Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 02/17/2026 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-3 & 5-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 112(b) rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 6 to resolve the clarity of the claim by removing the conflicting requirement of density differences between layers of the same material. The 112(b) rejection of the claims is withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant has rolled Claim 4 into Claims 1 & 12-13. Claims 1 & 12-13 add new limitations that require additional search and consideration.
the first sensor layer includes a first integrally molded electrical connecting element and the second sensor layer includes a second integrally molded electrical connecting element, the first integrally molded electrical connecting element is produced together with the first sensor layer and the second integrally molded electrical connecting element is produced together with the second sensor layer via an additive manufacturing technique including at least one of metal vapor deposition or metal sintering.
Claims 1-3 & 5-15 have been considered in light of the previous references.
The arguments and amended claims do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention with regard to Claims 1-3 & 5-15. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of the prior references of Jordan and Liu in view of the new reference of Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance and indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 12 & 13. The closest prior art is Jordan (EP 3447462) that discloses a a tactile sensor cover comprising a reversibly deformable top layer forming an outer side of the tactile sensor cover, a rigid base layer, forming an inner side of the tactile sensor cover, a sensor unit running between reversibly deformable top layer and rigid base layer, the sensor unit comprising two sensor layers including a first sensor layer and a second sensor layer, and a reversibly compressible spacer layer arranged between the two sensor layers.
Jordan nor the prior art disclose a method of manufacturing via additive manufacturing by producing the first sensor layer with a first integrally molded connecting element and the second sensor layer with a second integrally molded connecting element via an additive manufacturing technique including at least one of metal vapor deposition or metal sintering and applying the second sensor layer to an upper outer side of the rigid base layer then applying the reversibly compressible spacer layer to the second sensor layer via a second additive manufacturing technique by applying the first sensor layer to an upper outer side of the reversibly compressible spacer layer and applying the reversibly deformable top layer to an outer side of the first sensor layer via additive manufacturing.
Regarding Dependent Claims 14 & 15. The dependent claims are allowed based on their dependence on the allowable material of Claims 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (EP 3447462; “Jordan”) in further view of Liu (3D Printing Technologies for Flexible Tactile Sensors toward Wearable Electronics Liu C, Huang N, Xu F, Tong J, Chen Z, Gui X, Fu Y, Lao C. 3D Printing Technologies for Flexible Tactile Sensors toward Wearable Electronics and Electronic Skin. Polymers. 2018; “Liu”) and in further view of Wang (CN 214843718; “Wang” translation provided for citations).
Claim 1. Jordan discloses a tactile sensor cover (1) for detecting a collision with a multilayer, two-dimensional structure, the tactile sensor cover (1) [0012: The safety covering comprises at least one, largely planar spacer body made of an elastically compressible, electrically insulating material, which is a component of the collision detection system. Collision detection device. Due to this geometric shape, the spacer body has two large surface areas, which are referred to below as the top and bottom, with the bottom facing towards the component and the top facing away from the component in the intended use] comprising: a reversibly deformable top layer (4 outer shell)[0017: Furthermore, the safety covering of the protective device has an elastically deformable, preferably electrically insulating outer shell] forming an outer side of the sensor cover (1); a rigid base layer (4 bottom)[0015: This change in elasticity or hardness can occur either abruptly, i.e. at one or more interfaces within the spacer body, or continuously, i.e. steadily, from the bottom to the top. F] forming an inner side of the sensor cover (1); a sensor unit (7 & 8) running between the reversibly deformable top layer (4) and the rigid base layer, (bottom layer 4)[0050], the sensor unit (7 & 8) comprising two sensor layers (7 & 8), the two sensor layers (7 & 8) including a first sensor layer (7) and a second sensor layer (8); and a reversibly compressible spacer layer (2)[0012] arranged between the two sensor layers (7 & 8)[0017] & [0050]. Jordan further discloses electrical connection with metal connectors [0014]. Jordan teaches the required structure for a product claim where the method of manufacturing the product in a product does not hold patentable weight [MPEP 2113] Jordan does not explicitly disclose the structural interpretations of the following:
1) at least two of the reversibly deformable top layer , the rigid base layer,, and the two sensor layers are embodied as layers formed via an additive manufacturing technique.
2) the first integrally electrical connecting element electrical connecting element together with the second sensor layer including at least one of metal vapor deposition or metal sintering.
3) the first integrally molded electrical connecting element is produced together with the first sensor layer and the second integrally molded electrical connecting element is produced together with the second sensor layer via an additive manufacturing technique.
