DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach a single-gang receptacle housing accommodating a multi-gang outlet. However, both Ustianowski and Leopold have cited embodiments that teach a single-gang housing. GE teaches a multi-gang outlet. It was stated in the last Office Action, as there are a finite number of combinations possible between a single and multi-gang outlet and housing, the skilled artisan would find it obvious to try these combinations with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant argues that a finite set of recognized structural solutions was not identified. For completeness, the finite set would be 1) single-gang front and back, 2) multi-gang front and back, 3) single-gang front, multi-gang back, and 4) multi-gang front, single-gang back. As shown in the rejection below, both the cover and the receptacle with the arrangement 4) are well known. Further, Applicant argues that the motivation of combining Ustianowski and GE of “increasing the number of connections” would not be obvious to the skilled artisan as it merely “[identifies] the benefit described in Applicant’s specification.” However, such a device like the multi-gang to single-gang adapter of GE have been well known for in home use to achieve this goal of increasing the amount of plugs one can use in a single outlet. The invention of claim 1 puts a cover around a device such as that. Thus, the combination is obvious to the skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant argues that Hubbel does not explicitly disclose the front section of the face plate being wider than the opening in the back. Applicant specifically cites (1:60-70) of Hubbel and specifically argues that Hubbel only discloses a faceplate to cover a single-gang outlet box. However, as shown below, the widest point the opening can be is the dashed line, whereas the widest point of the front section is the solid line. Hubbel’s teaching of “The face plate portion 14 is of a size to correspond with that of a standard single gang face plate, but by means of the curved wall 16 the surface can be made of such an extent as to be capable of receiving at one time three attachment plug caps 19.” is interpreted to mean that a multi-gang front connection is able to be connected to a single-gang back connection, akin to that of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant has amended this claim, which has resulted in the new grounds of rejection shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski (US 2022/0115852), in view of Leopold (US 2010/0078190) and General Electric (“GE”; http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-6-Outlet-Grounded-Adapter-Spaced-Tap-50759/203724441, dated 23 September 2017, accessed 28 October 2025, document attached).
Regarding claim 1: Ustianowski discloses a cover assembly (10, Fig. 1-3) for a receptacle (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a base (12) having a back wall (16) and a plurality of sidewalls (14A-D) extending from the back wall (Fig. 2), wherein a central opening (24) is provided in the back wall, the central opening corresponding in size to a single-gang receptacle housing (paragraph 0029: Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing);
a receptacle connected to the base (inherent, see 34) having a rear section having a single-gang configuration (as Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing); and
a cover (50) connected to the base, the cover being pivotable between an open position (Fig. 2) providing access to the receptacle and a closed position (Fig. 1) enclosing the receptacle.
Ustianowski does not explicitly disclose the receptacle having a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets and a rear section extending through the central opening, the rear section including a terminal for making an electrical connection to a power supply.
However, Leopold discloses the receptacle (102a) having a front section with a plurality of outlets (Fig. 1) and a rear section (Fig. 3) extending through the central opening (105), the rear section including a terminal (112) for making an electrical connection to a power supply (paragraph 0024).
And, GE discloses a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets (as it’s a three-gang outlet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover of Ustianowski to include the receptacle of Leopold in order to effectively provide a source of power, and to modify the receptable of Ustianowski to include the multi-gang outlets of GE in order to increase the number of possible connections.
Regarding claim 2: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle includes outlets, but do not explicitly disclose the receptacle includes at least three outlets.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlets to include at least three in order to increase the number of devices that can be plugged in.
Regarding claim 3: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, Ustianowski further discloses the back wall of the base has a recessed area (to allow for 34 and 36, Fig. 4) surround the central opening (24) configured to receive the front section of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 4: Ustianowski modified by GE disclose the receptacle, GE further discloses the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration (see figure).
Regarding claim 5: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptable, but do not explicitly disclose the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face.
However, GE discloses the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face (as shown by the figure, there are 3 faces, each with 2 outlets, with the two side faces at an oblique angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the faces of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Regarding claim 6: Ustianowski discloses the base includes a keyhole slot (28A-B) and a keyhole cover (38A-B).
Regarding claim 7: Ustianowski discloses a flange (50A, Fig. 5) defines an outer edge of the base side walls (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8: Ustianowski discloses the cover is configured to be connected to the base in a vertical orientation or a horizontal orientation (via horizontal hinge 32).
Regarding claim 9: Ustianowski discloses the cover is connected to the base by a removable pin (56).
Regarding claim 10: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose outlets, Leopold further discloses at least one of the outlets is a three-prong outlets (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11: Ustianowski discloses the base side walls include a first passage (22) and a second passage (20), and wherein a gate is removably positioned in the first passage and the second passage (paragraph 0045).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, in view of Leopold and Hubbell Jr (“Hubbell”; US 1,824,956).
Regarding claim 12: Ustianowski discloses a cover assembly (10, Fig. 1-3) for a receptacle (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a base (12) having a back wall (16) and a plurality of sidewalls (14A-D) extending from the back wall (Fig. 2), wherein a central opening (24) is provided in the back wall, the central opening corresponding in size to a single-gang receptacle housing (paragraph 0029: Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing);
a receptacle connected to the base (inherent, see 34) with a single-gang configuration (as Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing); and
a cover (50) connected to the base, the cover being pivotable between an open position (Fig. 2) providing access to the receptacle and a closed position (Fig. 1) enclosing the receptacle.
