DETAILED ACTION
Claims 7-12 are pending in Instant Application.
Claims 13-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of IN202211068696 filed 11/29/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/14/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Reason for Allowance:
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
In interpreting the claims, in light of the specification the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
D'Souza et al. (U.S. Patent Application: 20150248300) teaches A system to automate creation of a configuration wizard from, for example, an underlying control application. In one instance, a complex application may be represented with a simple configuration view such as that of a configuration wizard. When an application is being created, a user may be provided with a feature that defines the configuration wizard. Some aspects of the present approach are that a wizard user interface may be automatically generated, a standard approach may be provided to define the wizard, and, for changes which are performed in the application, the wizard may easily be edited and regenerated. (See Abstract).
Paulsen et al. (U.S. Patent: 12293202) teaches Techniques implemented by a launch wizard of a cloud computing system to enable developers to create new workloads that can be launched by the launch wizard in the cloud computing system. Launch wizards offer users with guided experiences for identifying and deploying resources needed to support workloads of applications running in cloud computing systems. However, it is difficult for developers to create new workloads for the launch wizard to support. This disclosure describes a development platform through which developers create new workloads for the launch wizard to launch on behalf of users. The development platform provides a console through which developers define new workloads using a metadata language, and dynamically generates and presents a provisioning form that describes the new workloads. Once developers have finished defining new workloads, the new workloads are registered with the launch wizard such that users can use the launch wizard to launch the new workloads. (See Abstract).
Marti et al. (U.S. Patent: 20180151072) teaches An approach for control of users relative to access to controllers of a site in a hierarchy of controllers and building equipment. When a user of a customer has established a read write connection to a site controller, the customer does not necessarily want any subsequent user to establish a read write connection to the site controller or another controller within the same site and also make changes, for example, to settings of building equipment. Thus, a subsequent user may be allowed a read only connection and just be able to view building equipment information. When the first user has disconnected either intentionally or by inactivity, the site controller may be cleared allowing a subsequent user to obtain a read write connection. If the first user is inactive but fails to disconnect from the controller, an auto log-off provision may disconnect the user after a specified period of inactivity. (abstract).
However, the prior art of records fails to teach or suggest individually or in combination:
a method of executing an onboarding wizard comprising: selecting an area or environment for application of a wizard; automatically verifying internet connectivity of a network; narrowing the network within a protocol selected from a group comprising a BACnet protocol, a Niagara expert mode, Workbench view for Modbus, and Fox Protocol; registering a cloud connector to a cloud IoT for pushing data; and permitting a user to review tags automatically applied and to adjust the automatically applied tags.
Dependent claims 2-6 further limits allowed independent claim 1; therefore, they are also allowed.
Accordingly, claims 1-6 are allowed because of the combination of other limitations and the limitations listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOULD (U.S. Patent Application: 20170003046) in view of Ferrari et al., “hereinafter Ferrari” (U.S. Patent Application: 20070111568).
As per Claim 7, GOULD discloses a wizard based gateway onboarding to a cloud, comprising:
an environment of a designated social political area (GOULD, Para.179, The K4Life system 20″, for example, the analytics server 54″, computes a score indicating the overall health of the user, which may be referred as K4Score. The K4Score is determined by combining directly measured health data, activity level measured from the use of addressable devices or health devices 31a″-31n″, and social engagement measured by the use of the K4App.); and
configured to automatically scan the network for items incorporating devices, points, history, plans and schedules (GOULD, Para.98, The discovery server 55 is typically always running processes that monitor the system home automation integration 20 either passively waiting for a signal from a new controllable device or scanning the system for signatures of the addressable devices 31a-31n., Para.128, The user can also switch directly from the addressable device selection from the location to the addressable device category view. The user interface 35 also advantageously tracks the history of the devices used by tracking the last contacted device. This may allow the user to directly access recently used addressable devices 31a-31n more quickly instead of searching back through prior pages of the user interface, Para.150, The standard responsive scene may be initiated by a list of triggers detected by the program or by the user activating the scene 93 in the user interface 35. An example of a command variable or trigger list is as follows: Trigger 1 is a time period, Trigger 2 is a mobile controlling device being connected to the network, Trigger 3 is a set day, and Trigger 4 is a connected motion detector sensing motion., Para.197, The temperature controller 1033 obtains a setpoint temperature for the indoor building area 1022. The setpoint temperature may be obtained wirelessly, for example, via the wireless communications circuitry 1034. The setpoint temperature may be obtained from an input device, a remote electronic device, and/or other device, Para.93, This HA system 20 can also use the data gathered from the security server to assess any security threats and develop mitigation plans.); and
wherein the items that are scanned get added based on metadata information exposed over the network driver (GOULD, Para.140, The update server 59 sends the device signature to the discovery server 35 and the device description to the configuration server 62. The device signature allows the discovery server 35 to scan available ports and recognize if a new addressable device 31a-31n that can be connected by the new bridge 91 is in the home. The device description includes the wizard process, for example, as described above, to set up the new controllable device. When the discovery server 55 finds a new controllable device that can be connected by a new bridge 91, the discovery server 55 sends a message to the configuration server 62 notifying the configuration server of the new addressable device. The discovery server 55 also sends a new addressable device notification to the notification server 66, which launches the user interface 35 on the display 48 of the remote device 36 to inform the user of the new addressable device. The bridge wizard 92 is also launched. The bridge wizard 92 gathers the information for the device description and requested from the configuration server 62.).
