DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallitzendorfer et al. (US 4402537 A) in view of Grimm et al. (US 20040140692 A1) and Stachura et al. (US 20100264698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gallitzendorfer discloses a vehicle bumper (Gallitzendorfer, Fig. 8, 11 and 15 are part of the bumper) comprising: a panel unit (Gallitzendorfer, Fig. 8) including a first panel (Gallitzendorfer, 11 in Fig. 8) having a main protection area (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8) and a second panel (Gallitzendorfer, 15 in Fig. 8) coupled to the first panel and having an additional protection area (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8) at one side (Gallitzendorfer, Fig. 8, at a lateral side) of the main protection area; wherein the first panel includes a first cover part and a first coupling part (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8), the second panel includes a second cover part and a second coupling part (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8),
Gallitzendorfer fails to disclose a reinforcing panel disposed on non-exposed surfaces of the first panel and the second panel and fixing the first panel and the second panel to each other; the reinforcing panel includes a first reinforcing part disposed on a non-exposed surface of the first cover part, a second reinforcing part disposed on a non-exposed surface of the second cover part, and a connecting part having a thickness greater than a thickness of the first reinforcing part and a thickness of the second reinforcing part, connecting the first reinforcing part and the second reinforcing part and surrounding the first coupling part of the first panel and the second coupling part of the second panel.
Figure 1 Annotated Fig. 8 from Gallitzendorfer
Grimm teaches a reinforcing panel (Grimm, 3 in Fig. 1) disposed on non-exposed surfaces (Grimm, Fig. 1, 3 on the interior side) of the first panel and the second panel and fixing (Grimm, paragraph 12, two outer panels joined by reinforcement panel 3) the first panel and the second panel to each other; and the reinforcing panel includes a first reinforcing part (Grimm, see annotated Fig. 1, after combination, this is the part covering the first panel or the first covering part) disposed on a non-exposed surface of the first cover part, a second reinforcing part (Grimm, see annotated Fig. 1, after combination, this is the part covering the second panel or the second covering part) disposed on a non-exposed surface of the second cover part, and a connecting part (Grimm, see annotated Fig. 1, after combination, this is the part covering the coupling parts) connecting the first reinforcing part and the second reinforcing part and surrounding the first coupling part of the first panel and the second coupling part of the second panel.
Figure 2 Annotated Fig. 1 from Grimm
Grimm is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bodywork component made of synthetic materials having two panels fastened together as Gallitzendorfer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer to incorporate the teachings of Grimm with a reasonable expectation of success and have a reinforcing panel. Doing so provides a lightweight vehicle bumper panel with high loading capacity (Grimm, paragraph 4) for energy absorption.
Stachura teaches having a thickness greater than a thickness of the first reinforcing part and a thickness of the second reinforcing part (Stachura, Fig. 7, foam reinforcing part has a connecting part at 110, which is greater in thickness than the two parts next to it).
Stachura is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bodywork component made of synthetic materials having two panels fastened together and reinforced with foams as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm to incorporate the teachings of Stachura with a reasonable expectation of success and has thicker connection part. Doing so provides a connection part of higher strength making it less susceptible to damages.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura teaches the vehicle bumper of claim 2, wherein the first panel further includes a first bent part (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8) having a shape bent from an end of the first coupling part and covering an area (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8, covering from inside) in which the first coupling part of the first panel and the second coupling part of the second panel are in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura teaches the vehicle bumper of claim 2, wherein the second panel further includes a second bent part (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8, the two panels can switch names such that the first bent part is the second bent part as claimed herein) having a shape bent from an end of the second coupling part and covering an area in which the first coupling part of the first panel and the second coupling part of the second panel are in contact with each other.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Council (US 4893856 A).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura teaches the vehicle bumper of claim 2, further comprising a blocking member (Grimm, 5 in Fig. 1A) disposed at an end portion of the first coupling part of the first panel and an end portion of the second coupling part of the second panel and covering between the end portion (Grimm, Fig. 1A) of the first coupling part of the first panel and the end portion of the second coupling part of the second panel.
