DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I, claims 3-4, 7-8, 10, 16-18, and 20 in the reply filed on 10/7/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “as with the Restriction Requirement, the Examiner does not state, nor can Applicants fairly surmise, any different fields of search for the respective species. Nor does the Examiner meet the prima facie case by showing an appropriate explanation of separate classification or separate status in the art. Accordingly, Applicants respectfully submit that the Election of Species Requirement has not made a sufficient prima facie case of serious search burden and/ or examination burden on the Examiner in this application.”
For Species II in Group I, claim 2 is generic and with allowable subject matter. Species II, claims 5-6, 9, 11-12, and 19 are previously restricted due to restriction requirement, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 10/7/2025, is hereby withdrawn and claims 5-6, 9, 11-12, and 19 are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
For Group I, claims 1-12 and 16-20, and Group II, claims 13-15, the traverse is not found persuasive because the limitation in Group I is related to obtaining, from a user interface, one or more localized user inputs correcting or ascertaining the respective estimate of the segmentation; wherein the neural network algorithm includes multiple inputs; and wherein the multiple inputs include an estimate of the segmentation determined in a preceding iteration of the multiple iterations, an encoding of the one or more localized user inputs obtained in the preceding iteration, and the volumetric imaging dataset; the limitation in Group II is related to synthesizing the one or more localized user inputs based on a comparison between a ground-truth segmentation of the target volume and the a-priori estimate of the segmentation; and training the neural network algorithm based on the comparison between the ground-truth segmentation and the a-posterior estimate of the segmentation, the a-posterior estimate of the segmentation being determined based on the one or more localized user inputs and the a-priori estimate of the segmentation and using the neural network algorithm in a current training state.
The groups are not dependent on each other and one of the limitations does not require the other limitation to operate, for example, synthesizing the one or more localized user inputs based on a comparison between a ground-truth segmentation of the target volume and the a-priori estimate of the segmentation in Group II requires different a field of search and consideration. Therefore, the groups are mutually exclusive, are considered as different inventions. Due to the time given to the examiner for examining the application, there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct groups as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by MORARD (PGPUB: 20230245317 A1).
Regarding claim 1. MORARD teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
performing an interactive segmentation process to determine a segmentation of a target volume depicted by a volumetric imaging dataset (see Fig. 1, paragraph 22, facilitate interactive segmentation of medical images with low latency under a cloud-deployment architecture. Medical image segmentation generally involves usage of computationally extensive segmentation models configured to generate segmentation masks over organs, regions or objects of interest depicted in a two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) medical images (e.g., volume representations of a scanned anatomical region of interest (ROI))), the interactive segmentation process including multiple iterations (see Fig. 1, item 122), each iteration of the interactive segmentation process including
determining, using a neural network algorithm, a respective estimate of the segmentation (see paragraph 25, the estimated segmentation masks are compared to the GT 3D segmentation information using a loss function (e.g., Dice loss or another loss function) and the model weights are determined/updated accordingly after many iterations of this training loop until convergence is reached), and
obtaining, from a user interface, one or more localized user inputs correcting or ascertaining the respective estimate of the segmentation (see paragraph 25, the latent space representations are then concatenated with simulated user inputs corresponding to different points within and around the segmented object. These points are generated from the GT 3D segmentation information and injected at each state of the decoder. The decoder network is further trained to generate estimated segmentation masks corresponding to the simulated user inputs from the latent space representations. The estimated segmentation masks are compared to the GT 3D segmentation information using a loss function (e.g., Dice loss or another loss function) and the model weights are determined/updated accordingly after many iterations of this training loop until convergence is reached);
wherein the neural network algorithm includes multiple inputs (see Fig. 1 items 122 and 134); and
wherein the multiple inputs include an estimate of the segmentation determined in a preceding iteration of the multiple iterations (see Fig. 2, paragraph 45, at 132, the user can choose to either accept the update or decline the update corresponding to the preview. Based on reception of input selecting the update, the client device can apply the segmentation at 134 corresponding to the preview. Based on reception of input declining the update, the client device can remove the most recently applied segmentation preview overlay data. Process 122 can further be repeated as many times desired by the user until the user is satisfied with the final segmentation), an encoding of the one or more localized user inputs obtained in the preceding iteration, and the volumetric imaging dataset (see Fig. 1-4, paragraph 48, the server device employs the encoder 108′ to generate a latent space representation 110′ of the 3D input volume, which corresponds to a compressed version of the 3D input volume. In this regard, the encoder 108′ employs a set of trained convolutions and pooling layers that extract a reduced subset of key features from the 3D input 402 and transpose these key features into the latent space representation 110).