With regard to 1) Liu teaches types of 3D printing technologies have been applied in the manufacturing of various types of tactile sensors including piezoresistive, capacitive and piezoelectric sensors. This review attempts to summarize the current state-of-the-art 3D printing technologies and their applications in tactile sensors for wearable electronics and electronic skin [Abstract]. Liu further teaches at least two of the reversibly deformable top layer, the rigid base layer, and the two sensor layers are embodied as layers formed via an additive manufacturing technique [Section 3.2-3: Fully 3D-printed tactile sensors. As for this type of applications, 3D printing is not used to print a single component, but used to print all the components incorporated in a tactile sensor by a specifically designed printing process] & [Page 4 first ¶: By combining various microstructured and porous dielectric elastomeric layer and stretchable percolation electrodes, the performance of capacitive tactile sensors have been greatly enhanced. For example, Kwon et al. [110] fabricated a capacitive pressure sensor composed of 3D microporous Ecoflex dielectric layer and two CNTs-Ecoflex nanocomposite films as percolation electrodes. A pressure sensitivity of 0.601 KPa1 was obtained] electrical connecting element is produced together with the second sensor layer via an additive manufacturing technique [Page 15 last ¶: DIW also can be used to print metal precursor solution on a stretchable substrate. After chemical reduction of precursor into metal nanoparticles, stretchable conductive electrodes with surface embedded metal particles can be obtained (Figure 15). Song et al. [147] developed a silver precursor (silver trifluoroacetate) solution and then the precursor solution was printed onto a poly(styrene-b-butadiene-b-styrene) (SBS) film substrate. A penetration process of precursor solution into the SBS substrate took place only a few seconds after printing. Then, a chemical reduction process by hydrazine vapor was applied to convert silver precursor into silver nanoparticle]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Liu’s additive manufacturing process for layering a capacitive tactile sensor to manufacture Jordan’s layered tactile sensor because the additive layers improve sensor performance through higher sensitivity, fast response, smaller minimal detectable loads and better flexibility can be achieved through structural optimization from precision materials and layering in additive manufacturing [Liu Conclusion].
With regard to 2) Wang teaches a flexible capacitive pressure tactile sensor, relating to a sensor, specifically to a pressure tactile sensor, comprising a contact, an upper electrode layer, an upper electrode, a dielectric layer, a lower electrode layer; a lower electrode and a middle isolation layer [Abstract]. Wang further teaches the first integrally electrical connecting element electrical connecting element together with the second sensor layer including at least one of metal vapor deposition or metal sintering [0013 &0033: a contact 1 on the top surface of an upper electrode layer 2, and an upper electrode 3 sintered on the inner wall of the bottom surface of the upper electrode layer 2 using a thick-film process. The upper electrode 3 can be one or more, connected in series or parallel, with leads connected to a common upper electrode connector 3-1. A lower electrode 6 is sintered on the inner wall of the top surface of the lower electrode layer 5 using a thick-film process. Similarly, the lower electrode 6 can be one or more, connected in series or parallel, with leads connected to a common lower electrode connector 6-1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wang’s sintering of a connecting element to connect sensing layers as a process to produce Jordan’s, as modified, connecting elements between sensing layers because sintering improves the density of metal connection by densification and bonding strength.
With regard to 3) The limitation where the first integrally molded electrical connecting and the second integrally molded electrical connecting element does not hold patentable weight as it has been held making integral a part integral would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. [See MPEP section 2144.04 section (V)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Jordan’s, as modified, sensing layers integral to the connections because integrated layers improves the reliability of a dynamic sensor from delaminating.
Claim 2. Dependent on the tactile sensor cover of claim 1. Jordan, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the at least two layers formed via the additive manufacturing technique are embodied as layers joined during additive manufacturing.
Liu teaches types of 3D printing technologies have been applied in the manufacturing
of various types of tactile sensors including piezoresistive, capacitive and piezoelectric sensors. This review attempts to summarize the current state-of-the-art 3D printing technologies and their applications in tactile sensors for wearable electronics and electronic skin [Abstract]. Liu further teaches the at least two layers formed via the additive manufacturing technique are embodied as layers joined during additive manufacturing [Section 3.2-3: Fully 3D-printed tactile sensors. As for this type of applications, 3D printing is not used to print a single component, but used to print all the components incorporated in a tactile sensor by a specifically designed printing process] & [Page 4 first ¶: By combining various microstructured and porous dielectric elastomeric layer and stretchable percolation electrodes, the performance of capacitive tactile sensors have been greatly enhanced. For example, Kwon et al. [110] fabricated a capacitive pressure sensor composed of 3D microporous Ecoflex dielectric layer and two CNTs-Ecoflex nanocomposite films as percolation electrodes. A pressure sensitivity of 0.601 KPa1 was obtained].
Liu teaches types of 3D printing technologies have been applied in the manufacturing
of various types of tactile sensors including piezoresistive, capacitive and piezoelectric sensors. This review attempts to summarize the current state-of-the-art 3D printing technologies and their applications in tactile sensors for wearable electronics and electronic skin [Abstract]. Liu further teaches the sensor layers comprise one integrally molded electrical connecting element [Section 3.2 Page 5 second ¶: (1) 3D-printed molds for microstructuring substrate, electrodes and sensing element. For this type of applications, 3D printing is not directly used to fabricate tactile sensor components but used to fabricate molds with various tailored surface structures. These surface structures are replicated by casting elastomeric materials to obtain microstructured substrates, electrodes or sensing elements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Liu’s additive manufacturing process for layering a capacitive tactile sensor to encapsulate electrodes with Jordan’s, as modified, layered tactile sensor because the additive layers improve sensor performance through selective electrode placement in a higher sensitivity, fast response, smaller minimal detectable loads and better flexibility can be achieved through structural optimization from precision materials and layering in additive manufacturing [Liu Conclusion].
