DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 10th November, 2025. Claims 1, 5, 9, and 16 have been amended. Claim 20 has been cancelled. Claims 1-19 and 21 remain rejected in the application. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 10th July, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1, 9, and 16 filed on 10th November, 2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): "each allocated memory block is linked to one or more other memory blocks associated with the ray to form a linked memory stack" has been fully considered, but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of Rabbani and Goudie.
Regarding arguments to Claims 2-8, 10-15, 17-19, and 21, they directly/indirectly depend on independent Claims 1, 9, and 16 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent Claims 1, 9, and 16. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was previously established as explained.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-15, 17-18, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites the limitation(s): "The method as claimed in claim 8" on PG(s). 3, Line(s) 14; examiner suggests amending this to "The method as claimed in claim 9";
Claim 11 recites the limitation(s): "The method as claimed in claim 8" on PG(s). 3, Line(s) 16; examiner suggests amending this to "The method as claimed in claim 10"; see Claim 2;
Claim 12 recites the limitation(s): "The method as claimed in claim 8" on PG(s). 3, Line(s) 21; examiner suggests amending this to "The method as claimed in claim 9";
Claim 13 recites the limitation(s): "The method as claimed in claim 8" on PG(s). 3, Line(s) 23; examiner suggests amending this to "The method as claimed in claim 9";
Claim 14 recites the limitation(s): "The method as claimed in claim 8" on PG(s). 4, Line(s) 1; examiner suggests amending this to "The method as claimed in claim 9";
Claim 15 recites the limitation(s): "The method as claimed in claim 8" on PG(s). 4, Line(s) 3; examiner suggests amending this to "The method as claimed in claim 9";
Claim 17 recites the limitation(s): "The system as claimed in claim 15" on PG(s). 4, Line(s) 16; examiner suggests amending this to "The system as claimed in claim 16";
Claim 18 recites the limitation(s): "The system as claimed in claim 15" on PG(s). 4, Line(s) 18; examiner suggests amending this to "The system as claimed in claim 16"; and
Claim 21 recites the limitation(s): "The system as claimed in claim 15" on PG(s). 5, Line(s) 1; examiner suggests amending this to "The system as claimed in claim 16".For the purposes of compact prosecution, the proposed corrections are being used. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabbani Rankouhi et al. (US 20220036637 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Rabbani, in view of Goudie (US 20220114013 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Rabbani discloses a system (Rabbani, [0228]: teaches a system/device 2700) comprising:
ray tracing circuitry configured to assign, to a ray, at least one ray stack [[in a first memory]] (Rabbani, [0169]: teaches a ray intersection circuitry (e.g., a Ray Intersection Accelerator (RIA)) <read on ray tracing circuitry> including a grouping control circuitry 1910 that is configured to assign rays to groups of rays <read on ray stack>); and
[[memory allocation]] circuitry configured to allocate at least one memory block to the ray from a memory stack in a second memory, responsive to intersection testing of the ray against one or more nodes of a hierarchical acceleration structure (Rabbani, [0093]: teaches the organization of a ray shader core space (SCS) for storing ray data, where "the ray SCS is a private memory space <read on second memory> that may be dynamically allocated and may allow sharing of data between different thread groups"; [0095]: teaches the SCS including "regions for ray core data 820, ray stack data 830 <read on memory stack>, ray extended data 840, and token buffers 810" as shown in FIG. 8; [0163]: teaches a single-instruction multiple-data (SIMD) group including "an instruction to allocate memory space for the set of rays <read on allocate memory block to ray from memory stack> in the shader memory space prior to executing the ray intersection instruction"; FIG. 14B teaches an example method for forming SIMD groups for primitive testing, where between steps 1410-1430, the ray intersect circuitry receives a ray intersect instruction <read on responsive to intersection testing of ray against nodes> for a first SIMD group, which then traverses multiple nodes of a spatially organized acceleration data structure, which then forms a second SIMD group in response to reaching a node in the acceleration data structure <read on node of hierarchical acceleration structure>), wherein
[[each allocated memory block is linked to one or more other memory blocks associated with the ray to form a linked memory stack.]]
