2 in FIG. 6 (S308: “Is user's hand present in region 2 or region 3?” region 2), the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to display the lower-level menu of the NAVI icon in a fan-like manner (S309: “Expand menu of predetermined icon”) as shown in FIG. 6);
wherein the displaying includes displaying, by the processor, detailed information corresponding to an activated menu icon on the display screen, in response to an approach distance of the object to the display screen being within a critical distance (fig. 3, S309 and Para 0048, wherein. if the sensing unit 103 detects that the user's hand is present in region 1 (S305: “Is user's hand present in region 1?” Yes) and that the user's hand is present in region 2 in FIG. 6 (S308: “Is user's hand present in region 2 or region 3?” region 2), the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to display the lower-level menu of the NAVI icon in a fan-like manner (S309: “Expand menu of predetermined icon”) as shown in FIGs 6 and 7).
Takada apparently does not explicitly teach the italicized portions of:
displaying, by a processor, at least one widget or menu icon to a length corresponding to at least a portion of an area of a display screen in one direction based on information about a size of the display screen.
However, Pieree discloses “displaying, by a processor, at least one widget or menu icon… based on information about a size of the display screen”, see Para 0026.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display method of Takada applying the teaching of Pieree to adjust the displayed content based on a size of the display screen, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Takada in view of Pieree does not expressly disclose wherein the manipulating position of the object is determined based on a shape of the object.
However, Kim discloses wherein the manipulating position of the object is determined based on a shape of the object, see fig. 6 and Paras 0087-0090.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display method of Takada in view of Pieree by applying the teaching of Kim wherein a decisions to move the higher or lower folder level folder or whether to previous on next folder on the same level can be determined according to the direction (horizontal or vertical) of the gesture or the shape of the gesture (e.g. shape of the hand indicating a certain number), as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the alignment of the at least one widget or menu icon is dynamically adjusted based on the position of the object within a predefined region of the display screen such that a size of the at least one widget or menu icon is maintained.
However, “Kim29” discloses wherein the alignment of the at least one widget or menu icon is dynamically adjusted based on the position of the object within a predefined region of the display screen such that a size of the at least one widget or menu icon is maintained, see figs 8-15 and Paras 0062-0069.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display method of Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim with the teaching of “Kim29”, In the state in which the main menu is displayed (fig. 8), as an object (e.g. finger) of a user approaches the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), the configuration of a graphic object (an icon 303) of a text message, is visually changed. as the finger enters the first and second regions 305b and 305c, the icon 303 is can be expanded step by step (fig. 10). In a state in which keypads are displayed on the mobile terminal 300, the finger or object is positioned in a space corresponding to a dotted part 307 (fig. 12), when the finger or object is positioned at the outside 305a of the recognition region of the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), all keypads are displayed with the same size. When the finger or object is positioned in the first region 305b of the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), the part 307 corresponding to the position of the finger is expanded (fig. 13). Also, when the finger or object is positioned in the second region 305c of the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), the configuration of the graphic object of the part 307 corresponding to the position of the finger can be changed. Thus, the user can recognize the distance between the finger and the touchscreen 301 according to the degree of expansion of the part 307 corresponding to the position of the finger, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 3, Takada in view of Pieree in view of Kim and in view of “Kim 29” teaches the display method according to claim 1, further comprising realigning, by the processor, the at least one widget based on the detected position of the object, in response to the object deviating from a region corresponding to a widget display range of the display screen (fig. 3, S310 and Para 0049, wherein, if the sensing unit 103 detects that the user's hand is present in region 3 in FIG. 7 (S308: “Is user's hand present in region 2 or region 3?” region 3), the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to display the lower-level menu of the AV icon in a fan-like manner (S310: “Expand menu of predetermined icon”) as shown in FIG. 7, Takada).
Regarding claim 4, Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim and in view of “Kim 29” teaches the display method according to claim 1, wherein the manipulating position of the object is set in advance in a memory or a storage device, is further determined based on a position at which the object is first detected, or is determined based on a stretching direction of the object (Para 0035, Takada).
Regarding claim 5, Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim and in view of “Kim 29” teaches the display method according to claim 1, wherein, in the displaying of the at least one widget or menu icon, the at least one widget or menu icon is displayed based on the size of the display screen and information about a screen mode, the size of the display screen is one of sizes corresponding to a small-sized screen, a middle-sized screen, and a large-sized screen, and the screen mode is one of a full screen mode or a split screen mode (Para 0026, Pieree).
