DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed elements such as processors and computer storage media are generic computer elements.
In regards to claim 1, a method for training a segmentation model, comprising: using first training images to train a segmentation model (A person of ordinary skill can observe images and use those to train their own ability to segment images for details); using second training images to train an image generator (A person of ordinary skill could then observe a set of images and train themselves to create images using a pen and paper that are similar to the training images); inputting real images into the segmentation model to generate predicted annotation images (A person of ordinary skill in the art can look at real images and predict relevant annotations to those images); inputting the predicted annotation images into the image generator to generate fake images (A person of ordinary skill in the art can generate images based off of the predicted annotated images); and updating the segmentation model and the image generator according to a loss caused by differences between the real images and the fake images (A person of ordinary skill in the art can see the differences between the real images and their generated images and make corrections to their images based off of the differences).
In regards to claim 2, wherein the first training images are labeled images (A person of ordinary skill can use labeled images to train off of).
Further, wherein the first training images are labeled images (This is extra solution activity as it is merely selecting a particular data source to be manipulated).
In regards to claim 3, wherein the second training images are labeled images (A person of ordinary skill can use labeled images to train off of).
Further, wherein the second training images are labeled images (This is extra solution activity as it is merely selecting a particular data source to be manipulated).
In regards to claim 4, wherein the real images comprise labeled images and unlabeled images (A person can use images that are real with or without annotations).
Further, wherein the real images comprise labeled images and unlabeled images (This is extra solution activity as it is merely selecting a particular data source to be manipulated).
In regards to claim 7, it is similar to claim 1, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 8, it is similar to claim 2, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 9, it is similar to claim 3, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 10, it is similar to claim 4, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 11, further comprising: utilizing a discriminator implemented by the one or more processors to identify differences between the real images and the fake images (A person of ordinary skill in the art can look at a real image and a fake image and identify which is real and which is fake, the disclosure of a discriminator is simply tying the abstract idea to a particular field of technology).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia et al. (“Liver Semantic Segmentation Algorithm Based on Improved Depp Adversarial Networks in Combination of Weighted Loss Function on Abdominal CT Images”), hereinafter referred to as Xia.
In regards to claim 1, Xia discloses a method for training a segmentation model, comprising: using first training images to train a segmentation model, wherein the segmentation model is configured to generate predicted annotation images corresponding to respective input images (Page 5 section IV A and Page 4 Section B, discloses that the dataset is made up of data that includes labelled data that is used for training with the section on page 4 disclosing that the segmentation model creates a prediction mask); using second training images to train an image generator (Last paragraph of page 3 that goes into page4 and page 4’s first new paragraph, the Gan is trained following that algorithm which includes masks from the segmentation model); inputting real images, into the segmentation model to generate the predicted annotation images corresponding to the real images (Page 4 Section B, disclosing that the segmentation model creates a prediction mask that corresponds to the original or real image; see also Fig. 2); inputting the predicted annotation images into the image generator to generate fake images corresponding to the predicted annotation images (Last paragraph of page 3 that goes into page 4; page 4’s first new paragraph; and figure 2, the Gan is trained following that algorithm which includes masks from the segmentation model and these are fed into the GAN to create the reconstruction image); and computing, by one or more processors, a loss based on differences between the real images and the fake images (Figure 2 and weighted loss section on pages 4-5, discloses a loss function that includes the adversarial loss and content-based loss between the original image I and the reconstructed image IR, as shown in figure 2), and updating parameters of the segmentation model and the image generator based on the computed loss (Figure 2 and weighted loss section/training process on pages 4-5, Xia discloses the use of the loss function for training both the segmentation model and the GAN).
In regards to claim 2, Xia discloses wherein the first training images are labeled images (Page 5 section IV A, discloses that the dataset is made up of data that includes labelled data that is used for training).
In regards to claim 3, Xia discloses wherein the second training images are labeled images (Page 5 section IV A, discloses that the dataset is made up of data that includes labelled data that is used for training).
In regards to claim 4, Xia discloses wherein the real images comprise labeled images and unlabeled images (Page 5 section IV A, discloses that the dataset is made up of data that includes some labelled data which means that some of the data is unlabeled that is used for training).
In regards to claim 6, Xia discloses wherein the image generator is based on a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN) model with pixel to pixel correspondence (Page 3 section III, The paper focuses on a Pix2Pix network for the GAN which is a network with pixel to pixel correspondence).
In regards to claim 7, it is similar to claim 1, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 8, it is similar to claim 2, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 9, it is similar to claim 3, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 10, it is similar to claim 4, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 11, Xia discloses further comprising: utilizing a discriminator implemented by the one or more processors to identify differences between the real images and the fake images (Abstract and Figure 2, Discloses the use of a discriminator that identifies the differences between the images).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (“Liver Semantic Segmentation Algorithm Based on Improved Depp Adversarial Networks in Combination of Weighted Loss Function on Abdominal CT Images”), hereinafter referred to as Xia, in view of Rajapakse et al. (US 20250022137 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rajapakse.
In regards to claim 5, Xia does not explicitly disclose wherein the segmentation model is based on a Visual Geometry Group (VGG) U-net model.
However, Rajapakse discloses wherein the segmentation model is based on a Visual Geometry Group (VGG) U-net model (Paragraph 105, Describes that the two segmentation models, the U-Nets, use images input for training purposes).
It would be prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of these two arts. Xia discloses a discriminator which is a type of segmentation model. Rajapakse is a related art in medical imaging that discloses the usage of this specific segmentation model for training purposes. As such, one could simply substitute the two to yield predictable results. Further it would be a predictable increase in accuracy as the related works section of Page 3 notes that “The deep module of the structure is generally improved by the VGG-16 or ResNet-1 architecture.” The fact that the author notes that in general the system is improved by using a VGG system would make it prima facie obvious to combine.
Response to Amendment
The amendments entered 7/10/2026 have been considered in full. The amendments overcome all 112(a) and 112(b) related rejections. The amendments made, however, are reverting the claims mostly back to what they were in the non-final rejection. As such, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections are reintroduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Madani et al. (US-20220076075-A1) covers a similar system that does not fully use a segmentation model in the process.
CONOR AIDAN. O'MALLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 2675
/CONOR A O'MALLEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/SEAN M CONNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663