DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 12/20/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP 2022-203288 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 11/27/2023 has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a battery case” “a lid”, and “a battery pack” as separate elements of the structure, which is misrepresentative of the disclosed invention. The limitations are unclear since page six of the original specification notes that the battery pack --includes—the battery case, the lid, among other limitations. For examination purposes, the battery case and lid have been read as being included in the battery pack.
Claims 2-8 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Tsumura et al. discloses a luggage-compartment-board support structure comprising: a battery case in which a battery is accommodated (Fig. 4, (46)); a lid (36) disposed above the battery case (46); a battery pack (33) disposed below a luggage compartment (25); and a luggage compartment board (16) disposed above the battery pack (Fig .10), wherein the lid comprises an opening cover ((64),(37)) having a cavity that is in communication with an interior of the battery case (paragraph [n0056] of the machine translation, (37) covers a cable (71) that is in communication with the interior of the battery case), and wherein the luggage compartment board is supported by at least the opening cover (paragraph [n0071] of the machine translation, Fig. 9, shows that (16) is supported by at least the opening cover that includes (37) and (64)).
Regarding claim 2, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the lid (36) comprises a plug cover (63) configured to cover a predetermined plug (through plug opening (67)), and wherein the luggage compartment board is supported by at least the opening cover and the plug cover (Figs. 1, 10).
Regarding claim 3, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the opening cover ((64),(37)) comprises a cable cover having a cavity through which a power transmission cable is extended, the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (Fig. 3, paragraph [n0056] of the machine translation, (37) covers a power transmission cable (71) that is in communication with the interior of the battery case).
Regarding claim 4, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the opening cover ((64),(37)) comprises a cable cover having a cavity through which a power transmission cable is extended, the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (Fig. 3, paragraph [n0056] of the machine translation, (37) covers a power transmission cable (71) that is in communication with the interior of the battery case).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura et al. (CN 115195438, machine translation attached) in view of Kaneshima et al. (US 2022/0037718).
Regarding claim 5, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 3, however does not explicitly teach wherein the opening cover includes a harness cover having a cavity through which a harness is extended, the harness being coupled to an electronic device accommodated in the battery case, and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other.
Kaneshima et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery (20), a lid (40) comprising an opening cover (71), an electric device (50), a battery pack (30), and a luggage compartment board (14) within a vehicle (V), and further teaches wherein the opening cover (71) comprises a cable cover having a cavity (711) through which a power transmission cable (91) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (20) and wherein the opening cover (71) includes a harness cover having a cavity (711) through which a harness (92) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the harness being coupled to an electronic device (50) accommodated in the battery case (Fig. 3), and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other (Figs. 3, 5, and 7 show that both the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al., to include a combined cable cover and harness cover as taught by Kaneshima et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a cover for all electrical components that will extends out from the cover in one location to limit potential unwanted access, acts of connecting and disconnecting the power transmission cable and the harness can be performed without removing the cover, and the structure can be simplified (Kaneshima et al.: paragraphs [0071] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsumura et al. discloses the support structure of claim 4, however does not explicitly teach wherein the opening cover includes a harness cover having a cavity through which a harness is extended, the harness being coupled to an electronic device accommodated in the battery case, and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other.
Kaneshima et al., like Tsumura et al., teaches a battery (20), a lid (40) comprising an opening cover (71), an electric device (50), a battery pack (30), and a luggage compartment board (14) within a vehicle (V), and further teaches wherein the opening cover (71) comprises a cable cover having a cavity (711) through which a power transmission cable (91) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the power transmission cable being coupled to the battery (20) and wherein the opening cover (71) includes a harness cover having a cavity (711) through which a harness (92) is extended (Figs. 3, 5, and 7), the harness being coupled to an electronic device (50) accommodated in the battery case (Fig. 3), and wherein the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other (Figs. 3, 5, and 7 show that both the cable cover and the harness cover are permanently affixed to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support structure of Tsumura et al., to include a combined cable cover and harness cover as taught by Kaneshima et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a cover for all electrical components that will extends out from the cover in one location to limit potential unwanted access, acts of connecting and disconnecting the power transmission cable and the harness can be performed without removing the cover, and the structure can be simplified (Kaneshima et al.: paragraphs [0071] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 5, and teaches (references to Kaneshima et al.) wherein a direction in which the cable cover (71) extends and a direction in which the harness cover (71) extends cross each other (Fig. 5 shows that the extension of each cover extends cross each other in a blended fashion).
Regarding claim 8, Tsumura et al. as modified by Kaneshima et al. teaches the support structure of claim 6, and teaches (references to Kaneshima et al.) wherein a direction in which the cable cover (71) extends and a direction in which the harness cover (71) extends cross each other (Fig. 5 shows that the extension of each cover extends cross each other in a blended fashion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ojeda et al. (US 2013/0037336), Bradley et al. (US 2023/0093574), Nakayama (US 2018/0111486), Hironaga (JP 2021187195), Eishi et al. (JP 6068884), and Christ et al. (EP 2437345) teach compartment-board support structures including opening covers/connections for cables and harnesses.
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643