However, Rabbani does not expressly disclose
ray tracing circuitry configured to assign, to a ray, at least one ray stack in a first memory; and
memory allocation circuitry configured to allocate at least one memory block to the ray from a memory stack in a second memory, responsive to intersection testing of the ray against one or more nodes of a hierarchical acceleration structure, wherein
each allocated memory block is linked to one or more other memory blocks associated with the ray to form a linked memory stack.
Goudie discloses
ray tracing circuitry configured to assign, to a ray, at least one ray stack in a first memory (Goudie, FIG. 3 teaches allocating a block of memory <read on first memory> for a primary ray tracing task); and
memory allocation circuitry configured to allocate at least one memory block to the ray from a memory stack in a second memory, responsive to intersection testing of the ray against one or more nodes of a hierarchical acceleration structure (Goudie, [0064]: teaches a block of memory being allocated in off-chip memory <read on memory allocation circuitry>), wherein
each allocated memory block is linked to one or more other memory blocks associated with the ray to form a linked memory stack (Goudie, FIG. 3 teaches allocating blocks of memory from a heap <read on linked memory stack> for both primary and secondary ray tracing tasks; Note: it should be noted that a heap is a tree-based data structure that links nodes to each, including allocated memory, where each memory block shares the same heap).
Goudie is analogous art with respect to Rabbani because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely performing ray tracing intersection tests. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a system that allocates blocks of memory on a per-instance or per-task basis as taught by Goudie into the teaching of Rabbani. The suggestion for doing so would allow for a dynamic memory allocation system that uses sufficient memory whilst reducing overall memory usage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Goudie with Rabbani.
Regarding Claim 9, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a method. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Rabbani discloses a method (Rabbani, [0060]: teaches a method for detecting ray intersection using ray intersection circuitry) comprising:…
Thus, Claim 9 is met by Rabbani according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the system corresponds to a method.
Regarding Claim 16, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Rabbani discloses a system (Rabbani, [0228]: teaches a system/device 2700) comprising:
a local buffer (Rabbani, [0096]: teaches the RIA 190 populating a buffer <read on local buffer> with thread data needed by the SIMD group); and
processing circuitry configured to (Rabbani, [0061]: teaches a graphics shader circuitry <read on processing circuitry>):…
Thus, Claim 16 is met by Rabbani according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 18, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system, the method, and the system of Claims 1, 9, and 16 respectively. Additionally, Rabbani further discloses wherein the memory allocation circuitry is further configured to
associate the ray with the at least one memory block (Rabbani, [0178]: teaches "the ray intersect circuitry (e.g. using grouping circuitry 1910 <read on memory allocation circuitry>) groups portions of the set of rays <read on associate ray with memory block> into multiple groups based on the node of the data structure that they target next"; [0182]: teaches the groups being specified by a linked list, where "entries in a ray queue <read on memory block> include a field that points to a next ray in the linked list for the corresponding ray's current group").
