DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18519643 filed on 11/28/2022 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on provisional application # 63/428294 filed on 11/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 ends with a semicolon “;”, and is therefore not is a complete sentence form ending with a period. (see MPEP 608.01(m)). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (hereafter Li) US 20210208396 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a device (e.g. optical assembly, display device 100, 200,300,600 combiner e.g. 900 including beam steering device 400,420, see title, abstract, paragraphs [04-11,27-32, 54-58, 61-73, 78-90,92-100, 102-112]) comprising: an optical combiner (i.e. as optical assembly includes optical combiner, e.g. 900, see paragraphs [19, 23-25, 80-82, 100-102], see Figs. 1-6, 9-10]) including:
a first polarization volume hologram (PVH) configured to deflect light of a first color (e.g. 426,406 deflecting/diffracting particular wavelength range as polarization selective grating, PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10);
a second PVH configured to deflect light of a second color that is different from the first color (e.g. 428,408 deflecting/diffracting another particular wavelength range as polarization selective grating, PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10);
a third PVH configured to deflect light of third color that is different from the first and second colors (e.g. 412 deflecting/diffracting another particular wavelength range as polarization sensitive HOE, or another PVH with tunable retarder as stack 410 includes one or more polarization-selective gratings-tunable retarder pairs (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 pairs), and given that the light source is multi color source display, e.g. 215,310,602 paragraphs [35,54-55, 60-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10); and
a first polarization interference filter (PIF) configured to switch light of the first color from a polarization that is not deflected by the first PVH to a polarization that is deflected by the first PVH (i.e. 402, 402-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state, handendness of light passing though including particular wavelength range coupled polarization selective grating PVH 426,406, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the optical combiner further includes: a second PIF configured to switch light of the second color from a polarization that is not deflected by the second PVH to a polarization that is deflected by the second PVH (i.e. 404, 404-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state, handendness of light passing though including particular wavelength range coupled polarization selective grating PVH 428,408, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first PVH deflects light of a first polarization and does not deflect light of a second polarization (i.e. as 426,406 deflects light of second circular polarization but not first circular polarization as a PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 7A-B, 4-10);
the second PVH deflects light of the first polarization and does not deflect light of the second polarization (i.e. as 428,408 deflects light of second circular polarization but not first circular polarization as a PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 7A-B, 4-10);
the third PVH deflects light of the second polarization (e.g. 412 deflecting/diffracting deflects light second circular polarization, after conversion by 424, as polarization sensitive HOE, paragraphs [35,54-55, 60-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 8E-9, 4-10);
the first PIF is configured to switch light of the first color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 402, 402-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state, including particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective grating PVH 426,406, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 7A-C);
the second PIF is configured to switch light of the second color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 404, 404-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state, including another particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective grating PVH 428,408, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 7A-C);
the first PIF is disposed between a light input side of the optical combiner and the first PVH (as 402 between 700-A input light and 406,426 PVH, Figs. 5-8, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100); the second PIF is disposed between the light input side of the optical combiner and the second PVH (as 404 between 700-A input light and 408,428 PVH, Figs. 5-8, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]); and both the first PIF and the second PIF are disposed between the light input side of the optical combiner and the third PVH (both 402, 404 between 700-A and 412, e.g. Figs. 5-8, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the optical combiner further includes: a third PIF configured to switch light of the third color from a polarization that is not deflected by the third PVH to a polarization that is deflected by the third PVH (i.e. tunable retarder 422, retarder 424, or also as another tunable retarder, since stack 410 includes one or more polarization-selective gratings-tunable retarder pairs (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 pairs), and as retarder is operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state and corresponding linear polarization through 424, including another particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective HOE 412, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 8A-E,9).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that each of the first PVH, the second PVH, and the third PVH deflects light of a first polarization and does not deflect light of a second polarization (i.e. as PVH 406,426, 408,428 and HOE 412 deflect light of second circular polarization not the first circular polarization as PVHs and corresponding linear polarization for HOE 412 die to 424 retarder, e.g. paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 7A-B, 8A-E, 9);
the first PIF is configured to switch light of the first color from the second polarization to the first polarization(i.e. 402, 402-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state, including particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective grating PVH 426,406, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 7A-C, 8A-E); the second PIF is configured to switch light of the second color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 404, 404-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state, including another particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective grating PVH 428,408, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 7A-C, 8A-E);
