DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
The amendment filed on 02/18/2026, responding to the office action mailed on 11/18/2025, has been entered. The present office action is made with all the suggested amendment being fully considered. As requested, English translation of JP 2014-157313A published on 08/28/2014 to Sano (without drawing) 18 pages is separately cited in PTO-892.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano JP 2014-157313A (Citation is from the attached English machine translation) in view of Lee et al. US 2022/0124232.
Regarding claim 1, Sano teaches a lens module (see at least Fig. 10) comprising:
a first lens barrel (Fig. 10: 21) in which at least one lens (B) is disposed and comprising a first threaded portion (27) and a first stepped portion on an outer circumferential surface of the first lens barrel (as shown in fig. 10: the exterior cylindrical portion of the lens retaining tube 21 has a stepped portion); and
a second lens barrel (Fig. 10: 11) in which at least one lens (A) is disposed and comprising a second threaded portion (16) and a second stepped portion on an inner circumferential surface of the second lens barrel (as shown in fig. 10: the inner cylindrical portion of the lens retaining tube 11 has a stepped portion),
wherein the first lens barrel (21) and the second lens barrel (11) are coupled to each other by fitting the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion to each other and screwing the first threaded portion (27) and the second threaded portion (16) to each other (see para 0003 of the translation: “a female thread portion 16 is formed on the inner surface of the outer tube 11 that holds lens A, and a male thread portion 27 of a lens holding tube 21 that holds lens B is screwed into this female thread portion 16”) .
[AltContent: textbox (Second stepped portion on an inner circumferential surface of the second lens barrel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First stepped portion on an outer circumferential surface of the first lens barrel)][AltContent: arrow]
Sano fails to teach: a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion are coupled to each other by fitting is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion are coupled to each other by screwing.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a lens module (see at least Figs. 5, 6, 7), a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion (442b-2 or 452b-2) and the second stepped portion (460b) are coupled to each other by fitting (see Fig. 6: first stepped portion fitted inside 460b) is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion (443) and the second threaded portion (465) are coupled to each other by screwing (as shown in figure below, portion 442b-2 or 452b-2 is longer that 465/443 or 466/453). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens module of Sano by utilizing the claimed length of the first/second stepped and the length of the threaded portion as taught by Lee in order to give more stable alignment of the lens inside the lens module.
Regarding claim 2, Sona teaches the lens module of claim 1, wherein the first stepped portion is formed below (with reference to the right side of Figure 10 as the bottom, Figure 10 discloses that "the circular outer portion of the lens retaining tube 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not provided" is located below "the external thread portion 27"] the first threaded portion in an optical axis) the first threaded portion in the optical axis direction (optical axis of Fig. 10) and the second stepped portion is formed below the second threaded portion in the optical axis direction (with reference to the right side of Figure 10 as the lower portion, Figure 10 discloses that "the inner circular portion of the outer cylinder 11, which is not provided with the internal thread portion 16 but is equipped with the fixing screw 41" is located below the "Internal thread portion 16").
Regarding claim 3, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, wherein a length of the first stepped portion in the optical direction is longer than a length of the first threaded portion in the optical axis direction (Figure 10 discloses that "the length in the optical axis direction of the outer cylindrical portion of the lens holding cylinder 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not provided” is greater than "the length in the optical axis direction of the external thread portion 27"), and a length of the second stepped portion in the optical axis direction is longer than a length of the second threaded portion in the optical axis direction (Figure 10 discloses that "the length in the optical axis direction of the inner circumferential portion of the outer cylinder 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is not provided and where the fixing screw 41 is positioned” is greater than "the length of the internal thread portion 16 in the optical axis direction").
Regarding claim 4, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, wherein an outer diameter of the first stepped portion is smaller than an outer diameter of the first threaded portion (Figure 10 discloses that "the outer diameter of the peripheral circular portion of the lens holding cylinder 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not provided" is smaller than "the outer diameter of the external thread portion 27"), and an inner diameter of the second stepped portion is smaller than an inner diameter of the second threaded portion (Figure 10 discloses that "the inner diameter of the portion of the outer cylinder 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is not provided and where the fixing screw 41 is located" is smaller than "the inner diameter of the internal thread portion 16").
