DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/10/2026 in which claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The combination of Kyou and Skaaksrud is directed to connectionless operation Kyou throughout the specification describes two modes that can be used one being connectionless and one including a connection in order to exchange large amounts of information. ([0042] In the case that bidirectional data communication between two devices is required or one device should transmit a large amount of data which cannot be transmitted by an advertising packet to the other device, the two devices communicate in the connection mode.)
Skaaksrud throughout the specification also describes two modes that can be used one being connectionless and one including a connection in order to exchange large amounts of information. ([0194] Finally, for advanced two-way information exchange, an active connection may be used between nodes and information may be exchanged both ways to and from different nodes.)
Lee further describes using connections for communication. ([0011] the present invention is to provide a method for simplifying a connection procedure of the alternative communication means by acquiring information required for connecting the alternative communication means)
The combination of Kyou, Skaaksrud, and Lee means both modes are used to exchange data between devices and therefore the rejections to claims are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyou et al. (US20170343965A1) in view of Skaaksrud et al. (US20150156747A1) and Lee et al. (US20170223615A1).
As to claims 1, 10, 12 and 20, Kyou teaches an access method, wherein the access method comprises: ([0022] FIG. 8 is a flow chart showing an operation sequence of the smart phone 1 in the time correction process according to the first embodiment of the invention. [0023] FIG. 9 is a flow chart showing an operation sequence of the electronic timepiece 2 in the time correction process according to the first embodiment of the invention.)
sending first broadcast information based on a target access mode, wherein the first broadcast information indicates that a broadcast type is connectable, wherein the target access mode is an access mode of an access mode set that comprises at least two access modes; ([0059] the processor 13 sets the mode of the short distance communication unit 12 to the Peripheral mode (Step S120). In other words, the communication mode of the smart phone 1 changes from the Central mode to the Peripheral mode. The processor 13 acquires the current time Th from the counter 14 and stores it in an advertising packet (Stpe S122). For example, the current time Th is stored in the payload of the PDU of the ADV_IND type advertising packet, as described above with respect to FIG. 4. The processor 13 starts a timer to check whether or not the predetermined time Ta1 has elapsed (Step S124), and starts advertising (Step S126).)
But does not specifically teach:
determining whether a first access request for establishing a connection is received from a first device within a preset duration;
in response to determining that the first access request is received from a first device within the preset duration, sending first response information corresponding to the first access request, wherein the first response information comprises parameter information used for connection establishment, and wherein the parameter information comprises information indicating a target time-frequency resource; and
sending first information to the first device on the target time-frequency resource.
However Skaaksrud teaches determining whether a first access request for establishing a connection is received from a first device within a preset duration; and in response to determining that the first access request is received from a first device within the preset duration, sending first response information corresponding to the first access request. ([0173] If an exemplary node has not received acknowledgement for an advertising packet within a particular period, it may enter one or more alert stages... [0188] In another example, when an advertising (broadcasting) node receives a SCAN_REQ from a scanning node, the advertising node will consider that its advertising data packet has been acknowledged. [0189] In yet another example, when a scanning node receives an advertising data packet with an Alert Level 3 status flag set, the scanning node will attempt to make a connection with the advertising device. Once the connection is made, the advertising device will attempt to upload its data to the connected device. [0190] Thus, an embodiment of the node advertise and query (scan) logic manager of code 325 may rely upon one or more status flags, advertising modes, scanning modes, as nodes communicate with each other in various advantageous manners [0193]-[0194] connectionless or with connection modes described and exchanging time and location information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access method of Kyou with the methods of Skaaksrud in order to effectively receive an acknowledgement to its advertisement and exchange information.
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the first response information comprises parameter information used for connection establishment, and wherein the parameter information comprises information indicating a target time-frequency resource; and
sending first information to the first device on the target time-frequency resource.
However Lee teaches wherein the first response information comprises parameter information used for connection establishment, and wherein the parameter information used for connection establishment, and wherein the parameter information comprises information indicating a target time-frequency resource; and sending first information to the first device on the target time-frequency resource.