the third PIF is configured to switch light of the third color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 422, also 424, as tunable retarder, retarder, or another tunable retarder, that is operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state and corresponding linear polarization through 424, including another particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective HOE 412, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 8A-E,9);
the first PIF is disposed between a light input side of the optical combiner and the first PVH (as 402 between 700-A input light and 406,426 PVH, Figs. 5-8, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100); the second PIF is disposed between the light input side of the optical combiner and the second PVH (as 404 between 700-A input light and 408,428 PVH, Figs. 5-8, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]); and the third PIF is disposed between the light input side of the optical combiner and the third PVH (as 422, 424, or another tunable retarder, between 700-A input light and 412 HOE, Figs. 5-8, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first color is one of the group consisting of a green color, a blue color, and a red color; the second color is one of the group consisting of the green color, the blue color, and the red color; and the third color is one of the group consisting of the green color, the blue color, and the red color (i.e. given that the combiner 300,500,600 with the above PVHs and tunable retarders 402-422, is coupled to light source is multi color source display, e.g. 215,310,602 emitting visible red, green, blue light, paragraphs [35,54-55, 60-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10).
In regard to independent claim 10, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a device (e.g. optical assembly, display device 100, 200,300,600 combiner e.g. 900 including beam steering device 410,420, see title, abstract, paragraphs [04-11,27-32, 54-58, 61-73, 78-90,92-100, 102-112]) comprising: an optical combiner (i.e. as optical assembly includes optical combiner, e.g. 900, see paragraphs [19, 23-25, 80-82, 100-102], see Figs. 1-6, 9-10]) including:
a first polarization volume hologram (PVH) configured to deflect light of a first color and having a first polarization and configured to not deflect light of the first color and having a second polarization (e.g. 426,406 deflecting/diffracting particular wavelength range as polarization selective grating PVH, and that deflects light of second circular polarization but not first circular polarization as PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 7A-B, 4-10);
a second PVH configured to deflect light of a second color and having the first polarization and configured to not deflect light of the second color and having the second polarization (e.g. 428,408 deflecting/diffracting another particular wavelength range as polarization selective grating, PVH, and that deflects light of second circular polarization but not first circular polarization as a PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10);
a third PVH configured to deflect light of a third color and having the first polarization and configured to not deflect light of the third color and having the second polarization (e.g. 412 deflecting/diffracting another particular wavelength range as polarization sensitive HOE, or another PVH with tunable retarder as stack 410 includes one or more polarization-selective gratings-tunable retarder pairs (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 pairs), that deflects/diffracts light second circular polarization, after conversion by 424, as polarization sensitive HOE, and given that the light source is multi color source display, e.g. 215,310,602 paragraphs [35,54-55, 60-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 8A-E, 4-10); and
a first polarization interference filter (PIF) configured to switch light of the first color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 402, 402-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state, handendness of light passing though including particular wavelength range coupled polarization selective grating PVH 426,406, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]);
a second PIF configured to switch light of the second color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 404, 404-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state, handendness of light passing though including particular wavelength range coupled polarization selective grating PVH 428,408, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]); and
a third PIF configured to switch light of the third color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. tunable retarder 422, retarder 424, or also as another tunable retarder, since stack 410 includes one or more polarization-selective gratings-tunable retarder pairs (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 pairs), and as retarder is operable to change the polarization state from first to second circular polarization state in “on” state and corresponding linear polarization through 424, including another particular wavelength range as coupled polarization selective HOE 412 or another PVH, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100], e.g. Figs. 8A-E,9); wherein:
the first PVH is disposed between the first PIF and the second PIF (e.g. 406,426 between 402 and 404, Figs. 4-9), the second PVH is disposed between the second PIF and the third PIF (408,428 between 404 and 422,424, Figs. 4-9), and the third PIF is disposed between the second PVH and the third PVH (i.e. as 422(424 between 408(428) and 412, see Figs. 4-9, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first polarization is one of the group consisting of left-circularly polarized and right-circularly polarized (i.e. as first circular polarization (e.g., the first circular polarization corresponds to right-handed circular polarization and the second circular polarization corresponds to left-handed circular polarization, or vice versa, paragraphs [65, 83]); and the second polarization is the other of the group consisting of left-circularly polarized and right-circularly polarized (e.g., the first circular polarization corresponds to right-handed circular polarization and the second circular polarization corresponds to left-handed circular polarization, or vice versa, paragraphs [65, 83]).