Regarding claim 9. MORARD teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the multiple inputs of the neural network algorithm further comprise:
encodings of one or more localized user inputs obtained in one or more further preceding iterations prior to the preceding iteration (see Fig .1, paragraph 42, during model training at 106, simulated user inputs corresponding to different user applied mark-up points are concatenated to the latent space 110 before the decoding part. After the model training process 106 is completed, the learned encoder and decoder weights for the specific clinical application are then stored and applied for the online process 102. The online process 102 corresponds to an interactive 3D segmentation process (e.g., illustrated in FIG. 2 with reference to GUI 200) provided by a medical imaging application deployed as a web-based application access via a client device using a web-browser (e.g., a web-application, a hybrid application, a thin-client application, a thick-client application, a mobile application, etc.)).
Regarding claim 11. MORARD teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
Applying, upon completion of the interactive segmentation process, a continued learning process to re-train the neural network algorithm, the continued learning process using the segmentation of the target volume determined using the interactive segmentation process as ground truth (see paragraph 7, the decoder network employs predetermined segmentation weights generated based on simulated user input data relative to training 3D medical images including the object, the simulated input indicating the object for segmenting as included in the training 3D medical images. The reception component can further receive the predetermined segmentation weights for application by the decoder network in association with reception of the compress representation. The deep neural network model comprises a previously trained model trained using the training 3D medical images as annotated with ground truth segmentation information for the object, wherein the training comprises generating the simulated user input data from the ground truth segmentation information. The training further comprises training the encoder network to generate compressed representations of the training 3D medical images and training the decoder network to generate segmentation masks for the object using based on the simulated user input data using the compressed representations. In some embodiments, the computer executable components further comprise a training component that performs the deep neural network model training for the clinical task).
Regarding claim 12. MORARD teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein the continued learning process uses encodings of the one or more localized user inputs obtained during interactive segmentation process as inputs to the neural network algorithm (see paragraph 24, provides techniques for interactive 3D medical image segmentation within a cloud-based medical imaging application while minimizing or eliminating latency complications attributed to conventional back-end processing tasks; train a deep neural network model comprising an encoder network and a decoder network for a specific clinical segmentation task, such as a segmentation task tailored for a particular anatomical ROI (e.g., chest, abdomen, brain, etc.) and one or more objects for segmentation included in the anatomical ROI (e.g., a specific organ, a lesion, a diseased region, a vessel, scan prescription plane, etc.). The training data includes a large database of 3D medical images annotated with ground truth (GT) information corresponding to a 3D segmentation of the object as depicted in the respective training images. For example, the 3D medical images can include volumetric representations of the same or similar anatomical ROI (e.g., chest, abdomen, brain, etc.) generated from 3D medical scan data (e.g., magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan data, computed tomography (CT) scan data, or the like) captured for a plurality of different patients or subjects).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MORARD (PGPUB: 20230245317 A1) in view of Wu (CN 106373168 A).