Grimm is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bodywork component made of synthetic materials having two panels fastened together as Gallitzendorfer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer to incorporate the teachings of Grimm with a reasonable expectation of success and have a blocking member. Doing so further ensures no leakage will take place and increases connection strength between the two panel pieces.
The combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura fails to teach the blocking member as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f); Grimm teaches a strip but not a rubber material strip.
Council teaches rubber (Council, abstract, rubber strip).
Council is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bumper as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura to incorporate the teachings of Council with a reasonable expectation of success and have the strip made of rubber. Doing so provides waterproof seal and allows the blocking member to be elastic such that it fits over the geometry of the panel end portions to provides a secure seal.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm, Stachura, and Council teaches the vehicle bumper of claim 5, wherein the blocking member is disposed between the first coupling part of the first panel and the connecting part of the reinforcing panel and disposed between the second coupling part of the second panel and the connecting part of the reinforcing panel (Grimm, Fig. 1A and paragraph 16, blocking member 5 is applied at the two coupling parts of the panel and before the reinforcing panel 5 is formed therefore is between the reinforcing panel and the coupling parts of the two panels).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Naughton et al. (WO 2006091794 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura teaches the vehicle bumper of claim 1, wherein the non-exposed surfaces of the first panel and the second panel are coated with the reinforcing panel in a form of polyurethane (Grimm, paragraph 5, PU, which is polyurethane) and then the reinforcing panel is foamed (Grimm, paragraph 5) and shaped in spaces between the first panel, the second panel, and a mold (Grimm, paragraph 5, foaming mold) disposed on the first panel and the second panel.
The combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura fails to teach a mixture having long glass fibers.
Naughton teaches mixture having long glass fibers (Naughton, paragraph 28, long glass fibers; where paragraph 27 also teaches polyurethane).
Naughton is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bumper as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura to incorporate the teachings of Naughton with a reasonable expectation of success and have long glass fibers in the polyurethane material such that it is a mixture. Doing so provides waterproof seal and allows the blocking member to be elastic such that it fits over the geometry of the panel end portions to provides a secure seal. Doing so reinforces the vehicle panel to provides additional structural integrity and energy absorption.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura teaches the vehicle bumper of claim 1, wherein the reinforcing panel, including polyurethane (Grimm, paragraph 5, PU, which is polyurethane), is disposed on the first panel and the second panel (Grimm, Fig. 1).
The combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura fails to teach a mixture having glass fibers.
Naughton teaches mixture having glass fibers (Naughton, paragraph 28, glass fibers; where paragraph 27 also teaches polyurethane).
Naughton is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bumper as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura to incorporate the teachings of Naughton with a reasonable expectation of success and have glass fibers in the polyurethane material such that it is a mixture. Doing so provides waterproof seal and allows the blocking member to be elastic such that it fits over the geometry of the panel end portions to provides a secure seal. Doing so reinforces the vehicle panel to provides additional structural integrity and energy absorption.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallitzendorfer et al. (US 4402537 A) in view of Grimm et al. (US 20040140692 A1), Stachura et al. (US 20100264698 A1), and Nagasaka (US 4339144 A).
The combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Nagasaka teaches a device that performs the function disclosed in the method claim 9 when used in normal and usual operation.
Regarding claim 9, Gallitzendorfer discloses a vehicle bumper (Gallitzendorfer, Fig. 8, 11 and 15 are part of the bumper), comprising: placing a first panel (Gallitzendorfer, 11 in Fig. 8) and a second panel (Gallitzendorfer, 15 in Fig. 8); wherein the first panel includes a first cover part and a first coupling part (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8), the second panel includes a second cover part and a second coupling part (Gallitzendorfer, see annotated Fig. 8),
Gallitzendorfer fails to disclose a first mold; coating the first panel and the second panel with a mixture; forming a reinforcing panel by pressing the first panel and the second panel coated with the mixture with a second mold; the reinforcing panel includes a first reinforcing part disposed on a non-exposed surface of the first cover part, a second reinforcing part disposed on a non-exposed surface of the second cover part, and a connecting part having a thickness greater than a thickness of the first reinforcing part and a thickness of the second reinforcing part, connecting the first reinforcing part and the second reinforcing part and surrounding the first coupling part of the first panel and the second coupling part of the second panel.
