Status of Claims
Currently Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second bladder, a portion of the first bladder attached to the inner wall surface, plurality of hoses, and plurality of pumps must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skotinkov (U.S. 5,755,382).
With respect to claims 1 and 18, Skotinkov discloses a vehicle (figure 1), comprising:
a chassis (chassis of frame 1) ;
a plurality of ground-engaging elements (wheels 12) coupled to the chassis of the vehicle; and
a liquid holding tank (tank 90) mounted to the chassis and configured to hold at least one product (shown holding multiple in figure 22), the liquid holding tank comprising:
a wall having an inner wall surface (inner wall of 90) defining an interior of the liquid holding tank (inside of 90);
a first bladder (bladder 96) disposed within the interior of the liquid holding tank, the first bladder defining a first chamber within the first bladder (being the chamber within the bladder 102);
a first inlet (inlet at 98c) extending through the wall of the liquid holding tank and through the first bladder and in fluid communication with the first chamber;
a second chamber (chamber within 90, specifically within 92 is) defined between the inner wall surface of the wall of the liquid holding tank (90) and an outer surface of the first bladder (outer surface of 102); and
a second inlet (98c) extending through the wall of the liquid holding tank and in fluid communication with the second chamber (entering into 92).
With respect to claim 2, Skotinkov discloses the liquid holding tank is configured to hold a first product within the first chamber (holding a first product within 96s chamber) and a second product within the second chamber (second product within 92s chamber).
With respect to claim 3, Skotinkov discloses the liquid holding tank comprises a second bladder (94) disposed within the interior of the liquid holding tank, the second bladder defining a third chamber within the second bladder (as seen in figure 22).
With respect to claim 4, Skotinkov discloses the first bladder comprises an elastomeric material (column 8 rows 15-20).
With respect to claim 7, Skotinkov discloses at least a portion of the first bladder lines the inner wall surface of the wall of the liquid holding tank (as seen in figure 2, where when the bladder is filled it would then expand till it is pressed against the wall of 90 (as it cannot move past said shell 90).
With respect to claims 8 and 20, Skotinkov discloses the first chamber of the first bladder is in an at least substantially full state, the first bladder occupies at least about 8 percent of an overall internal volume of the liquid holding tank (column 8 rows 25-30).
With respect to claim 10, Skotinkov discloses an application system comprising a delivery system (having the spraying boom, abstract) configured to deliver products held within the first chamber and the second chamber during an agricultural process (delivering the product from the bladder/tank to the spraying boom such that it can be sprayed, abstract).
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Skotinkov discloses each of the first chamber and the second chamber are in fluid communication with the delivery system of the application system (allowing the chemicals to be sprayed, abstract).
With respect to claim 12, Skotinkov discloses a volume of the second chamber is inversely linearly related to a volume of the first chamber (as both chambers take up space within 90, the space one could be filled up is reflective on how much the other can be filled up (taking the third bladder to be kept at a constant volume).
With respect to claim 15, Skotinkov The vehicle of claim 1, further comprising an operator cabin comprising a display panel (monitor 26).
With respect to claim 16, Skotinkov discloses a method of forming a liquid holding tank (figure 22, #90) of a vehicle, the method comprising:
disposing a first bladder (96) within an interior of the liquid holding tank (90), a first chamber being defined within the first bladder (chamber within 90) and a second chamber being defined between an inner wall surface of the liquid holding tank and an exterior of the bladder (chamber within 90 at where 92 is);
causing a first inlet extending through a wall of the liquid holding tank (the inlet formed at 98c) and through the first bladder to be in fluid communication with the first chamber (having an inlet from 98c through the tank allowing material to go into 96);
causing a second inlet (inlet 98a) extending through the wall of the liquid holding tank to be in fluid communication with the second chamber (as it extends through the top wall of 90); and
causing both of the first chamber and the second chamber to be in fluid communication with a delivery system of an application system of the vehicle (abstract, bringing the fluid from the tank 90 to the spraying system of the boom).
With respect to claim 17, Skotinkov discloses a second bladder (94) within the interior of the liquid holding tank (figure 22), a third chamber (chamber within 94) being defined within the second bladder; and causing the third chamber to be in fluid communication with the delivery system of the application system of the vehicle (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skotinkov in view of Witthuhn (U.S. 2017/0021970).
With respect to claim 5, Skotinkov discloses the first bladder, but fails to disclose the first bladder comprises one or more of natural rubber (isoprene), styrene-butadiene rubber, butyl, nitrile, neoprene, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), silicone, Viton®, polyurethane, or hydrogenated nitrile.
Witthuhn discloses, paragraph 0008, the use of polyurethane for making a liner for bulk container, as such a liner material provides excellent protection while being economical (paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a multiwalled liner as disclosed by Witthuhn that utilizes polyurethane into the structure of Skotinkov, allowing for the liner (bladder) to have excellent protection while being economical.
With respect to claim 9, V discloses the first blader, but fails to disclose the first bladder comprises a plurality of layers.
Witthuhn discloses, abstract, utilizing a multi-layer liner (bladder), as such a liner material provides excellent protection while being economical (paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a multiwalled liner as disclosed by Witthuhn into the structure of Skotinkov, allowing for the liner (bladder) to have excellent protection while being economical.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skotinkov in view of Galvin (U.S. 2016/0130078)
With respect to claim 6, Skotinkov discloses the first bladder and the inner wall surface of the wall of the liquid holding tank, but fails to disclose at least a portion of the first bladder is attached to the inner wall surface of the wall of the liquid holding tank.
Galvin, paragraph 0027, discloses attaching the bladder to the tank to hold it in place.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the disclosure of attaching the bladder to the tank wall as done in Galvin into the system of Skotinkov, allowing the bladder to be held (at least at its inlet) in the desired place against the tanks wall so that it can be filled as desired.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skotinkov in view of LeMay (U.S. 2023/0284608).
With respect to claim 13, Skotinkov discloses a laterally extending boom (28); but fails to specifically disclose;
a plurality of hoses supported by the laterally extending boom;
a plurality of pumps supported by the laterally extending boom; and
a plurality of spray nozzles supported by the laterally extending boom.
LeMay, paragraph 0043, discloses the use of a pair of booms that support hoses, pumps, and spray nozzles to allow for dispensing of fluid from a tank onto crops.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize hoses, nozzles, and pumps as disclosed by LeMay onto the boom arms of Skotinkov, allowing their system to pump the fluid from the tank (and bladders) through the system and to efficiently spray the fluid to crops beneath the device.
With respect to claim 14, Skotinkov as modified discloses, the laterally extending boom is configured to fold for transport (as is known in the system of Skotinkov, see background, where such boom arms fold and unfold from the vehicles side).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752