However GOULD does not disclose a network configured to automatically verify internet connectivity.
Ferrari discloses a network configured to automatically verify internet connectivity (Ferrari, Para.100, Once the internet connection has been verified, the network device setup utility may set up the wireless interface of the router as appropriate, such as, for example, when a GetDeviceSettings( ) call to the network management device disclosed in returns a list of methods which contains SetWLanSettings24( ).).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in GOULD with the teachings as in Ferrari. The motivation for doing so would have been for relate to a network device setup utility that gathers network configuration information at a computing device, displays installation instructions for the network device, and configures the network device by sending the gathered network configuration information from the computing device to the network device. The gathered network configuration information may include, for example the type of Internet connection that will be employed by the network device. The gathered network configuration information also may include an Internet Service Provider account name and password that will be employed by the network device. The network device installation instructions may then include a customizable graphical depiction of the network device and may provide ordered step-by-step instructions for connecting a network cable and a power cable to the network device. Configuring the network device, which may be a router, may include confirming Internet connectivity. (Ferrari, Para.06).
As per Claim 8, GOULD in view of Ferrari discloses the onboarding of claim 7, wherein an item getting added avoids a need for manual intervention (GOULD, Para.134, When connected to a local network, for example, via Wifi, the user interface 35 of a remote device 36 may automatically connect (i.e., without user intervention) to the hub device 34a, 34b on the same local network, Para.96, The discovery server 55 (FIG. 8a) finds addressable devices to connect to the K4Connect system 20. The discovery server 55 uses signatures of devices, for example, addressable devices 31a-31n in its search to discover devices that are not natively discoverable for connection to the system. With respect to typical prior art home automation integration systems, certain addressable devices do not automatically broadcast their availability and thus have to be manually connected by the user. Manual entry often involves advanced technical knowledge or having to follow detailed complicated instructions to add the device to their home automation systems, for example, manually entering an IP address, device ID, and/or other identifying information. The discovery server 55 reduces these complications.);
As per Claim 9, GOULD in view of Ferrari discloses the onboarding of claim 7, further comprising a cloud connection registered by the wizard to a cloud IoT for pushing data points and equipment tagged by the wizard based on a tag dictionary (GOULD, Para.75, the primary functions of the HA system 20 (i.e., K4Connect) are based around an independent standalone message queue server 50 that is a combination of an independent local message queue 51 located on a device running the K4Home software and a cloud message queue 52 hosted on the cloud device 33 (i.e. K4Away), which provides connectivity to registered devices outside the local home network, Para.93, the analytics server 54 reports the data collected to the cloud system or cloud device 33 via a private globally unique identifier (GUID). The cloud-based analytics or device 33 processes and reviews the anonymized data, storing the data in a cloud database. This data is then used to review the functions of the K4Home HA system 20 which may reveal any problems that may exist in the software. This HA system 20 can also use the data gathered from the security server to assess any security threats and develop mitigation plans. The cloud-based analysis or cloud device 33 also reviews the K4Home system and recommends devices and responsive scenes to the private GUIDs. Once the information in the cloud has been analyzed and gathered by the cloud device 33 it is pushed back to the local analytics server 54 with the next time to “check-in” to the cloud.).
As per Claim 10, GOULD in view of Ferrari discloses the onboarding of claim 9, wherein automatically based on the tag dictionary, tags and equipment are available for points and HVAC applications (GOULD, Para.195, climate control system 1020 that includes a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system 1021 for an indoor building area 1022. The HVAC system 1021 is switchable between operating modes for heating and cooling. The climate control system 1020 includes a home automation (HA) thermostat device 1030 in the indoor building area 1022. The HA thermostat device 1030 includes a housing 1031 and an indoor temperature sensor 1032 carried by housing. The indoor temperature sensor 1032 senses an indoor temperature of the indoor building area 1022.).
As per Claim 11, GOULD in view of Ferrari discloses the onboarding of claim 7, further comprising reviewing tags automatically applied, and adjusting them as needed (GOULD, Para.128, The user interface 35 also advantageously tracks the history of the devices used by tracking the last contacted device. This may allow the user to directly access recently used addressable devices 31a-31n more quickly instead of searching back through prior pages of the user interface. The user interface 35 may also provide increased usability by allowing the entire screen of the remote device 36, for example, a touch-screen remote device to be used to adjust the addressable device 31a-31n instead of locating a single point on the touch-screen display for adjustment. In some embodiments, addressable devices 31a-31n may be controlled via the user interface 35 by way of voice recognition, for example. Other types of control may also and/or additionally be used, for example, biometrics, or gesture (e.g., arm, hand, eye) recognition.).
As per Claim 12, GOULD in view of Ferrari discloses the onboarding of claim 11, wherein the wizard performs a sync of an asset model generated in the gateway to the cloud (GOULD, Para.85, The cloud message queue controller 521 and the home device message queue controller 511 synchronize device configurations, device capabilities, and device states for the addressable HA devices 31a-31n. The cloud message queue controller 521 exchanges messages with the local message queue controller 511 relating to the addressable HA devices, for example, for communication with the addressable devices 31a-31n and for synchronization. For example, such messages may include messages related to the operation and control of the addressable HA devices 31a-31n.).
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449