Regarding claim 5, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, wherein the first threaded portion is screwed into the second threaded portion while the first stepped portion is inserted into the second stepped portion (Figure 10 discloses that the "external thread portion 27" is threadedly engaged with the "internal thread portion 16," while simultaneously, "the outer cylindrical portion of the lens retaining cylinder 21 that does not have the external thread portion 27" is inserted into "the inner cylindrical portion of the outer cylinder 11 that does not have the internal thread portion 16 and is provided with a set screw 41").
Regarding claim 6, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, wherein an optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel and an optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel are aligned with each other by the fitting of the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion to each other (Figure 10 discloses that the optical axis of lens B and the optical axis of lens A are aligned with each other through the cooperation between "the outer circular portion of the lens retaining tube 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not provided" and "the inner circular portion of the outer tube 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is not provided and where the fixing screw 41 is installed").
Regarding claim 7, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, wherein a distance between the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel and the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel is adjusted by the screwing of the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion to each other (Paragraph [0003] of the specification and Figure 10 disclose that the distance between Lens A and Lens B is adjusted by means of engaging the external threaded portion 27 with the internal threaded portion 16).
Regarding claim 11, the lens module of claim 1, wherein the first lens barrel comprises a first support portion configured to support the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel on at least one side of the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel (Figure 10 reveals that the "lower left portion” of the lens retaining cylinder 21 comprises a supporting section for supporting lens B), and the second lens barrel comprises a second support portion configured to support the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel on at least one side of the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel (Figure 10 discloses that the “lower right portion" of the outer cylinder 11 comprises a supporting section for supporting lens A).
Regarding claim 16, Sano JP 2014-157313A teaches a lens module (see at least Fig. 10) comprising:
a first lens barrel (Fig. 10: 21) in which at least one lens (B) is disposed and comprising a first threaded portion (27) and a first stepped portion on an outer circumferential surface of the first lens barrel (as shown in fig. 10: the exterior cylindrical portion of the lens retaining tube 21 has a stepped portion); and
a second lens barrel (Fig. 10: 11) in which at least one lens (A) is disposed and comprising a second threaded portion (16) and a second stepped portion on an inner circumferential surface of the second lens barrel (as shown in fig. 10: the inner cylindrical portion of the lens retaining tube 11 has a stepped portion),
wherein the first stepped portion is inserted into the second stepped portion to align an optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel with an optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel (Figure 10 discloses that "the outer cylindrical portion of the lens holding cylinder 21 where the external thread 27 is provided" is inserted into "the inner cylindrical portion of the outer cylinder 11 where the internal thread 16 is provided and where the fixing screw 41 is installed” in order to align the optical axis of lens B mounted in the lens holding cylinder with the optical axis of lens A), and
the first threaded portion is threaded into the second threaded portion (see para 0003 of the translation: “a female thread portion 16 is formed on the inner surface of the outer tube 11 that holds lens A, and a male thread portion 27 of a lens holding tube 21 that holds lens B is screwed into this female thread portion 16”) and is rotatable relative to the second threaded portion to correct a focal length of the lens module ([Paragraph [0003] of the specification and Figure 10 disclose "adjusting the distance between lenses A and B by moving lens B along the optical axis while simultaneously rotating the lens retaining barrel 21," which infers that the overall focal length of the lens assembly can be adjusted]).
[AltContent: textbox (Second stepped portion on an inner circumferential surface of the second lens barrel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First stepped portion on an outer circumferential surface of the first lens barrel)][AltContent: arrow]
Sano fails to teach: a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion is inserted into the second stepped portion is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion is threaded into the second threaded portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a lens module (see at least Figs. 5, 6, 7), a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion (442b-2 or 452b-2) is inserted into the second stepped portion (460b) is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion (443) is threaded into the second threaded portion (465/466) (as shown in figure below, portion 442b-2 or 452b-2 is longer that 465/443 or 466/453). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens module of Sano by utilizing the claimed length of the first/second stepped and the length of the threaded portion as taught by Lee in order to give more stable alignment of the lens inside the lens module.
Regarding claim 17, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 16, wherein an outer diameter of the first stepped portion is small enough to enable the first stepped portion to be inserted into the second stepped portion, but large enough to enable an outer surface of the first stepped portion to contact an inner surface of the second stepped portion and maintain an alignment between the optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel and the optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel (Figure 10 discloses that the outer diameter of “the external cylindrical portion of the lens retention cylinder 21 where the external thread portion 27 is formed" is sufficiently small to allow insertion into "the internal cylindrical portion of the outer 5 cylinder 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is formed and where the fixing screw 41 is provided," yet sufficiently large to enable contact between the outer surface of “the external cylindrical portion of the lens retention cylinder 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not formed" and the inner surface of "the internal cylindrical portion of the outer cylinder 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is not formed and where the fixing screw 41 is provided,” thereby maintaining alignment between the optical axis of lens B and the optical axis of lens A).
