DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim bears an incorrect status identifier. No current amendment is present Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claim 1, line 3, the limitation providing a width of said top portion being less than a width of said bottom portion constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed specification and cannot be added. In line 5, the feature, “semi-annular surface” constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed application and cannot be added. In line 7, the feature, “concave portion” constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed specification and cannot be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly, U.S. Patent Application No. 2016/0231077, in view of Estevo et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0136565. As to Claim 1, Kelly teaches a handle (20) for an archery release, paragraph 0040. The handle may comprise a body (22) having a longitudinal axis (28), paragraphs 0040 and 0041. The body may have a front, rear, top and bottom portions and side surfaces extending between front, rear, top and bottom portions, see drawing below. Kelly does not specify that the width of the bottom portion may be less than the width of the top portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the top portion with lesser width since it has been held that configuration of parts of an invention is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that a particular claimed configuration was significant, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The top portion of the body may contain a semi-annular surface (16) configured to support a finger of an archer, paragraph 0043. Side surfaces may each contain a recess (arced or curved surfaces) extending from an edge of the semi-annular surface toward the bottom portion, paragraph 0043 and see Figures 2A and 2B. The recess extends away from the semi-annular surface, see Figure 1A, and may be considered perpendicular to the semi-annular surface at each point along the recess. Kelly does not teach that the recess may be tapered in depth and length and that the recess may be concave. Estevo teaches an ergonomic handle having a body (208) configured for gripping (comfortable ergonomic handle), paragraphs 0021 and 0022. Estevo teaches that the body may have a side surface having a tapered recess (204) which tapers as to depth and continuously decreased in length (tapered as to longitudinal length) and having a concave portion, paragraphs 0022 and 0023 and see Figure 2, noting that the portion of the recess proximate the bottom of the body and proximate to sides of recess meets the surrounding surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly with a recess tapering as to depth and length and with a concave portion, extending toward a body bottom portion, as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly with recesses to comfortably receive fingers to yield the predictable result of an ergonomic handle grip. Kelly, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing a duplicate tapered recess on the opposite side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a duplicate recess on the opposite side, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
As to Claim 3, Estevo teaches that the tapered recess may have a length in a direction of a longitudinal axis (vertical as it appears in Figure 2) which decreases toward the bottom portion, see Figure 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly, as modified, with a tapered recess having a length in a direction of a longitudinal axis which decreases toward the bottom portion as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a known substitute tapered recess shape. As to Claim 4, Estevo teaches that an upper portion of the tapered recess extends a length equal to a longitudinal length of at least one concave surface, see Figure 2, noting upper portion of the recess spanning the concave surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the tapered recess to equal the length of the concave surface, as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly, as modified, with the upper portion of the recess complementing the shape of the concave surface to yield the predictable result of a smooth area for receiving fingers. As to Claim 5, Estevo teaches that the tapered recess may terminate short of the bottom portion, see Figure 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly, as modified, with the tapered recess configured as claimed and as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for finger receiving recess. As to Claim 6, Kelly teaches that the handle may comprise a pair of longitudinally spaced concave surfaces (16), paragraph 0041 and see Figure 5.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly, in view of Estevo, as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6 above, and further in view of Rentz, U.S. Patent No. 9,982,961. Kelly, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 7, Kelly, as modified, does not teach a neck portion extending from, the top portion between concave surfaces. Rentz teaches an archery release comprising a neck portion (10) extending from a top portion between a pair of longitudinally spaced concave surfaces (4, 6), Col. 3, ln. 30-36 and see Figure 1. The neck portion may be configured to receive a head assembly (12) operable to hold and release a bowstring, Col. 3, ln. 37-45 and see Figure 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the handle with a neck portion extending between a pair of longitudinally spaced concave surfaces and configured to receive a head assembly operable to hold and release a bowstring, as taught by Rentz, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a known substitute configuration of a handle for an archery release. As to Claim 8, Rentz teaches that a handle body may be formed of a pair of concave mating handle sections which define an internal cavity containing a sear assembly of an archery release, Col. 3, ln. 20-23 and 36-40 and see Figure 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly, as modified, with the handle being formed of a pair of concave mating handle sections containing a sear assembly within, as taught by Rentz, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a sear assembly in an internal cavity between mating concave handle sections, to yield the predictable result of a sear assembly protected from the elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 5 August 2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner maintains the position that the failure of Kelly to teach the concave recess does not overcome a rejection based on the teaching of a primary reference in combination with the teaching of a secondary reference. Applicant’s amendment re-labels the concave surface of the release as a semi-annular surface. The examiner maintains the position that Kelley discloses the feature previously noted as a concave surface but now referenced as a semi-annular surface. The feature of Kelly is considered to be capable of supporting an archer’s fingers in the same manner as the inventive semi-annular surface. Kelly discloses a recess adjacent the semi-annular surface but Kelly does not specify that the recess may have a concave portion. Estevo teaches a recess having a concave portion, which tapers as claimed, and extends toward a body bottom portion, in an ergonomic handle, as set forth in the office action. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the teaching of the references in combination to suggest recesses configured as taught by Estevo to provide a more comfortable ergonomic fit when an archer grips the release.
In response to applicant's argument that Esteve is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both references teach a grip configured to be encircled by a user’s fingers and hand. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the benefit of ergonomic shape to enhance comfort and consistency while manipulating a device.
In response to applicant's argument that the device of Estevo illustrates recess shapes which would not be appropriate for an archery release and that prior designers did not consider the angles of finger beds when an archer hold a release, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Kelly teaches an archery release having specific surface features intended to provide suitable surfaces for gripping while aiming an archery bow. Estevo teaches a grip having recess shaped to provide ergonomic comfort and consistency, see paragraph 0017, noting that the handle is designed for precision work. The examiner maintains the position that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the teaching of Estevo to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the release of Kelly with recess features of Estevo to arrive at the claimed invention. The archery release of prior art according to Kelly as modified by Estevo disclosed the structural features of the inventive release and the disclosure meets the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 14 August 2026