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system and the method of Claims 1 and 9 respectively. Additionally, Rabbani further discloses wherein the memory allocation circuitry is configured to
identify the at least one memory block using a free-list structure (Rabbani, [0169]: teaches "each time the top of the traversal stack changes for a given ray, the RIA searches allocated groups to find a match for the corresponding key," where the "RIA may include grouping control circuitry 1910 <read on memory allocation circuitry> as shown in FIG. 19B configured to assign rays to groups"; [0172]: teaches "the matching group determined by grouping circuitry 1910 is an index into dedicated circuitry configured to store lists of rays for each allocated group <read on identify memory block>," where "the matching group may be indicated using attributes of a data structure <read on free-list structure>"; Note: it should be noted that a free-list structure is commonly known as a linked list that manages a pool of available memory blocks in preparation for memory allocation).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system and the method of Claims 1 and 9 respectively. Additionally, Rabbani further discloses wherein the memory stack comprises
a plurality of memory blocks in a linked list data structure (Rabbani, [0173]: teaches a linked list implementation <read on linked list data structure> for grouping rays <read on memory stack>, where "each ray queue entry <read on memory blocks> indicates a ray ID (e.g., for rays A, C, and E), a stack top field that indicates the next target node (e.g., where 0x2C is a node identifier that identifies node 1 in the example of FIG. 19A), and a next ray field that indicates the location of the next ray in the list"; Note: it should be noted that the memory blocks are being interpreted as nodes of a linked list data structure).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system of Claim 16. Additionally, Rabbani further discloses wherein the memory device comprises
a plurality of memory blocks in a linked list data structure associated with a ray stack (Rabbani, [0169]: teaches "each time the top of the traversal stack changes for a given ray, the RIA searches allocated groups to find a match for the corresponding key," where the "RIA may include grouping control circuitry 1910 <read on memory device> as shown in FIG. 19B configured to assign rays to groups"; [0173]: teaches a linked list implementation <read on linked list data structure> for grouping rays, where "each ray queue entry <read on memory blocks> indicates a ray ID (e.g., for rays A, C, and E), a stack top field that indicates the next target node (e.g., where 0x2C is a node identifier that identifies node 1 in the example of FIG. 19A), and a next ray field that indicates the location of the next ray in the list"; [0098]: teaches ray core data 820 being indexed using a ray identifier, which corresponds to the ray ID of a queue entry of the linked list implementation <read on linked list data structure associated with ray stack>; Note: it should be noted that it is being interpreted that there is an association between a given ray core data and a respective ray stack data).
Claims 2-3, 5, 8, 10-11, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabbani Rankouhi et al. (US 20220036637 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Rabbani, in view of Goudie (US 20220114013 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 9, and 16 above respectively, and further in view of Majewski et al. (US 20230359496 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Majewski.
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system and the method of Claims 1 and 9 respectively. The combination does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 2 and 10; however, Majewski discloses wherein
the ray stack has a fixed size (Majewski, [1031]: teaches "the ray tracing hardware unit manages the ray tracing stack allocation counters to keep the active set size <read on fixed size> within the predefined or limit—e.g., so that it fits into the L1 data cache/LSC") and
the memory stack has a variable size (Majewski, [0686]: teaches "in top-down BVH builds, it is necessary to partition/sort the list of integer indices <read on memory stack> in order to recurse during the build and for the index ordering to reflect the tree structure"; Note: it should be noted that it is common in the art to have a BVH tree vary in size).
Majewski is analogous art with respect to Rabbani, in view of Goudie because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely efficient processing of ray-traced BVH data structures. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the ray stack stored on local L1 cache memory as taught by Majewski into the teaching of Rabbani, in view of Goudie. The suggestion for doing so would allow for faster processing of ray-traced BVH data structures, thereby improving overall rendering performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Majewski with Rabbani, in view of Goudie.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, the combination of Rabbani, Goudie, and Majewski discloses the system and the method of Claims 2 and 10 respectively. Additionally, Rabbani further discloses wherein the memory allocation circuitry is configured to:
store, in the at least one memory block, data associated with a current node of the hierarchical acceleration structure being traversed by the ray (Rabbani, FIG. 19A teaches an example situation with different rays currently targeting different nodes <read on current node> in an ADS <read on hierarchical acceleration structure> during tree traversal; [0166]: teaches "the graphics processor is configured to group rays to increase the number of rays testing against a node at a given time"; [0167]: teaches "the graphics processor allocates each ray to a group before the ray is allowed to test"; [0168]: teaches "information for each group indicates a list of rays in that group," where "dedicated circuitry is configured to store the list of rays for each bin" and "various numbers of entries may be used for grouping in various implementations, e.g., 64, 128, 256, or 512 groups with 4, 8, 16, 32, or 64 entries each"; [0173]: teaches the linked list implementation for grouping rays as ray queue entries <read on store in memory block data>, where a ray ID is used for each ray queue to indicate their respective ray from the ray stack); and
create a link between the at least one memory block and one or more other memory blocks in the memory stack associated with the ray (Rabbani, [0173]: teaches a linked list implementation for grouping rays, where each "when a ray is grouped, it may be added to the end of the group list <read on creating a link between memory blocks in memory stack> and a tail pointer maintained by the grouping circuitry 1910 may be updated").