In regard to independent claim 16, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a device (e.g. optical assembly, display device 100, 200,300,600 combiner e.g. 900 including beam steering device, 410,420, see title, abstract, paragraphs [04-11,27-32, 54-58, 61-73, 78-90,92-100, 102-112]) comprising: an optical combiner (i.e. as optical assembly includes optical combiner, e.g. 900, see paragraphs [19, 23-25, 80-82, 100-102], see Figs. 1-6, 9-10]) including:
a first polarization volume hologram (PVH) configured to deflect light of a first color and having a first polarization and configured to not deflect light of the first color and having a second polarization (e.g. 426,406 deflecting/diffracting particular wavelength range as polarization selective grating PVH, and that deflects light of second circular polarization but not first circular polarization as PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 7A-B, 4-10);
a second PVH configured to deflect light of a second color and having the first polarization and configured to not deflect light of the second color and having the second polarization (e.g. 428,408 deflecting/diffracting another particular wavelength range as polarization selective grating, PVH, and that deflects light of second circular polarization but not first circular polarization as a PVH, paragraphs 61-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10);
a third PVH configured to deflect light of a third color and having the second polarization (e.g. 412 deflecting/diffracting another particular wavelength range as polarization sensitive HOE, or another PVH with tunable retarder as stack 410 includes one or more polarization-selective gratings-tunable retarder pairs (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 pairs), and that deflects light second circular polarization, after conversion by 424, as polarization sensitive HOE, and given that the light source is multi color source display, e.g. 215,310,602 paragraphs [35,54-55, 60-73, 78-90,92-103], Figs. 4-10);
a first polarization interference filter (PIF) configured to switch light of the first color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 402, 402-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state, handendness of light passing though including particular wavelength range coupled polarization selective grating PVH 426,406, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]);
a second PIF configured to switch light of the second color from the second polarization to the first polarization (i.e. 404, 404-1(2), as tunable retarder operable to change the polarization state, handendness of light passing though including particular wavelength range coupled polarization selective grating PVH 428,408, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]);
wherein:
the first PVH is disposed between the first PIF and the second PIF(e.g. 406,426 between 402 and 404, Figs. 4-9), the second PIF is disposed between the first PVH and the second PVH (404 between 406(426) and 428, Figs. 4-9), and the second PVH is disposed between the second PIF and the third PVH (408(428) between 404 and 412 or another PVH, see Figs. 4-9, paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first polarization is one of the group consisting of left-circularly polarized and right-circularly polarized (i.e. as first circular polarization (e.g., the first circular polarization corresponds to right-handed circular polarization and the second circular polarization corresponds to left-handed circular polarization, or vice versa, paragraphs [65, 83]); and the second polarization is the other of the group consisting of left-circularly polarized and right-circularly polarized (e.g., the first circular polarization corresponds to right-handed circular polarization and the second circular polarization corresponds to left-handed circular polarization, or vice versa, paragraphs [65, 83]).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that device ((e.g. optical assembly, display device 100, 200,300,600 combiner e.g. 900 including beam steering device) further comprising:
a light source arranged to direct light of the second polarization onto a light incidence side of the optical combiner (i.e. as light source, SLM e.g. 215, 310, 602, 502, directing light in e.g. first circular polarization state 700-A,800-A to incident side of combiner 500, 600, with steerer 410,420, paragraphs [54-61, 72-73,79-85,94-100], Figs. 5-9), wherein the first PIF comprises the light incidence side of the optical combiner or is disposed between the light incidence side of the optical combiner and the first PVH (i.e. as light incident side of 410,420 with incident side of 402, paragraphs [61-65, 72-73,79-85,94-100], Figs. 5-9); and
a virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) headset or a heads-up display (HUD) device including the optical combiner, the light source, a gaze tracker (i.e. as display device 100,200,300 is head-mounted display for virtual reality and augmented reality operations, with source 215, 310, 602, 502, eye(gaze)-tracking 217/604, see e.g. paragraphs [02,23, 32-37-39, 54-61], Figs.1-3,6) and a translation mechanism operative to move the light source toward or away from the optical combiner in accord with a rotation of the eyeball monitored by the gaze tracker (i.e. as adjustment module 218 configured to adjusts an output of electronic display 215 based on the detected locations of the pupils, see paragraphs [32,40], Figs. 1-2]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 11-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (hereafter Li) US 20210208396 A1.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 8, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) the combiner as set forth above, but is silent that a spectral bandwidth of the first PVH is larger than a spectral bandwidth of the first PIF; a spectral bandwidth of the second PVH is larger than a spectral bandwidth of the second PIF; and a spectral bandwidth of the third PVH is larger than a spectral bandwidth of the third PIF. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the spectral bandwidth, spectral range of the three PVH to be larger than corresponding tunable retarders (402,404, 422) of Li in order to provide selectivity of each PHV to diffract a particular range of wavelengths and to selectively attenuate individual light emission devices and provide for incident angle selectivity (see e.g. paragraphs [35, 68, 82-84,102), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) the combiner as set forth above, but is silent that a spectral bandwidth of the first PIF does not encompass the second color and does not encompass the third color; a spectral bandwidth of the second PIF does not encompass the first color and does not encompass the third color; and a spectral bandwidth of the third PIF does not encompass the first color and does not encompass the second color (where it is noted that tunable retarders 402,404,422 are coupled with respective PVHs and are each cover some wavelength range as retarders, in their respective “on” state, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the spectral bandwidth, i.e. spectral range of each of the three PIF tunable retarders that re coupled to respective PVH so that each has spectral bandwidth that does not overlap with bandwidth or color of other two tunable retarders in “on” state, in order to provide selectivity of each PHV to diffract a particular range of wavelengths and provide for incident angle selectivity (see e.g. paragraphs [35, 68, 82-84,102), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) the spectral bandwidth of the first PVH encompasses at least one of the second color and/or the third color; the spectral bandwidth of the second PVH encompasses at least one of the first color and/or the third color; the spectral bandwidth of the third PVH encompasses at least one of the first color and/or the second color (i.e. as PVH 406(426), 408(428) and 412 or another PVH includes spectral range of other PVH at least in “off” state, see paragraphs [61-72, 83-90, 92-100]);
Regarding claims 12, and 18, Li teaches (see Figs. 1-11) the combiner as set forth above, but is silent that a spectral bandwidth of the first PVH is larger than a spectral bandwidth of the first PIF; a spectral bandwidth of the second PVH is larger than a spectral bandwidth of the second PIF; and a spectral bandwidth of the third PVH is larger than a spectral bandwidth of the third PIF. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the spectral bandwidth, spectral range of the three PVH to be larger than corresponding tunable retarders (402,404, 422) of Li in order to provide selectivity of each PHV to diffract a particular range of wavelengths and to selectively attenuate individual light emission devices and provide for incident angle selectivity (see e.g. paragraphs [35, 68, 82-84,102), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xi et al. US 20240176141 A1 also discloses some features of instant invention (See Figs. 9-10, 12-13, 15 and their descriptions).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872