([0415] FIG. 22(b) illustrates an example of a packet data unit (PDU) of the scan response message and it can be seen that the detailed information on the wireless communication interface of the second device 300 is included in the PDU of the scan response message. [0416] The PDU of the scan response message includes an AdvA field and a ScanRspData field. [0417] The AdvA field indicates a type of the scan response PDU, and the AdvA field may have a SCAN_RSP type among the types shown in Table 1, or have a LONG_SCAN_RSP type that is an extension type of the SCAN_RSP type.[0418] The ScanRspData field includes a Type field indicating a type of information of the wireless communication interface requested by the first device 200 and a Data field including detailed information on the information type. [0016] In addition, in the present invention, the detailed information includes at least one of frequency information, channel map switching information, transmission power information, and connection state information. Abstract receiving a response message including the detailed information from the second device in response to the request message; transmitting a connection request message to the second device based on the detailed information [0362] table 5 operating channel and active period)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan response of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
As to claims 2 and 11, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud and Lee teaches the access method according to claim 1, wherein the at least two access modes correspond to different communication scenarios. (Kyou [0055] The role switching control module 2-3 changes the communication mode (i.e. the role) of the electronic timepiece 2 from the Peripheral mode to the Central mode or from the Central mode to the Peripheral mode.)
As to claims 4 and 13, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud teaches the access method according to claim 1, wherein the first access request comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the first device; identification information of a second device to be accessed by the first device; or capability information of the first device. (Lee (0412] The scan request PDU may have a SCAN_REQ type among the types shown in Table 1, or may have a LONG_SCAN_REQ type, which is an extension type of the SCAN_REQ. fig. 21 [0401] FIG. 22(a) illustrates an example of a packet data unit of the advertising message and the information of the wireless communication interface of the second device 300 may be included in a Bit Mask type. [0482] If the advertising PDU is a PDU for transmitting the scan request PDU, the advertising PDU may have the same format as the data format of the advertising PDU described in FIGS. 16 and 17.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan request of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
As to claims 5 and 14, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud and Lee teaches the access method according to claim 1, wherein the target access mode is a first access mode in the access mode set, and the access method further comprises:
in response to determining that the first access request is not received within the preset duration, scanning broadcast information based on a second access mode in the access mode set; (Kyou [0065] In the case that the timer reaches Ts2 in a state where no advertising packet is received (Step S222: Yes), the scanning is stopped (Step S232). In other words, in the case that no advertising packet is received even if scanning is performed for the time width Ts2, the display 27 displays a message that an error has occurred because the time correction process cannot proceed (Step S234). Then, the process returns to Step S202. [0062] starts advertising (Step S210) [0057]-[0058] starts scanning (Step S108).Skaaksrud [0188] In another example, when an advertising (broadcasting) node receives a SCAN_REQ from a scanning node, the advertising node will consider that its advertising data packet has been acknowledged.)
in response to determining that second broadcast information from the first device is obtained through scanning, (Kyou [0057]-[0058] starts scanning (Step S108). [0062] starts advertising (Step S210).)
sending a second access request, (Skaaksrud [0188] In another example, when an advertising (broadcasting) node receives a SCAN_REQ from a scanning node, the advertising node will consider that its advertising data packet has been acknowledged.)
wherein the second broadcast information indicates that a broadcast type is connectable; and (Kyou [0062] The processor 22 stores the predetermined time information N in an advertising packet (Step S206). For example, the time information N is stored in the payload of the PDU of the ADV_IND type advertising packet, as described above with respect to FIG. 4.)
receiving second response information for corresponding to the second access request from the first device. (Skaaksrud [0193] When a node is in the "discoverable advertising" mode and a scanning node is in "Active" mode, the node information exchange in enabled both ways. For example, the advertising node sends the advertising packet, and in response the scanning node sends the SCAN_REQ packet. After the advertising node receives the SCAN_REQ requesting additional information, the advertising node sends the SCAN_RSP with the requested information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access method of Kyou with the methods of Skaaksrud in order to effectively receive an acknowledgement to its advertisement without ever making a connection to the scanning node, which advantageously and significantly saves on power consumption.