Regarding claim 10. MORARD teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
wherein each of the multiple inputs is represented by at least one respective three-dimensional data structure that includes values for grid positions of a three-dimensional spatial data (see Fig. 1-5, paragraph 50 and 53, the processing task 500 correspond to blocks 124, 126 and 128 of the frontend processing 122 performed by the client device. As described with reference to FIG. 1, this processing task 500 can be repeated each time the user provides new mark-up input indicating an object or region of an object for segmentation on a displayed portion of the 3D input volume 104. In this regard, at 502, the user can apply some mark-up guides on the displayed image indicating the object or the region of the object for segmentation. For instance, similar to the simulated user input data, the user applied mark-up guides may include one or more sets of points on the image indicating one or more inner points and/or one or more outer points of the object to segment; different versions of the 3D segmentation model can be trained to perform different clinical segmentation tasks for different anatomical ROIs, different types of 3D medical images (e.g., corresponding to different anatomical ROIs and/or capture modalities), and/or different objects or ROIs for segmentation).
However, MORARD does not expressly teach three-dimensional spatial grid.
Wu teaches that the connection relationship between discrete data in three-dimensional space is, can be divided into three types: structured data, unstructured data and structured data. structured data is logically organized into discrete spatial data of the three-dimensional array, each element is a number, row number and column number of the user (see page 17, lines 1-4); medical volumetric data usually refers to defining the scalar or vector structured data on a three-dimensional grid, the grid is generally orthogonal grid, data is generally defined on the grid node, eight adjacent grid nodes form a cube. each of the small grids are the basic unit of data (see page 17, lines 11-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MORARD by Wu to obtain structured data, unstructured data and structured data. structured data is logically organized into discrete spatial data of the three-dimensional array and medical volumetric data usually refers to defining the scalar or vector structured data on a three-dimensional grid, in order to provide three-dimensional spatial grid. Therefore, combining the elements from prior arts according to known methods and technique would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8. MORARD teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
wherein each estimate of the segmentation is determined by processing, using the neural network algorithm, of multiple patches determined for each of the multiple inputs, the multiple patches being spatially overlapping (see paragraph 61, The interaction component 714 can provide the interactive mark-up tools associated with the interactive segmentation functionality. In this regard, the interaction component 714 can receive or facilitate receiving user input relative to a displayed portion (e.g., as displayed via the rendering component 716) of the 3D medical image data indicating an object or region of an object for segmenting (e.g., via the interactive annotation dialog box 202 or the like). Based on the reception of the applied user mark-up data, the segmentation component 720 can generate a corresponding segmentation mask using the decoder 112′ with the applied appropriate decoder weights. The preview component 718 can further generate and render the segmentation mask as overlay data over the object and the displayed portion of the 3D medical image in a preview mode (as described with reference to frontend processing 122). The interaction component 714 can further receive additional user input relative to the displayed portion of the 3D medical image indicating the object included in the displayed portion for updated segmentation, and the segmentation component 720 can generate an updated segmentation mask for the object based on the new user input using the compressed representation and the decoder network 112′, and the preview component 718 can renders the updated segmentation mask as new overlay data over the object and the displayed portion of the 3D medical image in real-time), and
wherein a part of a first patch of the estimate of the segmentation determined in a given iteration is used to refine an overlapping part of a second patch of the estimate of the segmentation determined in the preceding iteration, prior to determining the second patch of the estimate of the segmentation in the given iteration (see paragraph 26, the user inputs may include applied marks on or over a displayed portion of the 3D medical image indicating the object or a region of the object for segmentation, such as lines, circles, inside/outside point markers, free-hand scribble and so on. The 3D segmentation mask is further rendered as an overlay over the displayed portion of the 3D medical image in the form of a preview image that the user can control in 3D. For each new mouse position, a new preview is shown to the user in real-time. As soon as the user click at a given position, the preview is accepted, and the segmentation is updated. This frontend process can be repeated several times until the user is satisfied with the segmentation).
However, MORARD does not expressly teaches multiplexed processing.
The examiner is taking "Official Notice" that the limitation about multiplexed processing is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified MORARD so that MORARD would be available.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIN JIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663