Ustianowski does not explicitly disclose the receptacle having a front section with a plurality of outlets and a rear section extending through the central opening, the rear section including a terminal for making an electrical connection to a power supply, wherein the front section is wider than the central opening.
However, Leopold discloses the receptacle (102a) having a front section with a multi-gang configuration (paragraph 0022, the invention can apply to a double gang receptacle) and a rear section (Fig. 3) extending through the central opening (105), the rear section including a terminal (112) for making an electrical connection to a power supply (paragraph 0024).
And Hubbell discloses wherein the front section is wider than the central opening (at 14, Fig. 2, as this is a multi-gang front with a single-gang back, the front section is wider than any required opening would be for the back).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover of Ustianowski to include the receptacle of Leopold in order to effectively provide a source of power, and to have the front section be wider, as disclosed by Hubbell, in order to allow for additional outlets.
Regarding claim 13: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, Ustianowski further discloses the back wall of the base has a recessed area (to allow for 34 and 36, Fig. 4) surround the central opening (24) configured to receive the front section of the receptacle.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, Leopold, and Hubbell as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of GE.
Regarding claim 14: Ustianowski discloses a receptacle, but does not explicitly disclose the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration.
However, GE disclose the receptacle, GE further discloses the front section of the receptacle has a three-gang configuration (see figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the faces of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Regarding claim 15: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, but do not explicitly disclose the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face.
However, GE discloses the receptacle includes a first front face having a first outlet and a second front face having a second outlet, wherein first front face is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second front face (as shown by the figure, there are 3 faces, each with 2 outlets, with the two side faces at an oblique angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receptacle have the faces of GE in order to allow for more outlets.
Claims 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, in view of Leopold, GE, and Shotey et al. (“Shotey”; US 8,586,864)
Regarding claim 16: Ustianowski discloses a cover assembly (10, Fig. 1-3) for a receptacle (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a base (12) having a back wall (16) and a plurality of sidewalls (14A-D), the plurality of sidewalls including a first sidewall (14A) and a second sidewall (14D) extending from the back wall (Fig. 2), wherein a central opening (24) is provided in the back wall, the central opening corresponding in size to a single-gang receptacle housing (paragraph 0029: Fig. 2 is a single-gang housing);
wherein the first side wall includes a first passage (at 22) and the second sidewall includes a second passage (at 20) oriented perpendicular to the first passage (Fig. 3);
a first gate (22) removably positioned in the first passage;
a second gate (20) removably positioned in the second passage (paragraph 0045);
a receptacle connected to the base (inherent, see 34); and
a cover (50) connected to the base, the cover being pivotable between an open position (Fig. 2) providing access to the receptacle and a closed position (Fig. 1) enclosing the receptacle;
wherein removal of the first gate allows a cord to extend into the base when the cover is in the closed position (paragraph 0045, when the gate is removed, based on mounting position).
Ustianowski does not explicitly disclose a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets and a rear section extending through the central opening, the rear section including a terminal for making an electrical connection to a power supply, a first slot provided around the first passage and a second slot provided around the second passage, and wherein the first slot is configured to selectively receive the first gate and the second slot is configured to selectively receive the second gate.
However, Leopold discloses However, Leopold discloses the receptacle (102a) having a front section with a plurality of outlets (Fig. 1) and a rear section (Fig. 3) extending through the central opening (105), the rear section including a terminal (112) for making an electrical connection to a power supply (paragraph 0024).
And, GE discloses a front section with having a multi-gang configuration with a plurality of outlets (as it’s a three-gang outlet).
And, Shotey discloses a first slot (17) provided around the first passage (16) and a second slot (also 17, allowing 18 to slide in) provided around the second passage (also 16), and wherein the first slot is configured to selectively receive the first gate (19) and the second slot is configured to selectively receive the second gate (18, in that Shotey discloses passage 16 has slot 17 to allow blocking plate, or gate 19 to slide in).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover of Ustianowski to include the receptacle of Leopold in order to effectively provide a source of power, and to modify the receptable of Ustianowski to include the multi-gang outlets of GE in order to increase the number of possible connections, and to modify the first and second passages of Ustianowski to have the slots of Shotey to allow for removable gates to allow greater flexibility.
Regarding claim 17: Ustianowski modified by Leopold disclose the receptacle, Ustianowski further discloses the back wall of the base has a recessed area (to allow for 34 and 36, Fig. 4) surround the central opening (24) configured to receive the front section of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 19: Ustianowski the cover is configured to selectively connect to the base in a first orientation (via 52) and a second orientation (via 54).
Regarding claim 20: Ustianowski discloses the plurality of sidewalls include a third sidewall opposite (14C) the first sidewall and a fourth sidewall (14B) opposite the second sidewall, and wherein the third sidewall includes a first hinge body (32) and the second sidewall includes a second hinge body (30, Fig. 3).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ustianowski, in view of Leopold, GE, and Shotey as applied to claim 16, further in view of Lee (US 4,845,312).
Regarding claim 18: Ustianowski the first gate, but does not explicitly disclose the first gate includes a reinforced portion having a thicker area.
However, Lee discloses the first gate (22) includes a reinforced portion having a thicker area (Fig. 1, the central portion of gate 22 is thicker).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gates of Ustianowski to have the thicker area of Lee in order to make the gates stronger.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834