Grimm teaches a mold (Grimm, paragraph 5), coating the first panel and the second panel (Grimm, Fig. 1 paragraph 4, coated with reinforcing panel 3 in a foaming procedure) and forming a reinforcing panel (Grimm, Fig. 1); and the reinforcing panel includes a first reinforcing part (Grimm, see annotated Fig. 1, after combination, this is the part covering the first panel or the first covering part) disposed on a non-exposed surface of the first cover part, a second reinforcing part (Grimm, see annotated Fig. 1, after combination, this is the part covering the second panel or the second covering part) disposed on a non-exposed surface of the second cover part, and a connecting part (Grimm, see annotated Fig. 1, after combination, this is the part covering the coupling parts) connecting the first reinforcing part and the second reinforcing part and surrounding the first coupling part of the first panel and the second coupling part of the second panel.
Grimm is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bodywork component made of synthetic materials having two panels fastened together as Gallitzendorfer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer to incorporate the teachings of Grimm with a reasonable expectation of success and have a reinforcing panel by molding. Doing so provides a lightweight vehicle bumper panel with high loading capacity (Grimm, paragraph 4) for energy absorption.
Stachura teaches having a thickness greater than a thickness of the first reinforcing part and a thickness of the second reinforcing part (Stachura, Fig. 7, foam reinforcing part has a connecting part at 110, which is greater in thickness than the two parts next to it).
Stachura is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bodywork component made of synthetic materials having two panels fastened together and reinforced with foams as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm to incorporate the teachings of Stachura with a reasonable expectation of success and has thicker connection part. Doing so provides a connection part of higher strength making it less susceptible to damages.
Nagasaka teaches a method of manufacturing a vehicle bumper (Nagasaka, Fig. 3C), placing the panel in a first mold (Nagasaka, 7 in Fig. 3C, after combination, the bumper panels of Gallitzendorfer can be placed in a first mold); coating the panels with a mixture (Nagasaka, Fig. 3C, FRP 10, which is fiber reinforced plastic), pressing the first panel and the second panel coated with the mixture with a second mold (Nagasaka, Fig. 3C, pressed by second mold 6).
Nagasaka is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bumper as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm and Stachura to incorporate the teachings of Nagasaka with a reasonable expectation of success and use two molds and make the reinforcing panel with a mixture. Doing so provides waterproof seal and allows the blocking member to be elastic such that it fits over the geometry of the panel end portions to provides a secure seal. Doing so allows consistency when mass producing and allows the reinforcing panel to be properly bonded to the outer panels; using FRP mixture provides additional structural integrity and energy absorption capacity.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm, Stachura, and Nagasaka as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Council (US 4893856 A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm, Stachura, and Nagasaka teaches method of claim 9, wherein the placing of the first panel and the second panel in the first mold includes a process of arranging a blocking member (Grimm, 5 in Fig. 1A and paragraph 16, arrange in place before reinforcing panel is formed) on the first panel and the second panel in the first mold.
Grimm is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bodywork component made of synthetic materials having two panels fastened together as Gallitzendorfer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer to incorporate the teachings of Grimm with a reasonable expectation of success and have a blocking member. Doing so further ensures no leakage will take place and increases connection strength between the two panel pieces.
The combination of Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm, Stachura, and Nagasaka fails to teach the blocking member as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f); Grimm teaches a strip but not a rubber material strip.
Council teaches rubber (Council, abstract, rubber strip).
Council is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle bumper as Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm, Stachura, and Nagasaka.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bumper as taught by Gallitzendorfer in view of Grimm, Stachura, and Nagasaka to incorporate the teachings of Council with a reasonable expectation of success and have the strip made of rubber. Doing so provides waterproof seal and allows the blocking member to be elastic such that it fits over the geometry of the panel end portions to provides a secure seal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the second paragraph on page 6 of Applicant's Reply, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stachura, which teaches in Fig. 7 a connecting part thickness at 110 being greater than the other parts next to it. See rejections above for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612