Regarding claim 6, Takada teaches a position detection apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a display configured to display information on a display screen (figs 1-4, a display unit 112 and Para 0042, wherein the display unit 112, is a device that presents video information to the user, includes a display unit such as a LCD);
a linear infrared (IR) sensor configured to detect an object configured to approach the display (fig. 2 and Para 0031-0032); and
a processor configured to:
display at least one widget or menu icon to a length corresponding to at least a portion of an area of the display screen in one direction (fig. 4 and Para 0044, wherein the NAVI icon and the AV icon are displayed on a display unit112),
align the at least one widget or menu icon based on a manipulating position of the object or a detected position of the object, based on that the object approaches the display screen (fig. 3, S302 and Para 0045, wherein the sensing unit 103 monitors whether the user's hand is detected in region 1 such as the one shown in FIG. 4. If the user's hand is detected in region 1 (S302: “Is hand detected in region 1?” Yes) as shown in FIG. 5.In Para 0046, the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to move a predetermined icon, displayed by the display unit 112, to the right side, that is, to the driver's side in such a way that the NAVI button shown in FIG. 5 is moved (S304: “Move predetermined icon to predetermined position”), and
activate at least one of the at least one widget or menu icon based on the detected position of the object (fig. 3, S308, S309, S310 and Paras 0048-0049, wherein. if the sensing unit 103 detects that the user's hand is present in region 1 (S305: “Is user's hand present in region 1?” Yes) and that the user's hand is present in region 2 in FIG. 6 (S308: “Is user's hand present in region 2 or region 3?” region 2), the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to display the lower-level menu of the NAVI icon in a fan-like manner (S309: “Expand menu of predetermined icon”) as shown in FIG. 6);
wherein the processor further displays detailed information corresponding to an activated menu icon on the display screen, based on that an approach distance of the object to the display screen is within a critical distance (fig. 3, S309 and Para 0048, wherein. if the sensing unit 103 detects that the user's hand is present in region 1 (S305: “Is user's hand present in region 1?” Yes) and that the user's hand is present in region 2 in FIG. 6 (S308: “Is user's hand present in region 2 or region 3?” region 2), the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to display the lower-level menu of the NAVI icon in a fan-like manner (S309: “Expand menu of predetermined icon”) as shown in FIGs 6 and 7).
Takada apparently does not explicitly teach the italicized portions of:
display at least one widget or menu icon to a length corresponding to at least a portion of an area of the display screen in one direction based on information about a size of the display screen.
However, Pieree discloses “displaying, by a processor, at least one widget or menu icon… based on information about a size of the display screen”, see Para 0026.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a position detection apparatus of Takada by applying the teaching of Pieree to adjust the displayed content based on a size of the display screen, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Takada in view of Pieree does not expressly disclose wherein the manipulating position of the object is determined based on a shape of the object.
However, Kim discloses wherein the manipulating position of the object is determined based on a shape of the object, see fig. 6 and Paras 0087-0090.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display method of Takada in view of Pieree by applying the teaching of Kim wherein a decisions to move the higher or lower folder level folder or whether to previous on next folder on the same level can be determined according to the direction (horizontal or vertical) of the gesture or the shape of the gesture (e.g. shape of the hand indicating a certain number), as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the alignment of the at least one widget or menu icon is dynamically adjusted based on the position of the object within a predefined region of the display screen such that a size of the at least one widget or menu icon is maintained.
However, “Kim29” discloses wherein the alignment of the at least one widget or menu icon is dynamically adjusted based on the position of the object within a predefined region of the display screen such that a size of the at least one widget or menu icon is maintained, see figs 8-15 and Paras 0062-0069.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display method of Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim with the teaching of “Kim29”, In the state in which the main menu is displayed (fig. 8), as an object (e.g. finger) of a user approaches the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), the configuration of a graphic object (an icon 303) of a text message, is visually changed. as the finger enters the first and second regions 305b and 305c, the icon 303 is can be expanded step by step (fig. 10). In a state in which keypads are displayed on the mobile terminal 300, the finger or object is positioned in a space corresponding to a dotted part 307 (fig. 12), when the finger or object is positioned at the outside 305a of the recognition region of the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), all keypads are displayed with the same size. When the finger or object is positioned in the first region 305b of the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), the part 307 corresponding to the position of the finger is expanded (fig. 13). Also, when the finger or object is positioned in the second region 305c of the touchscreen 301 (fig. 9), the configuration of the graphic object of the part 307 corresponding to the position of the finger can be changed. Thus, the user can recognize the distance between the finger and the touchscreen 301 according to the degree of expansion of the part 307 corresponding to the position of the finger, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 8, Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim and in view of “Kim 29” teaches the position detection apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor realigns the at least one widget based on the detected position of the object, when the object deviates from a region corresponding to a widget display range of the display screen (fig. 3, S310 and Para 0049, wherein, if the sensing unit 103 detects that the user's hand is present in region 3 in FIG. 7 (S308: “Is user's hand present in region 2 or region 3?” region 3), the vehicle-mounted device control unit 102 performs control for the display unit 112 to display the lower-level menu of the AV icon in a fan-like manner (S310: “Expand menu of predetermined icon”) as shown in FIG. 7, Takada).
Regarding claim 9, Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim and in view of “Kim 29” teaches the position detection apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the manipulating position of the object is set in advance in a memory or a storage device, is further determined based on a position at which the object is first detected, or is determined based on a stretching direction of the object (Para 0035, Takada).
Regarding claim 10, Takada in view of Pieree and in view of Kim and in view of “Kim 29” teaches the position detection apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor displays the at least one widget or menu icon based on the size of the display screen and information about a screen mode, the size of the display screen is one of sizes corresponding to a small-sized screen, a middle-sized screen, and a large-sized screen, and the screen mode is one of a full screen mode or a split screen mode (Para 0026, Pieree).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho (US 2018/0217670), relates to a vehicle display device and a vehicle including the vehicle display device.
Ward (US 2016/0202871), relates to an apparatus and method for controlling zooming of a display, and particularly a touch screen display, by using proximity detection.
Hsu (US 2012/0192111), relate to a user interface of an electronic device, and more particularly to a method for varying icon sizes of the menu icons displayed in the user interface and the electronic device using the same.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 7/23/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625