Claim 3. Dependent on the tactile sensor cover of claim 1. Jordan further discloses the sensor layers (7 & 8) are conductive and comprise a metal material [0005: A metal foil, a metal wire textile, or a metal-coated textile or nonwoven fabric can be used both as a sensing electrode and for electrical shielding. The seat electrode is subjected to an alternating voltage, whereby the alternating current flowing through the seat electrode by a seated person is detected] & [0014].
Claim 5. Dependent on the tactile sensor cover of claim 1. Jordan further discloses the spacer layer (2) is embodied as a foam [0035: According to an alternative embodiment, the spacer body consists of foam material, e.g. B. Polyurethane soft foam].
Claim 6. Dependent on the tactile sensor cover of claim 1, wherein the reversibly deformable top layer (4) and the base (4 bottom) are the same material [0039] and a mechanical stability of the two layers is determined via a density of the material [0039 where density of the material is the same since material is the same].
Claim 7. Dependent on the tactile sensor cover of claim 1. Jordan further discloses the sensor layers (7 & 8) have at least two sensor segments (7 & 8) respectively, wherein a first sensor segment (7) respectively of the first sensor layer (7) is congruently arranged with a first sensor segment (8) of the second sensor layer (8) (Fig. sensor 7 & 8 are vertically aligned)[0007: This sensor system comprises sensor modules, each consisting of a top layer with a multitude of electrically conductive cover electrodes, an electrically conductive bottom electrode, and a deformable and electrically insulating intermediate layer arranged between the top layer and the bottom electrode. The top electrodes and the bottom electrode each form capacitors, so that an approach or a contact event can be detected with spatial resolution by means of an evaluation unit connected to them in the self-capacitive configuration or the double-sided capacitive configuration].
Claim 8. Dependent on the tactile sensor cover of claim 1. Jordan further discloses a cover (4) with a reversibly deformable top layer (4) and a second sensor layer (7), the base layer (4 bottom) and the first sensor layer (8). Jordan, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a self-contained protective capsule at all sides of the sensor layers and the spacer layer respectively.
Since the courts have held replication since there would be the least amount of experimentation. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) and St. Regis Paper Co. vs. Bemis Co. 293 USPQ 8. Having a double cover with the interior cover as a self-contained protective capsule with Jordan’s, as modified, single cover because a double cover improves reliability of the sensor in environments with high impact conditions.
Claim 9. A medical device comprising the tactile sensor cover of claim 1 [0002: in medical technology and in the use of industrial robots. So, for example... For example, when using medical devices with motor-driven moving components, it must be ensured that the movement of such a component is prevented upon contact].
Claims 10 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan in view of Liu and Wang and in further view of Dirauf (US 20150117615; “Dirauf”).
Claims 10 & 11. Dependent on the medical device of claim 9. Jordan further discloses the reversibly deformable top layer (4), the rigid base layer, (4 bottom), and the two sensor layers (7 & 8) of the tactile sensor cover (1). Jordan, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the reversibly deformable top layer, the rigid base layer,, and the two sensor layers of the tactile sensor cover have a +three-dimensional free-form corresponding to a housing shape of the medical device and the reversibly deformable top layer of the tactile sensor cover forms an outer side of a housing of the medical device.
Dirauf teaches different types of collision may occur between components of the medical apparatus 3 and other objects (e.g., the patient table 4 and/or persons). Thus, a first collision sensor device 1 and a second collision sensor device 1' have been arranged at different locations on the medical apparatus 3 as a result of the flatness, ease of disinfectability, robustness, and run-on paths provided thereby [0041]. Dirauf further teaches the reversibly deformable top layer , the rigid base layer,, and the two sensor layers of the tactile sensor cover have a +three-dimensional free-form corresponding to a housing shape of the medical device (10)[0015: The collision sensor device remains flat enough to be arranged on the corresponding components of the medical apparatus] and the reversibly deformable top layer of the tactile sensor cover (Fig. 3: sensor 1) forms an outer side of a housing of the medical device [0016: Even if the sensor structure contains at least three layers, a flat implementation may be used. The collision sensor device remains flat enough to be arranged on the corresponding components of the medical apparatus].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dirauf’s arrangement of the tactile collision sensor installed in a medical device with the collision surface exposed with Jordan’s, as modified, tactile collision sensor because the installation improves safety of patient and maintainability of machine by providing collision sensors which sense and protect both patient and machine [0003].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855