DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-12 objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 3 line 7, the phrase “of the edge connector” should read --of the edge connectors--. Claims 4-12 include all the limitations of claim 3 and are objected to for the same reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassett et al. (2017/0177537).
With regard to claim 1, Bassett teaches, as shown in figures 1-2B and taught in paragraphs 21-22: “An adapter cable 102, comprising: a receptacle connector 130 including contact pins 136a and 136b as defined for a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) connector (paragraph 22 teaches the connector 130 connecting to a PCIe slot)… connectors 140a and 140b having… pins 146a and 146b… and connections (dotted lines shown in figure 2B) connecting the receptacle connector 130 to the edge connectors, each connection connecting one of the contact pins to one of the edge pins”.
Bassett does not teach the connectors being edge as defined for a PCIe add-in card (AIC)” However, Bassett teaches the use of PCIe edge connectors with PCIe slots (Bassett, paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PCIe edge connectors as the connectors in order to connect to PCIe receptacle connectors.
With regard to claim 2, Bassett teaches: “The adapter cable of claim 1”, as shown above.
Bassett as modified above also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2B and taught in paragraphs 21-22: “wherein the adapter cable 102 is configured to connect a PCIe AIC to a plurality of PCIe connectors, the receptacle connector 130 is configured to receive the PCIe AIC, and the edge connectors are configured to be mounted to the PCIe connectors (it would be obvious to plug PCIe edge connectors into mating PCIe receptacle connectors)”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831