Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-14, 20, 22, 24-26, 35-36 and 38-39 have been considered but are moot because the amendments to claim 1 and 35 prompts a new ground of rejection. The rejection below has been modified to reflect that amendment to the claims; however, still in part relies on the previously applied prior art such as Haxo, Sugarman, and Schieffer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-14, 22, 25-26, 35-36, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haxo, Jr. et al. (US 6143252 A), and further in view of Holmes et al. (US 20130078733 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haxo teaches a liquid handling device (pipette device 20, see Fig. 1), the device comprising:
(a) an actuator comprising a movable shaft (motorized helical screw connected to rod 40, see Fig. 1 and Col. 5, Lines 45-56);
(b) an elongated body comprising a central channel, a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the distal end comprises an orifice (cylinder 24 with chamber 30 that includes proximal end 26 and distal end 28, where the distal end contains a tip holder 44, see Figs. 1-3 and Col.5, Lines 45-67); and
(c) a plunger comprising a proximal end and a distal end (plunger 32 with proximal head 36 and distal end that interfaces with cylinder 24, see Fig. 1 and Col. 5, Lines 45-67), wherein:
(i) the proximal end is mechanically coupled to the movable shaft (head 36 is coupled to rod 40 by block 38, see Fig. 1 and Col. 5, Lines 45-67) , and
(ii) at least a portion of the distal end of the plunger is moveably positioned within the central channel (the plunger 32 is movable in the chamber 30, see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 5, Lines 45-67).
Haxo does not teach the device is capable of reproducibly dispensing a liquid volume ranging from 10 nanoliters (nL) to 300 nL.
However, Holmes teaches fluid handling systems with an actuator, plunger and pipettes (para 0098). Holmes further teaches the device is capable of dispensing fluid ranging from 1 nL to 500 nL for the benefit of high degree of accuracy and precision (para 0575-0576). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Haxo with the device is capable of reproducibly dispensing a liquid volume ranging from 10 nanoliters (nL) to 300 nL as taught by Holmes for the benefit of high degree of accuracy and precision (para 0575-0576).
Regarding claim 2, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a support structure that is physically coupled to and stabilizes the actuator, the elongated body and the plunger (housing 22 for containing and stabilizing the rod 40, cylinder 24, and plunger 32, see Fig. 1 and Col. 5, Lines 38-67).
Regarding claim 3, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the actuator is a mechanical actuator (the rod 40 uses drive motor to move and is therefore mechanically actuated, see Col. 5, Lines 38-67).
Regarding claim 4, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the mechanical actuator comprises a stepper motor (the drive motor is a stepper motor, see Col. 16, Lines 12-22).
Regarding claim 5, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the actuator is a linear actuator (the actuator moves the plunger downward in a line using a screw for precision fluid operations, see Fig. 1-3, Col. 3, Lines 1-11 and Col. 5, Lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 6, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured for both aspirating and dispensing liquid through the orifice (the device is used to aspirate and dispense fluid, see arrow 34 in Fig. 1 and Col. 5, Lines 38-67).
Regarding claim 7, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the elongated body comprises a cylinder (cylinder 24, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Haxo teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the elongated body further comprises a port located on the side of the elongated body and fluidically coupled to the central channel (egress port 50 that is coupled to channel 30, see Col. 6, Lines 1-24).
Regarding claim 10, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the orifice has a diameter that is smaller than the inner diameter of the central channel (the pipette tip is smaller than the chamber 30, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the elongated body and the orifice are machined from a cylindrical rod (the cylinder and opening to pipette tip are a single form, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the orifice is part of an orifice plate coupled to the distal end of the elongated body (the tip holder 44 receives multi-well plate, see Col. 9, Lines 11-37).
Regarding claim 22, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the outer diameter of the plunger is smaller than the inner diameter of the central channel (the plunger is smaller than the channel 30, see Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 25, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a seal that encompasses the junction between the proximal end of the elongated body and plunger (O-ring 42 for sealing junction between cylinder 30 and plunger 32, see Fig. 1 and Col. 5 and 45-67).
Regarding claim 26, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a seal that encompasses the proximal end of the elongated body, the seal surrounding both the outer surface of at least a portion of the proximal end of the elongated body and surrounding the plunger at a position of the plunger where the plunger emerges from the proximal end of the elongated body (O-ring 42 for sealing junction between cylinder 30 and plunger 32, see Fig. 1 and Col. 5 and 45-67, where the seal surrounds the tio of the cylinder and surrounds the plunger upon insertion).
