DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed May 27th 2026 has been entered and made of record. No claims are amended. No new claims are. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Applicant’s remarks in view of the newly presented amendments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Applicant argues that the reference to Prodanov does not disclose the claim limitation:
determining the person is an attentive person based on an attention feature associated with the person, wherein the attention feature indicates the person is paying attention to the far field device
Examiner disagrees. The term “attention feature” does not appear in Applicant’s specification. However in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] of the specification describes the vision-based attention detector:
“…In the first part, the far field vision-based attention detector 204 detects or tests for frontal face(s) in the video stream. The first part is referred herein as the far field frontal face detection, which can be performed by a far field frontal face detector 280 in FIG. 2. Broadly speaking, the far field frontal face detector 280 in the first part is an example of a feature extraction component that can detect feature(s) that suggests a user is paying attention at a given moment in time or in a given video frame. In this specific example, the feature is the presence of a frontal face. In the second part, the far field vision-based attention detector 204 tracks the detected frontal face(s) and tracks how long the user(s) has been looking straight at the camera.”
It appears that the vison-based attention detector determines that a detected face is font facing for a predetermined amount of time in order to determine that the person is paying attention.
This is exactly what is described in Prodanov, page 123, section 8.3.4:
“…We assume that presence of a user’s frontal face in the video frames for an interval of time of at least 0.8 s is sufficient to ensure that the user is attending while providing her/his spoken answer. The video stream is providing 25 frames per second on the average (Figure 8.4). In order to provide evidence for the state of the UA variable from Figure 7.5 we use a face detector based on the modified algorithm of Viola and Jones (Viola and Jones, 2001; Lienhart and Maydt, 2002). To detect the user as attending we look for the binary event of face detected into 10 consecutive frames in the video stream.
Prodanov described detecting a frontal face for a predetermined amount of time to mean that the person is attending or paying attention.
Prodanov clearly discloses an “attention feature” in the form of a detected frontal face for a predetermined amount of time.
Applicant further argues that Prodanov does not disclose applying beamforming in response to determining the person being the attentive person. Examiner disagrees. Prodanov clearly discloses performing facial recognition to identify a person paying attention or attending the conversation (pages 121-123 sections 8.3.3-8.3.5). Prodanov also clearly discloses that beamforming is performed to recognize speech (page 25, speech enhancement and audio signal capture section discusses performing beam forming for precise audio spatial filtering. Pages 140-142 discloses the specific microphone array used to perform beamforming to target the person speaking). Speech recognition is performed in relation to the recognized frontal face and beamforming is performed explicitly for the purpose of recognizing speech. Therefore the beamforming to recognize speech is considered to be performed in response to recognizing a forward facing attending person. The rejection in view of Prodanov is therefore maintained and accordingly made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 12-14, 16, 18, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Publication titled “Error Handling in Multimodal Voice-Enabled Interfaces of Tour-Guide Robots Using Graphical Models” by Prodanov.
With regard to claim 1, Prodanov discloses a method for vision-assisted audio processing in a far field device, comprising:
receiving a video stream (Fig. 8.4(c) on page 122);
detecting a person in the video stream; (See table 7.3 on page 105 and pages 122-123, a robot equipped with a video camera records video for detecting a user presence through face detection);
determining the person is an attentive person based on an attention feature associated with the person, wherein the attention feature indicates the person is paying attention to the far field device (page 123, section 8.3.4, Determination is made that the person is attending the conversation by detecting the person’s face for a preset number of frames or minimum period of time);
applying, in response to determining the person being the attentive person, beamforming to a microphone array of the far field device to enhance reception of audio signals received from a target direction of arrival corresponding to a target direction in which the person is located (page 25, speech enhancement and audio signal capture section discusses performing beam forming for precise audio spatial filtering. Pages 140-142 discloses the specific microphone array used to perform beamforming to target the person speaking); and
page 123, speech recognition section 8.3.5, and
initiating, in response to determining the person being the attentive person, automatic speech recognition on the audio signals received from the target direction of arrival (page 123, speech recognition section 8.3.5, and sections 3.1 and 5.4.2. See also table 7.3 and pages 122-123, Speech recognition is performed in response to the recognized face and the detected audio).
