DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 7/20/2026 has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 3 and 4, “a cavity” should be changed to --the cavity--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 3-4 recite the limitation “the opening cover comprises a cable cover having a cavity through which a power transmission cable is extended, the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery” which is a repeat of a limitation that was amended into claim 1. Therefore, claims 3-4 do not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438).
Regarding claim 1, Tsumura et al. discloses a luggage-compartment-board support structure comprising: a battery pack disposed below a luggage compartment (25), the battery pack comprising a battery case (32) in which a battery is accommodated (Fig. 4, (46)), and a lid (36) disposed above the battery case (32); and a luggage compartment board (16) disposed above the battery pack (Fig .10), wherein the lid comprises an opening cover ((64),(37),(62)) having a cavity that is in communication with an interior of the battery case (paragraphs [n0056] and [n0070] of the machine translation, ((37), (62)) covers a cable (71) that is in communication with the interior of the battery case, (51) is inside battery case (32)), the opening cover comprising a cable cover having the cavity through which a power transmission cable coupled to the battery is extended (Fig. 3 shows the power transmission cable (71) that is coupled to the battery through the terminal block (51), the power transmission cable extends through the cavity created by (64) and (32)), and wherein the luggage compartment board is supported by at least the opening cover (paragraph [n0071] of the machine translation, Fig. 9, shows that (16) is supported by at least the opening cover that includes (37) and (64)).
Regarding claim 2, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1 and discloses wherein the lid (36) comprises a plug cover (63) configured to cover a predetermined plug (through plug opening (67)), and wherein the luggage compartment board is supported by at least the opening cover and the plug cover (Figs. 1, 10).
Regarding claim 3, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1 and discloses wherein the opening cover comprising a cable cover having a cavity through which a power transmission cable is extended, the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (Fig. 3 shows the power transmission cable (71) that is coupled to the battery through the terminal block (51), the power transmission cable extends through the cavity created by (64) and (32)).
Regarding claim 4, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 2 and discloses wherein the opening cover comprising a cable cover having a cavity through which a power transmission cable is extended, the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (Fig. 3 shows the power transmission cable (71) that is coupled to the battery through the terminal block (51), the power transmission cable extends through the cavity created by (64) and (32)).
Regarding claim 17, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 2 and discloses wherein the opening cover ((64),(37),(62)) is permanently affixed to the lid (paragraph [n0069] of the machine translation, the opening cover is attached to the lid, and specific portions are listed as being fixed), and the plug cover (63) is detachably attached to other components of the lid (paragraph [n0059] of the machine translation states (63) is detachable).
Regarding claim 20, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 2 and discloses wherein an upper surface of the opening cover and an upper surface of the plug cover are at a same level (Fig. 5 shows the upper surface of both are roughly at a same level).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438) in view of Kaneshima et al. (US 2022/0037718).
Regarding claim 5, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 3, however does not explicitly teach wherein the opening cover includes a harness cover having a cavity through which a harness is extended, the harness being coupled to an electronic device accommodated in the battery case, and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other.
Kaneshima et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery (20), a lid (40) comprising an opening cover (71), an electric device (50), a battery case (30), and a luggage compartment board (14) within a vehicle (V), and further teaches wherein the opening cover (71) comprises a cable cover having a cavity (711) through which a power transmission cable (91) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (20) and wherein the opening cover (71) includes a harness cover having a cavity (711) through which a harness (92) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the harness being coupled to an electronic device (50) accommodated in the battery case (Fig. 3), and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other (Figs. 3, 5, and 7 show that both the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al., to include a combined cable cover and harness cover as taught by Kaneshima et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a cover for all electrical components that will extends out from the cover in one location to limit potential unwanted access, acts of connecting and disconnecting the power transmission cable and the harness can be performed without removing the cover, and the structure can be simplified (Kaneshima et al.: paragraphs [0071] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 4, however does not explicitly teach wherein the opening cover includes a harness cover having a cavity through which a harness is extended, the harness being coupled to an electronic device accommodated in the battery case, and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other.
Kaneshima et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery (20), a lid (40) comprising an opening cover (71), an electric device (50), a battery case (30), and a luggage compartment board (14) within a vehicle (V), and further teaches wherein the opening cover (71) comprises a cable cover having a cavity (711) through which a power transmission cable (91) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (20) and wherein the opening cover (71) includes a harness cover having a cavity (711) through which a harness (92) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the harness being coupled to an electronic device (50) accommodated in the battery case (Fig. 3), and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other (Figs. 3, 5, and 7 show that both the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al., to include a combined cable cover and harness cover as taught by Kaneshima et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a cover for all electrical components that will extends out from the cover in one location to limit potential unwanted access, acts of connecting and disconnecting the power transmission cable and the harness can be performed without removing the cover, and the structure can be simplified (Kaneshima et al.: paragraphs [0071] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 5, and teaches (references to Kaneshima et al.) wherein a direction in which the cable cover (71) extends and a direction in which the harness cover (71) extends cross each other (Fig. 5 shows that the extension of each cover extends cross each other in a blended fashion).
Regarding claim 8, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 6, and teaches (references to Kaneshima et al.) wherein a direction in which the cable cover (71) extends and a direction in which the harness cover (71) extends cross each other (Fig. 5 shows that the extension of each cover extends cross each other in a blended fashion).
Regarding claim 9, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1 and discloses wherein the battery pack comprises case frames ((81),(82),(83),(84)). Tsumura et al. does not explicitly disclose the case frames having as a whole, a substantially rectangular shape with a center opening, wherein the battery case is attached lower portions of the case frames, and where in the lid is disposed on upper portions of the case frames so as to cover an upper opening of the battery case.