As to claims 6 and 15, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud teaches the access method according to claim 5, wherein the second access request comprises parameter information for connection establishment. (Lee (0412] The scan request PDU may have a SCAN_REQ type among the types shown in Table 1, or may have a LONG_SCAN_REQ type, which is an extension type of the SCAN_REQ. fig. 21 [0401] FIG. 22(a) illustrates an example of a packet data unit of the advertising message and the information of the wireless communication interface of the second device 300 may be included in a Bit Mask type. [0482] If the advertising PDU is a PDU for transmitting the scan request PDU, the advertising PDU may have the same format as the data format of the advertising PDU described in FIGS. 16 and 17.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan request of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
As to claims 7 and 16, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud teaches the access method according to claim 5, wherein the second response information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the first device; identification information of a second device to be accessed by the first device; or capability information of the first device. ( Lee ([0415] FIG. 22(b) illustrates an example of a packet data unit (PDU) of the scan response message and it can be seen that the detailed information on the wireless communication interface of the second device 300 is included in the PDU of the scan response message. [0416] The PDU of the scan response message includes an AdvA field and a ScanRspData field. [0417] The AdvA field indicates a type of the scan response PDU, and the AdvA field may have a SCAN_RSP type among the types shown in Table 1, or have a LONG_SCAN_RSP type that is an extension type of the SCAN_RSP type.[0418] The ScanRspData field includes a Type field indicating a type of information of the wireless communication interface requested by the first device 200 and a Data field including detailed information on the information type. Abstract receiving a response message including the detailed information from the second device in response to the request message; transmitting a connection request message to the second device based on the detailed information [0362] table 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan response of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
As to claim 17, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud and Lee teaches the access method according to claim 3, wherein the access method further comprises: sending first information on a target time-frequency resource, wherein the first information comprises at least one of control information or data information, and wherein the parameter information comprises information indicating the target time-frequency resource. (Lee [0215] The advertising devices may receive scan requests from listening devices performing listening to obtain additional user data from advertising devices. The advertising devices transmit responses with respect to the scan requests to the devices which have transmitted the scan requests, through the same advertising physical channels as the advertising physical channels in which the scan requests have been received. [0016] In addition, in the present invention, the detailed information includes at least one of frequency information, channel map switching information, transmission power information, and connection state information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan response of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
As to claims 9 and 18, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud teaches the access method according to claim 1, wherein the target access mode is a second access mode in the access mode set, and (Kyou [0059] the processor 13 sets the mode of the short distance communication unit 12 to the Peripheral mode (Step S120). In other words, the communication mode of the smart phone 1 changes from the Central mode to the Peripheral mode. [0063] the processor 22 sets the mode of the short distance communication unit 21 to the Central mode (Step S216). In other words, the communication mode of the electronic timepiece 2 changes from Peripheral to Central at Step S216)
wherein the first access request comprises parameter information for connection establishment. (Lee (0412] The scan request PDU may have a SCAN_REQ type among the types shown in Table 1, or may have a LONG_SCAN_REQ type, which is an extension type of the SCAN_REQ. fig. 21 [0401] FIG. 22(a) illustrates an example of a packet data unit of the advertising message and the information of the wireless communication interface of the second device 300 may be included in a Bit Mask type. [0482] If the advertising PDU is a PDU for transmitting the scan request PDU, the advertising PDU may have the same format as the data format of the advertising PDU described in FIGS. 16 and 17.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan request of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
As to claim 19, Kyou in view of Skaaksrud teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the target access mode is a second access mode in the access mode set, and (Kyou [0059] the processor 13 sets the mode of the short distance communication unit 12 to the Peripheral mode (Step S120). In other words, the communication mode of the smart phone 1 changes from the Central mode to the Peripheral mode. [0063] the processor 22 sets the mode of the short distance communication unit 21 to the Central mode (Step S216). In other words, the communication mode of the electronic timepiece 2 changes from Peripheral to Central at Step S216)
the first response information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the second device; identification information of a first device that is to access the second device; capability information of the second device; or answer information indicating whether to accept the first access request. ( Lee ([0415] FIG. 22(b) illustrates an example of a packet data unit (PDU) of the scan response message and it can be seen that the detailed information on the wireless communication interface of the second device 300 is included in the PDU of the scan response message. [0416] The PDU of the scan response message includes an AdvA field and a ScanRspData field. [0417] The AdvA field indicates a type of the scan response PDU, and the AdvA field may have a SCAN_RSP type among the types shown in Table 1, or have a LONG_SCAN_RSP type that is an extension type of the SCAN_RSP type.[0418] The ScanRspData field includes a Type field indicating a type of information of the wireless communication interface requested by the first device 200 and a Data field including detailed information on the information type. Abstract receiving a response message including the detailed information from the second device in response to the request message; transmitting a connection request message to the second device based on the detailed information [0362] table 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scan response of Kyou in view of Skaaksrud with the scan response of Lee in order to receive detailed information from the second device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465