With regard to claim 2, Prodanov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein applying beamforming to the microphone array of the far field device includes at least one of amplifying the audio signals coming from the target direction of arrival or nullifying other audio signals coming from other directions different from the target direction of arrival (page 25, Speech enhancement and audio signal capture section describes the microphone arrays are implemented to reduce noise and thereby relatively amplify the speech part of the audio signal. The beamformer specification is shown on pages 140-142. Fig. 1, DSDA illustration shows an amplified speech signal with noise removed. The microphone array also seeks to minimize audio signal that is outside of the directional sensitivity beam shown in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 3, Prodanov discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving one or more audio signals having one or more frequencies; and wherein applying beamforming to the microphone array of the far field device includes applying different weights to different ones of the one or more frequencies to perform at least one of amplifying the audio signals coming from the target direction of arrival or nullifying other audio signals coming from other directions different from the target direction of arrival (Section 3.1.3 on page 26 describes the weighting of specific frequencies of the audio signal in order to accent the speech audio signal. See also page 25, Speech enhancement and audio signal capture section describes the microphone arrays are implemented to reduce noise and thereby relatively amplify the speech part of the audio signal. The beamformer specification is shown on pages 140-142. Fig. 1, DSDA illustration shows an amplified speech signal with noise removed. The microphone array also seeks to minimize audio signal that is outside of the directional sensitivity beam shown in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 5, Prodanov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the person is the attentive person further comprises:
detecting the attention feature associated with the person (page 123, section 8.3.4, Determination is made that the person is attending the conversation by detecting the person’s frontal face for a preset number of frames or minimum period of time);
comparing a period of time that the attention feature has been detected against a threshold (page 123, section 8.3.4, The example give is 0.8 seconds that a forward facing face is detected); and
identifying the person as the attentive person in response to determining that the period of time exceeds the threshold (page 123, section 8.3.4, Determination is made that the person is attending the conversation by detecting the person’s frontal face for a preset number of frames or minimum period of time).
With regard to claim 7, Prodanov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the attention feature comprises at least one of a frontal face of the person, a side face of the person, an eye gaze of the person, a facial expression of the person, or a mouth movement of the person (page 123, section 8.3.4, Determination is made that the person is attending the conversation by detecting the person’s frontal face for a preset number of frames or minimum period of time).
With regard to claim 10, Prodanov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the person is the attentive person further comprises detecting the attention feature associated with the person, comparing a period of time that the attention feature has been detected against a threshold, and identifying the person as the attentive person in response to determining that the period of time exceeds the threshold (page 123, section 8.3.4, Determination is made that the person is attending the conversation by detecting the person’s frontal face for a preset number of frames or minimum period of time. The example give is 0.8 seconds that a forward facing face is detected) ; and
wherein applying beamforming to the microphone array of the far field device includes at least one of amplifying the audio signals coming from the target direction of arrival or nullifying other audio signals coming from other directions different from the target direction of arrival (page 25, Speech enhancement and audio signal capture section describes the microphone arrays are implemented to reduce noise and thereby relatively amplify the speech part of the audio signal. The beamformer specification is shown on pages 140-142. Fig. 1, DSDA illustration shows an amplified speech signal with noise removed. The microphone array also seeks to minimize audio signal that is outside of the directional sensitivity beam shown in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 12, the discussion of claim 1 applies. Prodanov discloses an apparatus for vision-assisted audio processing in a far field device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors couples with the one or more memories for performing the method recited in claim 1 (See page 65, section 5.3.1 Hardware architecture. The apparatus includes processors with memory for processing video and audio input).
With regard to claims 13-14, 16, 18 and 21, the discussions of claims 2-3, 5, 7 and 10 apply respectively.
With regard to claim 23, the discussions of claims 1 and 12 apply. Prodanov discloses software program for controlling the device and performing the method recited in claim 1 (See page 66, Section 5.3.2 Software architecture).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 8-9, 11, 15, 17, 19-20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claims 4 and 15, no prior art of record was found to teach the specific claimed steps of:
determining a first location of the person in an image coordinate system of the video stream in response to the person being the attentive person;
converting the first location into a second location of the person in an audio coordinate system of the microphone array; and
determining a target vector toward the second location, wherein the target direction of arrival corresponds to the target vector.
With regard to claims 6 and 17, nor prior art of record was found to teach or fairly suggest the specific steps of:
identifying the attention feature associated with the person in a first video frame of a plurality of video frames of the video stream;
skipping a number of video frames subsequent to the first video frame; and
identifying the attention feature associated with the person in a second video frame of the plurality of video frames of the video stream, wherein the second video frame is after the number of video frames subsequent to the first video frame, wherein a time duration between the first video frame and the second video frame comprises the period of time exceeding the threshold.
With regard to claims 8, 9, 11, 19, 20 and 22 no found prior art of record teaches or fairly suggests the steps of:
detecting an interferer object in the video stream; and
identifying an interferer direction of arrival corresponding to an interferer direction in which the interferer object is located;
wherein applying beamforming to the microphone array of the far field device includes at least one of amplifying the audio signals coming from the target direction of arrival or nullifying interferer audio signals coming from the interferer direction of arrival.
USPN 2019/0050629 to Olgiati discloses a system for determining an interferer in the form of a person or object occluding or obscuring another person or object (See Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0038]-[0041]). However Olgiati does not teach or fairly suggest that the interferer or overlapping detected persons are used for processing audio or microphone array beamforming. Prodanov also doesn’t teach or suggest the determination of or accounting for interferers in the processing of audio data in microphone array beamforming.
FINAL REJECTION
Applicant’s remarks were not found to overcome the presented grounds of rejection presented in the Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/WESLEY J TUCKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661