Kaneshima et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery (20), a lid (40) comprising an opening cover (71), a battery case (30), and a luggage compartment board (14) within a vehicle (V), and further teaches case frames ((32),(43)) having as a whole, a substantially rectangular shape with a center opening (Fig. 3), wherein the battery case is attached lower portions of the case frames (Fig. 3, (32)), and where in the lid is disposed on upper portions of the case frames (Fig. 3 (43)) so as to cover an upper opening of the battery case (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al., to include a rectangular case frames as taught by Kaneshima et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a way to secure the battery pack to the vehicle while covering the battery case itself.
Regarding claim 10, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 9 and teaches (references to Kaneshima et al.) wherein the cavity through which the power transmission cable is extended is a space defined by one of the case frames and the cable cover (Fig. 7 shows the space between the case frames and the cable cover).
Regarding claim 12, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein the cable cover is substantially U-shaped and open in a downward direction when viewed in cross section.
Kaneshima et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery (20), a lid (40) comprising an opening cover (71), an electric device (50), a battery case (30), and a luggage compartment board (14) within a vehicle (V), and further teaches wherein the opening cover (71) comprises a cable cover having a cavity (711) through which a power transmission cable (91) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), wherein the cable cover is substantially U-shaped and open in a downward direction when viewed in cross section (Fig. 7 shows the U-shaped entrance for the cable in addition to the downwardly open overall U-shape to the cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al., to include a U-shape to the cable cover as taught by Kaneshima et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a cover for the cable that will extends out from the cover in one location to limit potential unwanted access, acts of connecting and disconnecting the power transmission cable and the harness can be performed without removing the cover, and the structure can be simplified (Kaneshima et al.: paragraphs [0071] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 5 and teaches (references to Kaneshima et al.) wherein an upper surface of the cable cover (71) and an upper surface of the harness cover (71) are continuous and flush with each other (Fig. 8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438) in view of Oh et al. (US 2020/0203038).
Regarding claim 11, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein the battery pack comprises a pair of cable protectors, one of the pair of cable protectors being disposed on one side of the power transmission cable and another of the pair of cable protectors being disposed on another side of the power transmission cable, and wherein each of the pair of cable protectors has a thickness larger than a thickness of the power transmission cable.
Oh et al. teaches a power transmission cable wherein a pair of cable protectors (400), one of the pair of cable protectors being disposed on one side of the power transmission cable (Fig. 10) and another of the pair of cable protectors being disposed on another side of the power transmission cable (Fig. 10), and wherein each of the pair of cable protectors has a thickness larger than a thickness of the power transmission cable (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al. to include a pair of cable protectors as taught by Oh et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent portions of the cable from bending (Oh et al.: paragraph [0094]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438) in view of Kaneshima et al. (US 2022/0037718) as applied to claim 5 and 7 respectively above, and further in view of Peng et al. (US 2025/0030113).
Regarding claim 14, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 5, however does not explicitly teach wherein the opening cover is substantially T-shaped as a whole.
Peng et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery pack and further teaches wherein the opening cover is substantially T-shaped as a whole (Figs. 1 and 21-22, paragraphs [0143], [0145], [0153], show that the opening cover is substantially T-shaped as whole, where the harness cover extends from along wall side (33) to wall (32) allowing (40) and (50) to extend through, and the cable cover extends perpendicular to wall along side (34) where (70) extends through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. to adjust the shape of the opening cover as taught by Peng et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the impact on connectors for the harness (Peng et al.: see paragraph [0143]).
Regarding claim 15, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 5, however does not explicitly teach wherein the harness cover has a first cavity that is open in one direction and through which the harness extended, and a second cavity that is open in another direction and that is in communication with the interior of the battery case.
Peng et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery pack and further teaches wherein the harness cover has a first cavity that is open in one direction and through which the harness extended, and a second cavity that is open in another direction and that is in communication with the interior of the battery case (Figs. 1 and 21-22, paragraphs [0145], [0153], show the harness cover extends from along wall side (33) to wall (32) allowing (40) and (50) to extend through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. to adjust the shape of the harness cover as taught by Peng et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the bending degree (Peng et al.: see paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 16, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 7, however does not explicitly teach wherein the direction in which the cable cover extends and the direction in which the harness cover extends are perpendicular to each other.
Peng et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery pack and further teaches wherein the direction in which the cable cover extends and the direction in which the harness cover extends are perpendicular to each other (Figs. 1 and 21-22, paragraphs [0143], [0145], [0153], show that the cable cover and the harness cover are perpedicular, where the harness cover extends from along wall side (33) to wall (32) allowing (40) and (50) to extend through, and the cable cover extends perpendicular to wall along side (34) where (70) extends through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. to adjust the shape of the opening cover as taught by Peng et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the impact on connectors for the harness (Peng et al.: see paragraph [0143]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438) in view of Yamazaki et al. (JP 2018043610, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 19, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein a filler is inserted into a space between the luggage compartment board and the lid.
Yamazaki et al., like Tsumura et al., a luggage-compartment-board support, and further teaches wherein a filler (38) is inserted into a space between the luggage compartment board (3) and the lid (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al. with a filler as taught by Yamazaki et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce noise from the luggage compartment board touching the lid of the battery pack (paragraph [0025] of the machine translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: although the references of record show features similar to those of Applicant’s luggage-compartment-board support structure, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the configuration of the rear skirt trim as part of the battery pack and that the rear skirt trim and the opening cover support the luggage compartment board.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argued that Tsumura does not teach cable cover and therefore applicant argued that the claim is not anticipated.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The updated rejection above provides further details as to how Tsumura anticipates the claims. Therefore, the prior art reads on the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Tsai et al. (DE 202004013730), Albl et al. (DE 102018219836), and Okada et al. (JP 2014053103) teach compartment-board support structures including opening covers/connections for cables and harnesses or battery packs with cable and harness connections/covers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643