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system of Claim 1. The combination of Rabbani and Goudie does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 5; however, Majewski discloses wherein
the ray stack is in a memory local to the ray tracing circuitry (Majewski, [1023]: teaches the RT Stack 9300 <read on ray stack> being stored in a local cache, such as LSC 9202A, to reduce access latency and increase bandwidth as shown in FIG. 92B; FIG. 92B teaches L1/LSC 9202A and RT HW 9203A <read on ray tracing circuitry> being located in core 9211A of slice 9201A <read on memory being local to ray tracing circuitry>, which communicates data with L2/L3 9210 cache memory as shown in FIG. 92A), and
the memory stack is in a memory that is not local to the ray tracing circuitry (Majewski, FIG. 92A teaches memory 9298 <read on memory stack> communicating with memory interface 9215 of L2/L3 9210 cache memory, where memory 9298 is located outside <read on memory not being local to ray tracing circuitry> of slice 9201A, which contains RT HW 9203A <read on ray tracing circuitry>).
Majewski is analogous art with respect to Rabbani, in view of Goudie because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely efficient processing of ray-traced BVH data structures. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the ray stack stored on local L1 cache memory as taught by Majewski into the teaching of Rabbani, in view of Goudie. The suggestion for doing so would allow for faster processing of ray-traced BVH data structures, thereby improving overall rendering performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Majewski with Rabbani, in view of Goudie.
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system and the method of Claims 1 and 9 respectively. The combination of Rabbani and Goudie does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 8 and 15; however, Majewski discloses
a plurality of ray stacks, each associated with a separate memory stack (Majewski, FIG. 52A teaches traversal 5002, where rays are allocated by allocator 5205 to either ray bank 0 or ray bank 1 <read on ray stacks>, which corresponds to stack 0 and stack 1 <read on separate memory stacks>).
Majewski is analogous art with respect to Rabbani, in view of Goudie because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely efficient processing of ray-traced BVH data structures. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the ray stack stored on local L1 cache memory as taught by Majewski into the teaching of Rabbani, in view of Goudie. The suggestion for doing so would allow for faster processing of ray-traced BVH data structures, thereby improving overall rendering performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Majewski with Rabbani, in view of Goudie.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Rabbani and Goudie discloses the system of Claim 16. The combination of Rabbani and Goudie does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 17; however, Majewski discloses wherein the local buffer comprises
a plurality of ray stacks, each having a fixed size (Majewski, [1031]: teaches "the ray tracing hardware unit manages the ray tracing stack allocation counters to keep the active set size <read on fixed size> within the predefined or limit—e.g., so that it fits into the L1 data cache/LSC"; [1023]: teaches "both rays to be traversed and traversal results are passed through these ray tracing stack 9300 allocations <read on plurality of ray stacks>").
Majewski is analogous art with respect to Rabbani, in view of Goudie because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely efficient processing of ray-traced BVH data structures. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the ray stack stored on local L1 cache memory as taught by Majewski into the teaching of Rabbani, in view of Goudie. The suggestion for doing so would allow for faster processing of ray-traced BVH data structures, thereby improving overall rendering performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Majewski with Rabbani, in view of Goudie.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Rabbani, Goudie, and Majewski discloses the system of Claim 17. Additionally, Rabbani further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to
store data that identifies a memory block in the memory device that remains to be processed (Rabbani, [0172]: teaches "the matching group determined by grouping circuitry 1910 is an index into dedicated circuitry configured to store lists of rays for each allocated group <read on identify memory block>," where "the matching group may be indicated using attributes of a data structure").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 20200264970 A1) discloses a system that manages the allocation of memory to an application program using a dependency tree; and
Zirr et al. (US 20230297508 A1) discloses a system that includes hardware acceleration and memory allocation blocks for performing texture lookups and ray-tracing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614