Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 features of “means for removably attaching a buoyant housing to a target object under a surface of water” “means for disabling a locking mechanism” “locking mechanism” (synonymous with “means for locking” with no standard meaning in this context. Corresponding structure in paragraph 47 and 80. Locking means is interpreted under 112f for Claims 1-9, 12-20) and “means for releasing the buoyant housing” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 limitation “means for disabling a locking mechanism configured to the buoyant housing” is unclear. The plain meaning of configure form the Oxford English Dictionary is “To fashion according to something else as a model; to conform in figure or fashion”. It would not be clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art how a “means for disabling a locking mechanism” is fashioned according to a buoyant housing as a model.
Claim limitation “means for removably attaching a buoyant housing to a target object under a surface of water” “means for disabling a locking mechanism” “means for releasing the buoyant housing”” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure is clearly identified. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Berndt (US 2198755 A).
Regarding Claim 20, Berdt discloses a system for marking an underwater object comprising: means for removably attaching a buoyant housing to a target object under a surface of water (Element 7); means for disabling a locking mechanism (buoyancy force as in “buoyancy of the float I is sufficient to unwind the cord 12 on the spool II against the frictional resistance of the coil spin”) configured to the buoyant housing , wherein the locking mechanism is preventing rotation of a shaft configured to spin and deploy a line (Element 13); and means for releasing the buoyant housing (soluble glue, 6) to float to the surface of water while remaining attached to the target object by way of the line.
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Saulnier (US 4778422 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy comprising: an upper body having a longitudinal axis and an outer surface (top of Element 114); a lower body that has a proximal end and a distal end having a line-feed aperture (lower portion of Element 114), the proximal end positioned at a center portion of the upper body and the lower body distal end extending away from the longitudinal axis (See Fig. 5.); a rotatable shaft (Element 126a) having a first end and a second end, the rotatable shaft positioned in the upper body and aligned with the longitudinal axis of the upper body; a spool (Element 126) positioned in the upper body and coupled to the shaft to rotate with the shaft; a fitting coupled to the first end of the shaft and positioned outside the upper body (cross-shaped recess in 126a); a line (See Fig. 4) wound onto the spool and extending through the proximal end of the lower body and the lower body distal end and out of the housing through the line-feed aperture; at least one mount (Element 142) coupled to the outer surface of the upper body; and a locking mechanism (Element 129) releasably coupled to the shaft for preventing the shaft from rotating.
Regarding Claim 2, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the upper body and the lower body each contain a cavity. (See Fig. 4, around the spool)
Regarding Claim 3, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, further comprising foam positioned within the upper body for providing positive buoyancy for the marker buoy. (a buoyant plastics foam material part 114)
Regarding Claim 4, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the lower body is formed integral with the upper body. (See Fig. 4.)
Regarding Claim 5, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the lower body proximal end is coupled to the upper body. (See Fig. 4.)
Regarding Claim 6, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the second end of the shaft extends from the upper body to turn the shaft manually.(shaft of cruciform cross-section welded to the center of a so-called "pot-hauler" which is indicated at 40 in Fig. 2.)
Regarding Claim 7, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, further comprising a weight that is positioned to ensure the marker buoy maintains proper orientation. (Element 116 has weight; whatever orientation it assumes is proper based on the balance of forces.)
Regarding Claim 8, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 7, wherein the weight is positioned in the lower body. (Element 116)
Regarding Claim 9, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the upper body and the lower body are one component creating a single, unified housing. (See Fig. 4.)
Regarding Claim 10, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the locking mechanism comprises a first aperture through the upper body and a second aperture through the first end of the shaft, the first aperture and the second aperture are alignable, wherein a removable locking pin is sized to fit through the first aperture and the second aperture when aligned. (C4, paragraph starting at line 67)
Regarding Claim 12, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the fitting has 1 or more straight sides. (See Fig. 4.)
Regarding Claim 14, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the upper body and the lower body are molded from a buoyant material. (Foam)
Regarding Claim 17, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the lower body extends from the upper body at least one inch. (See Fig. 5, based on the scale of the handle.)
Regarding Claim 18, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, further comprising a first seating point and a second seating point, wherein the shaft rests in the upper body on the first and the second seating points. (Element 123)
Regarding Claim 19, Saulnier discloses a marker buoy of claim 1, wherein the at least one mount has threads for attaching components to the marker buoy. (Element 144, Fig. 8)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 21 March 2026