Regarding claim 18, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 16, wherein the first stepped portion extends from a lower end of the first threaded portion toward a lower end of the first lens barrel in the optical axis direction (With reference to the right side of Figure 10 as the lower end, Figure 10 discloses that “the external cylindrical portion of the lens holding tube 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not provided" extends along the optical axis direction from the lower end of "the external thread portion 27" toward the lower end of the lens holding tube 21), and the second stepped portion extends from a lower end of the second threaded portion toward a lower end of the second lens barrel in the optical axis direction (With reference to the right side of Figure 10 as the lower end, Figure 10 discloses that "the inner circumferential circular portion of the outer cylinder 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is not provided and where the fixing screw 41 is positioned” extends along the optical axis direction from the lower end of “the internal thread portion 16" towards the lower end of the outer cylinder 11).
Regarding claim 19, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 18, wherein an outer diameter of the first stepped portion is smaller than an inner diameter of the second threaded portion and an inner diameter of the second threaded portion (Figure 10 discloses that "the outer diameter of the peripheral circular portion of the lens holding cylinder 21 where the external thread portion 27 is provided" is smaller than "the outer diameter of the external thread portion 27", and Figure 10 discloses that "the inner diameter of the portion of the outer cylinder 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is provided and where the fixing screw 41 is located" is smaller than "the inner diameter of the internal thread portion 16").
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano JP 2014-157313 A (Citation is from the attached English machine translation) in view of Chiang US 2008/0151396 and Lee et al. US 2022/0124232.
Regarding claim 12, Sano teaches an imaging module (see para 0033-0034: imaging instrument) comprising:
a lens module (see at least Fig. 10) comprising:
a first lens barrel (Fig. 10: 21) in which at least one lens (B) is disposed and comprising a first threaded portion (27) and a first stepped portion on an outer circumferential surface of the first lens barrel (as shown in fig. 10: the exterior cylindrical portion of the lens retaining tube 21 has a stepped portion); and
a second lens barrel (Fig. 10: 11) in which at least one lens (A) is disposed and comprising a second threaded portion (16) and a second stepped portion on an inner circumferential surface of the second lens barrel (as shown in fig. 10: the inner cylindrical portion of the lens retaining tube 11 has a stepped portion); and
wherein the first lens barrel (21) and the second lens barrel (11) are coupled to each other by fitting the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion to each other and screwing the first threaded portion (27) and the second threaded portion (16) to each other (see para 0003 of the translation: “a female thread portion 16 is formed on the inner surface of the outer tube 11 that holds lens A, and a male thread portion 27 of a lens holding tube 21 that holds lens B is screwed into this female thread portion 16”) .
[AltContent: textbox (Second stepped portion on an inner circumferential surface of the second lens barrel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First stepped portion on an outer circumferential surface of the first lens barrel)][AltContent: arrow]
Sano fails to teach: a camera module and an image sensor module coupled to a lower portion of the second lens barrel, and a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion are coupled to each other by fitting is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion are coupled to each other by screwing.
In the same field of endeavor, Chiang US 2008/0151396 teaches a camera module (see Title and Fig. 2), comprising a first lens barrel (see Fig. 1: 14) and a second lens barrel (see Fig. 1: 15), coupled by a thread (see Fig. 2), and an image sensor module coupled to a lower portion of the second lens barrel (see Fig. 2: image sensor 20 coupled to lens barrel 15). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a camera module with an image sensor coupled to the lens barrel as taught by Chiang the capture the image.
