DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly, U.S. Patent Application No. 2016/0231077, in view of Estevo et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0136565. As to Claim 1, Kelly teaches a handle (20) for an archery release, paragraph 0040. The handle may comprise a body (22) having a longitudinal axis (28), paragraphs 0040 and 0041. The body may have a front, rear, top and bottom portions and side surfaces extending between front, rear, top and bottom portions, see drawing below. The top portion of the body may contain a concave surface (16) configured to support a finger of an archer, paragraph 0043. Side surfaces may each contain a recess (arced or curved surfaces) extending from a concave surface toward the bottom portion, paragraph 0043 and see Figures 2A and 2B. Kelly does not teach that the recess may be tapered. Estevo teaches an ergonomic handle having a body (208) configured for gripping (comfortable ergonomic handle), paragraphs 0021 and 0022. Estevo teaches that the body may have a side surface having a tapered recess (204) extending continuously from a concave surface toward a body bottom portion with the tapered recess having a depth which decreases from the body top portion toward a body bottom portion, paragraphs 0022 and 0023 and see Figure 2, noting that the portion of the recess proximate the bottom of the body meets the surrounding surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly with a continuous tapered recess with depth decreasing toward the bottom of the body, on side surface, as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly with recesses to comfortably receive fingers to yield the predictable result of an ergonomic handle grip. Kelly, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing a duplicate tapered recess on the opposite side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a duplicate recess on the opposite side, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
As to Claim 3, Estevo teaches that the tapered recess may have a length in a direction of a longitudinal axis (vertical as it appears in Figure 2) which decreases toward the bottom portion, see Figure 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly, as modified, with a tapered recess having a length in a direction of a longitudinal axis which decreases toward the bottom portion as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a known substitute tapered recess shape. As to Claim 4, Estevo teaches that an upper portion of the tapered recess extends a length equal to a longitudinal length of at least one concave surface, see Figure 2, noting upper portion of the recess spanning the concave surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the tapered recess to equal the length of the concave surface, as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly, as modified, with the upper portion of the recess complementing the shape of the concave surface to yield the predictable result of a smooth area for receiving fingers. As to Claim 5, Estevo teaches that the tapered recess may terminate short of the bottom portion, see Figure 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly, as modified, with the tapered recess configured as claimed and as taught by Estevo, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for finger receiving recess. As to Claim 6, Kelly teaches that the handle may comprise a pair of longitudinally spaced concave surfaces (16), paragraph 0041 and see Figure 5.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly, in view of Estevo, as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6 above, and further in view of Rentz, U.S. Patent No. 9,982,961. Kelly, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 7, Kelly, as modified, does not teach a neck portion extending from, the top portion between concave surfaces. Rentz teaches an archery release comprising a neck portion (10) extending from a top portion between a pair of longitudinally spaced concave surfaces (4, 6), Col. 3, ln. 30-36 and see Figure 1. The neck portion may be configured to receive a head assembly (12) operable to hold and release a bowstring, Col. 3, ln. 37-45 and see Figure 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the handle with a neck portion extending between a pair of longitudinally spaced concave surfaces and configured to receive a head assembly operable to hold and release a bowstring, as taught by Rentz, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a known substitute configuration of a handle for an archery release. As to Claim 8, Rentz teaches that a handle body may be formed of a pair of concave mating handle sections which define an internal cavity containing a sear assembly of an archery release, Col. 3, ln. 20-23 and 36-40 and see Figure 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kelly, as modified, with the handle being formed of a pair of concave mating handle sections containing a sear assembly within, as taught by Rentz, to provide Kelly, as modified, with a sear assembly in an internal cavity between mating concave handle sections, to yield the predictable result of a sear assembly protected from the elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 2 December 2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 5 February 2026