Regarding claim 35, Haxo teaches a system (100) for the simultaneous handling of a plurality of liquid samples (see Fig. 4-5 and Col. 9, Lines 38-67), the system comprising:
(i) a nanosyringe array comprising a plurality of nanosyringes (syringes 104, 106, 108, and 110, see Figs. 4-5), each nanosyringe comprising:
(a) an actuator comprising a movable shaft (rod 122, see Fig. 4 and Col. 9, Lines 38-67);
(b) an elongated body comprising a central channel, a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the distal end comprises an orifice (cylinder with chamber 112 with proximal and distal ends where the distal end comprises a tip holder 128, see Annotated Fig. 4); and
(c) a plunger comprising a proximal end and a distal end (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein:
the proximal end is mechanically coupled to the movable shaft, and at least a portion of the distal end of the plunger is moveably positioned within the central channel (proximal end of plunger is attached to pluner plate 120 that is connected to rod 122, see Fig. 4 and Col. 9, Lines 38-67); and
(ii) a computer control system for controlling the actuator (computer control system for controlling pipetting operations, which necessarily includes the actuator, see Col. 9, Lines 38-67).
Haxo does not teach the nanosyringe is capable of reproducibly dispensing a liquid volume ranging from 10 nanoliters (nL) to 300 nL.
However, Holmes teaches fluid handling systems with an actuator, plunger and pipettes (para 0098). Holmes further teaches a nanosyringe is capable of dispensing fluid ranging from 1 nL to 500 nL for the benefit of high degree of accuracy and precision (para 0575-0576). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Haxo with a nanosyringe is capable of reproducibly dispensing a liquid volume ranging from 10 nanoliters (nL) to 300 nL as taught by Holmes for the benefit of high degree of accuracy and precision (para 0575-0576).
Regarding claim 36, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the system of claim 35, wherein the system is configured to accommodate a multi- well device in a liquid receiving relationship with the nanosyringe array (the system is configured to carry out fluid operations on connected multiwell plates, see Col. 9, Lines 11-37).
Regarding claim 38, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the system of claim 35, further comprising a housing that comprises the nanosyringe array (housing 102 for containing syringes, see Fig. 4 and Col. 9, Lines 38-67).
Regarding claim 39, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the system of claim 38, where the housing forms an environmentally-controllable chamber (housing encloses pipettes and includes computer controller, see Col. 9, Lines 38-67).
Forming an environmentally-controllable chamber is a limitation with respect to an intended use of the housing. An intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). The apparatus of Haxo is identical to the presently claimed structure and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim since the housing is under the control of the computer of the system and also forms an outer casing for the pipette system, which would be environmentally-controllable.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haxo, Jr. et al. (US 6143252 A) in view of Holmes et al (US 20130078733 A1), and further in view of Sugarman et al. (WO2000051735).
Regarding claim 20, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, comprising a plunger (see Fig. 1), but does not explicitly teach that it is a stainless steel plunger.
However, in the analogous art of fluid dispensing systems, Sugarman et al. teaches a fluid dispensing system comprising a plurality of syringes, where the syringes and their plungers are made of stainless steel as it is an inert material, see Page 12, Lines 26-30 and Page 15, Lines 28-31.
While Haxo is silent to the construction material of the plunger, the reference teaches that the device is used for the synthesis of biopolymers, which would require an inert material to prevent contamination by the plunger. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the plunger of Haxo to be made of stainless steel as exemplified by Sugarman et al. for the benefit of providing an inert plunger that aspirates and dispenses a fluid for chemical operations, see Page 15, Lines 28-31 in Sugarman. Further, the modification of the plunger of Haxo to be constructed of stainless steel as exemplified by Sugarman would have had the reasonable expectation of successfully facilitating the syringing of fluid for chemical synthesis operations.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haxo, Jr. et al. (US 6143252 A) in view of Holmes et al (US 20130078733 A1), and further in view of Schieffer et al. (US 20210252496 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Haxo in view of Holmes teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of the plunger further comprises a plunger seal (O-ring 42, see Fig. 1), but does not teach that the distal end of the plunger further comprises a plunger seal.
However, in the analogous art of pipetting systems with mechanically actuated plungers, Schieffer et al. teaches a pipette with a plunger 260 where a first O-ring 263 is located at the top of the plunger (analogous to Haxo) and an additional O-ring 262 used to prevent the leakage of air between the syringe chamber and the connection points of additional elements of the fluid handling system, see [0079] in Schieffer.
While the invention of Haxo does not explicitly teach that the distal end comprises a seal, the use of a seal to prevent the leakage of pressure or liquid within the pipetting system was known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention as evidenced by Schieffer et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the fluid device including the plunger of Haxo to include a second O-ring to the proximal end of the plunger for the benefit of preventing air leakage that would alter the pressure supplied to the system for future fluid operations, see [0079] in Schieffer. Further, the modification of the plunger of Haxo to include the secondary Ο-ring would have facilitated the expected result of sealing the plunger to provide accurate fluid aspirating and dispensing volumes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798