The combination of Sano and Chiang fails to teach: a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion are coupled to each other by fitting is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion are coupled to each other by screwing.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a lens module (see at least Figs. 5, 6, 7), a length in an optical axis direction of the lens module of a portion where the first stepped portion (442b-2 or 452b-2) and the second stepped portion (460b) are coupled to each other by fitting (see Fig. 6: first stepped portion fitted inside 460b) is longer than a length in the optical axis direction of a portion where the first threaded portion (443) and the second threaded portion (465) are coupled to each other by screwing (as shown in figure below, portion 442b-2 or 452b-2 is longer that 465/443 or 466/453). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens module of Sano by utilizing the claimed length of the first/second stepped and the length of the threaded portion as taught by Lee in order to give more stable alignment of the lens inside the lens module.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sano and Chiang teaches the camera module of claim 12, and Sano further teaches wherein an optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel and an optical axis of the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel are aligned with each other by the fitting of the first stepped portion and the second stepped portion to each other (Figure 10 discloses that the optical axis of lens B and the optical axis of lens A are aligned with each other through the cooperation between "the outer circular portion of the lens retaining tube 21 where the external thread portion 27 is not provided" and "the inner circular portion of the outer tube 11 where the internal thread portion 16 is not provided and where the fixing screw 41 is installed").
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sano and Chiang teaches the camera module of claim 12, Sano further teaches wherein a distance between the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel and the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel is adjusted by the screwing of the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion to each other (Paragraph [0003] of the specification and Figure 10 disclose that the distance between Lens A and Lens B is adjusted by means of engaging the external threaded portion 27 with the internal threaded portion 16).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, Chiang and Lee as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chen US 2009/0080094.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sano and Chiang teaches the camera module of claim 12, and Chiang further teaches wherein the image sensor module comprises: a substrate (Fig. 4: 30) disposed on the housing; and an image sensor (20) comprising an imaging plane and disposed on the substrate (see Fig. 4: image sensor is disposed on top of 30), the image sensor is disposed so that a center of the imaging plane is aligned with an optical axis of the lens module (for a camera module it is apparent that the image sensor has to disposed at a center with the optical axis in order to capture symmetrical picture), and the substrate (30) is disposed so that a center of the substrate is closer to one side of the housing relative to the optical axis.
The combination of Sano and Chiang fails to teach: a housing coupled to the lower portion of the lens module.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches a camera module (see Fig. 1: 100 camera module), a housing coupled to the lower portion of the lens module (as shown in Fig. 1: housing 30 is coupled to the lower section of lens module 21). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Sano and Chiang by utilizing the claimed housing to provide easy swap and maintenance of the image sensor.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chiang US 2008/0151396.
Regarding claim 8, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, except for wherein the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel is a plurality of lenses, and the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel is a single lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Chiang teaches two different lens barrel attached together having one lens barrel only one lens and the other lens barrel having a plurality of lenses (see Fig. 2: first lens barrel 15 having a plurality of lenses 12 and 13, and the second lens barrel 14 having a single lens 11). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have multiple lens in one lens barrel and a single lens barrel in the other lens barrel as taught by Chiang for miniaturization or reduce the complexity of the camera module.
Regarding claim 10, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 1, except for wherein one lens among the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel has a largest diameter among the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel and the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel.
In the same field of endeavor, Chiang teaches two different lens barrel attached together having different diameter of the lenses (see Fig. 2: first lens barrel 15 and second lens barrel 14, wherein the lens disposed within the lens barrel are different in diameter: i.e., lens 11 has larger diameter than lens 12 and 13). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the diameter of the lens in the second lens barrel larger the than the lens in the first lens barrel because changing the diameter of the lens and a routing design choice requires for focusing/tracking or modularization of the camera module.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano, Chiang and Lee as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yang et al. US 2019/0174032.
Regarding claim 9, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 8, except for wherein the single lens disposed in the second lens barrel is a D-cut lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a lens module (see Fig. 4), comprising a D-cut lens near to the image sensor (as shown in Fig. 4 and para 0063: lenses L5 and L6 has a D-cut). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the D-cut lens in the second lens barrel which is near to the image sensor, since D-cut is often used in the rear or image side to save space and match sensor geometry and also D-cut lenses are beneficial for miniaturization in the rear lens barrel.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano and Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yang et al. US 2019/0174032.
Regarding claim 20, Sano teaches the lens module of claim 16, and Sano further teaches wherein the at least one lens disposed in the first lens barrel is a plurality of lenses each having a circular shape (as shown in Fig. 5: the lenses inside the lens barrel has a circular lens), however, Sano fails to teach the at least one lens disposed in the second lens barrel is a single lens having a D-cut shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a lens module (see Fig. 4), comprising a D-cut lens near to the image sensor (as shown in Fig. 4 and para 0063: lenses L5 and L6 has a D-cut). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the D-cut lens in the second lens barrel which is near to the image sensor, since D-cut is often used in the rear or image side to save space and match sensor geometry and also D-cut lenses are beneficial for miniaturization in the rear lens barrel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872