DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, as GE clearly teaches a receptacle with a three-gang configuration, it is now cited to teach this limitation.
Regarding claim 12, as stated in Applicant’ arguments Leopold explicitly teaches a two-gang receptacle, this is a multi-gang configuration.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, Ustianowski teaches a single-gang receptacle. Inherently the rear side has a single-gang configuration. Thus, Ustianowski teaches this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski (US 2022/0115852), in view of Leopold (US 2010/0078190) and General Electric (“GE”; http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-6-Outlet-Grounded-Adapter-Spaced-Tap-50759/203724441, dated 23 September 2017, accessed 28 October 2025, document attached).
Regarding claim 1: Ustianowski discloses a cover assembly (10, Fig. 1-3) for a receptacle (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a base (12) having a back wall (16) and a plurality of sidewalls (14A-D) extending from the back wall (Fig. 2), wherein a central opening (24) is provided in the back wall, the central opening corresponding in size to a single-gang receptacle housing (paragraph 0029: Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing);
a receptacle connected to the base (inherent, see 34) having a rear section having a single-gang configuration (as Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing); and
a cover (50) connected to the base, the cover being pivotable between an open position (Fig. 2) providing access to the receptacle and a closed position (Fig. 1) enclosing the receptacle.
Ustianowski does not explicitly disclose the receptacle having a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets and a rear section extending through the central opening, the rear section including a terminal for making an electrical connection to a power supply.
However, Leopold discloses the receptacle (102a) having a front section with a plurality of outlets (Fig. 1) and a rear section (Fig. 3) extending through the central opening (105), the rear section including a terminal (112) for making an electrical connection to a power supply (paragraph 0024).
And, GE discloses a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets (as it’s a three-gang outlet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover of Ustianowski to include the receptacle of Leopold in order to effectively provide a source of power, and to modify the receptable of Ustianowski to include the multi-gang outlets of GE in order to increase the number of possible connections.
Regarding claim 2: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle includes outlets, but do not explicitly disclose the receptacle includes at least three outlets.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlets to include at least three in order to increase the number of devices that can be plugged in.
Regarding claim 3: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, Ustianowski further discloses the back wall of the base has a recessed area (to allow for 34 and 36, Fig. 4) surround the central opening (24) configured to receive the front section of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 4: Ustianowski modified by GE disclose the receptacle, GE further discloses the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration (see figure).
Regarding claim 5: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptable, but do not explicitly disclose the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face.
However, GE discloses the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face (as shown by the figure, there are 3 faces, each with 2 outlets, with the two side faces at an oblique angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the faces of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Regarding claim 6: Ustianowski discloses the base includes a keyhole slot (28A-B) and a keyhole cover (38A-B).
Regarding claim 7: Ustianowski discloses a flange (50A, Fig. 5) defines an outer edge of the base side walls (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8: Ustianowski discloses the cover is configured to be connected to the base in a vertical orientation or a horizontal orientation (via horizontal hinge 32).
Regarding claim 9: Ustianowski discloses the cover is connected to the base by a removable pin (56).
Regarding claim 10: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose outlets, Leopold further discloses at least one of the outlets is a three-prong outlets (Fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, Leopold, and GE as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 4,845,312).
Regarding claim 11: Ustianowski discloses the base side walls, but does not explicitly disclose the base side walls include a first passage and a second passage, and wherein a gate is removably positioned in the first passage and the second passage.
However, Lee discloses the base side walls (16, Fig. 1) include a first passage and a second passage (both 12), and wherein a gate (22) is removably positioned in the first passage and the second passage (column 1, lines 55-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base side walls of Ustianowski to include the passages and gates of Lee in order to improve the security and connection of the assembly (column 1, lines 10-12).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, in view of Leopold.
Regarding claim 12: Ustianowski discloses a cover assembly (10, Fig. 1-3) for a receptacle (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a base (12) having a back wall (16) and a plurality of sidewalls (14A-D) extending from the back wall (Fig. 2), wherein a central opening (24) is provided in the back wall, the central opening corresponding in size to a single-gang receptacle housing (paragraph 0029: Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing);
a receptacle connected to the base (inherent, see 34) with a single-gang configuration (as Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing); and
a cover (50) connected to the base, the cover being pivotable between an open position (Fig. 2) providing access to the receptacle and a closed position (Fig. 1) enclosing the receptacle.
Ustianowski does not explicitly disclose the receptacle having a front section with a plurality of outlets and a rear section extending through the central opening, the rear section including a terminal for making an electrical connection to a power supply.
However, Leopold discloses the receptacle (102a) having a front section with a multi-gang configuration (paragraph 0022, the invention can apply to a double gang receptacle) and a rear section (Fig. 3) extending through the central opening (105), the rear section including a terminal (112) for making an electrical connection to a power supply (paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover of Ustianowski to include the receptacle of Leopold in order to effectively provide a source of power.
Regarding claim 13: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, Ustianowski further discloses the back wall of the base has a recessed area (to allow for 34 and 36, Fig. 4) surround the central opening (24) configured to receive the front section of the receptacle.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski and Leopold as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of GE.
Regarding claim 14: Ustianowski discloses a receptacle, but does not explicitly disclose the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration.
However, GE disclose the receptacle, GE further discloses the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration (see figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the faces of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Regarding claim 15: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, but do not explicitly disclose the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face.
However, GE discloses the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face (as shown by the figure, there are 3 faces, each with 2 outlets, with the two side faces at an oblique angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the faces of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, in view of Leopold, Lee, and GE.
Regarding claim 16: Ustianowski discloses a cover assembly (10, Fig. 1-3) for a receptacle (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a base (12) having a back wall (16) and a plurality of sidewalls (14A-D) extending from the back wall (Fig. 2), wherein a central opening (24) is provided in the back wall, the central opening corresponding in size to a single-gang receptacle housing (paragraph 0029: Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing);
a receptacle connected to the base (inherent, see 34); and
a cover (50) connected to the base, the cover being pivotable between an open position (Fig. 2) providing access to the receptacle and a closed position (Fig. 1) enclosing the receptacle.
Ustianowski does not explicitly disclose at least one of the plurality of sidewalls includes a first passage; a gate removably positioned in the first passage; a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets and a rear section extending through the central opening, the rear section including a terminal for making an electrical connection to a power supply.
However, Lee discloses at least one of the plurality of sidewalls (16) includes a first passage (12);
a gate (22) removably positioned in the first passage (column 1, lines 55-64).
And, Leopold discloses However, Leopold discloses the receptacle (102a) having a front section with a plurality of outlets (Fig. 1) and a rear section (Fig. 3) extending through the central opening (105), the rear section including a terminal (112) for making an electrical connection to a power supply (paragraph 0024).
And, GE discloses a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets (as it’s a three-gang outlet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base side walls of Ustianowski to include the passages and gates of Lee in order to improve the security and connection of the assembly (column 1, lines 10-12) and to modify the cover of Ustianowski to include the receptacle of Leopold in order to effectively provide a source of power, and to modify the receptable of Ustianowski to include the multi-gang outlets of GE in order to increase the number of possible connections.
Regarding claim 17: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, Ustianowski further discloses the back wall of the base has a recessed area (to allow for 34 and 36, Fig. 4) surround the central opening (24) configured to receive the front section of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 18: Ustianowski modified by GE disclose the receptacle, GE further discloses the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration (see figure).
Regarding claim 19: Ustianowski the cover is configured to selectively connect to the base in a first orientation (via 52) and a second orientation (via 54).
Regarding claim 20: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, but do not explicitly disclose the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration.
However, GE discloses the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration (three gang, each with gang with 2 outlets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the three-gang configuration of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834